Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 121 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

121 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

121 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 111 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews
No longer need my laptop
5/29/2011

Customer review by Pete5

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by Pete5
by Pete5

I've had this for over a week now and have not used my laptop once. This tablet device gets me online to the internet for all my web surfing, videos (youtube, news, flash video and more) as well as with Docs2go i can view and edit my Microsoft Word and Excel files. I'm thinking on my next business trip not to bring my laptop as this tablet can do everything in need it to do with 8 hours of battery life. Great product and a lot cheaper than the big brand names.

Was this review helpful? (255) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pete5
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Much better than I thought
5/23/2011

Customer review by dj123456

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by dj123456
by dj123456

I've been playing with this tablet for a few days now and its been great! The only thing that I don't like was that there isn't a multi-touch function to zoom in and out of pictures like the iPad. It has an andriod app store where I can download all the of the applications I needed which is awesome. At the price point for the number of features(camera. video, web surfing, app store) compared to an iPad this is a much better deal. Oh also the screen wasn't bright enough when I first received the tablet, I almost gave it a lower review, but after playing with it a longer time I discovered you could drastically increase the brightness under the display settings function.

Was this review helpful? (166) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dj123456
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great Value + Access to REAL apps!
5/21/2011

Customer review by CMSBill

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by CMSBill
by CMSBill

I've been looking for an affordable tablets but couldn't find one that fit my needs. My biggest requirement is Android Market which give me access to REAL apps instead of limited CUSTOM app store which limits the tablet usage. This is the cheapest unit I found with it. Great job WAL-MART! Only downside is it doesn't have capacitive touch and multi-touch, but the resistive touchscreen is the best I've played with. Very responsive. Overall, great value.

Was this review helpful? (125) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMSBill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Best Deal for the Buck!! Great Family Device
5/29/2011

Customer review by LadySue

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by LadySue
by LadySue

This little tablet is great. I use in the kitchen to get receipts write shopping list and look up foods & nutrition value's for my family. The touchscreen is great, the speed is good (It's not super duper fast, but not slow). connects quick and easy to get on the internet, and starts up really fast (unlike laptops). My kids use it to watch videos online, facebook games, download apps to use in the car, restaurants, etc. This tablet is our new tech toy that my complete family uses all the time. In face we don't use our laptops as much anymore. Since it was half the price of an ipad, i may get another one since i have i hard time getting to use it when i want too.

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadySue
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
So far, so good.....
6/13/2011

Customer review by birdmom9726

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by birdmom9726
by birdmom9726

I upgraded to the Filemate after another, cheaper tablet failed on me after two weeks of light use. So far the Filemate is worth the extra money. I was a little concerned about the resistive-type touch screen, but it's actually more responsive and accurate than the supposedly better capacitive type screen I had on the other model. Lots of nice features, still in the learning curve. I was not expecting an I-Pad type experience, have had no disappointments so far in downloading apps, music, etc. The only unnerving experience was prying open the back of this tablet to insert the battery when I first got it, but as soon as I popped it in I was up and running. This product is so new that the support people at Wintec aren't very familiar with it, but Charles stayed right with me as I pried open the tablet and helped me through the process. Now I'm getting ready to see if this tablet really is 3G enabled, as I have been assured it is. So far, a really satisfying product and a good value, in my opinion. However, I have only had mine for 3 weeks, so we'll see how it holds up in the long run. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (108) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdmom9726
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great entry tablet
6/5/2011

Customer review by carol64

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by carol64
by carol64

Got my tablet yesterday and have played with it alot, have had one other tablet that didnt do half the things this one does. The only con I have is I wish that I could get the font size just a little bit larger other then that I would highly recommend this tablet. If you are looking for a case for this I bought the Nook ereader case and works great.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carol64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Netflix manually Installed....Waze navigation FREE
7/7/2011

Customer review by kvjt2000

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by kvjt2000
by kvjt2000

great tablet for the price. very responsive and adequate speed. some add ons that i did to it made it even better. first, i added a free navigation waze second, manually installed netflix steps: 1. in android market, install free app called linda manager 2. attached your tablet to your pc using usb cable provided. this will give you access to your microsd in the tablet. 3. go to this link and save the file from media fire" Netflix-devicecheck-disabled.apk" http://www.talkandroidphones.com/netflix-apk-modified-version-for-unsupported-devices/ 4. save the file by right clicking your mouse and saving it to the microsdcard in your tablet (remember the path where you install it in the microsdcard) 5. under setting, then application, check the unknown sources box. 6. open linda manager and look for your netflix apk file. 7. install 8. your done!!!! it will ask you to update the file, just hit cancel.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kvjt2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
So slim and narrow
5/3/2011

Customer review by tabletLEGEND

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by tabletLEGEND
by tabletLEGEND

FileMate 7 inch tablet is much narrower than Samsung Galaxy Tab that I have been using since Jan. It is just a perfect size in my small palm and would let me hold this tablet in one hand. And it is light. It is about 4 inch width and weights only less than a pound. It has Dolby speakers working like a small desk top audio and video player. I love this.

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tabletLEGEND
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product, Great Value
6/18/2011

Customer review by CRBOCK

4.0 stars 6/18/2011 by CRBOCK
by CRBOCK

After searching for a month I purchased a Wintec Light. When we got the package the tablet was easy to start up and fin my wifi connection. The resistive touch screen works. But at this price point that is what you get if you want a GPS as well. My wife has not put it down in an hour and she is an ipod user, so the screen can not be too bad. Installed Skype and made a call with no issues. 3D racing games played well, not the best but with only 600 Mgz under the hood this really is not a gaming machine. We have not tried to install Flash yet, which will be the next challenge. Youtube videos look and sound great, should be great for movies on those long car rides. While researching this purchase I noticed how similar this was to the ZTE light (check reviews on youtube) The sticker on the battery covers the ZTE logo... Over all great product at a great value.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRBOCK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds Expectations
8/3/2011

Customer review by redcherry

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by redcherry
by redcherry

This is my first Android product. I was hesitant at first, but I did alot of research on their tablets and decided on the Wintec. I am beyond satisfied with this purchase. First, you can't beat the price. I was eyeing those IPADs for Xmas...was actually thinking about paying $$$ for one..Whew! I'm so glad I didn't. For less than 230.00, the wintec is a much better buy. The size of this tablet is just right. 7" is all you need. I can't imagine carrying around anything bigger. Purchased a carrying case also, fits in my pocketbook perfectly. I really wanted a front facing camera, so I could Tango of Skype with friends. This is probably my only disappointment. But since I have an Ipod Touch that does this, its no big deal. The camera is ok, pics are as clear as they are on my Ipod. I downloaded a few apps from Android Market so I could edit my photos. Snaptastic, Camera360 and Little Photo are all excellent. Speaking of Android Market...It's wonderful. I didn't think they would be able to compete with the number one competitor for apps, but surprisngly it does. Market has over 250,000 apps! Wow. Also downloaded Amazon Cloud for my music. A few other favorites are: Pocket, App 2 SD, On track (for glucose tracking), Text Free, Opera mini, Tunewiki and Words for Friends, Docs to Go, Springpad and Overlook. Also, the youtube videos are very clear and audible. Battery life is excellent. Charge up during the night and it lasts all day. Set up two new Gmail accounts. Easy as pie! Brought a 16 gb microscan disk card--This is a must, you will use your onboard memory after a few downloads. There's probably some stuff that I forgot, but as you can tell, I love my Wintec tablet! It really did exceed my expectations!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redcherry
north carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for price
6/13/2011

Customer review by loveWDW

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by loveWDW
by loveWDW

Does everything I needed it to do. Android marketplace provides any app you could want. My only complain is there is no manual- and there is no way to delete the pre-installed apps that I can figure out. It takes a while to figure out how to use because there is NO literatre that comes with it. Overall though I would say its a great value for the price

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loveWDW
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it ! - Sweet little 7" tablet
7/18/2011

Customer review by brs000

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by brs000
by brs000

Pros... Has a long life battery and battery is replaceable (company is working on accessories for this tablet). Very responsive screen. (using a light touch with it is best, touching it too hard may not give you the response you want) No problems connecting to my home Wifi or my mobile broadband hotspot (fivespot) Perfect tablet for beginners. Nice stereo sound with earbuds. Tons of apps for downloading from the Android Market (one app that is a must have is "App 2 SD" so you can move most of the apps to the SD card that will let you do so.) Download "QuickMark" (barcode reader) & 'My Media Catalog" from the Android Market and you can quickly catalog all your media and books by scanning the barcodes on them with the tablet camera and the 2 apps above. (QuickMark is a also a QR Code reader) Cons with solutions... Some folks might think it is defective right out of the box because it goes into screen timeout quickly (factory setting was set at 30 seconds on mine), but you can change the screen timeout under settings from 30 seconds and up to 10 minutes. (there are 5 settings). No full manual in the box, but you can download it from the WintecInd website at anytime and it is also stored on the micro SD card. (download it before you buy it or after you buy it) Mini Manual that comes with it says to install the micro SD memory card but the micro SD memory card is already install. The slot is on the side wall of where the battery goes. (don't look for the micro sd card inside the packaging because it is already installed in the slot) No instructions in the mini manual that comes with it on how to remove the back cover. (check the online manual for how to remove the back cover so you can install the battery.) Wish I could remove some of the apps that the factory put on it, there is no option that allows you to do this. But you can remove any app that you download to it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brs000
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid Performer
6/23/2011

Customer review by tjsh

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by tjsh
by tjsh

Good value. Does just what it advertises. Very responsive resistive touch screen - as good as capacitive without the multi-touch pizazz. WIFI connects quickly and browser is fast and smooth. Full Android Market makes finding and downloading apps and games a snap. And all I've used so far have worked perfectly. My first tablet didn't have the Market and that's a real shortcoming.Videos play smoothly, but I've had trouble with sound on a couple -probable file format issue I haven't figured out yet. Sound on music player is fine with earphones. Even the external speakers are reasonably good. Ereader works fine. I use the Kindle version. Camera and camcorder just adequate. I'm assuming Wintec will follow up with it's promised update to Android 2.3 which ought to make this tablet even sweeter.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjsh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/4/2011

Customer review by wileydlb

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by wileydlb
by wileydlb

This is the first time i've had an android product so there was a learning curve to deal with. Android apps have quite a bit of catching up to do, but their coming alone. The most irritating app issue is their lack of a good flash player or if their is one I have not found one. Now as far as the hardware is concerned I could not be happier. For the money you can't beat it. I like the way the back snaps off for battery replacement if need be and the micro sd chip is also available there. Battery life is just ok. Service support is excellent. I'm hoping that when the gingerbread os comes out for this unit, supposedly this fall (2011), that it will improve upon 2.2. This unit is supposed to be gingerbread ready.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wileydlb
Denver, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/26/2011

Customer review by skyangel97

4.0 stars 6/26/2011 by skyangel97
by skyangel97

I brought the tablet as a Fathers Day gift. I let it charged for two days which is more than enough time before utilizing the tablet. The tablet worked when it was plugged up but as soon as I unplugged the tablet, the screen went black. If I turned it on while being unplugged, the tablet would not come on. Other than that, the tablet was nice, user friendly, and my Dad could download the bible app which was the main reason why my Dad wanted the tablet. The only reason why we returned the tablet is because of the battery. The battery was defective. I would still recommend the tablet. I believe that my situation was an isolated issue.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skyangel97
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Solid Tablet for the Price
7/21/2011

Customer review by Ironmike1981

4.0 stars 7/21/2011 by Ironmike1981
by Ironmike1981

I have had the Wintec Light Tab for 2 weeks. Strengths - Excellent Reader using Kindle PC - Surprisingly good speaker for listening to Pandora/Videos - Good web browsing (through hotspot or WiFi) (Make sure to close web pages, or you will open multiple and it will slow down your browsing) - Android Market is amazing for finding new apps. - Can upgrade storage to 32G - Wintec Customer Service is really good, they are knowledgable and friendly (use live help from PC if you can) Weaknesses - No Free 3g/4g - NO ADOBE FLASH PLAYER (this will hopefully be fixed with the 2.3 Gingerbread update) - Can run a bit slow sometimes but adding Advanced Taskiller can fix that quickly for you. Overall this is a great product, I would highly recommend it. If it adds flash player with a OS upgrade it will be a complete package.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ironmike1981
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful tablet
7/11/2011

Customer review by TXAK2010

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by TXAK2010
by TXAK2010

I am not going to repeat the previous product ratings because they are correct. This tablet is wonderful. Android is wonderful for the functionality and for the bucking of Apple tablet. This is my second Android device and I am still overly impressed with the system. I highly recommend this tablet. The price is right for its usefulness.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TXAK2010
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
6/22/2011

Customer review by sailor50

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by sailor50
by sailor50

This little tablet is great and so very portable. It was up and running when I turned it on, altho it took a few seconds. My only problem was getting an adapter so that I could access the files on the mini-SD card. That card is located below the battery, tucked away on the side. Files on it include the user's guide. Now that the adapter helped me to download the user's guide, I see that I have a fair amount of reading to do now - on my desktop.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sailor50
outside of Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Tablet If You Don't Want To Spend Alot!!
8/3/2011

Customer review by HMO25

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by HMO25
by HMO25

I bought this because it had the best reviews out of the ones under $200. I love it and can't live without it, I no longer need my computer because it does everything a computer does. I thought it would be hard to get used to the touchscreen but it took me couple days. It was easy to download games and Apps from the Android Market. It's prob the best little electronic I have bought!! :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HMO25
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/6/2011

Customer review by Geekasaurus

4.0 stars 8/6/2011 by Geekasaurus
by Geekasaurus

I wanted an inexpensive tablet that had GPS and this seemed to fit the bill. The cons of this device to me is the terribly small storage memory and somewhat slow processor. Also the back of the device is quite flimsy and slippery to hold. The screen is so-so. It isn't terrible but it isn't as awe-inspiring as an Apple device. I have been using mobile devices since 2000 when the iPaq came out. My devices and phones since that time have always been Windows Mobile so this is my first time in non-Windows land. I am used to being very careful with memory usage since the PDAs always had very little to spare outside of a storage card. It seems that Android has not handled this very well. With Windows Mobile it is always an option to install things on the storage card at the time of installation with few exceptions. The processor speed deficiency will be the most noticeable on games. That being said, I am happy with the rest of it. I got a Coby Android 2.3 tablet for my wife and after trying to use that one, I am even happier with this one! The initial setup with Android Market and the device was very easy. The touch keyboard is great The navigation and mapping software is great. The screen responsiveness is very good and things run at an acceptable speed. It has bluetooth and GPS and a backside camera. It does not have HDMI or a full USB port. I think the base software was very good and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geekasaurus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews