Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 39 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
a lot of cool for the money
7/9/2011

Customer review by glenn

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by glenn
by glenn

I’m a contractor that works in a desert environment overseas. The ac unit which we have for our tent was not capable of keeping up with the hot desert sun. Needless to say come mid afternoon the temperature in my room would be in the upper 90’s. So after a couple weeks of sweating I decided to buy myself an ac unit which was portable. I really had my mind set on the 11,000 BTU unit, but due to shipping constraints I had to settle for the 7000 BTU unit. When the unit arrived it was already 94 in my room that day. Due to the easy setup of the unit I was able to have it assembled and up and running with in just a few minutes. This little machine was a god sent gift. I immediately observed the temperature in the room begin to decrease. Now on those days when it’s 110 or better outside I sit in comfort and enjoy 70 degree weather, when I’m not working of course. I would most definitely suggest this unit to anyone who is looking to cool off a single room in their home or office. Glenn

glenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well. Here are a few installation tips.
7/19/2011

Customer review by Enginr1

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Enginr1
by Enginr1

I've had this unit for a week or so and it's working very well. Better than expected, in fact. It cools like crazy. It's not nearly as noisy as I expected after reading some reviews on other sites, but it is a bit noisier than a small window unit. Certainly nothing you can't live with if you need the cooling and don't want to mount a window unit. To those who may have issues with or questions about the hot air hose or the drainage of condensate water, read on. The user manual is rather skimpy in these places. First, the hot air hose. When you attach the adapters on each end make sure to stretch out the end of the hose and see that the last coil gets engaged by the internal raised "threads" of the adapter as you screw the adapter on to the hose. Screw on the adapter until it tightens well onto the hose, at least one or more full turns. Next, slide the unit end adapter into its slot on the air conditioner. As you go to engage the window adapter end of the hose into the window adapter your goal is to engage the small hooks on the end of the hose adapter with the small slots around the large hole in the window adapter, and then rotate the hose adapter slightly clockwise to lock it to the window adapter. If you find that the hot air hose tends to "kink" as you rotate the hose adapter to lock it to the window adapter, disconnect from the window adapter and slightly tighten or loosen the hose end adapter on the hose so that when it engages the window adapter the hose doesn't try to kink. Then you will have a relaxed hose that is locked to the window adapter and doesn't try to unlock itself. Next, and this is important, the condensate water. Some reviewers seems to be a bit perplexed by the drain hose issue. Nowhere in the manual does it say to use a drain hose in cooling mode. The condensate water only needs to be drained when using the unit as a dehumidifier. I've had my unit cooling a hot several rooms for a week and have never taken the plug out of the drain hose connection. Here's how it works. Recent air conditioners make use of the water that drips from the evaporator (the cooling coils) to increase efficiency by collecting the condensate water in an internal pan and then spraying or dripping that water on to or over the condensor coils (the hot coils right after the refrigerant compressor). This helps to cool the condensor and increase the unit's cooling power. Any remaining water vapor that doesn't evaporate during this process goes out the exhaust along with the hot air. (This is also one reason why the manual recommends not having any very sharp bends or dips on the hot air hose - so any remaining water vapor does not tend to get trapped on its way outside.) Note that the manual DOES say that you have to drain any remaining condensate water from the BOTTOM drain fitting before you move the unit. This is to prevent water in the internal pan from splashing out as the unit is moved. I have no affiliation with Frigidaire; I'm just a retired engineer who knows a little about a lot, and a lot about a little, so take my advice or not as you see fit.

Was this review helpful? (244) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enginr1
Orange County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unexpected operational characteristics........
8/24/2012

Customer review by hjon

3.0 stars 8/24/2012 by hjon
by hjon

We have a small home cooled with three window AC units. This one was purchased to replace a failed window unit in the master bedroom with the thought that it would eliminate the need to seasonably remove and install a heavy window unit. It was easy to install, cooled very effectively with little effort and was relatively quiet. It would certainly make Spring and Fall changeover painless; only a small window panel to deal with. HOWEVER there is a powerful exhaust of air out through the flexable tube attached to the window panel. This air is 'made up' by internal air in the building. The tube carries only exhaust air from the room, no replacement air comes into the room through that tube. The effect is a negative air pressure created in the building. In our case, this unit was sucking hot air into our home from any openings it could find. The result was that the remaining 2 window units could no longer cool the spaces where they were installed. In none of the literature or internet information is there any mention of this effect and how to deal with it so we returned the unit to WalMart and exchanged it for a new traditional window Air Conditioner.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hjon
Rouses Point NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/30/2011

Customer review by Beast308

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Beast308
by Beast308

This air conditioner really works well within a small area. It was very easy to install and get up and running. My issue is that I have casement windows and needed a portable floor unit to keep 2 bedrooms cool, without installing a new window and getting a traditional window unit. It really cools well, but the hose generates a lot of heat, so the window has to be open far enough to let the heat out, which also lets some heat in. It is pretty loud if you are in the same room with it, but it's difficult to get it to cool two bedrooms, even across from each other. All in all, it did what I needed it to do, and it's as easy to move as a dehumidifier.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beast308
Loves Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Large Bedroom AC Unit
7/15/2012

Customer review by ColoradoGent

4.0 stars 7/15/2012 by ColoradoGent
by ColoradoGent

I got this unit as for the first time a Colorado Summer got the best of me! My upstairs Master Bedroom is the hottest room in the darn house and it stays hot into the late night when there is no nightly mtn breeze as usual. It can stay in the low 80's at midnight in my room and makes it tough to sleep! My 73" window is great but has two sliding windows (one at at each end)....and the openings on them are too small for the smallest window unit to fit! Please know your window openings match the unit you are looking at if you are thinking of buying a window unit....I had no idea mine were actually so small! I could not get a window unit even if I wanted one. The shipping was really fast....the unit arrived in 2 business days and I paid for std shipping! The unit is delivered by special FEDX Mini Van as it must remain in an upright position. Just cut the straps off and slide the cardboard up and off the unit....kind of easy. You do not wish to tip the box as this then requires the unit to have to stand for several hours to get the fluids back to their appropriate levels. I saw the good reviews on this portable Unit. I wanted something to use for the 2 months of summer we have and then wanted to take it down easily. Nothing permanent! The window bracket slides in easily for both verttical and horizontal windows. The bracket is adjustable for any height/width of window. I had that installed in just a few minutes with the provided foam and foam tape sealers provided. It is really easy. My Windows slide left to right. The mistake they made in manuf (and I saw this in other reviews) is that the hoses do not attach to their plastic couplers very easily. You have to attach a plastic hose coupler to each end of the hose. They in turn attach...one to the actual ac unit, and one to the window bracket. Very poor design. I wrestled around with them for about 30 minutes to try and figure out the optimal way to attach them. I found out there is no "best way" you just do the best you can! :>) They do not snap on, or give you any resemblance of a locked in, completed install! I never did really feel like they were attached 100% correctly, but they appeared to be on solid enough to stay in place...and they have been fine. They blew the hose/coupler design idea....gee wiz what a choke on their part....! I placed the main ac unit where I wanted it to sit in my room (right below my Window) and within range of my wall plug. I would suggest to form the hose first to the angles you need before worrying about attaching it to either the unit or the window bracket. The Hose is about 5 inches wide and bulky so it is weird to work with....so shape the hose first to make the bends you need to get the hose ends at the right angles to attach. Finished your hose rehearsal. Now all you have left is to slide on the hose to the unit first (it slides into its bracket on the back of the ac unit only one way). Then attach the other end of the hose to the window bracket. I left my window screen on. The ac unit does not put out super high heat that I experienced at all that would burn the screen (not even close). Mine has been working fine and the screen looks fine. I felt the screen after hours of initial use and the screen was barely a little warm. I will not take my screen off as it is just a pain on a two story house! I have had zero issues and have zero fear of the unit burning my screen. So I cranked the unit up and after 20 seconds of fan only the compressor kicked on and started cooling. I set it at 68 at 9pm. I closed my room door (220 sq ft room) and went to watch TV for a few hours. I returned in 3 hours and the unit had taken my room down to 76 from 82. I thought it would have worked a little faster in a closed room. It made the room comfortable enough to sleep in....and in another 2 hours I was down to around 71......and then it finally reached 68 by 3am (6 hours from the time I turned it on). Of course I am asking for a lot from a 7K BTU unit in a hot, 220 sq ft room, that was 82 degrees. I use it every night now and I start it about 2-3 hours before I go to bed. It makes the room comfortable....and by the middle of the night it hits 68 and will freeze you out! :>) The unit is built well and looks nice rolling well on its wheels. I am glad I made the purchase as I can sleep now. It will detach quickly for cooler weather...nothing was permanent. I cannot give it a five...as it dos not cool things down like I heard in many reviews. Maybe I am asking too much. I do not think it would do very well in an open room....like a living area. In my closed room it does just OK as far as cooling things down. You wouild need a much bigger unit (min of 12K BTU) to even start to cool that type of open room. So for a large bedroom (like my 10' X 12") I would say it does the job as long as you give it a minimum of a 2 hour head start before you sleep....more if you want it cooler. The unit only drops the Temp 2-3 degrees per hour in a warm room. If you need it to be faster...get the 12K unit....! The unit is pretty quiet for me....but then I like white noise. I dont like total quiet. I always have a fan blowing in the background even in Colorado Winters.The Unit does not make any sharp sounds that would wake you up...just sounds a lot like a regular fan blowing. Hope this helps as I know I appreciate candid reviews!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoradoGent
Monument, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the Job
8/31/2012

Customer review by wheeler715

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by wheeler715
by wheeler715

Our central a/c just couldn't cool down our master bedroom as it gets soaked in afternoon sun and it has a high ceiling. We researched several models and this one seemed the best fit for the size of the room and the reviews were positive. Well, it didn't disappoint. We set it at 72 and within 20 minutes or so, you need a jacket. We run it most of the night and we are very comfortable. Most reviewers complain these types of units are noisy. This one is tolerable and doesn't bother us. The only thing is the giant exhaust hose is a bit unsightly and hard to install. We just placed the adapter in the window with some insulation. We didn't want to put screws in the new window, and it works fine. Took about 20 minutes to set up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wheeler715
Buena Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
cools great
7/23/2013

Customer review by thejerseyshoregirl

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by thejerseyshoregirl
by thejerseyshoregirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We gave it a shot. We have small crank out windows so we had to make a custom plexi glass window panel(takes the place of the screen) My husband cut the hole in the plexi same as the window slide has. Installed the hose into the plexi, replaced the window screen with the plexi and poof you have it. We can still close the crank out window and lock it when AC is not in use. We also have a clear view out the window. We will just leave the plexi-glass in the window for the season. When there's' a will there's a way!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thejerseyshoregirl
jersey shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works far better than I expected
9/10/2012

Customer review by HollywoodCitizen

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by HollywoodCitizen
by HollywoodCitizen

This portable A/C is an exceptional value. I was expecting it to relieve some of the heat and humidity. From the first time I hit the " On" button it has amazed me. The exhaust hose is a little rigid, so line everything up first and attach the slide-on end to the machine after attaching the end that fits to the window panel and it is much easier, you'll understand this completely when you start to install it. I bought 7000 BTU model to cool just my bedroom and after a few days realized that it easily cools my 14 x 16 bedroom and a 14 x 20 living room as well. I have been using it for over a month and can say that this "made in America" product surpasses all expectations. Buy it !

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HollywoodCitizen
Los Angeles , Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beating the heat!
9/20/2015

Customer review by Richie Rich

4.0 stars 9/20/2015 by Richie Rich
by Richie Rich

've had this unit around a month now and we've had triple digit heat. My a/c has kept the shop nice and cool. I've learned to keep an eye on the humidity, as this affects how often I need to drain it. It does run a little loud, but not extremely. It needs to be turned on before the shop heats up, or it can't catch up. This is due to the shop is not connected to the central unit of our house and is a stand alone building. If I turn it on when it's still cool, it works great, keeping it at whatever temperature it's set at, regardless of how hot it is outside. The most negative thing, and it's small, is the bottom drain. The location makes it difficult to get a pan under, and I didn't want to run a hose, but that would be the best setup.

Richie Rich
NorCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth the money
8/6/2012

Customer review by JenP89

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by JenP89
by JenP89

This a/c has several good features. It cranks out the cold air great, and it's very easy to move from room to room. However, I definitely never will purchase another one because the hose does not fit into the phlanges that connect to the unit and the window piece. The instructions say to just screw the hose into the phlanges. However, the design is so poor, and the phlanges keep collapsing, so it is impossible to connect the hose to the phlanges. I ended up having to duct tape the hose to the phlange to keep them attached, and once I had the unit in place I couldn't move it or there would be leaks or the whole hose would come off. Also, the plastic piece that connects the phlange to the window piece broke on the first day.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenP89
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/16/2011

Customer review by fiestalady

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by fiestalady
by fiestalady

The product is great, but the information on how big a room it will cool is incorrect and therefore not working out as well as we had hoped.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fiestalady
punxsy, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by Crystal08

4.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Crystal08
by Crystal08

the hose is a little hard to put together but its cools the room great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crystal08
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Improved features and performance
10/21/2015

Customer review by Hilo Buyer

4.0 stars 10/21/2015 by Hilo Buyer
by Hilo Buyer

compared to my previous portable, this unit has much improved water handling and user controls

Hilo Buyer
Hilo, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frigidaire Portable Air Conditioner
9/19/2015

Customer review by Aleta

4.0 stars 9/19/2015 by Aleta
by Aleta

I happen to have 2 of these. One I bought New. One I bought Used. The new air conditioner gets cold, however, it consistently drains a lot of water. I read the manual...but no matter what setting I put it on, it keeps draining lots of water. The used air conditioner, which was repaired prior to my purchase, doesn't drain any water at all. I'm having trouble finding a repair location.

Aleta
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job
8/26/2015

Customer review by Fausto

4.0 stars 8/26/2015 by Fausto
by Fausto

Cools the amount of space it claims to and does it in a reasonable amount of time. User interface is good - simple and clear. It is a bit loud, but I am not sure there is any way around that for an air conditioner of this size. Has a nice neutral appearance so it is not an eyesore. The only complaint is that the hose fitting on the window fitting is not well designed and it can be very difficult to keep the hose connected to the window attachment when installing. Since it is portable and we move it around, this is a real problem and should be redesigned.

Fausto
Alameda, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy, Easy set-up and use
9/24/2015

Customer review by Azure Mai

5.0 stars 9/24/2015 by Azure Mai
by Azure Mai

I bought this solely for a elderly Rottweiler that was suffering in the latest heat wave. Easy set-up. Easy operation. Rottweiler immediately figured out where the cool was coming from and parked herself there.

Azure Mai
Eugene, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome machine
9/24/2015

Customer review by Angglewngs

5.0 stars 9/24/2015 by Angglewngs
by Angglewngs

I bought the air conditioner because it has been very hot and my dog got heatstroke, I set the timer and temperature and go to work... Keeps my house so very cool all day long

Angglewngs
San Miguel, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hose ventilation is junk!!!
7/22/2014

Customer review by biscuit143

2.0 stars 7/22/2014 by biscuit143
by biscuit143
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me first start off by saying I love frigidaire and have owned a window unit that would freeze you out in the desert . Unfortunately, this a/c was not the case . I had to turn it down to 62• degrees( lowest setting ) just to take it down from 77 degrees .. Took 7-8 hours to get it down to 72. It was cool-cold, but not that ice cold I was looking for . Now for the worst part. The HOSE CONNECTION. This Is by far the cheapest setup I have ever had to deal with in any product. Frigidaire has received many complaints in this issue and still tends to maintain this poorly ventilation system.... I'm returning this unit ASAP....!!! Also,- I have this 7,000 btu unit in a 12 x12 room (144sq feet ). This unit is equipped for a 290sq. Ft....... No way!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biscuit143
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/24/2015

Customer review by Arnold of aloha

3.0 stars 9/24/2015 by Arnold of aloha
by Arnold of aloha

Love the size and swing air feature but the motor is too loud for the indoor.

Comment from Anna - 10/9/2015

Aloha Arnold! We do appreciate you taking a moment to leave a quick review of your new portable air conditioner. Our team will evaluate your review to help in implementing future design improvements to our product lines. Should you need assistance, please call us directly. Best Regards –

Arnold of aloha
Honolulu, HI, United Statesp
Cool and Comfortable
9/17/2015

Customer review by Comfortable

5.0 stars 9/17/2015 by Comfortable
by Comfortable

This has been a real life saver for us! We were having such a problem keeping our upstairs comfortable without freezing on the main level. Now, even on the sunniest hot days, our whole house feels great. Love it!

Comfortable
Trempealeau, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews