Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 236 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

236 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

236 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
194
4 stars
19
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
2
1-20 of 228 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews
Durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by Mchow

2.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Mchow
by Mchow

Discouraged. As outside containers, the Rubbermaid 18 gallon Roughnecks, are not as durable, the Achilles Heel of these containers are the lids. This then affects the overall durability of the container. One cannot purchase from Rubbermaid replacement lids. They inform me that they do not even sell lids to outside retail companies, so homeowners can purchase the separately. They do not last long and will crack along the perimeter for long outside use. We live in Southern California, where it gets hot in the summer. The advertisement sticker reads "Engineered for Life" is a mis-statement in advertising. The Rubbermaid Roughneck Container advertisement should have a footnote that reads "for indoor use preferred, not for hot and sunny climates, and not for stacking. " I have used these for storing various types of potting soil and various types of potting soil additives outside, as I do not have a inside storage availability. One ends up purchasing new containers every year to replace the lids.

Mchow
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Roughnecks for the tough stuff
11/1/2015

Customer review by World traveler

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by World traveler
by World traveler

This is the only brand/type of container I will buy. Years ago my family packed some of our belongings in the Rubbermaid Roughnecks. It was the perfect size for flying international. I duct taped the lid to ensure safe passage. I am happy to say that even though I saw my totes dropped off the moving belt as they were being loaded on the plane, and who knows what else before I picked them up after many plane changes, they arrived without harm. I thought they can only take so much of this but over the years as I have traveled I continued to pack in these and the Roughneck lives up to it's name it is one tough tote. One day I was in a hurry and needed another so I ran out to my local store. They did not have any Rubbermaid in the size I needed so I grabbed a different brand tote instead. After I packed and was taking the new tote to the garage I stumbled and dropped the sterilite tote and it shattered. Grrr I was so upset. I will never buy anything other than the dependable Rubbermaid brand. A loyal and satisfied customer

World traveler
KCMO, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best tote you can buy
3/24/2013

Customer review by DxoPxoC

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by DxoPxoC
by DxoPxoC

I have used these for so many years I can't remember I think somewhere in around 20 or more years, they now call them roughneck, do not think that is what they called them back then Keepers rough tote was one name and before that I do not recall. They have lasted me all these years being moved, packed, unpacked with holiday stuff, in storage, in attics etc. In hot weather, cold weather you name it and they are still in great shape, have not cracked, the lids still fit like the day they were bought. I have been through lots of totes all a waste of money except for these. Save yourself lots of time and money and buy these 1st, last and always! The 18 gallon is a great size for most things like holiday goods, the smaller 10 gallon are awesome for collectibles, glass items, ornaments, and the really large one 30 something is great for large items, like outside decorations. I cannot say enough good things about these totes....try em for yourself :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DxoPxoC
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great container, poor lid.
1/21/2016

Customer review by rekcus

2.0 stars 1/21/2016 by rekcus
by rekcus

I have a dozen 18 gal. containers for xmas storage. Containers have held up well, but the lids on half have broken up after 6 years storage. Obviously a different material was used. I can't find a source for replacement lids.

rekcus
Santa Barbara, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durable
1/18/2016

Customer review by Villa 681

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Villa 681
by Villa 681
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned two containers for years and I have used them many times as luggage when I have traveled to the UK and the Bahamas.

Villa 681
Elkhart, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the 10 gallon Roughneck
1/17/2016

Customer review by Gypsynana

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Gypsynana
by Gypsynana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am an antiques dealer. This size box is great for my inventory. Not too heavy loaded and easy to stack.

Gypsynana
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Make great under bed boxes
1/7/2016

Customer review by Putterer

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Putterer
by Putterer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought a bunch of these to fit under my platform bed. Hold SOOOOO much more than the usual under bed boxes. Too bad they aren't sold in this size in stores much, but great that you can get them online. Hold up forever!

Putterer
outside Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reduced Quality
12/25/2015

Customer review by Xmas Present

3.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Xmas Present
by Xmas Present
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We apparently had a previous version and loved them. But these are not as good as before. They are OK but wouldn't purchase them again. They are thinker and the lids do not stay closed as well.

Xmas Present
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/10/2012

Customer review by Spots8105

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Spots8105
by Spots8105

I can't say enough in favor of this product. I guess durable and functionable are two words that I would use to describe this product to it's fullest; however, the stackability is a great feature in its favor. I have purchased both the 10 gallon and 18 gallon containers and am thoroughly pleased with both as you can store items of all sorts in these. Additionally, this product is reasonably priced. A definite thumbs up here.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spots8105
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The BEST Storage Tote
10/21/2011

Customer review by pvrcbabe

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by pvrcbabe
by pvrcbabe

I have been using the Rubbermaid roughneck storage totes for 25 years now and there is no other to compare to these totes. They are durable and they snap closed, yet are easy to open. They keep out moisture, bugs and mice and are great for basement storage or attic storage. I have tried other brands, and nothing even comes close to this product. They are great for seasonal decorations, clothes, memorabilia, and craft supplies. They also stack nicely and are very sturdy. I hope that Walmart keeps these in stock all year round!

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pvrcbabe
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
wonderful
12/6/2015

Customer review by miss5773

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by miss5773
by miss5773
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the best storage containers you would want. they are sturdy and seal tight so dust andf moisture does not get in.

miss5773
Ocala, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Camp Kit!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by Kathe57

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Kathe57
by Kathe57

I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!!

Kathe57
Okemah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent tote!!
1/22/2012

Customer review by sadgoose

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by sadgoose
by sadgoose

I have used these totes for everthing from hauling firewood to hauling junk.When moving everything is packed in these totes so nothing gets wet.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sadgoose
Dayton,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bin
11/23/2015

Customer review by Caplor

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Caplor
by Caplor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Placed a styrofoam cooler inside, cut a hole at the end of a long side of both containers, stuffed with wheat straw and VOILA! I have a perfect little feral cat shelter!!!

Caplor
Lawrenceville, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is a good size to ride handicap bus with
11/18/2015

Customer review by debbie36

4.0 stars 11/18/2015 by debbie36
by debbie36
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

if you sell replacement lids for 10 gallon roughneck and other it would help!!

debbie36
Richardson, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
rubbermaid always reliable
9/25/2015

Customer review by iguanito

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by iguanito
by iguanito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the 4 - 14 gallon dark blue roughneck bins i have had since the 80's or 90's have been inside where it is hot and humid with no ventilation and have held up for all these years, until the handles on each end of one of the lids broke into pieces. it is nice to be able to replace the bin and lid with the same color and very helpful that it is still the same shape. the only noticeable difference is that the new walls and lid are not quite as sturdy as the original from decades ago. still perfectly usable, and the basic high rubbermaid quality. i am happy to have the replacement. rubbermaid is always reliable.  i only wish the 14 gallon bins and all the other rubbermaid products were still more available in the stores.  

iguanito
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Organization, Storage, and Portability
11/3/2015

Customer review by Dr Mel

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Dr Mel
by Dr Mel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A great product and a good way to store things in a garage or closet or elsewhere. Protects the contents and can easily move around. Like the ruggedness and the ability to stack to save space.

Dr Mel
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super quality totes for storage and holding gifts.
11/19/2011

Customer review by mammafly

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by mammafly
by mammafly

The Roughneck totes from Rubbermaid are exactly the quality I expected. They are sturdy and durable. They look nice and come in sizes to fit under the bed. It was great to be able to order the quantity I wanted and then pick them up from the Walmart Superstore the next day. This made it so easy to get my work done.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mammafly
Granada Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
Stands the test of time!
9/30/2015

Customer review by ActionsPast

5.0 stars 9/30/2015 by ActionsPast
by ActionsPast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently had a need to transport items for a catering job and a friend offered to give me some roughnecks that he had in his garage. They worked perfectly, and I discovered that I also had a few in my basement that I had used to store climbing equipment in (30 years ago!) that were in like new condition! So I bought a few more. These things are awesome! And the design has not changed in 30 years! It does not need to! Perfect as it is. Good sizes, easy to carry, and stacks well. A winner! Highly recommended! And, the price is much better if you purchase them straight from Rubbermaid!

ActionsPast
Vallejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy storage
10/24/2015

Customer review by Organization is my middle

5.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Organization is my middle
by Organization is my middle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I a couple of these a few years ago and they are still in great shape after a few moves. So now that I'm needing more storage containers I know which ones I should buy.

Organization is my middle
Cary, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews