Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 34 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Coleman 9' x 7" Dome Tent
5/22/2011

Customer review by Itlovestocamp

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Itlovestocamp
by Itlovestocamp

The tent itself is very sturdy but I'd recommend buying different stakes because the one's they send with the tent aren't very strong.

Was this review helpful? (66) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Itlovestocamp
Jenkins, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It's okay for warm weather
7/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

3.5 stars. Bought this tent in the store, as it was the only one in my price range that slept more than 2 people. Went camping on a lake recently (July 1st) with my husband and 5 year-old. I don't agree that this tent could sleep 4 people comfortably, a couple with a child at max. We had a queen air mattress and it was just enough room with the three of us sandwiched on the air mattress and a few items in the tent with us. What I did not like, is the top is completely mesh without the rain cover. In the summer that is fine, but I was hoping for this tent to be a little more versatile. No windows. It will do in a pinch if the weather is above 65 degrees, if not then you'll want to consider something with a little more protection. It did not rain on our trip so I can't really comment on that.

Was this review helpful? (48) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for summer
5/26/2011

Customer review by Nadev

3.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Nadev
by Nadev

This tent is good for backpacking. Not much heavy. Ventilation mesh is good for hot days, but it doesn't help you when it is cold. When the temperature was mid 60s, we had a hard time sleeping. Easily sleeps 3-4. Easy to setup. Good value for money if you do not expect to take it in Spring or Fall.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nadev
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
We loved it
6/16/2011

Customer review by sita

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by sita
by sita

My review may not be very reliable since we only owed the product for 1 month and camped 2times. We loved the tent, is very reliable. It says it's for 4 people but I would say maximum 3 and the luggage. I guess you can def have 4 people inside but there will be no space for anything else. Def best product on the market for the price.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent. Perfect Size. WATERPROOF!
7/17/2011

Customer review by kk4jas

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by kk4jas
by kk4jas

Fits 3 People Easily. Keeps All Bug Out, Except Ants. (The Ants Can Fit Through The Screen.) Poles And Stakes Are Pretty Strong, The Only Time The Stakes Didn't Hold Was In 20 MPH Winds. And The Best Thing Yet... It's Actually Waterproof!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kk4jas
Williamsburg, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/1/2011

Customer review by AlderC

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by AlderC
by AlderC

A good warm weather tent. It was super easy to construct, kept us dry in some very hard rainstorms, and was easy to put away. There is great ventilation, but that means it might need some retrofitting for cold weather. It fit a queen size mattress easily and had plenty of room for storage.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlderC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good tent for mild weather
8/29/2011

Customer review by Sarolace

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Sarolace
by Sarolace

My boyfriend and I needed a tent at the last minute and this one fit the budget. I wasn't expecting much from a $50 tent, but it got us through 4 days in northern Maine quite well. True, it was a little on the cool side at night, but that was no trouble with our sleeping bags, and it was nice to have the ventilation. Set up was quick and easy. Sturdy floor, good zippers, handy gear loft. My only complaint is that the rain fly only covers 3 sides, leaving the side with the door exposed with just the little awning for protection. The first night it rained lightly and we stayed perfectly dry. However the last night it was windy and raining harder and we woke to find a small puddle growing by the door. The water was dripping in steadily from the seams around the zippers. Still a really good tent for the price, just may need some reinforcement if you're expecting bad weather.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarolace
Greenville, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
great value
9/29/2011

Customer review by crapaw

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by crapaw
by crapaw

just like all my other colman products bought from wal-mart...stayed in tent several times this year from march through september...this will sleep 4 people if they are good friends..as for the it being cold , so is my 13x9 cabin tent ... get a good sleeping bag and you'll have a wonderful time

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crapaw
clayton,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Mixed feelings on the tent
4/10/2012

Customer review by Slendy

3.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Slendy
by Slendy

Pros for the tent- I wanted a tent that was in a good price range that had enough room for two people. This tent defiantly met my needs for that. The space can defiantly fit 4 people, but if you're going to have 4 people in this tent, you wont have much space for your own possessions. The overall size and floor is nice in the tent. The walls and rain cover held up excellently against the wind, and i enjoyed the hook for the lantern and door with the window on it. The venation in the tent is great, so if its hot out you will be very cool inside the tent. When it was windy, we did not feel the wind at all, and it was very heavy wind. I can assume that if it was rainfall it would hold up just as nicely. The window in the back was good if you want a nice view as well. What is also good about the tent that i very much enjoyed was bugs couldn't come in, we had no mosquito problems whatsoever and there were plenty outside are tent. . . Cons for the tent- The biggest thing i have to say on what's bad about this tent is the poles. While we were trying to set up the tent, one of the strings in the poles snapped, and we had a hard time tying the string back together; so just for a warning: The string is very cheap inside the poles. I do not agree with the price on this tent, It should be a lot cheaper for how cheaply the poles are made. At night when we slept, the tent was freezing. It was about 30 degrees and even thou i was bundled up and in a sleeping bag we had to bring out extra blankets and clothing because the floor of the tent was so cold. Thus; i would not recommend this tent as a cold weather tent. . . All in all it was a good tent. Even thou we were freezing in the night, we still enjoyed the big space in the tent and how no bugs could get in. But all thou I want to love this tent, I cant see paying almost $70 for a tent with cheaply made poles. Im happy our tent held up with a broken pole, but others could be not so lucky. This tent should be at least $50. One to ten, Ten being the best, I would rate this tent a 6 1/2. If you're looking for a good sumer or spring tent to keep out annoying bugs and have good ventilation, this is the tent for you. (Just remember the poles.) And If you're looking for a winter tent, this is not the tent you're looking for-Obi Wan Kenobi.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slendy
Hartford, Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Good Tent, Not For Beach
6/10/2011

Customer review by mrunder

4.0 stars 6/10/2011 by mrunder
by mrunder

Good quality tent, but ill suited for the beach. The top 2/3 of the actual tent is screen mesh. The rain cover acts like a funnel for blowing sand that deposits the sand inside the tent. Big and roomy, easy to setup. Didn't care for all the tie-down lines attached to the rain cover.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrunder
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great tent! Waterproof! Easy set up!
8/3/2011

Customer review by Laurien

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by Laurien
by Laurien

I recently went camping for the first time. I bought this tent for the price, and the reviews I read - mainly because others stated that it withstood rain. They were right! It rained consistently the entire night (not a heavy rain, but a steady lighter rain) and I was warm, cozy and DRY inside! No leaking that I noticed at all. Set up was very fast. I had set up the tent twice, and the second time (since I knew what to do) only took me 5 minutes to set up (by myself). Taking it down was just as simple. Overall this was a great buy, and I'm very happy with my purchase. I'm not an extreme camper by any means, and only used it twice in an established campground - but so far so good :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Laurien
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
a great tent!
7/18/2011

Customer review by watson91

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by watson91
by watson91

Me and a group of my friends went camping this past weekend and there was about 6 of us. well apparently there was a problem at the campsite with having more than 2 tents up so my girlfriend and i had to bring another person and their luggage into our tent. Even with that slight mishap it was an awesome tent. It took maybe 7 or 8 minutes to set up completely. there were 3 of us in the tent with all of our clothes and we still had space and fit comfortably. All around great tent and even better value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
watson91
west virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Summer Camping on the Beach
7/26/2012

Customer review by vangrav

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by vangrav
by vangrav

The name of the tent says it all "Sunset Dunes." We went camping at the beach mid july 2012 during a hot spell. The tent is perfect for warm camping, I'd bring two sleeping bags in case it gets cold though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vangrav
Wsetminster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good value 3-person tent with 1-fault!
5/9/2013

Customer review by notwithouthope

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by notwithouthope
by notwithouthope

The inverted seams(inside of tent)have to be sealed if u want maximum rain protection. The primary area is the door/window area due to not enough rain-fly covering; also the entire bottom inverted seam(floor/sidewall seam)should not be neglected as well. And-of course-all tents should be setup on a tarp or footprint. So far I've used it once; it briefly rained and my rig was not in the least bit challenged. In a severe rain with gusty winds, I'm thinking additional tarping or rain cover for the door area would be prudent to ensure dryness.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notwithouthope
Calera, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Poor rain fly design
6/21/2013

Customer review by Jaimeliz16

2.0 stars 6/21/2013 by Jaimeliz16
by Jaimeliz16

I purchased this tent to go camping with my son's Boy Scout troop. It rained 3 of the 4 nights. The floor, side and back walls were leak proof as promised. I used a tarp and seem sealer as always. however, The rain fly only covers 7 inches over entry and this sends water almost directly onto the front door. Water leaks thru the seem between the screen and lower half of the door. I went with Coleman because I trusted the name. Unfortunately this faulty design and some poor sewing gaps between the screen and corners of tent made me return it. I'm surprised this wasn't tested before production. Thank goodness scouts are prepared and we had an extra fly from a eureka tent that covered the entry appropriately. Problem solved, take note Coleman.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaimeliz16
Rootstown OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
2/1/2012

Customer review by NCGatorFan

1.0 stars 2/1/2012 by NCGatorFan
by NCGatorFan

When we set this tent up my wife was staking down the corners. She got to the last corner and pulled the ring to make it taught to put the stake in. When she pulled on it the whole corner came off, The ring and nylon piece sewn into the seam. I made due as it was getting to be late so I nailed the stake through the tent floor and ring. I was very disappointed with the craftsmanship of this tent. I have always known Coleman to be top notch but I now have my doubts. I returned it and purchased an Ozark which has done much better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCGatorFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
id recommend this tent
1/22/2012

Customer review by GaCamper121

4.0 stars 1/22/2012 by GaCamper121
by GaCamper121

I bought this tent because of the price and it says its waterproof did not seam seal it. I went out on a family trip to skidaway island and had a severe downpour for about 2 hrs the other tents next to me leaked they packed up and went home I had a little drip over every once in a while threw they seams under the front windows nothing major over all im very pleased

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaCamper121
savannah ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy set up
11/8/2011

Customer review by n4mwd

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by n4mwd
by n4mwd

This is my first time ever putting up a tent. It took me about an hour working all by myself intermixed with running back to read the instructions. The instructions aren't very helpful IMHO. Basically, you want to stake it at the corners, thread the poles through the sleeves, raise the poles and put ends in hooks, throw "fly" on top and hook it to the corners, thread the fly pole through the fly sleeve and install the ends in the holes, tie the rest of it down with extra anchors. Pretty simple. The poles are cool the way they link together, but obviously fragile. I suspect if you accidentally stepped on one it would break. The only thing so far I don't like is the floor which is basically just a tarp. I plan on throwing an extra tarp underneath to protect it. Even though it was breezy when I put it up, it didn't put up much of a fight because the main tent section is all mesh. You don't get the rain protection until you put the "fly" on top which is basically a nylon cover. Actual usable tent floor area is about 8'x6' - Plenty big enough for two twin mattresses. So basically, this is a two man tent. It would be really hard to get any more adults than that. Maybe a midget in the middle if you leave all your gear outside.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
n4mwd
Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
11/3/2012

Customer review by PurpleMusicTeacher

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by PurpleMusicTeacher
by PurpleMusicTeacher

I used this tent at the Burning Man festival in Black Rock City, Nevada. It was great! No leaks from overnight storms, no problems with stakes or set up. The only thing I had to remember was to be careful unzipping the entrance flap, as it would catch easily on the zipper trim. For the price, it was a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PurpleMusicTeacher
INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
4 man Coleman Tent
9/22/2012

Customer review by Janisy

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Janisy
by Janisy

I bought this tent for my daughter and her friend to go camping with my husband and me in the Maine state park. The tent was pretty simple to put up and went up quickly. It fits a queen size air mattress or 2 twin air mattresses. The price was perfect. We really loved the large windows, to let in the view and fresh air and it also seals up nicely. Absolutely no complaints here.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Janisy
Eddington, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews