Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 199 reviews
5 stars
143
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
Sort by: 
1-20 of 172 reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
Fantastic, practical, and effective.
5/20/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First, let me say, I used to have a Midland WR-100. I loved that radio, it always worked just like it should, but my stupid cat ate the power adapter cord. I decided since the WR-120 replaced it, now was a good time to upgrade. Wow, what a difference. It receives better, it tells you immediately if it's having a hard time holding the signal, and contrary to the reviews I've seen here and on Amazon, absolutely does let you customize which alerts as well as the counties it alerts you for. Another plus, all the counties for every state are now preloaded. If you have an older radio with S.A.ME. technology (such as the WR-100) you know that you had to manually enter the codes for each county. I love Midland products, good quality, and relatively inexpensive, you really can't go wrong. Side note, if you have a radio that can be programmed by county, I recommend that you program more than just your own, but add a couple to your west and southwest too. That way you have greater heads up with incoming weather.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (87)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (75)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good weather radio for the price
7/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (120)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Weather Radio
1/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought the Midland weather radio to replace one that I had for about 10 years. This one is easier to program and does everything I expected. After only a few days, an alert sounded for a tornado watch, so I know it works properly. Everyone should own one of these for their home.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent radio and easy to program
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You can easily program what alerts you want the radio to alert you to, reception is so good I don't even have to extend the antenna. Highly recommend .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Essential in tornado areas
7/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having been in Alabama when the tornadoes hit last year, I feel a weather alert radio is a necessity. I had not really thought about it when I got back to Michigan until there were storms, and the tornado siren in town went off. I went looking for one the next day. The first time it went off, it startled me, but told me the severe weather was in the next county coming my way. It goes on automatically when severe weather is in the area, but you can turn it on any time to hear what the weather is going to be.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far, so good.
6/24/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased at my local Walmart about a week ago. Easy to set up following the step by step instructions in the manual. Can set to get local weather when you push the weather button. Received weekly test alert as scheduled which is merely a message as opposed to an alarm so you don't think there is an actual, live alert. Sister got the same one and she received alert for her area matching 'tv weather alert' so unit seems to function properly. Only issue is that I had a couple of simple questions that I wanted answers to so I called the number in the manual and was left on hold. Hung up and decided to send an email to address in the manual. Email was sent 5 days ago and have never received a reply.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great NOAA Weather Radio!
5/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (149)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Versatile WX Alert Receiver
3/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The WR-120 lets the user select the specific alerts they want to be audible. No need to be alarmed out of bed in the middle of the night for an Amber Alert (as important as that is). And if you *want* to hear the weekly system tests, you can set it to give them to you. The only feature I would have liked to see added is the ability to monitor *two* channels simultaneously. In our area, for example, the backup NOAA station is in a nearby county, well within radio range. Local alerts are broadcast on both stations together. Recently, our local station was "down" during a bad weather event. This feature would have helped. In any case, this is an excellent radio at a very good price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must have
6/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Awesome weather radio. Notification will wake you out of a dead sleep
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well - but can drive you crazy!
6/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (92)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/8/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unit works good you just need to decide what area you want the unit to cover. It has multi channels and if you use them all it will squawk whenever and where ever there is a storm. There is a web site to determine your area and channel to use. Overall good buy. It is replacing a old one I had. Does take 3 double A battries for back up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Product approval
8/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very useful in times of bad weather.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice to have in area prone to severe weather
1/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The radio is easy to use. It was very reasonably priced and it even has an alarm clock on it. I love the easy way you set up the counties for which you want alerts. The volume is great and you can even hit the weather button and get the forecast each morning. I would definitely recommend this radio especially if you live in a tornado prone area. Early warnings save lives!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Confusing Tornado Alert
7/14/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased a WR 120 for Mom after a real Tornado WARNING occurred. I have purchased and programmed several of these in the past. This one Had left out key info regarding the TORNADO WARNING. Namely, It's not listed as a possible ALERT on the list. This radio let's you pick and choose alerts from a list of about 160. Living in Wisconsin, I'm not really worried about avalanches ! So I set that one to OFF. But I couldn't find the Tornado Warning alert to make sure it was turned ON. I went to two other stores with my own batteries and tried the same units with the same result. After complaining to the store Co Mng. about Walmart selling defective weather radios and that they could cost some one their life in a storm, I went home to contact the manufacturer Midland. It was the weekend so naturally they were not open. I sent multiple E-mails and finally after no response called. Their Rep stated that the TORNADO WARNING Alert was not listed because that way nobody could turn it OFF by mistake. The alert is ALWAYS ON... I told them and suggested that it would be very helpful to mention this fact in the booklet or separate sheet of paper.. Other than that they are great little safety radios.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for Home, office, or student living.
3/6/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After 10 years of use my second Midland Weather radio (that is SAME capable) stopped receiving a charge from the charger but still worked on batteries. I bought the same but newer model WR120 and was pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded some of the features. This is a good radio for weather broadcasts and for emergencies. It usually triggers the alarm a good 15 seconds before the tv interrupts programming, at night this usually gives me time to turn on the tv to see the radar and local tv broadcast.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
4/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After returning another Midland weather radio, the sales associate recommended this one. The price was great so I decided to try it. It's very basic but that's what I was looking for. It literally took less than 2 minutes to program. We've not had bad weather so far, so can't comment on alerts. I would recommend this weather radio if you want a basic, low cost unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
loud
9/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
easy to set up - very loud -
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Reliable weather radio
1/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had one for over a year and it has always been reliable. To address a few comments others have brought up: If your unit beeps it means it has not received a signal from NOAA for the last 10 days. The beeping is not a malfunction. It will reset itself but if you want to silence the beep immediately you need to unplug it and remove the batteries for 10 seconds. If it keeps doing it you'll need to relocate the radio. If reception is poor it's not the radio's fault. It can't produce a signal that isn't there in the first place. Again, you either need to relocate the radio or try a different channel. For lots of info about weather radio go to weather.gov. At the bottom of the page look for and click on "NOAA Weather Radio".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Weather radio
5/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have had Radio Shack brand weather alert radios but Midland really has set the standard. Setup on this couldn't be easier. They now have eliminated having to find and then enter the FIPS codes. Setup is intuitive and instead of plugging in codes, all you have to do is know what counties you are near as well as the one you live in. You tell the radio what counties you want it to monitor, set a few options and that's it. I have two of these in my home and they are working perfectly so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-