Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 34 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
For long trips-awesome
12/1/2011

Customer review by nursegolfdiva

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by nursegolfdiva
by nursegolfdiva

So here is the scoop. If you are looking for a DVD player for your kids to ride around town watching-this could be the wrong choice. If you need one for long trips and don't want to keep changing the DVD...this is your player! 2 problems: the headrest mount makes changing a DVD difficult and the player does not return to the last stopping point if the car is turned off. This is why for short trips it is a pain. However, the fact that it plays an SD card, and I can load 12 movies on one card, is awesome! I loaded a bunch of movies and they just play one after the other so there is no changing DVDs and no carting around a bunch of DVDs that might get lost. I would have given it an excellent rating if it didn't start over everytime I stopped the car...

Was this review helpful? (189) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nursegolfdiva
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Audio not very loud.
11/28/2011

Customer review by karenrc

4.0 stars 11/28/2011 by karenrc
by karenrc

The video is great. The cable is too short to run down the seat and across the floor. It has to run straight across the open access between the front seats, which I don't like at all. The audio is clear but it isn't loud enough. It is a bit difficult to hear when driving. I do have the sound turned up as high as it will go on both units. I may end up taking these back.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karenrc
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic value
7/14/2012

Customer review by Manylayers

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Manylayers
by Manylayers

i chose this brand based on others reviews. They are easy to set up and relatively easy to use. The volume is low, but unless you have a lot of road noise, it's manageable. My car continues to feed the power so we do not lose our spot on the DVD after a quick stop. I did have a challenge with the mounting straps, my headrests are an odd shape, but we worked that out. We have also learned that changing the DVD while the car is in motion is unlikely. Both my girls are still in car seats and cannot reach the unit... And I can't do it while driving... But this is a manageable issue. I love that the unit comes with both a car charger and regular wall charger, increasing the number of uses... We only use this during long trips and otherwise keep it stored in the case. No technical difficulties ,..

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manylayers
Harrisburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works like you thnk it would
5/27/2012

Customer review by larry77rn

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by larry77rn
by larry77rn

I am reviewing this item brand new. At the current time, everything is fine. works as expected and does what it is suppose to do. For me, this is the only style of DVD player that works in my vehicle without doing a $1000 custom job. For that much I can buy these several times till some new technology roles out. My problem, no matter the brand has always been screen 2 going dead. I never had a Sylvania and can't compare apples to apples... but I expect the same thing to happen in a year to year and a half. We don't put these through major usage. Used a few times a month. This is the only product I have found that is a dual 9 inch screen, and not having both monitors with a DVD player. That is an added cost and don't plan on running 2 seperte movies in the van with 5 kids. One is distracting enough as the driver.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
larry77rn
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for long road trips
1/17/2012

Customer review by fatti

4.0 stars 1/17/2012 by fatti
by fatti

My family really enjoys the dual player on long road trips, but it was my 15 year-old daughter that had to unvelcro the straps to change the dvds. I do not believe that a child in a carseat or booster chair could do the same. In the product description, I am pretty sure that the dual player could be viewed individually or together. When I used the player for the the first time, found there is only one player and the other is just a screen for veiwing. There is an USB port for a flash drive. If you planned ahead, you could download music and movies to the flashdrive and not have to change the disk out everytime. I thought that was a very nice feature. The sound was ok. It is best when you use the earphones or connect to the car stereo system through the auxiliary jack (not included, separate purchase). The picture was very good and clear and the 9" screen was perfect. The most missed features for this purchase was that it does not have a last memory playback and that it does not have the option to play it on battery power. When the car is turned off, so is the power and the player. When the car is turned on, the movie/cd will go back to the beginning and you have to skip forward to get back to where you left off. A little annoying.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fatti
las vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
12/12/2011

Customer review by LookingGood123

2.0 stars 12/12/2011 by LookingGood123
by LookingGood123

This product was not very well thought out before distribution. It has no straps for headrest mounting, no resume play if you turn off the vehicle the DVD starts over again. The resolution is so so. A battery should be added in order to insure that the DVD can resume, and pause. If you are going on a long trip with no stops for at least 2 hrs this would be great, other than that, NO.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LookingGood123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Good - 1 Drawback
4/29/2012

Customer review by EBGMom

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by EBGMom
by EBGMom

The picture is great and it was easy to install. The only drawback is that when you turn it off and then back on again it doesn't keep your place in the DVD. It totally starts over, which is a little annoying.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EBGMom
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The volume on this player is horrible! Don't buy!!
5/17/2012

Customer review by lemongfire7

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by lemongfire7
by lemongfire7

Please don't waste your money or time on purchasing this dvd player. You get a good picture but little to no sound. I am packaging mine up and returning to my local WalMart as soon as possible! What a dissappointment!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lemongfire7
Orange, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
WORKS FOR NOW
3/24/2013

Customer review by montanasmama

3.0 stars 3/24/2013 by montanasmama
by montanasmama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this for our 4 year old and 1 year old. It will work for now, but if you have older children, they have to watch the same movie. The three things I don't like is the remote works within a 30 degree radious of the front of the DVD player. If I am in the car, I can't push play with out stopping the car, getting out and doing it. It would be so much nicer if I could just push the button and go. The second issue is that the cords linking the two of them are way too short. I can't pin them to the floor or the roof of my van so they go accross the middle of the seats, where I will accidently catch it with my purse of my kids tear it out climbing through the middle. Third, the player does not charge, it must be plugged in to work. This isn't my favorite because I would love to just take the DVD player into wherever I am and allow them to watch it sometims! It was a good priced compared to others similar. You get what you pay for!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
montanasmama
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok
11/27/2011

Customer review by Motherof2almost

3.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Motherof2almost
by Motherof2almost

Its a good deal but they aren't very loud

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Motherof2almost
seminole tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/26/2012

Customer review by WhenInNeed

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by WhenInNeed
by WhenInNeed

Great for the long trips as well as the short ones. Audio seemed to be quiet but plug in some headphones and you're good to go.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhenInNeed
Castle Rock, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Dont Do it! Pick something else!
4/17/2012

Customer review by DANASHOPS

1.0 stars 4/17/2012 by DANASHOPS
by DANASHOPS

I dont like the way the wires have to run from one unit to another. The way I have it set up in the car is the main CD player is behind the drivers seat and the 2nd unit is behind the passenger seat. If you only have someone in the passengers back seat, both units have to play. You have to have both units running even if you only have one person in the back seat. There is a terrible noise already coming from the unit that holds the CD and it does not always load. The units can be sat on a table but held up the same way a picture frame is. Falls over very easily and constantly. Going to have to send it back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DANASHOPS
FT LAUDERDALE, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned DVD player.
8/13/2012

Customer review by 3Irons

3.0 stars 8/13/2012 by 3Irons
by 3Irons

We purchased this Sylvania DVD player as a replacement for an Audiovox and Sony that both long outlasted their batteries. Unfortunately, it is cheaper to purchase a new DVD player than replacement batteries. However, we returned it to Wal-Mart within the 15 day cutoff period to return DVD players. Wal-Mart refunded the purchase price plus tax, but would not refund shipping or the 1 year replacement guarantee we purchased. On the positive side, this player did play DVD's. On the negative side, we returned it because the volume had to be kept at the max level just to be able to barely hear it in a quiet vehicle. Also, the screen had to be held at a certain angle to see the picture or it would appear black. Finally, this player does not use batteries and does not have resume play therefore each time the power supply was off the DVD would start over from the beginning. We read in some reviews about the volume issues, but mistakenly assumed that the reviewers were just being to picky. Truthfully, the volume is just not loud enough. Our next player will be either another Audiovox or Sony!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3Irons
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pure Junk ,Dont Buy
5/18/2012

Customer review by conniegeo1

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by conniegeo1
by conniegeo1

We bought this thinking it would work in the car . No Volume ,had it all the way up and couldnt hear it . Called Tech Support ,What a joke . Sylvania doesnt even have support for this product ,had to call Somewhere in India , Guy Says You take back to store where you bought . Dont Buy this Junk

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conniegeo1
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Do not recommend; a waste of money!
3/13/2013

Customer review by bmersh01

1.0 stars 3/13/2013 by bmersh01
by bmersh01

This is the first product review I have ever submitted, but I felt a strong need to keep others from suffering the misfortune I have with this!! I purchased this for my granddaughter in November, to be used daily in the car. Upon hooking up, realized there is no internal battery, so it has to be plugged in to use. So, every time you get in the car, the DVD starts all over, which is a pain. Then, about 3 weeks in, the wires on the car power cord completely came out of the part that plugs in, so I had to go to Radio Shack and pay $20 a new one so it would work. Last and final straw...about a week ago (3 months in), it completely stopped working properly! When you turn it on, it will start to play the beginning credits of the DVD, but quits after about 1 minute! I called the company for help, and that was a complete joke! They asked for purchase date, and when I told them November, the guy told me "Product has only 90 warranty, so you will need to find repair shop or purchase new unit". He would not even transfer me to anyone in tech that might be able to help me see if there was a way to fix it because it had been 93 days since I ordered it (even though, since I had it shipped, I had only had the product in hand for use 86 day total!). So, I am now shopping for a new, better DVD player for the car. Please do not waste your money on this!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmersh01
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product does not hold a charge / sound is terrible
7/2/2012

Customer review by DNBE

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by DNBE
by DNBE

I usually do not leave reviews on products but could not pass the opportunity to leave a review for this product. I purchased these to go on vacation with me and found that the unit could not hold a charge - brand new out of the box. I had to plug it into the 12V anytime my kids wanted to watch their movies and since there are no plugs on a plane my kids could not watch their movies at all. In addition, the sound did not work unless you moved the cord around. These were very disappointing for the price paid. We will be returning these screens and will not purchase another Sylvania product again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DNBE
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exactly what I needed
4/20/2012

Customer review by TapeHead

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by TapeHead
by TapeHead

This was exactly what I needed. What is more important to me is that I was able to find what I needed on the internet, order it and have it just come to my door in a couple days. What is even MORE important is that I found I needed another one in a hurry and I ordered it on-line. I checked the rush box and figured it would do me no good but it came practically the next day. I needed this as part of a bigger project and I was going to miss my deadline. Then it shows up at the door and my day is saved. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TapeHead
Woodland Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great DVD PLAYER
7/29/2012

Customer review by PUPPAPUPPY

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by PUPPAPUPPY
by PUPPAPUPPY

tHIS IS A GREAT PLAYER, THE GRAND KIDS LOVE IT AND IT IS EASY TO INSTALL NO TROUBLE CHANGING DISKS AND GOOD VOLUME, THE PRICE WAS RIGHT.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PUPPAPUPPY
OCONTO WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/26/2011

Customer review by johnd3

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by johnd3
by johnd3

This piece of junk broke christmas morning while trying to put the first dvd in it. Took it right back to the store and got my money back.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnd3
Would recommend to a friend? No
never worked!
2/21/2013

Customer review by MomOfThr3e

1.0 stars 2/21/2013 by MomOfThr3e
by MomOfThr3e
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my nieces. But when they went to use it for the first time it did not work. They did not specify about what was wrong. They are going to switch it out so I know they aren't returning it for the money. This was shipped from walmart.com and now I have to give the receipt to my sister so she return this. I do not know if this was a defective product or if it was damaged during shipping. However, the box was not damaged and everything was packaged accordingly according to her. I added the protection plan in just of case. From experience from these portable TVs they only work a few times and than stop working all of a sudden. So for an extra $10 you can get a protection plan, please invest in it, it is worth it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfThr3e
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews