Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

167 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 140 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Fantastic, practical, and effective.
5/20/2015

Customer review by AnthonyH

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by AnthonyH
by AnthonyH

First, let me say, I used to have a Midland WR-100. I loved that radio, it always worked just like it should, but my stupid cat ate the power adapter cord. I decided since the WR-120 replaced it, now was a good time to upgrade. Wow, what a difference. It receives better, it tells you immediately if it's having a hard time holding the signal, and contrary to the reviews I've seen here and on Amazon, absolutely does let you customize which alerts as well as the counties it alerts you for. Another plus, all the counties for every state are now preloaded. If you have an older radio with S.A.ME. technology (such as the WR-100) you know that you had to manually enter the codes for each county. I love Midland products, good quality, and relatively inexpensive, you really can't go wrong. Side note, if you have a radio that can be programmed by county, I recommend that you program more than just your own, but add a couple to your west and southwest too. That way you have greater heads up with incoming weather.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnthonyH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market
5/6/2014

Customer review by ISIS4000

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by ISIS4000
by ISIS4000
Walmart associate

This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ISIS4000
Poquoson, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
Good weather radio for the price
7/12/2011

Customer review by tg1088

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by tg1088
by tg1088

This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.

Was this review helpful? (88) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tg1088
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Reliable weather radio
1/27/2016

Customer review by 1socrfan

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by 1socrfan
by 1socrfan

I've had one for over a year and it has always been reliable. To address a few comments others have brought up: If your unit beeps it means it has not received a signal from NOAA for the last 10 days. The beeping is not a malfunction. It will reset itself but if you want to silence the beep immediately you need to unplug it and remove the batteries for 10 seconds. If it keeps doing it you'll need to relocate the radio. If reception is poor it's not the radio's fault. It can't produce a signal that isn't there in the first place. Again, you either need to relocate the radio or try a different channel. For lots of info about weather radio go to weather.gov. At the bottom of the page look for and click on "NOAA Weather Radio".

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1socrfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't leave home without it !
2/2/2016

Customer review by Bobbers

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Bobbers
by Bobbers

I have one at home that I have used for 5 years. It has got us through hurricanes and tornadoes but it only helps if you have it with you !! A few weeks ago when the tornadoes hit Sarasota I realized that I had left this lifesaver at home. I am now the proud owner of 2 Midland Weather Radios. A small Walmart price to pay for an excellent device. Thank you for the excellent service. The Walmart.com store pick up service worked well

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobbers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Price For Peace of Mind
2/4/2016

Customer review by ClwRes

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by ClwRes
by ClwRes

This weather radio fits the bill. With the increased chance of tornadoes due to the El Nino I can go to sleep knowing that the radio will alert me if there are weather threats during the night. It has a small footprint so would fit nicely just about anywhere. Glad that I made this choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClwRes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy Setup
2/4/2016

Customer review by BobinPGI

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by BobinPGI
by BobinPGI

The Midland WR120 was easy to setup. I purchase this Weather Alert Radio for my 99 year old neighbor. When we had multiple tornadoes, she got all reports from Tampa south to Naples on her old Weather Alert Radio because it did not have the SAME feature. She was holed up in her closet far hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobinPGI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weather Alert
2/6/2016

Customer review by KathyB

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by KathyB
by KathyB

We will be prepared next time. It was recommended by a friend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KathyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good
2/5/2016

Customer review by Donn

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Donn
by Donn

Very good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Midland weather radio
2/4/2016

Customer review by Rick

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by Rick
by Rick

Easy instructions, quick setup, clear audible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
weather alert radio
2/4/2016

Customer review by kknknk

4.0 stars 2/4/2016 by kknknk
by kknknk

works as advertised

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kknknk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weather alert radio
2/2/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Bill
by Bill

Very easy to set up, no problems at all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well - but can drive you crazy!
6/13/2011

Customer review by SPD3

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by SPD3
by SPD3

This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!

Was this review helpful? (80) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SPD3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great NOAA Weather Radio!
5/26/2011

Customer review by hp1003

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by hp1003
by hp1003

This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.

Was this review helpful? (133) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hp1003
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't sound or display any alerts.
8/23/2011

Customer review by dadoftwins320

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by dadoftwins320
by dadoftwins320

I purchased this weather radio because my $70 Radio Shack one died and they were on backorder so i had to get this one. I programmed it according to the NOAA SAME codes and radio frequency for my area, then went camping a couple of miles away, reset the code for the new county, had storms and warrnings that night it didn't show anything on the display or sound an alert. Took it back home double checked the programming and settings, they are all correct, had a storm with warnnings two days later it never sounded an alert. I have since purchased another Radio Shack radio same as i had, it sounded alerts this morning when they were issued for my area. The Radio Shack radio also lets you set the SAME codes by choosing the state, then county you are in instead of having to go online to look them up which you may not be able to do everywhere. I consider my weather radio to be as important as a smoke detector.

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadoftwins320
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/8/2011

Customer review by weatherguy2000

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by weatherguy2000
by weatherguy2000

Unit works good you just need to decide what area you want the unit to cover. It has multi channels and if you use them all it will squawk whenever and where ever there is a storm. There is a web site to determine your area and channel to use. Overall good buy. It is replacing a old one I had. Does take 3 double A battries for back up.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weatherguy2000
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really good Radio!!!
1/15/2016

Customer review by ClaraN

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by ClaraN
by ClaraN

Luv it thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClaraN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reasonably priced weather radio
6/27/2011

Customer review by jlitzenb

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by jlitzenb
by jlitzenb

A great weather radio at a reasonable price. Can be programmed for your county only, for multiple counties or all counties. Very clear digital display and the sound is very clear. Easy to understand what is being said. With the way the weather is changing and becoming more intense, this is a "must-have".

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlitzenb
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must have
6/23/2011

Customer review by theindependentone

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by theindependentone
by theindependentone

Awesome weather radio. Notification will wake you out of a dead sleep

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theindependentone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good for Home, office, or student living.
3/6/2014

Customer review by CockyGamecock

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by CockyGamecock
by CockyGamecock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 10 years of use my second Midland Weather radio (that is SAME capable) stopped receiving a charge from the charger but still worked on batteries. I bought the same but newer model WR120 and was pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded some of the features. This is a good radio for weather broadcasts and for emergencies. It usually triggers the alarm a good 15 seconds before the tv interrupts programming, at night this usually gives me time to turn on the tv to see the radar and local tv broadcast.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CockyGamecock
Jacksonville State University
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews