Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 168 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Fantastic, practical, and effective.
5/20/2015

Customer review by AnthonyH

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by AnthonyH
by AnthonyH

First, let me say, I used to have a Midland WR-100. I loved that radio, it always worked just like it should, but my stupid cat ate the power adapter cord. I decided since the WR-120 replaced it, now was a good time to upgrade. Wow, what a difference. It receives better, it tells you immediately if it's having a hard time holding the signal, and contrary to the reviews I've seen here and on Amazon, absolutely does let you customize which alerts as well as the counties it alerts you for. Another plus, all the counties for every state are now preloaded. If you have an older radio with S.A.ME. technology (such as the WR-100) you know that you had to manually enter the codes for each county. I love Midland products, good quality, and relatively inexpensive, you really can't go wrong. Side note, if you have a radio that can be programmed by county, I recommend that you program more than just your own, but add a couple to your west and southwest too. That way you have greater heads up with incoming weather.

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnthonyH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Weather Radio
1/31/2017

Customer review by Majortom50

5.0 stars 1/31/2017 by Majortom50
by Majortom50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Midland weather radio to replace one that I had for about 10 years. This one is easier to program and does everything I expected. After only a few days, an alert sounded for a tornado watch, so I know it works properly. Everyone should own one of these for their home.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Majortom50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One Of The Best Weather Alert Radios On The Market
5/6/2014

Customer review by ISIS4000

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by ISIS4000
by ISIS4000
Walmart associate

This is a very modern and up to date all hazards weather alert radio. The batteries don't last very long but what many people don't understand is that this is normal for this type of radio as it is always "listening" in the background for alerts and this requires substantial power and thus batteries are ONLY meant as a backup power source in the event of a power outage. It is quite easy to program and reception and sound quality are excellent. The alert alarm (not to be confused with the alarm clock alarm) is one of the best features of this radio : it is the loudest alert alarm I have ever heard on a weather alert radio. Trust me, it WILL wake you up. Which is exactly what you want if there is a tornado warning for your area in the middle of the night. And you can program the radio to not sound the alarm for most advisories and watches and some warnings. And it has a "Display" mode which will only alert you with an on screen text message and flashing light with no audible alert at all. All in all, I am convinced that this radio could be a potential life saver (especially because of the extremely loud alarm) and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ISIS4000
Poquoson, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Walmart associate
The weather alert radio to get
2/23/2017

Customer review by MichaelR

5.0 stars 2/23/2017 by MichaelR
by MichaelR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When they say to get a weather alert radio, this is the one to get. It is easily programmable and easy to understand instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichaelR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile WX Alert Receiver
3/23/2016

Customer review by SevenTwenty

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by SevenTwenty
by SevenTwenty

The WR-120 lets the user select the specific alerts they want to be audible. No need to be alarmed out of bed in the middle of the night for an Amber Alert (as important as that is). And if you *want* to hear the weekly system tests, you can set it to give them to you. The only feature I would have liked to see added is the ability to monitor *two* channels simultaneously. In our area, for example, the backup NOAA station is in a nearby county, well within radio range. Local alerts are broadcast on both stations together. Recently, our local station was "down" during a bad weather event. This feature would have helped. In any case, this is an excellent radio at a very good price!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SevenTwenty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good weather radio for the price
7/12/2011

Customer review by tg1088

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by tg1088
by tg1088

This is a great weather alert radio. The quality is good for the price and it does what it is supposed to do. I get the alerts several minutes to almost a half hour before they are broadcasted over the TV. I bought this radio about 3 weeks ago and so far I've been alerted 5-6 times already (3 special marine warnings, 2 thunderstorm watch's and thunderstorm warning). The best feature is programming the SAME codes to the county or surrounding counties where you live so your not getting alerts that are 100 miles away. I live in SE Michigan where storms can get pretty intense so this radio is a great tool to have so you can prepare yourself. I recommend the Midland wr120 radio or any good quality weather radio to anyone who lives in zones where severe weather could strike any time.

Was this review helpful? (115) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tg1088
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:18 - 24
Good for Home, office, or student living.
3/6/2014

Customer review by CockyGamecock

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by CockyGamecock
by CockyGamecock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 10 years of use my second Midland Weather radio (that is SAME capable) stopped receiving a charge from the charger but still worked on batteries. I bought the same but newer model WR120 and was pleasantly surprised that they had upgraded some of the features. This is a good radio for weather broadcasts and for emergencies. It usually triggers the alarm a good 15 seconds before the tv interrupts programming, at night this usually gives me time to turn on the tv to see the radar and local tv broadcast.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CockyGamecock
Jacksonville State University
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay, but it has flaws.
4/3/2017

Customer review by Chuck2

3.0 stars 4/3/2017 by Chuck2
by Chuck2

I had one. Here in NW Indiana the Kankakee River spends 95% of its time in flood stage. Never anything more than some farm fields flooded and a few county roads wet. This thing kept warning me very loudly every few minutes about the river even though it is 30 miles away at the other end of the county. There was no way to stop it. So I took it and removed all power to shut it up. Haven't used it since.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent buy
2/12/2017

Customer review by Nicholas

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Nicholas
by Nicholas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great radio will get your attention in the event of severe weather warnings. Great buy

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nicholas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/8/2011

Customer review by weatherguy2000

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by weatherguy2000
by weatherguy2000

Unit works good you just need to decide what area you want the unit to cover. It has multi channels and if you use them all it will squawk whenever and where ever there is a storm. There is a web site to determine your area and channel to use. Overall good buy. It is replacing a old one I had. Does take 3 double A battries for back up.

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weatherguy2000
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
A must have
6/23/2011

Customer review by theindependentone

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by theindependentone
by theindependentone

Awesome weather radio. Notification will wake you out of a dead sleep

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theindependentone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Confusing Tornado Alert
7/14/2016

Customer review by shopper3100

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by shopper3100
by shopper3100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased a WR 120 for Mom after a real Tornado WARNING occurred. I have purchased and programmed several of these in the past. This one Had left out key info regarding the TORNADO WARNING. Namely, It's not listed as a possible ALERT on the list. This radio let's you pick and choose alerts from a list of about 160. Living in Wisconsin, I'm not really worried about avalanches ! So I set that one to OFF. But I couldn't find the Tornado Warning alert to make sure it was turned ON. I went to two other stores with my own batteries and tried the same units with the same result. After complaining to the store Co Mng. about Walmart selling defective weather radios and that they could cost some one their life in a storm, I went home to contact the manufacturer Midland. It was the weekend so naturally they were not open. I sent multiple E-mails and finally after no response called. Their Rep stated that the TORNADO WARNING Alert was not listed because that way nobody could turn it OFF by mistake. The alert is ALWAYS ON... I told them and suggested that it would be very helpful to mention this fact in the booklet or separate sheet of paper.. Other than that they are great little safety radios.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopper3100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great NOAA Weather Radio!
5/26/2011

Customer review by hp1003

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by hp1003
by hp1003

This is a GREAT weather radio. It is easy to use and set up, and provides great options and features. It is a fairly simple user interface, alerts are completely visible with text scrolling on the screen. A RED LED light for a Warning, a ORANGE LED light for Watches, and a YELLOW LED light for Advisories. Love this product, and would trust to alert me of warnings.

Was this review helpful? (147) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hp1003
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
Nice to have in area prone to severe weather
1/19/2014

Customer review by CSC5

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by CSC5
by CSC5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The radio is easy to use. It was very reasonably priced and it even has an alarm clock on it. I love the easy way you set up the counties for which you want alerts. The volume is great and you can even hit the weather button and get the forecast each morning. I would definitely recommend this radio especially if you live in a tornado prone area. Early warnings save lives!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CSC5
Belleville,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Essential in tornado areas
7/11/2012

Customer review by Greyfor

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Greyfor
by Greyfor

Having been in Alabama when the tornadoes hit last year, I feel a weather alert radio is a necessity. I had not really thought about it when I got back to Michigan until there were storms, and the tornado siren in town went off. I went looking for one the next day. The first time it went off, it startled me, but told me the severe weather was in the next county coming my way. It goes on automatically when severe weather is in the area, but you can turn it on any time to hear what the weather is going to be.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greyfor
Onsted, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Good value
4/24/2014

Customer review by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93
by LITTLEREDCORVETTE93

After returning another Midland weather radio, the sales associate recommended this one. The price was great so I decided to try it. It's very basic but that's what I was looking for. It literally took less than 2 minutes to program. We've not had bad weather so far, so can't comment on alerts. I would recommend this weather radio if you want a basic, low cost unit.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LITTLEREDCORVETTE93
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Works well - but can drive you crazy!
6/13/2011

Customer review by SPD3

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by SPD3
by SPD3

This weather alert radio works well and I am happy with it. The only thing is if you don't set it for your immediate area, it goes off constantly with alerts for any area's signal it can pick up. Before I set it for my immediate area, it went off 10-times or more in one day! It was driving me crazy with alerts!

Was this review helpful? (91) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SPD3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Midland WR120 Weather Alert Radio
3/8/2016

Customer review by LKRJ

5.0 stars 3/8/2016 by LKRJ
by LKRJ

The night we received this radio we had a tornado warning and the radio woke us up, otherwise we would not have known about the bad weather.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LKRJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't sound or display any alerts.
8/23/2011

Customer review by dadoftwins320

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by dadoftwins320
by dadoftwins320

I purchased this weather radio because my $70 Radio Shack one died and they were on backorder so i had to get this one. I programmed it according to the NOAA SAME codes and radio frequency for my area, then went camping a couple of miles away, reset the code for the new county, had storms and warrnings that night it didn't show anything on the display or sound an alert. Took it back home double checked the programming and settings, they are all correct, had a storm with warnnings two days later it never sounded an alert. I have since purchased another Radio Shack radio same as i had, it sounded alerts this morning when they were issued for my area. The Radio Shack radio also lets you set the SAME codes by choosing the state, then county you are in instead of having to go online to look them up which you may not be able to do everywhere. I consider my weather radio to be as important as a smoke detector.

Was this review helpful? (16) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadoftwins320
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Reasonably priced weather radio
6/27/2011

Customer review by jlitzenb

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by jlitzenb
by jlitzenb

A great weather radio at a reasonable price. Can be programmed for your county only, for multiple counties or all counties. Very clear digital display and the sound is very clear. Easy to understand what is being said. With the way the weather is changing and becoming more intense, this is a "must-have".

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlitzenb
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews