Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

89 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

89 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 stars
44
1-20 of 79 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Burning wire smell from first use
1/2/2016

Customer review by bkbk

1.0 stars 1/2/2016 by bkbk
by bkbk

At the first use of this microwave, set for 2 minutes to heat water as a test, it emitted a burning wire smell. I tried it for a few more minutes, to see if the smell would stop. It did not. I returned it for a full refund the next day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkbk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Junk
1/23/2016

Customer review by Draco

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Draco
by Draco

I bought this microwave in 2013 ... So far the plate doesn't spin anymore and doesn't cook good either ... It takes like an extra minute and a half to cook something that could be cook on 40 seconds on others

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Draco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money
1/4/2016

Customer review by MomOf2gIrls710

1.0 stars 1/4/2016 by MomOf2gIrls710
by MomOf2gIrls710

When our microwave of 5 years went out it was a terrible place financially for us so we were looking for something cheaper to get us by. Bought this one. The first month it worked good. Then the buttons would want to work only sometimes, then the turntable went out. We haven't even had it 6 months and even though I cleaned it every evening, it began to accumulate peeling rust. Then my daughter used it and it burned a whole right thru the bottom! I have NEVER seen such a cheap microwave!! Don't waste your money on this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOf2gIrls710
Would recommend to a friend? No
Microwave oven.
1/25/2016

Customer review by Evans

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Evans
by Evans

Excellent. work very well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
COOL FOR THE PRICE BUT NOT FOR THE LONG RUN!
7/15/2011

Customer review by LUCKY216

2.0 stars 7/15/2011 by LUCKY216
by LUCKY216

I got this microwave last month and at a nice price. It was a nice looking microwave. I had it for a month and now it doesn't heat food any more and it doesn't shut off. I have to either leave the door open or unplug it to shut it off. I called Rival and let them know what the problem was and they called the Walmart I purchased it from and they are going to exchange it(with no receipt and no box) So hopefully this one can upstand warming my food and can last longer than a month!

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LUCKY216
CHICAGO,IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It died after 4 days.
5/30/2011

Customer review by Roserat

1.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Roserat
by Roserat

The microwave was completely dead 4 days after we bought it. While it was working, it took a long time to heat anything (e.g. 5 minutes for a hot pocket). We had the .7 cubic feet microwave and a regular 3.5 oz. popcorn bag couldn't fit and wouldn't rotate in it. The alarm that goes off when the food is done is the loudest, longest (about 6 beeps), and most annoying I've heard on a microwave. Sort of glad it died so we can get a new and better one.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roserat
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
microwave
1/21/2016

Customer review by Taina

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Taina
by Taina

Great buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's just the first day, but I love this so far.
10/31/2012

Customer review by review1111

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by review1111
by review1111

I'm hesitant to rave about this Rival 900W, after reading all the negative reviews. But this is exactly what I've wanted. Compact, nice quick heating, and to the right temperature. Heats a meal evenly right to the middle of the big dinner plate. Smart beverage heating too -- when I use the "larger mug " program I get perfect temperature coffee. Big bowl of soup heated for 3 min 30 secs, perfect too. Yes, I'm a heavy user, all this on the first day. Mostly to heat up things. The touch pad feels sturdy enough, sturdier than the other brands on the shelf. I would prefer the rotating glass tray sat more securely on its shaft. I just got this today... wish I had more days to report on. I look forward to discovering whether this good experience will last!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
review1111
Kingston, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I didnt get what I paid for!
8/3/2013

Customer review by datzmajykl

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by datzmajykl
by datzmajykl

Bought this about 2 months ago, worked great. Probably still does, I'm not going to be the one trying it out again. Since I've noticed all this peeling on the inside of the Microwave, exposing rusty and dark looking places on the edges some 1/4" -1/2" in length, I'm not comfortable eating anything cooked or heated up in this. I will never buy another Rival product again. We get what we pay for? On a limited income, should've got better than this!! Down below where it says I 'Never' use it, I dont anymore due to the nasty way it looks old and rusted out inside.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
datzmajykl
Suwannee County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Rival 0.9 cu. ft. microwave
3/27/2014

Customer review by Breezy52

1.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Breezy52
by Breezy52

This microwave is total junk!!! I bought it about 4-5 wks ago and of course its the ONE receipt I can't find to return it!! Its making awful noise when I try to cook something and there was a cracking noise when I push the start button. NOW....its not heating at all. I also have a Rival 4 slice toaster which is also total junk. It cooks hotter on one side of the bread than the other and now 2 of the slots arent working at all. I only had this item for about 6 mo. or so. Buyer beware.....just saying!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Breezy52
Erwin, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!
5/4/2014

Customer review by CrazyNYer

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by CrazyNYer
by CrazyNYer

I had my last microwave for 14 years before it quit on me... I decided to pick this one up and Ive had it for 5 weeks and it stopped working. the touch pad and light work but it will not cook. I guess I have to go through the warranty process now. I'll update & let you know how that worked out :(

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyNYer
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
DOA (well, can't shut it off after you plug it in)
5/30/2014

Customer review by RCreviewer

1.0 stars 5/30/2014 by RCreviewer
by RCreviewer

Needed a cheap small microwave so gave this one a shot. After I got it unpacked and plugged in, the microwave would not shut off. Once you closed the door the light, fan, and turntable all stayed on like the microwave was running. I placed a cup of water in there for a few minutes to see if it was actually heating it up, but it was not (even though it was giving all appearances of staying on). Pressing the buttons will not turn it off. Complete piece of junk. Save the hassle with this one. Also, I did a few internet searches after I purchased this; I wasn't the only one with this problem.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCreviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful and easy to use
7/7/2011

Customer review by Happymom61

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by Happymom61
by Happymom61

After a few weeks of owning this microwave, I find that it's just wonderful! It's 900 watts, so it's got great power. Food heats evenly and quickly. My 7 year old son and I find that it's easy to use; his favorite feature is the popcorn button. The 30 second button is very convenient. The button to open the door seems a bit flimsy, but time will tell on it's durability. It's light weight and the size is just right for a dinner plate or 2 cereal bowls. The price was wonderful and we couldn't be happier with it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happymom61
Voorheesville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mr
5/29/2011

Customer review by CBARBEE64

2.0 stars 5/29/2011 by CBARBEE64
by CBARBEE64

HEATS UNEVENLY, AND BUTTONS ARE ALREADY WORN AFTER 2WEEK USE

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CBARBEE64
cbarbee64
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Look at the reviews before purchasing a product...
5/15/2014

Customer review by Noogles04

1.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Noogles04
by Noogles04

Purchased this for the office break room. Took it out of the box, never used, plugged it in...nothing happened. Tried another plug and resetting the outlets, still nothing. Tried 3 different plugs and the microwave never functioned. No power at all ever came to this microwave. So disappointing. Returned it and bought another brand with great reviews. Check the reviews before purchasing the product...I learned my lesson the hard way.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Noogles04
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broke down after about 6 uses
9/29/2015

Customer review by Jarvis

2.0 stars 9/29/2015 by Jarvis
by Jarvis

We bought this microwave because we were in a pinch and needed one and figured this one would be fine since theirtheir Rival toaster and coffee pot works great. After about 2 weeks and a few uses it blew upup 3 minutes into cooking my pot pie which I've done twice and it emitted a thick yellow smoke that aboutabout made me spills my guts I couldn't stand it had to leave till the smell went away. Worked good before that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jarvis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Buy!
11/30/2015

Customer review by sylviathomp

2.0 stars 11/30/2015 by sylviathomp
by sylviathomp

I think I purchase this a little over a year, maybe less. Rusted out on the inside, not coming on, you have to plug it in and out before it will finally come, thinking it has a shortage. Food don't really get hot... I wouldn't buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sylviathomp
Would recommend to a friend? No
rival microwave oven
11/17/2015

Customer review by jackiel

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by jackiel
by jackiel

I'm so enjoying it. My previous microwave was quite old and I didn't realize how inefficient it was. I've really had to adjust my cooking times because this one really works well. I appreciated the instructions I got with it and they have been most helpful because I the shortened cooking time I don't particularly care for the door open button. It opens on the corner I would prefer being able to push anywhere on the button and have it open. Over all I so pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jackiel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reliable and easy to use, a good value, too.
3/27/2013

Customer review by techtalk

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by techtalk
by techtalk

I have had this microwave for about six months and I am quite happy with it. It replaced a stainless steal Emerson that had problems with the platter rotating off when I was cooking, so I saw this unit and hoped it would work properly and it did. Six months later I have no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techtalk
South Fork, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New in Box DENTED UP
11/22/2015

Customer review by Adolph

3.0 stars 11/22/2015 by Adolph
by Adolph

I just got back from Walmart an opened up the box an it is dented up.Than read all the reviews on this Rival 0.9 cu.ft.digital microwave oven . I should take it back right now after reading all of these reviews on this .Ill see how it goes have a year warranty on this . I can live with the dents if it works well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adolph
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews