Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

198 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
84
4 stars
51
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 stars
34
1-20 of 171 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews
Hard to hear
10/9/2011

Customer review by Boydbrain

3.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Boydbrain
by Boydbrain

Overall, I am pleased with the product. The two screens each have their own players, to my kids can watch their own movie if they want to. They also connect together so the same movie will show on both screens. My kids love the flexibility. However, the volume level is way too low when turned up all the way. There is both an external dial-like volume control, and an internal volume control that can only be changed with the remote control. With both turned up all the way and the two units connected, the kids can barely hear the movie, either with the external speakers, or the ear-buds in.

Was this review helpful? (136) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boydbrain
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2 DVD players in one box
9/26/2011

Customer review by SilverSurfR

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by SilverSurfR
by SilverSurfR

Sylvania finally did it right by including 2 DVD players in one box. I now have the capability of allowing 2 people in the rear of car to independently watch different shows. Also allows one to watch movie while the other plays games. Watch the same movie or separate movies. The only drawback is I would like Sylvania to include 2 separate car adaptors but I understand that one adaptor connecting both devices works best for everyday use. Overall, both players work very well and the print on function buttons make it very easy to read and use. Remote controlls (2) are very useful including volume control which is not available on competitor's unit. Service dept. very helpful and easy to reach.

Was this review helpful? (216) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilverSurfR
Forked River, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall great buy...
10/19/2011

Customer review by Sela123

4.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Sela123
by Sela123

The DVD players are great. They can be used together where one movie plays on both screens or a separate movie on each. There is a split car charger and two remote controls. This works great if you have two or more children who may want to watch different movies. The only thing I was not thrilled with were the straps that wrap around the headrest, they can be a bit complicated to put on sometimes.

Was this review helpful? (92) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sela123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
11/6/2011

Customer review by mill123

3.0 stars 11/6/2011 by mill123
by mill123

Low sound and straps to head rests are a joke

Was this review helpful? (82) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mill123
west Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Terrible Product
11/27/2011

Customer review by Bridgette436

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Bridgette436
by Bridgette436

I have bought several Sylvania DVD products & they are all the same..as soon as the 90 day warrantee is up, the dvd players go out!! Stay away from this product, they will not fix or honor anything once the 90 days is up. Cheap is not always worth it! Stay away, run in the other direction & spend a few bucks more on a better brand.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bridgette436
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Customer Service
11/24/2011

Customer review by TheHappyMilitaryFamily

1.0 stars 11/24/2011 by TheHappyMilitaryFamily
by TheHappyMilitaryFamily

Bought 2 DVD players from this company and they have both broke twice. I had to fight with them to try to get them to replace both of them without paying a $45.00 co-pay fee for each. The DVD players were $99.00 a piece, and they wanted us to pay a $45.00 fee to fix them + $14.00 to ship (each flat rate box) them back to the company and include (2) $7.00 checks to ensure them when they shipped them back to us. After all the fee's it came out to $67.00 to get them fixed as this company only has a 3-month (90 day warranty). Both of our DVD players broke just after the 90 day warranty expired. When they sent us the replacements they both broke, yet again just after that 90 days. This company's product is designed to work for the first 3 months then it's a matter of time before you're out purchasing a new product. We do NOT recommend this product to anybody who values the hard earned American dollar in which you worked so hard to earn.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheHappyMilitaryFamily
Jacksonville NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Okay
11/27/2011

Customer review by OhioMomOnTheGo

3.0 stars 11/27/2011 by OhioMomOnTheGo
by OhioMomOnTheGo

The picture was good but the setup was a pain. Also, the straps that hold the tv onto the headrest weren't very functional. I couldn't open the fold out screen to put a dvd in without having to manuever the straps. Good concept...leaves a lot to be desired. Going to return and get the Panasonic dual DVD players for $10 more...the straps attach in the back and they play burned movies too.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhioMomOnTheGo
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2011

Customer review by todaysnyshopper

2.0 stars 11/28/2011 by todaysnyshopper
by todaysnyshopper

I bought this for a road trip for my three kids. It was difficult to figure out how to hook up together (to play the same movie). About 1/2 way to our destination (about 11 hours drive), one of the DVD players broke ... it just didn't play the movie(s), and the screen said "Open". Also, the straps to the headrest are awful ... looks terrible, and not user-friendly. Once at our destination, we returned this to Wal Mart and bought a different brand. I would not recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
todaysnyshopper
upstate ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for car rides or just around the house.
7/19/2012

Customer review by ConfessedShopaholic

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by ConfessedShopaholic
by ConfessedShopaholic

I bought this so that me and my siblings could watch movies in the car for long rides and I must say that they are GREAT! I don't know what people are talking about saying the sound is bad, because the sound is really good for music or movies also the earphone that come with have great audio. It is a great deal when you buy this with the bonus DVD bundle. The straps are kinda tricky but it's pretty easy to figure out. Good picture and easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConfessedShopaholic
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great investment
1/6/2014

Customer review by sgarrett81

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by sgarrett81
by sgarrett81

I'm glad I didn't listen to the poor reviews and purchased this product anyway. We bought these for our two daughters to watch when we travel. The straps are very secure and stay on nicely during our long trips. The sound was loud enough with and/or without headphones. Our girls had no problem hearing their movies. The picture is also great. We are very satisfied with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgarrett81
Conway, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks like a great buy...but not worth the trouble
7/23/2012

Customer review by heavenhome

1.0 stars 7/23/2012 by heavenhome
by heavenhome

I am a thrifty shopper and I love to get a great deal. I went with this product thinking "you can't beat this for 100 bucks". The reason I returned it? The volume. We synced the two players together and turned the volume all the up. (We even tried it with headphones) We could barely hear it. Pros: Battery life of 2 hours, Dual DVD players (not just dual screens), carrying case, Cons: Mounting straps are nonsense, remotes are low budget and made it more complicated (if you lose a remote you cant sync the 2 players), syncing the players was too complicated for kids to do, earphones are useless,no resume playback Summary: I went with the Philips dual DVD players. Fifty bucks more....the picture and volume are amazing! Mounting straps are simple but effective, has resume playback, the screens are 9in., and no remote hassle (all controls are right on the units) The 2 downsides: no battery and no carrying case. I decided that I can live with that.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heavenhome
Would recommend to a friend? No
DOES NOT PLAY LOUD ENOUGH AT FULL VOLUME TO HEAR!
6/26/2012

Customer review by Smartmomto3

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Smartmomto3
by Smartmomto3

This dual DVD set looks nice but the volume does not play loud enough for the kids to hear it in the car on the highway, it doesn't matter if the headphones are in or not. The volume max is set way to low for a unit that is supposed to be used in a vehicle. The other major drawback is the design of the velcro strap harness that straps all the way around the whole unit. It blocks the sensor for the remote, and it also slips in the way of the dvd door so you can't shut it without two hands to hold the straps out of the way. We bought this for a long road trip and were very disappointed when the kids complained over and over about not being able to hear the movie. Even when we took the headphones out I could hardly hear it with my head on the headrest the the unit was attached to. I would not recommend this unit!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smartmomto3
Kennewick, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked great for 2 weeks
12/11/2011

Customer review by DroneIllinois

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by DroneIllinois
by DroneIllinois

We bought this item on Black Friday for our 2 year old son. It worked fine for about 2 weeks but now it takes forever to load and says no disc. We thought it might be the DVD, so we tried multiple DVDs and the same thing continues to happen. So needless to say we have an upset 2 year old while we are traveling.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DroneIllinois
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
2/10/2014

Customer review by Lindsym86

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Lindsym86
by Lindsym86

My son loves this it entertaines him in the car, the sound is great and the picture quality! No skipping on rides, I love that each one plays it's own DVD and u can also have them both play the same DVD. It's worth the wait ordering it online and it's the only one I found that comes with a remote. Highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lindsym86
St. Michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/27/2012

Customer review by excellaf350

3.0 stars 8/27/2012 by excellaf350
by excellaf350

I purchased this dual dvd system for my truck to use for long trips for my kids (ages 3 and 5). I wasnt expecting much for the price. I got 2 dvd players, a dvd and the protection plan for just a tad over $100 so I wasnt expecting it to be a top of the line system. It functions as stated. I can play 1 dvd on both screens or 2 seperate dvds. There are many things they do not tell you in these reviews. Once you have them mounted and the cables run you have 2 remote controls. You must keep these and they are dedicated to each player. when watching 1 movie on both screens you must put the dvd into unit A and use the remote on unit B to select "video in". If you lose the remote or the battery dies you are not able to do this. This has to be done ever time you power it off. You can not put the dvd into unit B and send the video to unit A it only works in 1 direction. Also when you play seperate dvds you must disconnect the cable to link the 2 players otherwise the sound from the other unit will come across on the second screen. I also had a problem getting the second screen to work I think that is a heavily reviewed issue. The plugs on the link cable are standard 3.5mm and you have to make sure its pushed ALL THE WAY IN or the screen doesnt work. I messed with my units for 10 min before I figured out the cable was not fully seated in the first unit but at first glance it looked fine. It was infact just not fully seated into the socket. The sound level on the players is really low. I would suggest getting some boosters or headphones that cover your ears and block out all background noise. My kids had a hard time hearing when I used my CB or turned on the radio in the truck. I kept it prety quiet in the truck and they were ok with hearing the players. The mounting straps are just plain horrible. the straps wrap around the front of the unit and get in the way of opening the screen to put in a dvd. it also interfeeres with the front panel buttons. Even my wife was complaining about the straps getting in the way. when your kids are 3/5 the adults in the front seat have to do it. they should have just put some slots to hold the straps on the rear of the unit, to hold it to the head rest it would have been much easier to mount them and would keep the front of the player wade open. overall if you want a cheap player that gives you the ability to watch seperate dvds or the same dvd this is not a terrible option. Just dont expect to get the Taj Mahal here. They work ok, you need to be prepared to help out small kids and my best suggestion is to put your money into a good set of noise reduction headphones. (thats what I am going to do). overall it works fine just be aware that you are buying a simple DVD system it requires some assistance for small kids but it serves its purpose. If you have older kids who can put the dvds in you should be fine. If you dont want to be bothered with helping small kids I would suggest looking for a different system.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
excellaf350
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Thrilled with product!
12/15/2013

Customer review by CaitLove88

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by CaitLove88
by CaitLove88

After I purchased the twin DVD players I started reading reviews and got worried about the quality of the product I was going to receive. Not a single one of the bad reviews were accurate for my players. They work fantastic, the picture is clear, the sound is loud, the cords are long, and the mounting straps work great. I would buy this player time and time again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaitLove88
Marion, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value
1/13/2014

Customer review by LauraJeanne07

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by LauraJeanne07
by LauraJeanne07

We bought these DVD players with a Walmart gift card (our other portable players by Phillips stopped working but luckily we purchased the protection- I highly recommend spending the extra money for the protection, Walmart's is wonderful), we chose these units because of the option to either watch the same movie on both or play two separate movies. I love that it's two DVD players! It was kind of confusing setting up the players to show the same movie on both screens- the DVD has to be in the "A" player and you must press a button on the "B" remote-but it wasn't much trouble once we actually read the directions. The sound isn't wonderful but with headphones it's fine- we hooked it up to the car stereo so the sound is perfect- the picture is good, screen size is nice. The description doesn't say the units have batteries but they do, I'm not sure how long they last but they're there! We've only been using the units

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LauraJeanne07
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad setup
12/19/2011

Customer review by tlw5

1.0 stars 12/19/2011 by tlw5
by tlw5

Straps to hold DVD are different than pictures. Do not wrap around headrest ... instead a contraption that "braces" the DVD player, must remove to change DVD, and easily falls out of straps b/c not secure. Returned DVD set b/c of this and inability to use with 3 small children.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlw5
Would recommend to a friend? No
Godd but straps are lacking
12/6/2011

Customer review by lbjjr

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by lbjjr
by lbjjr

This comes with ear buds - so if you have young children that will use headphones get some. Don't get ones that are set for volume control unless you can change the volume because you can't hear the dvd. The straps that come with this make it difficult to load a dvd - they get in the way- there has to be a better design. The DVD players themselves are great - the volume is fine with no headphones. And the ability to use them together or separate is great!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lbjjr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for rear facing kids!
2/19/2014

Customer review by ilovemyhome

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by ilovemyhome
by ilovemyhome

Bought this for my 9 month old. Love that I can use 1 or both. I can put it anywhere I need it and the picture and sound are great! Only simi negative is I can't turn the volume up Or down with remotes. You can mute it when u need quiet though.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovemyhome
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews