Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
453
4 stars
202
3 stars
68
2 stars
41
1 stars
60
1-20 of 814 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews
At last one that works!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Lopakalolo

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Lopakalolo
by Lopakalolo

I started my journey with the Visio BDP and found that it would not stream movies in 1080p. Returned this one the next day and decided to wait a while and do more research. Then while I was in Wal-Mart one day I decided to give the Magnavox a try, again Wi-Fi performance was terrible! Returned this one back and again decided that maybe the Wi-Fi technology for blue ray players was lacking and I needed to wait for a while before purchasing another. Then again while at Wal-Mart my son pointed out that the Samsung they offered had great online reviews, so with some great hesitation I purchased this Samsung player. To my surprise it was a GREAT purchase. The setup was a snap and the features were better then either of the first two. I held my breath and launched Vudu to watch a movie in 1080p. No problem, zero freezing, etc. This is a great blue ray player with built in Wi-Fi and I would recommend it to all that are buying a DVD player to watch online content.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lopakalolo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Blue Ray Rocks!
9/27/2011

Customer review by TheWalmartExperience

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by TheWalmartExperience
by TheWalmartExperience

So! We wanted to purchase a Blue Ray. We weren't too sure of what brand to purchase because there were so many to choose from. Anyway! We purchcased a Maganavox for $98 and lets just say, you get what you pay for. The movie showed just fine, but the wireless setup was not working. The other reason for purchasing a Blue Ray system (wireless built in) was to be able to enjoy Netflix besides using the Wii to view. So! We returned the Maganavox and purchased the Samsung. The price was a little higher, but worth every dime. The WiFi worked immediately and so far no problems. There are so many apps you have access to. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheWalmartExperience
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Choice
5/15/2011

Customer review by coyotereview

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by coyotereview
by coyotereview

I originally bought a Magnavox that did not work on my network after trying for 5 hours and returned it. Bought this Samsung and got it working and watching Netflix in 20 minutes. I am VERY happy with this purchase. It's a quality product and worth the higher price. You get what you pay for as they say.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coyotereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Built in wi fi is the operative word!!!!!!!!
8/7/2011

Customer review by shaft944

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by shaft944
by shaft944

This was very easy to set up and you really don't need an HD tv.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shaft944
stroudsburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine
10/6/2011

Customer review by Pam1920

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Pam1920
by Pam1920

This is my first experience with Wi-Fi Blu-Ray. We disconnected Dish, and decided to try some other options. I love this player! It was set up and reading my Wi-Fi in just a few minutes. Picture quality is great, even on regular DVD's. I can't tell much difference with Blu-Ray's, because it's so vibrant in either. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pam1920
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great Blu-Ray
11/10/2011

Customer review by southomoe

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by southomoe
by southomoe

Gave this as a gift to my husband for his birthday and we have been really pleased with it's performance. Able to use the Wi-Fi without any problems and have enjoyed the Netflix capability. We give it a big thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southomoe
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value for the Money
10/11/2011

Customer review by unclelucky

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by unclelucky
by unclelucky

Very impressed with all the features, picture quality, value for the money and ease of use. For what I paid, I was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unclelucky
Fort Walton Bch, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
wireless connection unstable
9/30/2011

Customer review by BigJair

3.0 stars 9/30/2011 by BigJair
by BigJair

Don't know why but when trying connect using the wireless connection and probably the direct cable connection applications especially netflix was having difficulty connecting. I think it is a memory issue. When I deleted most of the apps I downloaded on the smart hub, Netflix started working much better. The player portion itself works great and will play both DVD and blue Ray.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigJair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
11/3/2011

Customer review by idiii

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by idiii
by idiii

this is my first blu ray and i purchased it through best buy. but today i dont want to drive 100 to best buy so we are purchasing the same from walmart for 11$ less. This blu ray was easy for me to install and the apps are great. I actually in the 5 months owning it havent watched a blu ray but i love the pandora app. if i never watch a blu ray all the other functions are satisfying to me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
idiii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
avoid this blu ray player!
11/6/2011

Customer review by darthstanlious

1.0 stars 11/6/2011 by darthstanlious
by darthstanlious

Ive had this player for 2 weeks and i will be returning it tomorrow. Lots of problems. Alot of the problems i am experiencing are the same problems i have read in other reviews. Either i have no picture or no sound or constant freezing and constant need to reset the player. I will be exchanging this for a ps3. I cant believe most of these reviews and dont see how anyone would be happy with this player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darthstanlious
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2011

Customer review by Rummyk

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Rummyk
by Rummyk

LOVE LOVE LOVE this Blu-Ray player. I did my research before buying a blu-ray player and this one had the highest reviews out of all the ones I looked at. And the reviews were so high for a reason! It is wonderful, I haven't had any issues with it at all, and the shipping was very fast! You won't be dissapointed

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rummyk
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay way! Return while you can
2/18/2012

Customer review by AreYouTalking2Me

2.0 stars 2/18/2012 by AreYouTalking2Me
by AreYouTalking2Me

I know Samsung is supposedly a quality name brand but after this player, I find I must disagree. I do hope it is limited to this as I have a Samsung refrigerator lol. The features on the box do not come installed, you have to go to the app store and download them. The remote leaves much to be desired. You have to type click each number one at a time till you get to your letter (like we used to do with cell phones to text until a keyboard was invented). Imagine how long this could take if you have a long password or even your email address. It also does not allow the use of special characters so if your wireless router password has special characters, you will have to change your wireless password. I bought this last night, I was not able to connect to the internet so I called Samsung... the guy told me the Samsung network was down... That left me a tad confused as I thought I was loading from my network not Samsung's but he felt really strongly about the information he was providing. I tried it again this morning, of course it still was not working. Call the Samsung help desk again, after a 2 hr reboot, do this, do that their solution was for me to call my wireless network manufacturer and have them take of the filter to better allow the blu-ray to connect. All in all, both reps did not know what they were doing. So this blu-ray is heading BACK to the store on Monday.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AreYouTalking2Me
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Technology, Easy to Use
12/22/2011

Customer review by TxMavn

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by TxMavn
by TxMavn

We purchased this during a Black Friday sale, not knowing what to expect. Installation was super simple, and ease of use is great. Just be sure to make sure that you have enough bandwidth on your internet connection (2500 MBPS was barely adequate, 20,000 is a lot better.) The ONLY complaint that I have is that the "Exit" button on the controller is next to the arrows for navigating in the system, and I have exited Netflix by accident more times than I care to count.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxMavn
Glenview IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Don't buy this one if you have a Vizio TV
11/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I agree with the reviewer who panned the loading gate. It's flimsy. There were two things that caused me to return this player. First, it didn't want to connect to the internet via the wired port. Second, the "universal" remote supplied with the machine would not connect to my Vizio TV. When I went to the Q&A on Samsung's website, their response was, "Right, we don't have a code for Vizio." They didn't indicate they were researching one, or that an upgrade was on the way. The just flat didn't give a rip. Well, if they don't, I don't either. The machine went back today.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Visalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The product has had multiple problems
11/7/2011

Customer review by hank72

1.0 stars 11/7/2011 by hank72
by hank72

I have had the bd-5700 for about 6 months now. It freezes frequently when switching between applications. To resolve the issue, turning the unit off doesn't work, it has to be unplugged and plugged back in. 2 weeks ago the netflix application stopped working. I have spent over 4 hours on the phone with support. The issue still has not been resolved. The support was friendly, but blamed my internet provider, netflix and my router. I have been transfered to multiple different people and waited 4 days for someone to call back. I have made multiple calls to my internet provider and netflix to verify my settings. Returned the calls to samsung and no solution. Now I have $150 paperweight I guess. I have had samsungs before and been very happy until this product. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hank72
Joliet, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything I needed... Excellent built-in WiFi
12/23/2011

Customer review by Kreativeone

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Kreativeone
by Kreativeone

Very low physical profile fit my entertainment center. Easy setup; plug it in and attach HMDI... could that be all? Yes. Paired with a Samsung TV and the remote works immediately on both. Easy connection to my hidden WiFi network. Immediate software update assured latest software usage. Samsung smart HUB very nice for navigating. Connecting to other media machines on my network is very cool for sharing. I'm surprised how well the built-in wireless works after having spotty performance from other wireless devices so far from the wireless router. Excellent product; would recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kreativeone
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy to setup,great picture quality,samsung apps +
12/5/2011

Customer review by fatdadyal

4.0 stars 12/5/2011 by fatdadyal
by fatdadyal

one word, IMPRESSIVE ! I gave it a 4 star rating only because it doesn't record on blu-ray !

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fatdadyal
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easily installed, easily operated,
1/26/2012

Customer review by aberafan

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by aberafan
by aberafan

wi-fi couldnt be easier, though in this day and age samsung should include an HDMI cable If they had it would be 5 stars all around

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aberafan
grosse ile, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good wi-fi blu-ray Player
12/22/2011

Customer review by makeye

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by makeye
by makeye

This is the first blu-ray player I have ever owned, and I am quite impressed. Not only with the quality of the blu ray movies, but also with the apps which are available from Samsung as well as the wi fi capabilities of the player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
makeye
Iron River MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It !
12/22/2011

Customer review by bigczek

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by bigczek
by bigczek

Works perfectly and synced flawlessly with my Samsung TV. And it was a cinch to hook up. One HDMI cable and plug it into the wall. Could have not been easier.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigczek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews