Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
68
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 91 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Great little inflatable for the casual kayaker
8/19/2014

Customer review by mamsa

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by mamsa
by mamsa

Purchased one of these a couple months back. What arrived in the mail was one with blue markings not red like in the pic here. Inflated it and was pleased with the construction material. It has two small skegs on the bottom which help stabilize it in the water. Have taken it out in a bay for kayak fishing and had a blast. Anyone thinking of purchasing one of these to fish off of should take into consideration that there is a certain element of risk when fishing from one of these. It is difficult to unhook fish safely and there is also not good way to attach rigging (anchor trolleys, anchor lines, etc.). If you are planning on doing some serious kayak fishing invest in something that is designed for fishing. I love my little kayak and how easy it is to inflate and deflate and then pack away in a backpack. It is also quite light and can be carried by one hand. It is also nice and wide and makes a stable platform for me to relax on and fish from. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't believe how much fun this little kayak is
8/25/2014

Customer review by PCBColina

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by PCBColina
by PCBColina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My sister had bought one in Pensacola and was so excited about it that I had to see what was all the fuss. I ordered on line from walmart.com and had it delivered directly to my home. It even came in earlier that expected. My son happened to be visiting from Atlanta & in no time we had it inflated and headed to the beach. My sister came and brought hers as well. The two of them headed out in the emerald green waters of the gulf and paddled along side the shoreline about 50 ft. out and went for quite a distance. Finally, I got my chance and saw how much fun it is. I can't believe how stable it is and how easy to paddle. Did I tell you I am a senior citizen? Can't wait to get back out there. May be buying a 2nd one for my husband who just got back from a motorcycle ride to Sturgis. He hasn't tried it yet but am sure he will love it. If you are looking to have some fun and a little exercise don't hesitate to order this kayak.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCBColina
Panama City Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excelant Value for great inflatable kayak
7/12/2014

Customer review by Manthar

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by Manthar
by Manthar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my 4th Sevylor Hui Sport kayak and two of them i have given away so others can enjoy them as much as i do. I can kayak on this boat for hours and remain comfortable. It is like riding on a pillow of air without all the boat noises of a hardshell. The seat back is solid enough to provide a level of comfort/support and yet let you kick out your legs and lean back when you need to. The arm rests are a nice touch for resting your arms between paddling. It is super easy to setup and take down and can last 2 or 3 seasons if you care for it. I love i can keep it packed in a 32'' duffle bag (with all the gear i need) and go SOLO, kayaking on a moments notice. There are only a few trade offs: 1) It is only really suitable for creeks, slower rivers, and smallish lakes, 2) protect it from punctures and abrasions, 3) keep it clean and THOROUGHLY dry before packing (I wash it with Armor All car wash and wax, the polymers protect the PVC shell and increase its lifetime), 4) be gentle and cautious when pulling open valves (a strong hand will rip them right off).

Was this review helpful? (59) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manthar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You may consider to buy glue...
7/6/2011

Customer review by PBAsp

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by PBAsp
by PBAsp

I purchase it for fishing in small lakes. The size is ok, it is very stable, confortable, easy to use, a nice product for the price, and will make you happy, BUT it does not include a complete repair kit. It just come with two patches from the same material without glue, so you will need to buy a urethane flexible glue (normally used to repair waders, I could not find any in Walmart) if you have any problem. I burst mine on the second day of use. It was my fault, I guess that it was a hook or a bush during the transport, because the PVC is thick and seems durable. It was a small hole so I did not even need a patch and the glue was enough to repair it and now it works nice. Last, I do not like the rod holder. It is a personal opinion, but I believe that it does not make a lot of sense to do not hold the rod with your hands while fishing from a kayak and it is not useful when paddling, as it is very easy to touch the rod with the oar and drop it through the lake. Also, it makes it difficult to keep a bag with fishing tools between your legs.

Was this review helpful? (67) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PBAsp
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Economical very mobile
8/25/2012

Customer review by Maleficus19

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Maleficus19
by Maleficus19

The product is exactly what I expected it to be. Except for I was unaware that I needed to purchase a paddle separately. Luckily I had a paddle already. It is light weight. It is easily inflated in 5 minutes tops! Very maneuverable in he water. In fact, I have used it twice thus far, and on both occasions, it has be used in the ocean waters of Miami. I personally weigh 240 pounds. The kayak sustains my weight and other gear Thwt I have taken with me. A twelve of corona beers. A back pack with roughly another 4-5.5 lbs. of added weight. I have a Boston terrier and if I can manage to figure a way that we can go out together on this kayak, I will! I recently purchased a foot pump that collapses into the back pack. I can fold and roll the kayak into a back pack and jump on my bicycle and a bus and be at the ocean without having to take my car. I recommend this kayak to beginners and veterans of kayak lovers! -Misha

Was this review helpful? (49) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maleficus19
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Much more than expected!
8/8/2012

Customer review by Picayunereview

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Picayunereview
by Picayunereview

I've been wanting to try my hand at kayaking but didnt wanna take the expensive plunge into the recreation. I found the Hui Spoort kayak at my local walmart reduced to $59.00 so I bought it. After a few trips around local lakes and creeks, Im happy to say that this might well have been the best 59 bucks I;ve ever spent. It tracks pretty straight, and glides across the water almost effortlessly. I use a 12v inflator to blow it up and it ready to go in under 3 minutes. I've run aground, passed over debris, sticks and suken tree roots and have yet to have any hole or air leak. I'm 6'4", around 220lbs and this kayak keeps me afloat just fine. Invest in a good paddle and you'll be loving this kayak.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Picayunereview
Picayune, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent One person Kayak
7/2/2014

Customer review by vanuatu

4.0 stars 7/2/2014 by vanuatu
by vanuatu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have had this kayak out two times so far and have had no problems with air leaks. The material is fairly tough vinyl probably best suited for lakes. It is stable and does very well in moderate chop. I never felt like I was going to fall out or be overturned by passing boats etc. There are two fin keels built into the bottom of the hull that provide very good tracking. Cup holder in the middle is useless and I didn't use the rod holder but it seems ok. There is a small storage area on the bow but it would be great if they had used the much larger area behind the seat for storage instead. BTW the boat is white with blue accents not red as advertised. I don't think this would be the best choice for river kayaking where you may encounter rocks, sticks and rougher conditions due to there being no protection layer of fabric on the bottom of the boat. Still though a very good value for he money.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vanuatu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sweet for the price
5/30/2014

Customer review by Aliasair

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Aliasair
by Aliasair
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this kayak on a Sunday evening & it arrived Tuesday evening with the free shipping to home option. Couldn't have been more thrilled with the shipping. As others have mentioned, it is blue & white (not red & white as pictured), which I like better. It doesn't come with paddle, air pump, carrying case, etc. You order a kayak, you get a kayak. I went ahead & ordered the recommended paddle by same manufacturer. It arrived same day, in the same box - another bonus. I already had an air pump (air mattress for tent camping) & it worked just fine. My 10 yr old nephew & I took it to the lake as soon as we got it out of the box. I gave it a go to start off to see how it handled, if it took on any water, stable enough for a 10 yr old to safely paddle around in the cove. I was really impressed. No awkward climbing on, flipping over... The first few times the little guy got on I made him wear a life vest just to be safe, but he gets around on it just as well (if not better) than I do. We even used it to haul both of us, 2 fishing rods & tackle box without difficulty to avoid having to walk clear around our favorite cove. The mesh netting in front holds our water tight box (not included) for cell phone, keys, tackle, etc. I really like the fishing rod holder. It's just out of my way of paddling. I think what I enjoy most of all is it's so easy to use the air pump to deflate & poke it in the back of the truck & be done with it. I've always wanted to give a kayak a try & figured I'd buy this one to see if I really wanted to make an investment in the hobby. This really is a great little boat for the money. I'd recommend leaving it inflated after first use to allow the natural stretching of the PVC material. So the next time you take it out, just add a bit more air to get a more solid ride.

Was this review helpful? (97) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aliasair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great affordable family fun
7/14/2014

Customer review by DebbieWalMartShopper

4.0 stars 7/14/2014 by DebbieWalMartShopper
by DebbieWalMartShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this because of the price, under a hundred, took a chance on Kayak, took it out with a friend and my son, much better than expected! We all had a blast paddling around! Only 3 small things I didn't like.... no hand holds for carrying, the drink holder is to close to the seat and to small, the rod holder position is a little awkward. The biggest of the issues for me would be the rod holder position, my line would be in the way while I paddle. fine if you aren't trolling, but that was what I wanted to do with it. I'm sure I'll figure out something, it was very comfortable, I could see my self sitting in it all day. If you are new to kayaking this would be a good, economical start, you will get wet, but lots of fun! I'll be buying another one for my son, and maybe a third for friends or family that want to join in the fun!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebbieWalMartShopper
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for first time buyer.
6/8/2011

Customer review by SDMC1234

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by SDMC1234
by SDMC1234

Have two other inflatable kayaks not the same as this one. Looks are great. I love all mine the only thing is this one did not come with a oar. Very durable, go down the river all the time. Very easy to handle my 9 year old goes with us in his own.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDMC1234
Delaware River
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love this Kayak
7/2/2016

Customer review by FishAspen

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by FishAspen
by FishAspen

I love this little kayak. It is strong and easy to inflate. I found out how to attach an anchor. There is a paddle holder that works great. You can also deflate it very small.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishAspen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Bang for the Buck
5/27/2014

Customer review by Outdoorsman52

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Outdoorsman52
by Outdoorsman52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was my very first kayak, and I was not sure if I would like I kayaking or not. I went for cheapest I could with the best quality possible. I am very pleased. I love this kayak. It is a definite keeper. If I continue to enjoy kayaking, I will spend the money and upgrade. But for first time buyers, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Outdoorsman52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT!!!
6/27/2016

Customer review by lenak8

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by lenak8
by lenak8

i purchased last years model, and i couldn't be happier. inflates and deflates fast, my kids love it, and i ride it as well. Material is long lasting, i wipe it down after every use to keep it clean and lasting. just the right size for 1 adult, or 2 small kids. i would recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lenak8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great kayak for leisure recreation.
8/13/2012

Customer review by PTAmom23

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by PTAmom23
by PTAmom23

It is much lighter than hard kayaks which makes it easier to paddle. Because it is lighter, it is much more sensitive to direction change. I don't think it is worse, just different and requires getting used to. My kids really enjoyed it and even my 7 year old was able to paddle it. My oldest even likes it better than hard kayaks! This one is great too because it hold up to 400 lbs. As a result, my son and I were both able to ride at the same time (he used my knees as a backrest) with no problem. Wouldn't recommend for long rides, but it is possible! Definately worth the money! So much so that we are getting a second!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTAmom23
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
rest value
5/26/2014

Customer review by slu8db

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by slu8db
by slu8db

I took this out for the first time today and can't wait to go back tomorrow..I have had two hip replacements and this boat was so easy to get in and out of..I have never used a kayak before but can't wait to take it out again,,even with the wake from boats it was very sturdy and reliable..the seat was very comfortable and plenty of lleg room. I would recommend this for Al first time kayak users.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slu8db
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Superb product
7/11/2012

Customer review by nmhusa

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by nmhusa
by nmhusa

After lugging heavy hard shelled kayaks in and out of the water, I was ready to try one of these inflatable ones from Walmart. Despite initial concerns about stability in the water, the kayak turned out to be the best purchase of its kind. Light, easy to inflate and get in and out of the water, more stable than a hard bodied kayak, rides waves with ease in choppy water, plenty of storage, easy to deflate and store. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nmhusa
Caseville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great kayak for on the go
9/19/2014

Customer review by Dwrx

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Dwrx
by Dwrx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a pair of Hobie Revo kayaks and yes there is really no comparison between the two... With that said there are some advantages that the sevylor has over the hobie starting with the portability... It is very easy to inflate and takes no time at all to get set up... Cleaning is a breeze... I was very surprised with the comfort and the sturdiness, you will feel safe... As far as tracking and performance it does a good job for an inflatable... I have taken an out on 2-3ft surf and it did well... Overall for the money, it is an excellent buy to have a "on the go" kayak, especially when traveling...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dwrx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A toy, but not a bad toy
8/7/2014

Customer review by GrandpaFritzio

3.0 stars 8/7/2014 by GrandpaFritzio
by GrandpaFritzio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a bit surprised by some of the 4- and 5-star reviews, but to each his own. This is a nice toy, probably worth the $71 I paid, but definitely not what I'd call a kayak unless — maybe — you're in absolute calm conditions. I've only been out in it once so far, since I was frankly bored trying to fight a 5mph wind on a (thankfully) small lake. Might be fun to drift down a small river in it, maybe I'll get around to that. It did inflate/deflate quite nicely and seems fairly rugged. Mine is blue.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaFritzio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for the Money
6/5/2014

Customer review by CFLFocus

5.0 stars 6/5/2014 by CFLFocus
by CFLFocus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first inflatable kayak, and I have to say I am impressed. I have taken it out twice: once on the river, and once on a small lake in town. It performed well on both bodies of water. I even paddled over a submerged stump in the lake, and it did zero damage to the kayak. I am 240 lbs and was concerned about the stability of the kayak, but it handles my weight and fishing gear with ease. It does get moved around by current and wind more easily than a hard kayak especially when not paddling, but for the price I have been very happy so far and look forward to taking it out again soon.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CFLFocus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Kayak for limited space or beginners
7/8/2014

Customer review by Naaah

4.0 stars 7/8/2014 by Naaah
by Naaah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this Kayak for my father, it's a decent kayak if you have limited space or if you're a beginner, unfortunately my father isn't a beginner and he has a truck and trailer. His comment regarding this kayak was that it wasn't V-hulled enough which made it easy to steer but made it difficult to get up to speed with other kayaks. A great kayak to use if everyone has inflatables, but other hard hulled kayaks are going to be moving much faster and much more easily than you are. It's very stable and very fun, but not as fast as the hard hulled kayaks, then again hard hulled kayaks are around $500 and this inflatable costs less than $100.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naaah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews