Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 124 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews
Great NOAA Weather Radio!
5/26/2011

Customer review by hp1003

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by hp1003
by hp1003

This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.

Was this review helpful? (128) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hp1003
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good weather radio for the price
7/12/2011

Customer review by tg1088

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by tg1088
by tg1088

This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.

Was this review helpful? (82) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tg1088
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Works well - but can drive you crazy!
6/13/2011

Customer review by SPD3

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by SPD3
by SPD3

This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPD3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/8/2011

Customer review by weatherguy2000

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by weatherguy2000
by weatherguy2000

Unit works good you just need to decide what area you want the unit to cover. It has multi channels and if you use them all it will squawk whenever and where ever there is a storm. There is a web site to determine your area and channel to use. Overall good buy. It is replacing a old one I had. Does take 3 double A battries for back up.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weatherguy2000
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market
5/6/2014

Customer review by ISIS4000

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by ISIS4000
by ISIS4000

This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ISIS4000
Poquoson, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
A must have
6/23/2011

Customer review by theindependentone

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by theindependentone
by theindependentone

Awesome weather radio. Notification will wake you out of a dead sleep

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theindependentone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Reasonably priced weather radio
6/27/2011

Customer review by jlitzenb

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by jlitzenb
by jlitzenb

A great weather radio at a reasonable price. Can be programmed for your county only, for multiple counties or all counties. Very clear digital display and the sound is very clear. Easy to understand what is being said. With the way the weather is changing and becoming more intense, this is a "must-have".

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlitzenb
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for Home, office, or student living.
3/6/2014

Customer review by CockyGamecock

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by CockyGamecock
by CockyGamecock

After 10 years of use my second Midland Weather radio (that is SAME capable) stopped receiving a charge from the charger but still worked on batteries. I bought the same but newer model WR120 and was pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded some of the features. This is a good radio for weather broadcasts and for emergencies. It usually triggers the alarm a good 15 seconds before the tv interrupts programming, at night this usually gives me time to turn on the tv to see the radar and local tv broadcast.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CockyGamecock
Jacksonville State University
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I want a second of the same radio
7/4/2011

Customer review by ValueForMyDollar

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by ValueForMyDollar
by ValueForMyDollar

I love having a weather radio. Especially the way it can be off and turn itself on for warning messages. I think it's wise to have one at each end of your living space so it can be heard day and night without a need to be relocated. A fair price and money well spent if it warns me in time just once! Getting a weather radio was recommended to me and I have since recommended it to others. I mounted it to the wall and it now advertises itself. People want to know where they can get one too. I send them to the same place I bought it, though it is available in various locations. Thanks WallyMart

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueForMyDollar
OnLine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice to have in area prone to severe weather
1/19/2014

Customer review by CSC5

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by CSC5
by CSC5

The radio is easy to use. It was very reasonably priced and it even has an alarm clock on it. I love the easy way you set up the counties for which you want alerts. The volume is great and you can even hit the weather button and get the forecast each morning. I would definitely recommend this radio especially if you live in a tornado prone area. Early warnings save lives!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSC5
Belleville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful Weather Radio
8/13/2013

Customer review by ComputerAddict

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by ComputerAddict
by ComputerAddict

Purchased this for my girlfriend that did not have a weather radio. This weather radio was recommended by our director of Homeland Security and Emergency Management. The setup was very easy. Instead of programming codes as with the previous model, this one goes by state and county. When threatening weather does occur, this unit is loud enough to wake you up from a deep sleep. I would recommend this to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerAddict
Van Wert, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Weather radio
5/28/2014

Customer review by christian0632

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by christian0632
by christian0632

I have had Radio Shack brand weather alert radios but Midland really has set the standard. Setup on this couldn't be easier. They now have eliminated having to find and then enter the FIPS codes. Setup is intuitive and instead of plugging in codes, all you have to do is know what counties you are near as well as the one you live in. You tell the radio what counties you want it to monitor, set a few options and that's it. I have two of these in my home and they are working perfectly so far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christian0632
Junction City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
4/24/2014

Customer review by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93
by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93

After returning another Midland weather radio, the sales associate recommended this one. The price was great so I decided to try it. It's very basic but that's what I was looking for. It literally took less than 2 minutes to program. We've not had bad weather so far, so can't comment on alerts. I would recommend this weather radio if you want a basic, low cost unit.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LITTLEREDCORVETTE93
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Doesn't sound or display any alerts.
8/23/2011

Customer review by dadoftwins320

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by dadoftwins320
by dadoftwins320

I purchased this weather radio because my $70 Radio Shack one died and they were on backorder so i had to get this one. I programmed it according to the NOAA SAME codes and radio frequency for my area, then went camping a couple of miles away, reset the code for the new county, had storms and warrnings that night it didn't show anything on the display or sound an alert. Took it back home double checked the programming and settings, they are all correct, had a storm with warnnings two days later it never sounded an alert. I have since purchased another Radio Shack radio same as i had, it sounded alerts this morning when they were issued for my area. The Radio Shack radio also lets you set the SAME codes by choosing the state, then county you are in instead of having to go online to look them up which you may not be able to do everywhere. I consider my weather radio to be as important as a smoke detector.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadoftwins320
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Essential in tornado areas
7/11/2012

Customer review by Greyfor

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Greyfor
by Greyfor

Having been in Alabama when the tornadoes hit last year, I feel a weather alert radio is a necessity. I had not really thought about it when I got back to Michigan until there were storms, and the tornado siren in town went off. I went looking for one the next day. The first time it went off, it startled me, but told me the severe weather was in the next county coming my way. It goes on automatically when severe weather is in the area, but you can turn it on any time to hear what the weather is going to be.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greyfor
Onsted, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little weather radio
8/25/2011

Customer review by pattinotkake

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by pattinotkake
by pattinotkake

I purchased this for my desk at work. It was almost ready out of the box. Super simple. You could complicate it - but stick with the presets and you will be in good shape. Can't beat the price either. This would make a good gift!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pattinotkake
River Falls, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
6/23/2014

Customer review by Ginevrap

5.0 stars 6/23/2014 by Ginevrap
by Ginevrap

Haven't had much inclement weather since purchasing it so we haven't had it go off with an alert but setting it up and getting signal was a breeze. The only downside I can see is that while you can adjust the volume on the weather reporting you cannot apparantly adjust it for the alert sounds. It sits about 3 feet away from me at work so it's inevitable that when it goes off I will need to be peeled off of the ceiling before I can take cover.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginevrap
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good weather safty product
11/14/2013

Customer review by featherfeet

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by featherfeet
by featherfeet

This radio can provide timely warnings for bad weather. Every household should have one. It can also provide weather summary's for five to seven days.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
featherfeet
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great weather radio
12/31/2011

Customer review by redthroathummingbird

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by redthroathummingbird
by redthroathummingbird

We bought two of these for Christmas presents. One for our son and his wife, and one for our daughter and her husband. We have had a weather radio for several years after being hit by a micro-burst. Our children were very happy with this particular radio and its features. Our daughter is afraid of storms-after she set up her weather radio she described it as "Awesome!"

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redthroathummingbird
Godfrey, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
It wakes me up to the danger.
6/28/2011

Customer review by onthegobob

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by onthegobob
by onthegobob

If you want to be warned about the storms etc. then this is what you want. You can limit the area it covers. works great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onthegobob
florence in.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews