Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

77 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

77 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
40
1-20 of 67 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
It died after 4 days.
5/30/2011

Customer review by Roserat

1.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Roserat
by Roserat

The microwave was completely dead 4 days after we bought it. While it was working, it took a long time to heat anything (e.g. 5 minutes for a hot pocket). We had the .7 cubic feet microwave and a regular 3.5 oz. popcorn bag couldn't fit and wouldn't rotate in it. The alarm that goes off when the food is done is the loudest, longest (about 6 beeps), and most annoying I've heard on a microwave. Sort of glad it died so we can get a new and better one.

Was this review helpful? (52) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roserat
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
COOL FOR THE PRICE BUT NOT FOR THE LONG RUN!
7/15/2011

Customer review by LUCKY216

2.0 stars 7/15/2011 by LUCKY216
by LUCKY216

I got this microwave last month and at a nice price. It was a nice looking microwave. I had it for a month and now it doesn't heat food any more and it doesn't shut off. I have to either leave the door open or unplug it to shut it off. I called Rival and let them know what the problem was and they called the Walmart I purchased it from and they are going to exchange it(with no receipt and no box) So hopefully this one can upstand warming my food and can last longer than a month!

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUCKY216
CHICAGO,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Powerful and easy to use
7/7/2011

Customer review by Happymom61

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Happymom61
by Happymom61

After a few weeks of owning this microwave, I find that it's just wonderful! It's 900 watts, so it's got great power. Food heats evenly and quickly. My 7 year old son and I find that it's easy to use; his favorite feature is the popcorn button. The 30 second button is very convenient. The button to open the door seems a bit flimsy, but time will tell on it's durability. It's light weight and the size is just right for a dinner plate or 2 cereal bowls. The price was wonderful and we couldn't be happier with it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happymom61
Voorheesville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reliable and easy to use, a good value, too.
3/27/2013

Customer review by techtalk

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by techtalk
by techtalk

I have had this microwave for about six months and I am quite happy with it. It replaced a stainless steal Emerson that had problems with the platter rotating off when I was cooking, so I saw this unit and hoped it would work properly and it did. Six months later I have no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techtalk
South Fork, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mr
5/29/2011

Customer review by CBARBEE64

2.0 stars 5/29/2011 by CBARBEE64
by CBARBEE64

HEATS UNEVENLY, AND BUTTONS ARE ALREADY WORN AFTER 2WEEK USE

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CBARBEE64
cbarbee64
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
9/10/2011

Customer review by TIGEENO

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by TIGEENO
by TIGEENO

Our over the range microwave died last night so I wanted to get something fast just to use till we replaced it. Picked out one and went to get a shopping cart and on the way back saw a stack of this one for half the price I was going to spend. I figured why not give it a shot.. $55 and it was 900 watts . Couldn't believe how well it worked when I got it home, and it's not bad looking either. I've read the other reviews that trashed this product but based on my experience I give it 5 stars. Even my wife likes it and she usually hates anything cheap.

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TIGEENO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!
5/4/2014

Customer review by CrazyNYer

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by CrazyNYer
by CrazyNYer

I had my last microwave for 14 years before it quit on me... I decided to pick this one up and Ive had it for 5 weeks and it stopped working. the touch pad and light work but it will not cook. I guess I have to go through the warranty process now. I'll update & let you know how that worked out :(

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyNYer
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
It's just the first day, but I love this so far.
10/31/2012

Customer review by review1111

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by review1111
by review1111

I'm hesitant to rave about this Rival 900W, after reading all the negative reviews. But this is exactly what I've wanted. Compact, nice quick heating, and to the right temperature. Heats a meal evenly right to the middle of the big dinner plate. Smart beverage heating too -- when I use the "larger mug " program I get perfect temperature coffee. Big bowl of soup heated for 3 min 30 secs, perfect too. Yes, I'm a heavy user, all this on the first day. Mostly to heat up things. The touch pad feels sturdy enough, sturdier than the other brands on the shelf. I would prefer the rotating glass tray sat more securely on its shaft. I just got this today... wish I had more days to report on. I look forward to discovering whether this good experience will last!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
review1111
Kingston, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/22/2011

Customer review by godisaliveandreal

3.0 stars 6/22/2011 by godisaliveandreal
by godisaliveandreal

i had this microwave for about a month and i had no problems with it. i dont know if it is cause i dont use it everyday. i use it every other day or so. but im happy with it, and price is a fair deal, all microwaves this size are about same.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
godisaliveandreal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Rival 0.9 cu. ft. microwave
3/27/2014

Customer review by Breezy52

1.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Breezy52
by Breezy52

This microwave is total junk!!! I bought it about 4-5 wks ago and of course its the ONE receipt I can't find to return it!! Its making awful noise when I try to cook something and there was a cracking noise when I push the start button. NOW....its not heating at all. I also have a Rival 4 slice toaster which is also total junk. It cooks hotter on one side of the bread than the other and now 2 of the slots arent working at all. I only had this item for about 6 mo. or so. Buyer beware.....just saying!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Breezy52
Erwin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for College Student
10/27/2013

Customer review by JRigs13

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by JRigs13
by JRigs13

I got this microwave for my college dorm room. It works excellent it is very power full for its size and cost which was a great price! Its Simple to use and its better at cooking food then my 1200 watt microwave in my family's kitchen at home and that is new also. Great Product would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRigs13
Putney Vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fabulous microwave for the price !
2/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have one and bought this one and had it shipped to my mother.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Shreveport LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Look at the reviews before purchasing a product...
5/15/2014

Customer review by Noogles04

1.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Noogles04
by Noogles04

Purchased this for the office break room. Took it out of the box, never used, plugged it in...nothing happened. Tried another plug and resetting the outlets, still nothing. Tried 3 different plugs and the microwave never functioned. No power at all ever came to this microwave. So disappointing. Returned it and bought another brand with great reviews. Check the reviews before purchasing the product...I learned my lesson the hard way.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noogles04
Would recommend to a friend? No
DOA (well, can't shut it off after you plug it in)
5/30/2014

Customer review by RCreviewer

1.0 stars 5/30/2014 by RCreviewer
by RCreviewer

Needed a cheap small microwave so gave this one a shot. After I got it unpacked and plugged in, the microwave would not shut off. Once you closed the door the light, fan, and turntable all stayed on like the microwave was running. I placed a cup of water in there for a few minutes to see if it was actually heating it up, but it was not (even though it was giving all appearances of staying on). Pressing the buttons will not turn it off. Complete piece of junk. Save the hassle with this one. Also, I did a few internet searches after I purchased this; I wasn't the only one with this problem.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCreviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
I didnt get what I paid for!
8/3/2013

Customer review by datzmajykl

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by datzmajykl
by datzmajykl

Bought this about 2 months ago, worked great. Probably still does, I'm not going to be the one trying it out again. Since I've noticed all this peeling on the inside of the Microwave, exposing rusty and dark looking places on the edges some 1/4" -1/2" in length, I'm not comfortable eating anything cooked or heated up in this. I will never buy another Rival product again. We get what we pay for? On a limited income, should've got better than this!! Down below where it says I 'Never' use it, I dont anymore due to the nasty way it looks old and rusted out inside.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
datzmajykl
Suwannee County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DOES THE JOB
5/31/2014

Customer review by BINDIE

4.0 stars 5/31/2014 by BINDIE
by BINDIE

THIS IS MY SECOND ONE - ECONOMICAL - LIKE THE TURNTABLE. MY PREVIOUS ONE LASTED ABOUT 2 1/3 YRS WHICH BY INDUSTRY STANDARDS IS THE NORM FOR THESE.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BINDIE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Trouble after two weeks
8/20/2011

Customer review by ConsumerChris

1.0 stars 8/20/2011 by ConsumerChris
by ConsumerChris

I liked this microwave and was satisfied with its performance, until 14 days after I bought it the light went out. I will be returning this to Walmart for a refund, and will spend my family's hard earned money on something of higher quality. Unfortunately, though the price was right, the oven seems to be a dud.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerChris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money!
9/10/2011

Customer review by maryland39

1.0 stars 9/10/2011 by maryland39
by maryland39

After I read the other reviews, I should have taken this microwave back to the store and exchanged it but I didn't. Used it for a few months and now it dosen't heat up any more! Don't waste your money on this product like i did!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maryland39
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Small Sized Microwave
4/7/2014

Customer review by Spabb

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Spabb
by Spabb

Ive had Rival microwaves in the past as well as other brands. Every brand but the Rival failed me before its time should have been up. This is the second Rival Ive had and they all work great. They don't have the flaws that others seem to have. Others break down before their time and cost a whole lot more! Its small size is good for the smaller kitchen I have as well. The price of Rival's are always reasonable and seem to be on sale all the time too. I will continue to use Rival for a lifetime. The remainder of it anyway!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spabb
Mount Dora, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Affordable microwave for a small family
4/29/2014

Customer review by hooflames

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by hooflames
by hooflames

Truly enjoy the child lock feature as I have two small children who enjoy pushing buttons. Cooks and defrost well and meets the need of a single working mom with two small children.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hooflames
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews