Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

824 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
453
4 stars
202
3 stars
68
2 stars
41
1 stars
60
1-20 of 814 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews
At last one that works!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Lopakalolo

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Lopakalolo
by Lopakalolo

I started my journey with the Visio BDP and found that it would not stream movies in 1080p. Returned this one the next day and decided to wait a while and do more research. Then while I was in Wal-Mart one day I decided to give the Magnavox a try, again Wi-Fi performance was terrible! Returned this one back and again decided that maybe the Wi-Fi technology for blue ray players was lacking and I needed to wait for a while before purchasing another. Then again while at Wal-Mart my son pointed out that the Samsung they offered had great online reviews, so with some great hesitation I purchased this Samsung player. To my surprise it was a GREAT purchase. The setup was a snap and the features were better then either of the first two. I held my breath and launched Vudu to watch a movie in 1080p. No problem, zero freezing, etc. This is a great blue ray player with built in Wi-Fi and I would recommend it to all that are buying a DVD player to watch online content.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lopakalolo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Blue Ray Rocks!
9/27/2011

Customer review by TheWalmartExperience

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by TheWalmartExperience
by TheWalmartExperience

So! We wanted to purchase a Blue Ray. We weren't too sure of what brand to purchase because there were so many to choose from. Anyway! We purchcased a Maganavox for $98 and lets just say, you get what you pay for. The movie showed just fine, but the wireless setup was not working. The other reason for purchasing a Blue Ray system (wireless built in) was to be able to enjoy Netflix besides using the Wii to view. So! We returned the Maganavox and purchased the Samsung. The price was a little higher, but worth every dime. The WiFi worked immediately and so far no problems. There are so many apps you have access to. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheWalmartExperience
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Nice Blu-Ray Player
8/27/2011

Customer review by potatojumper

3.0 stars 8/27/2011 by potatojumper
by potatojumper

Out of all the Samsung "Smart" products I own (3) this is probably one of the best and most reliable. All in all I'll probably keep this unit and not replace it with a Sony unit or something else, which is more than I can say for my Samsung home theater system. Pros: Great picture 3D Netflix works pretty well and with good quality via wireless Built-in wireless is the way to go vs the annoying and expensive adapter Cons: Always tries to load a disc first. Really annoying if you use this to watch Netflix etc more often than discs. You have to keep the disc out or else wait until you can stop the disc to get to the Smart Hub AllShare is great when it works, but is pretty flaky. If you try to do much fast-forwarding etc it's likely to reject you and disappear from the SmartHub options. A restart is required to get it back. Loading of discs etc is pretty slow compared to DVD player I've owned, but that may be typical of Blu-Ray in general. Noisier than DVD players I've owned in the past.

potatojumper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Good Choice
5/15/2011

Customer review by coyotereview

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by coyotereview
by coyotereview

I originally bought a Magnavox that did not work on my network after trying for 5 hours and returned it. Bought this Samsung and got it working and watching Netflix in 20 minutes. I am VERY happy with this purchase. It's a quality product and worth the higher price. You get what you pay for as they say.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coyotereview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Built in wi fi is the operative word!!!!!!!!
8/7/2011

Customer review by shaft944

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by shaft944
by shaft944

This was very easy to set up and you really don't need an HD tv.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shaft944
stroudsburg, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine
10/6/2011

Customer review by Pam1920

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Pam1920
by Pam1920

This is my first experience with Wi-Fi Blu-Ray. We disconnected Dish, and decided to try some other options. I love this player! It was set up and reading my Wi-Fi in just a few minutes. Picture quality is great, even on regular DVD's. I can't tell much difference with Blu-Ray's, because it's so vibrant in either. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pam1920
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really Falls Short
4/27/2011

Customer review by ppritche

2.0 stars 4/27/2011 by ppritche
by ppritche

I purchased the BD-D5700 player because of how much I enjoyed my Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500) and the expectation that I could access web pages (so I could watch videos from my church website and other sites). Sadly, I have had nothing but problems with the device that from all research are innate to the BD-D5700 itself. First, it does not access web pages (I really wanted that). Second, streaming netflix and allshare videos will choke and the video and audio loose synch. Third, I have even had the blu-ray palyer loose audio and video synch. Fourth, the system will choke so badly that even the menu takes many seconds to minuets to respond after a key press on the remote. The only way to recover is to reboot the system. I added an eight Gig USB drive in hopes that it might help but to no avail. Fifth, the menu is not appealing and not very intuitive. This all being said, when I watched the movie "Tangled" on blue-ray the depth was fantastic.

ppritche
Dallas, Texas
Expertise:Expert
great Blu-Ray
11/10/2011

Customer review by southomoe

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by southomoe
by southomoe

Gave this as a gift to my husband for his birthday and we have been really pleased with it's performance. Able to use the Wi-Fi without any problems and have enjoyed the Netflix capability. We give it a big thumbs up!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southomoe
Omaha, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wireless connection unstable
9/30/2011

Customer review by BigJair

3.0 stars 9/30/2011 by BigJair
by BigJair

Don't know why but when trying connect using the wireless connection and probably the direct cable connection applications especially netflix was having difficulty connecting. I think it is a memory issue. When I deleted most of the apps I downloaded on the smart hub, Netflix started working much better. The player portion itself works great and will play both DVD and blue Ray.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigJair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Value for the Money
10/11/2011

Customer review by unclelucky

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by unclelucky
by unclelucky

Very impressed with all the features, picture quality, value for the money and ease of use. For what I paid, I was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclelucky
Fort Walton Bch, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect!
12/18/2011

Customer review by sgtlau

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by sgtlau
by sgtlau

I bought this Disc Player at just about $90 during big sale from Wal-Mart Especially with this price, I can say nothing but "Perfect!" to describe it overall. The picture quality is stunning. I can tell the great difference on watching the same regular DVD with this Blu-ray player compared to a regular DVD player. With its picture qualities, it looks to me that I actually do not need to consider buying Blu-ray DVD movies at all. Another thing also makes me very happy on this purchase is that it works with my newly bought Samsung TV perfectly. As soon as I hooked up between the player and the TV with a HDMI cable, they both started working automatically with each other (My TV was off but it immediately turned on automatically as soon as I had them connected. Then, the TV screen literally told me what to do.. .!). The set up is a breezy! It really worth a 5-Star rating!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgtlau
Kissimmee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So good I bought a second one.
12/12/2011

Customer review by asdlkjfhfdlkjh

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by asdlkjfhfdlkjh
by asdlkjfhfdlkjh

I kind of bought the first one on a whim. I have a couple large plasma HDTV's and was wanting an easy/aesthetically pleasing way to access my media on my home media server, but do not have ethernet wiring in my house. For about the price of a wireless media player, this has blueray built in as an extra feature. Allows me to replace the other brand DVD player that I hated. No brainer there! The good: Plays bluray (looks great), wifi works great, fairly feature packed, priced well, aesthetically pleasing, hey... I bought a second one of the same model. Excellent value. The bad: it is a little slow to navigate menus and load the smarthub content. not unbearably slow, just a little. I knocked off a star for the speed. Other thoughts: This thing has me hooked on Pandora now. My TV's are Samsung too and the anynet feature is annoying so it is turned off. Though I have heard of others having problems with Samsung blueray players, I have had none... and the second one I bought was even a refurb. They both work great. I highly recommend this wifi blueray player!

asdlkjfhfdlkjh
SEC football country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
The product has had multiple problems
11/7/2011

Customer review by hank72

1.0 stars 11/7/2011 by hank72
by hank72

I have had the bd-5700 for about 6 months now. It freezes frequently when switching between applications. To resolve the issue, turning the unit off doesn't work, it has to be unplugged and plugged back in. 2 weeks ago the netflix application stopped working. I have spent over 4 hours on the phone with support. The issue still has not been resolved. The support was friendly, but blamed my internet provider, netflix and my router. I have been transfered to multiple different people and waited 4 days for someone to call back. I have made multiple calls to my internet provider and netflix to verify my settings. Returned the calls to samsung and no solution. Now I have $150 paperweight I guess. I have had samsungs before and been very happy until this product. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hank72
Joliet, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/4/2012

Customer review by Casgamer

1.0 stars 3/4/2012 by Casgamer
by Casgamer

Bought this today. I own 3 Samsung flat screens and with this product 3 Samsung blu-ray players. This product is no where near as good as even my 3 year old player. I set everything up and was ready to watch Netflix. Wrong answer...Netflix app kept telling I was not connected. Hmmmm...went through firmware updates, reset, hard reset, unplug, turn off, reset modem, changing time zone, Samsung customer support and finally Netflix support. Netflix support told me they had just been notified of a problem with Samsung blu-ray players and Netfilx not working. That's weird, my other Samsung players stream Netflix just fine. I even double checked to make sure. Yep, all is working except for this model. Just notified that there is a problem???? Looked on-line and apparently this has been going on for at least a year. I am taking this product back. Now I like Samsung products, but this one is not good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Casgamer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst wifi ever!
1/11/2013

Customer review by Randee88

1.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Randee88
by Randee88

Had this player for about a year now and as far as dvd players go, its quite average. Nothing special but it does what its supposed to do. Now if you are trying to use it for the wifi capabilities such as streaming Netflix or Hulu, do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. Everytime I try to watch netflix it either stops every five minutes or doesnt even play at all. Constantly loses internet conection and is extremely slow to load movies or shows. I also have a lot of wifi enabled devices around my house that dont have any problems what so ever, so it cant be said that its because of my wireless router. Bottom line, if your looking for a regular dvd player, save yourself some money and just get a dvd player. If your looking for a blu-ray thats actuallly functional, Then buy a different model or maybe even a different brand. Very unsatisfied with this product and regret the purchase.

Randee88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
great product
11/3/2011

Customer review by idiii

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by idiii
by idiii

this is my first blu ray and i purchased it through best buy. but today i dont want to drive 100 to best buy so we are purchasing the same from walmart for 11$ less. This blu ray was easy for me to install and the apps are great. I actually in the 5 months owning it havent watched a blu ray but i love the pandora app. if i never watch a blu ray all the other functions are satisfying to me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idiii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Design and performance problems
4/13/2012

Customer review by retiredinmaine2

2.0 stars 4/13/2012 by retiredinmaine2
by retiredinmaine2

Well, it does play DVDs and it does stream from Netflix. But... * You can't stream a video while a DVD is in the tray. The streaming is really jerky. * I was never able to get used to the design of the remote. The button you use most often (Enter), is the center of a single flat up-down-left-right-enter control where the center (enter) is not even raised up. You can't use this control without looking at it. If you try to go by touch, you'll end up hitting the wrong part of the control and do bad things to your streaming (see next item) * Fwd and Rev controls produce unpredictable results. Sometimes you have to hit them twice to get any response, and then you wait, and wait, and wait... to regain control at some seemingly arbitrary location in the DVD. * The remote has to be pointed directly at the player * It takes a long time to start a DVD * It takes a long time to power up * It even takes a long time to open the tray. After 80 days of frustration, I gave up, returned it, cancelled my Netflix streaming account and went back to my old, fast, reliable, easy-to-use, inexpensive Sony Blue-Ray player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
retiredinmaine2
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great - when it plays
7/27/2012

Customer review by mmdavis23

3.0 stars 7/27/2012 by mmdavis23
by mmdavis23

Really good value, and superb experience when it works and plays correctly, but I've had numerous issues with some newer Blu-ray releases. Game of Thrones season 1, for example, wouldn't play a new disc unless I reset EVERY SINGLE TIME I put a new disc in. I am current with firmware updates. Same issue with Harry Potter series of new Blu-rays. Also suspect something is up with the way a video streaming service I subscribe to constantly freezes, rebuffers and just shuts off. I have fast and consistent Internet signal - none of my other devices have any issues when the unit complains about the signal and shuts down. This might not be the player, but based on some of the other Smart Hub apps and sites being just as intermittent, I believe that it is. Overall, a great value and like I said- when it works it's amazing. I just wish it worked more consistently.

mmdavis23
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Samsung BluRay Disc Player that has Smart TV App
12/22/2011

Customer review by BeamMeUpScotty

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by BeamMeUpScotty
by BeamMeUpScotty

We already have a Smart TV from Samsung which we like because of the internet applications available for use over a wired or wireless internet connection to our Samsung tv. We were surprised to find out that Samsung makes a BluRay player with a Smart TV program built into it. That program allows us to connect to the internet and use the built in Smart TV program over our internet connection. We bought the BluRay player to stream Netflix videos to our analog tv by using the Netflix app available through the BluRay player using the Smart TV program. It works like a charm and it saved us the expense of buying another Smart TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeamMeUpScotty
southwestern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Stay way! Return while you can
2/18/2012

Customer review by AreYouTalking2Me

2.0 stars 2/18/2012 by AreYouTalking2Me
by AreYouTalking2Me

I know Samsung is supposedly a quality name brand but after this player, I find I must disagree. I do hope it is limited to this as I have a Samsung refrigerator lol. The features on the box do not come installed, you have to go to the app store and download them. The remote leaves much to be desired. You have to type click each number one at a time till you get to your letter (like we used to do with cell phones to text until a keyboard was invented). Imagine how long this could take if you have a long password or even your email address. It also does not allow the use of special characters so if your wireless router password has special characters, you will have to change your wireless password. I bought this last night, I was not able to connect to the internet so I called Samsung... the guy told me the Samsung network was down... That left me a tad confused as I thought I was loading from my network not Samsung's but he felt really strongly about the information he was providing. I tried it again this morning, of course it still was not working. Call the Samsung help desk again, after a 2 hr reboot, do this, do that their solution was for me to call my wireless network manufacturer and have them take of the filter to better allow the blu-ray to connect. All in all, both reps did not know what they were doing. So this blu-ray is heading BACK to the store on Monday.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AreYouTalking2Me
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 814 total reviews
1-20 of 814 reviews