Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 225 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

225 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

225 reviews | 3 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
50
3 stars
20
2 stars
29
1 stars
70
1-20 of 177 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews
What you paid for is what you get
9/26/2011

Customer review by BeesKnees14

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by BeesKnees14
by BeesKnees14

I bought this simply to listen to music during school so it meets my only expectation. I thought it had a few extra features that might interest me but you can only listen to music, watch videos(not record them), record sound, and read .txt files . If you want more than that then dont buy this.I like the fact that it plays music loud and quality is great. only thing i dont like is that the headphones it came with are about 1 cm to short to reach from my pocket to my head. but that can be fixed. battery life is acceptable. overall, i like it

Was this review helpful? (493) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeesKnees14
NC, charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great MP3 for someone who wants something simple.
10/9/2011

Customer review by Ishtar07

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Ishtar07
by Ishtar07

I really like this little MP3 player. It was half the cost that my 1GB was back in 2007 and holds a ton more songs. The transfer for songs is very simple, as is photos, videos, etc. The only things kind of disappointing is that you can't change the background and the touch calibration only has three points, so it can be a little jumpy until you learn how to use it.

Was this review helpful? (191) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ishtar07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great MP3 Player for an 8 yr old
10/4/2011

Customer review by MsMartyD

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by MsMartyD
by MsMartyD

I purchased this MP3 player for my grandaughter birthday and she loves it; easy to manage, touch screen, etc...

Was this review helpful? (254) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsMartyD
Port St Joe, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
10/7/2011

Customer review by Sugr11

1.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Sugr11
by Sugr11

My daughter (14 yr old) was very excited about this purchase. She loved that it is touch screen. She loved that it has a speaker so she doesn't have to use headphones to listen to her music while she's in her room. Those are both great features. Unfortunately, she hasn't had it 2 days and we're already having to return it. It is fully charged but when she powers it on, the Sylvania screen flashes and then the MP3 player powers off. We can't get it to stay on. We have reset it and that has not helped at all. I would say that one time in 20, we are able to get it to stay on. That's the only way we found out that the problem isn't that the battery is dead. I can not say how easy it is to put songs on it because we haven't had a chance to. Unfortunately, I am taking it back to Walmart tomorrow. And unfortunately, my daughter is out of the money she spent, in her excitement, to have the MP3 player shipped directly to her.

Was this review helpful? (265) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sugr11
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
great product!
10/14/2011

Customer review by there8are8no8names8left

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by there8are8no8names8left
by there8are8no8names8left

this mp3 player is great, got it for my son, and now my husband wants one, was nervous about it because of the reviews, but after owning it for a while, i think they didn't like it because they compared it to an 'ipod' but this one is great!

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
there8are8no8names8left
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/27/2011

Customer review by SouthernKYgirl

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by SouthernKYgirl
by SouthernKYgirl

For the price it is a wonderful product. The touch screen is a little had to get use to due to being really sensitive. Went I first started working with the product it froze up. I hit the reset button and it hasn't stopped working since. I recommend that when you first start working with the mp3 player preform the touch panel calibration under settings then system settings. Also I put all my files in different folders such as music. books. photos. When you open ebooks or photos it open all files including the music because the player saves everything in one big file and it takes a while to find what you are looking for. I love the fact it has a built in speaker, the music quality is great. even the ebook function works but the screen is small for that. Don't forget every ebooks file has to be in plain TXT. format. I would buy this product again and recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernKYgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great MP3 Player
1/18/2012

Customer review by rineryke

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by rineryke
by rineryke

The touch screen works amazing. It goes by touch, not heat. Sound is clear and can go really loud. Putting music inside was easy and simple. All the features work great. Got it for one of my siblings and they loved it. I was even impressed with it. It's worth buying (:

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rineryke
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for pro performance, otherwise good
9/24/2011

Customer review by SoloLady

4.0 stars 9/24/2011 by SoloLady
by SoloLady

Worked easily. The only drawback for me was the loud POP as it opened each song. I planned to use it for singing gigs, so that was unacceptable. Would be very good for most peoples' uses.

Was this review helpful? (102) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoloLady
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/19/2011

Customer review by kstarry

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by kstarry
by kstarry

When I looked on the website and saw the picture of this MP3 player, I thought that it looked great and would be exactly what I would like. When I received it, however, I opened the box and turned it on only to find that the display is totally different than the one shown. Not only that, but the screen needs to slide in order to give you other options. The slide function is very difficult to use. Next comes the actual use. The sound quality is fantastic! I couldn't believe that it put out so much sound on such a low setting (my other MP3 player required a nearly full blast setting in order to hear it). The player is touch screen, however, it is so much smaller than I'd thought it would be. Either way, it works for what I need it to do and the minor problems that I've had have gotten easier to deal with. The more you use it, the easier the transitions become. Great value for what it is.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kstarry
Council Bluffs, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verdict still out
10/24/2011

Customer review by sharkchaser

1.0 stars 10/24/2011 by sharkchaser
by sharkchaser

I charged my video/mp3 player for three hours until the battery icon stopped flashing like the instuctions said and when I started playing with it, it shut down and then would only flash "Sylvannia" and then go blank. I contacted the manufacturer and was told that I need to charge the unit for at least 9 hours before doing anything with it. So I returned it. Iwill buy a new one and try this one more time.

Was this review helpful? (43) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharkchaser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent mp4 for the price!
1/4/2012

Customer review by HuskerFanLemi

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by HuskerFanLemi
by HuskerFanLemi

Got this for my kids for Christmas after reading many reviews. And, as most commented, the touch screen is a little hard to use....but it seems to be getting better (more sensitive) the more we use them. Also, my son, who has no fingernails to use on it, and doesn't want to carry a stylus around, has figured out he can take the earbud our of his ear from his headphones, and just tap the screen with that....it's works GREAT! The gentleman who put a review on Amazon for adding video was a MAJOR help! After trying this on my own, and a few conversations with him, I figured out Mp4 videos only work if they're very short. So to add an entire movie for my kids, I had to upload a movie that we own on DVD to my computer then convert the movie file to .avi format. That is the only way it worked. The only drawback, I couldn't figure out how to get the subtitles off the DVD upload, so when I converted it to .avi, the subtitles were still on it. My kids, however, don't mind that, cause if they can't understand a part, they can read it....and I think that's GREAT, cause they're READING while watching a great movie! So that ends up "Win-Win!" I tried the recommended file conversion software from his review, but all of them that were free either put a watermark behind the movie, or they only converted the first 3 minutes of the movie and stopped, wanting you to download the full version of the software for a price. I searched and searched, and with the help of "c-net reviews", discovered "Prism Video File Converter". It converted my .wmv movie files to .avi with no problems, no gimmicks and no fee...that's right, I downloaded it for free. (Thank you C-Net) I have about 20 or 30 songs, about 20 photos, one e-book "Peter Rabbit", and 2 movies, downloaded on each of their mp4s, and they are finally getting close to being full...and we all know how large movie files are. On another note...the only e-book file supported is .txt which you can find for free in some places online also (if the copyright has expired you do not have to purchase them, and there are some sites out there that have already done the research and put them into one easy to use site)....I felt lucky in finding Peter Rabbit for free. All in all, this mp4 has pleasantly surprised me, and my kids are super excited to have a "touch screen"! They think they're big time! :0) I would definitley buy again! Only wish I had a cord to charge it in a vehicle or outlet....only cord it comes with is USB, so looks like we'll be investing in a USB converter for charging purposes and traveling convenience! Don't hesitate in buying this....it's adult and kid friendly!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HuskerFanLemi
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/6/2012

Customer review by mcburke

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by mcburke
by mcburke

My son is 11 and he loves it. the size is great and it was not that hard to put the songs on it. It has a lot of options on it that we have not tried yet. but plan on doing so soon. the sound is great, and the touch screen is good also. we like it. Sylvania 4GB Touch Screen, MP3/MP4 Video Player

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcburke
Baltimore Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/16/2011

Customer review by Skybird12

4.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Skybird12
by Skybird12

The battery isn't as good as you would expect, considering it plays video's. However, it has great sound quality, even has built in speakers. You will need to buy better headphones, but after that its great. The video capability is somewhat okay, I don't use it that often. The touch screen calibration fixes the issue of having to touch the screen multiple times, mostly.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skybird12
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SAME OPTIONS AND FEATURES AS HIGHER PRICED UNITS.
10/23/2011

Customer review by HARLEYSAREFUN

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by HARLEYSAREFUN
by HARLEYSAREFUN

IT WAS A GIFT FOR MY GIRLFRIEND. SHE ABSOLUTELY LOVES IT.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HARLEYSAREFUN
UPSTATE, S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/3/2011

Customer review by cynlyn70

1.0 stars 10/3/2011 by cynlyn70
by cynlyn70

My son picked this out, when he recieved it, he charged it and it wouldn't turn on at all. The screen would flash they Sylvania logo and go blank...couldn't do anything with it.

Was this review helpful? (50) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cynlyn70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Touch Screen media player for great price
1/17/2012

Customer review by TheBua

4.0 stars 1/17/2012 by TheBua
by TheBua

I am still very surprised at the cost of this mp3 player. For the price, you are getting alot. This is not an ipod however, so dont expect an awesome interface or anything like that. In fact, the interface is a little quirky, but nothing close to a deal breaker. The touch screen also takes a little adjusting to get used to, but still, not a deal breaker. This is an awesome product for the price. You cant beat it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBua
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Let down purchase
12/5/2011

Customer review by disappointment88

1.0 stars 12/5/2011 by disappointment88
by disappointment88

I was very let down with this purchase. I had the Mp3 player for one day and it worked fine. The next day I went to turn it on and it wouldn't work. Thinking maybe it needed a charge I plugged it into my laptop where it wouldn't even register as being plugged in. We continued to try and get it to come on only for it to come on occasionally. Needless to say we returned it to the store for a refund and I didn't bother wasting my time with buying another online and having to wait another week for it to arrive.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
disappointment88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great mp3 player!
7/7/2012

Customer review by StarMarie

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by StarMarie
by StarMarie

I bought one of these for myself, 17, and my little brother, 10. We love them! People complain about not being able to do things but it's really not that hard if you are any bit intelligent and tech savvy.http://www.curtisint.com/html/CustService/Manuals/SYL_SMPK4230_EN.PDF is the link for the online manual if there are any issues. It's really nice for all the features. So what if the menu screen looks different from the picture, you can change the background! Also the touch screen is not like an ipod, yes you have to use either a stylus or your nail but it's like $30! Video quality is great as well as picture. Ebooks read very well and music sound thru headphones is great.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarMarie
Bechtelsville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a 6 year old!!!
12/12/2011

Customer review by floridamommaof2

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by floridamommaof2
by floridamommaof2

I purchased this for my 6 year old daughter for Christmas. She hasn't used it yet, but I have. I downloaded music on it for her very easliy and the sound quality was good. I also put some pictures on it with ease. I have yet to put any books on it and not sure how to go about it, but hope to figure it out after Christmas. The touch screen is a little sensitive, but will be perfect for little fingers. I feel she is too little for an expensive ipod and didn't want any electronic with internet access, so I am very Happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
floridamommaof2
Winter Haven, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A must for Teenagers
1/3/2012

Customer review by Shantellylace6778

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Shantellylace6778
by Shantellylace6778

Well I don't have the money like alot of people to get their children an iPod but I had to look at something that was functional and affordable MP4 players. My daughter who is 13 years old got it for Christmas. She charged it completely before using it and she just fell in love with it, the touch screen and the name brand. She told that it was alot better than what her dad got her the Christmas before it was the off the wall brand not a good thing.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shantellylace6778
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1-20 of 177 reviews