Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

11 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-10 of 10 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very good air popcorn popper
4/17/2011

Customer review by ConsumerRachel

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by ConsumerRachel
by ConsumerRachel

I'd shopped around for an electric popcorn maker as I didn't like the hot oil smell that lingered in the kitchen from pan popcorn. After reading many reviews, I happened across this unit on sale! and used it as soon as I got home. This unit has an on/off switch. It is light, compact, and easy to use. I have had no problem with the lid melting or distorting. It melts the butter well. When in operation, the base of the unit is tepid to the touch but the lid gets hot. I made about 8 batches of popcorn for my family of 6. One batch should be enough for 2 adults however we were hungry. There were only several kernels that didn't pop and was about same number with each batch @ 7-10. The popcorn doesn't blow all over, no need to make magic angles with the bowl to catch any "flying" popcorn. It's reasonably noisy, not any louder than a hand blender or hair dryer. The popping only lasts 4-5 min and the popcorn is deliCIOus.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerRachel
Charleston SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent popper. But....
4/12/2011

Customer review by LagoVistaShopper

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by LagoVistaShopper
by LagoVistaShopper

This bare bones popcorn popper works great except for one problem, the clear plastic assembly on the top of the units will start to deform if you use the popper to make a lot of popcorn. after 4 batches were run through, the measuring cup started to get bubbles in it, and the top began to sag inward. I was able to somewhat shape it back into a usable condition, but it will have to be exchanged for a new unit that isn't compromised. so if you plan to make a lot of popcorn, give the unit a rest after a few batches. The older Rival model that this replaced never had this problem in 30 years of use, Way to go Rival!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LagoVistaShopper
Lago Vista, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
this is junk, buy something else
6/12/2011

Customer review by somenamehere

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by somenamehere
by somenamehere

My wife purchased this for me for my birthday, because I had been wanting one. We got it home and on the first run it starts to melt the plastic top. I filled the cup up as the instructions say and popped a total of 3 cups worth of kernals. By the end of the 3rd batch the top was so disfigured the cup wouldn't even come out. I used to think Rival was a fair brand; but I see that they have got cheap in thier products too. I would not recommend product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
somenamehere
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Product
9/13/2011

Customer review by OhYeah1958

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by OhYeah1958
by OhYeah1958

Follow the directions and you won't have some of the problems outlined on other poor reviews, in my opinion. I cannot attest to to the durability yet but I was pleased and this tastes so much better than microwave popcorn. If you can get some butter salt from your local movie theater it's even better!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhYeah1958
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's ok
6/6/2011

Customer review by Pantherjad

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Pantherjad
by Pantherjad

At $18.77 in store I don't have much room to complain. Make sure you put in enough kernels for each batch. During the first attempt the blowing hot air that heats the kernels simply air-lifted all the yet un-popped kernels right out the chute and into our bowl; then, what few popped pieces there were actually sank to the bottom and were less likely to fly out the chute than the un-popped ones--disaster! Our second run worked better since we put in more kernels which created more collective resistance to the blowing air. It has a nice simple and relatively compact design, it certainly feels cheap (as most things do these days)--It was very affordable though! I think the chute needs to be slightly higher

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pantherjad
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Instructions are inaccurate, mech-savvy only
10/28/2011

Customer review by YourRealNameToo

2.0 stars 10/28/2011 by YourRealNameToo
by YourRealNameToo

Instructions say measuring cup (that came w/the unit) holds 1-1/2 cups; It holds 1/2 cup. Instructions say pop with 1 cup to 1-1/2 cups of popcorn, I'd say 1/2 to 1 cup, or 1 to 2 of their measuring cups, which yields medium to large bowl of popcorn. Do not know if other errors are in instructions...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YourRealNameToo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible
7/3/2011

Customer review by Nic88

1.0 stars 7/3/2011 by Nic88
by Nic88

Purchased this popper from our local Walmart, taking it back tomorrow! We read the directions before attempting to make the popcorn & correctly measured out the kernals....what a joke! Nothing "popped" it started smoking! Directions did state if you over fill the machine it can smoke, we didn't! Maybe we got a lemon, but I'm not going to take the chance again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nic88
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Pretty Decent
9/18/2011

Customer review by AggiePrideh

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by AggiePrideh
by AggiePrideh

Just used this for the first time, took a few mins to warm up and at first kernels popped out not popped. Soon it was on its way and did a pretty decent job, not bad at all for $18 bucks.Don't put the cup in the dishwasher, read all directions

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AggiePrideh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK for popcorn, but not the best.
12/13/2011

Customer review by tonyg9

3.0 stars 12/13/2011 by tonyg9
by tonyg9

Ok for a hot air popper, but a plastic butter tray requires heating of butter in an alternate container. I bought this as a replacement for my old Wearever which seemed to be on it's last legs---hope it lasts longer than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonyg9
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/4/2011

Customer review by hardtoleavereview2

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by hardtoleavereview2
by hardtoleavereview2

Used it once and it now goes in the garbage. I am angry. You must use a least 1 CUP of kernels or they all just end up on the floor. Do you have any idea how much popped corn this makes? If you have a family of 12, they may work for you. If not, pass. I will also pass on the brand of anything (rival) every again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hardtoleavereview2
Would recommend to a friend? No