Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20022 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20022 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20022 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10583
4 stars
6711
3 stars
1267
2 stars
652
1 stars
809
1-20 of 19974 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 19974 total reviews
1-20 of 19974 reviews
Much better
11/29/2011

Customer review by OregonCamper

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by OregonCamper
by OregonCamper

I bought one of the RCA streaming media devices at the Black Friday sale. I connected it to my TV with an HDMI cable and to my wireless network. It should say oozing video, not streaming. It took several minutes to download the software update. Then, when that was done, I thought that I would try to watch a program. It took several minutes to download an episode of "How it's made" and part way through, it went blank and said "rebuffering", which took several more minutes. I returned it and purchased the Roku 2 XD. I attached it to my TV with the same HDMI cable and to my wireless network. The Roku software update took less than a minute. Then I tried an episode of "How it's made" again. I was watching it in seconds. This what I expected from a streaming media device. It was definitely worth the extra money. The remote uses standard AAA batteries instead of the expensive button battery that the RCA uses. Spend the extra money for the Roku....you'll be happier with the results.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OregonCamper
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Say Goodbye to Cable!
7/5/2012

Customer review by SRLS

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by SRLS
by SRLS

I read the reviews on the Roku product and decided to give it a try despite a few of the negative comments in other reviews. I am extremely glad I purchased this little wonder! It was extremely easy to set-up and program and I have since disconnected my cable. I was so pleased with this that I purchased another Roku on the next in-store shopping trip I took to Walmart. The Roku was on sale at the time and having been so pleased with the previous one, I grabbed it up. It wasn't until I got home that I realized I'd purchased the basic Roku as opposed to the XD I purchased previously. There is a SIGNIFICANT difference between the two. Although the basic Roku was just as easy to set-up, there is a constant freezing up and slowness with the basic one. I have experienced none of that with the XD. Although the XD is slightly higher in price, it more than makes up for it in quality compared to the basic Roku. If you're thinking about going with a Roku, I would highly recommend it (just go with the XD)!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SRLS
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, does just what it says!
11/5/2011

Customer review by gatorgirl182

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by gatorgirl182
by gatorgirl182

I bought this product in hopes of being able to view more television choices. We decided over a year ago to "do away" with any cable/satellite services, and have just been Netflix streaming watchers. I sometimes watch Hulu, but usually only on the computer. I researched this product, then decided to buy it. It was very easy to hook up (i used my wifi, but there is an ethernet outlet) and within a few minutes was able to watch and download channels. I use Netflix, Hulu Plus ($7.99/month membership, but still cheaper than the other choices) Crackle and lots of other channels as well. I'm able to keep up to date on most television shows by doing this. There is also a few channels for cooking, children, news (like Fox News, CNN, Nasa, etc.). My only regret... I should have bought this thing sooner! (I will note that sometimes it does freeze up, and there is no "on/off" switch, but everytime it has happened, it has restarted itself!)

Was this review helpful? (486) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gatorgirl182
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware - Does not work with D-link Wi-Fi Routers
1/19/2012

Customer review by Techie43026

1.0 stars 1/19/2012 by Techie43026
by Techie43026

Don't let the good looks fool you. This device will not work if you have a D-link router of any type. They don't say it anywhere. It took me a whole weekend of fiddling with this thing and playing phone tag with their tech support for them to finally tell me that this is a known issue to them. They were supposed to send me a replacement that will work with D-Link and collected my contact information but nobody ever called back. Horrible customer service. I ended up returning it to Wal-Mart for a full refund. I went back to Google and saw that they have many websites dedicated to complaints against Roku. Apparently, they are known for poor customer service. I should have checked before I bought. I ended up buying a NeoTV device instead and I am very satisfied with it. No issues at all with my router. I was up and running in a few minutes. Also, the NeoTV has an ethernet connector as opposed to Roku which only has wireless. The signal is much stronger through the ethernet cord and I am able to view Netflix movies in full HD which is hard to do through wireless.

Was this review helpful? (61) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techie43026
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
ROKU XD, Great Value!!!
4/20/2012

Customer review by JParri

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by JParri
by JParri

This is the second ROKU I have purchased for our home. It is a great value for everything you get! This one is a lot smaller than the old version, which saves on room when placing it on the TV stand. We have excellent internet here at home, which you must have if the ROKU will work properly. Many of my friends have bought them after we got our first one. Some of my friends have had to return theirs because they had dial up service or their internet wasn't strong enough. We have DSL internet service here and I had already bought a wireless router (must have, it works on wireless). It's a "plug and play" set-up with very little skills required. If you want to use Hulu Plus and Netflix on the ROKU, you must sign up for them. We already had a netflix and hulu plus account, so it was very easy to set up. There are easy to follow directions that pop up on the screen that tell you exactly what to do. There are tons of free internet channels that you can add, via the Channel Store that is in your ROKU menu. We have expanded our TV channel options so much that we are considering cutting our cable out altogether.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JParri
Cherokee, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Roku is the way to go for internet TV
1/30/2013

Customer review by PatriciaMcD

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by PatriciaMcD
by PatriciaMcD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The ease of setup makes the Roku box perfect for beginners. The reliability and quality have been perfect. The one thing that sets Roku boxes apart from other manufacturers is the constantly expanding list of channels available. Other boxes are designed so you only get the channels that are available when you first purchase the box. When I first jumped in to Internet TV on the TV, I thought I would save a few dollars and buy another brand. Within a few months I regretted not spending the money on the Roku. The only complaint that I have - and I did see this on other reviews before I purchased the Roku 2 XD - is there could be better organization for the channels that you choose to have for your favorites...or maybe a way to search for them or assign numbers in order to get directly to them. This is such a minor complaint however that I haven't adjusted my rating for the box because of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatriciaMcD
Austell, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT !!! (ROKU 2)
12/1/2011

Customer review by LReeseB

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by LReeseB
by LReeseB

The setup took about 5 minutes using our home wireless network. Starts playing the video within a few seconds after buffering. Exellent picture quality. We're considering dropping cable as it keeps getting more and more expensive. It's recommended your internet connection be at least 10mb for High Definition. We got Netflix after getting the Roku and have really enjoyed it. "WE" choose what and when to watch. There are free movies and TV episodes via Crackle and other channels. Weather channels and News channels. Get an antenna for local channels and you should be good to go. I am getting a second one for my son so he can watch multiple episodes of his favorite shows and we don't have to buy DVD's or rent them. They're all on Netflix. WE LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LReeseB
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice, but, needs some improvements
1/2/2012

Customer review by mrConsumer

3.0 stars 1/2/2012 by mrConsumer
by mrConsumer

I think Roku has done a good job with this streaming video player. For a little black box, it offers a lot of features. It was easy to set up and it works well over WiFi connection. My biggest complaint is with the User Interface and has to do with channel navigation and selection. In a Channel Store there is no way to search channels. Basically, you have to scroll from channel to channel until you see a channel that you wish to add to your Roku player. Also, once you add a channel to your Roku player, there is no way to group them by a category or sort them in some kind of order and you have to scroll through your channels one at the time to get to the channel you want. This can get kind of tedious and time consuming if you have several dozen channels on your Roku box. The other thing that I don’t like about Roku is for whatever reason, they don’t have YouTube. If you got to have YouTube on your streaming video player then you may want to consider looking at AppleTV. Now, a few words about Roku channel selection. Roku offers a combination of Free and Subscription based channels. You got subscription channels such as: Netflix, Amazon Prime, HBO GO and huluplus and you also have a number of free channels, such as: Cracle, WSJ and more. There are a lot of movie channels, however, Roku also provides other types of channels such as: news, business and sports. The bottom line is; Roku is a good and affordable video streaming player that will allow you to connect your TV to internet, but, the User Interface needs improvements to make navigating through channels and searching channels easier and faster.

Was this review helpful? (155) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatest thing since sliced bread!
11/19/2011

Customer review by Tessesme

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Tessesme
by Tessesme

I love my Roku because it takes the place of expensive cable TV. I can watch a lot of shows that I get from my streaming Netflix account for less than $10 a month and NO expensive cable bill. I decide what to watch, when to watch it, not a cable company. Now that things are so expensive and incomes are not as great as we need, Roku is a wonderful way to still enjoy TV without breaking the bank. You have your choice of old shows (Father Knows Best) and newer shows (Kyle XY) and movies from silent films to the latest ones available. It's a great value.

Was this review helpful? (220) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tessesme
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Unlimited TV, No Need for Cable or Satellite
1/2/2012

Customer review by Gemsroadwarrior

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Gemsroadwarrior
by Gemsroadwarrior
Top 1000 contributor

The ROKU has more than exceeded my expectations. With more than enough program options and a few subscriptions to things like Netflix, Hulu +, Amazon Prime and GBTV, I can get more TV to watch than I will ever have time to take advantage of. Add PlayOn.TV to this unit and you can more than triple that. We haven't turned on the digtial tv tuner or cable box since we got the ROKU four weeks ago. I also have not found the need for the extra memory for more channels, so the ROKU LT might be an even better option. (Note: the ROKU LT is around $50 online, but most of the stores that I have gone to are selling it for $60). There is no charge for the ROKU other than your internet connection. The costs for my premium channels (Netflix, HULU, GBTV) are only $21 a month.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gemsroadwarrior
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Why didn't I get this sooner?!!
7/11/2012

Customer review by Juice

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Juice
by Juice

I purchased this product because I have an Amazon Prime account and I didn't want to just watch it on my computer. I wanted to stream HD on my 46" LCD. Lo and behold I came across this device. I chose the Roku XD because I wanted to be able to upload videos or pix via a micro SD in the back of the device. I've yet to use that, but there are so many other things that I love about this device. First of all, it's small and easy to set up. You plug it in and run an HDMI cable right to the back of your tv. Select your source, and set up your account and that's it!! You'll be setting up your own account and choosing the channels you will frequent. In addition to Amazon Prime which plays in HD always, I like the UFC channel and MOG! Wow talk about a great alternative to Pandora and Spotify. It's great. I also love the fact that there are constant updates to the device in regards to channels. One time fee, free content, and paid content when you really want or need it, what more can you ask for?

Juice
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple, simple, simple
4/11/2012

Customer review by Dranny

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Dranny
by Dranny

After five months of fighting with my lousy Samsung home theater to enable Netflix streaming, I finally gave up and bought the Roku XD. Brought it home, followed the prompts, and was streaming in about 6 minutes, no lie. It didn't ask 50 questions, it didn't require that I rename my network or enter my IP address or gateway, it didn't make me do more than establish a Roku account and sign in to Netflix and Amazon on my laptop. It takes less than a minute for the picture to become full HD (don't know why this seems to be a big deal for some people) and it reads my network effortlessly, even with my router two rooms away and two years old. And the best part is that I can take it with me and use it at my mother's (she doesn't even have a DVD player) or anywhere else that has wifi and a TV with a USB port. It's about the size of a box of kitchen matches, smaller actually, and the remote is super easy and intuitive. Roku, why didn't I know about you sooner? So many movies, so little time!

Dranny
Southeastern MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ZRoku - TV Made Simple!
9/30/2012

Customer review by Stuggernaut

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Stuggernaut
by Stuggernaut

I used to pay over $180 a month for TV, Internet, and miscellaneous streaming media services (Netflix, Hulu). Frankly I got tired of paying that much money. I first tried an Apple TV, both stock and jail-broken, and at first I loved it. I had streaming personal media (Jailbroken vesion), Netflix, Hulu, and it was free. Only problem was it was hard to get working right with my network. Then I got a Roku for a 2nd TV and the difference was night and day. Roku worked instantly, doing everything the ATV did, right out of the box. No network problems, no jail-breaking, it just worked. Then I discovered all the content available for free on Roku and was even more impressed. Now I pay $15 a month for Netflix/Hulu-Plus and I get all of my TV/Movie options streamed. I bought a 2nd Roku just last week and then this week Vudu was added. I have a very large Ultraviolet movie collection that is now fully functional on my Roku in glorious 1080p HD. Thank you Roku!!! Can't wait to see what's next.

Stuggernaut
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
"2nd one that we own, we love Roku."
1/31/2012

Customer review by Harsh family circus

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Harsh family circus
by Harsh family circus

We bought our first one last year, the cheaper model and fell in love with it. I got a BlueRay player for Christmas this year and passed the old Roku onto my daughter for her bedroom. The BlueRay player didn't work nearly as well for streaming movies and Hulu, streamed slower, didn't hold place on HULU so I had to fast forward each time I paused and the icons of Netflicks and Hulu were to small to read titles. I returned the Blueray and got another Roku which I love. I had chosen the best rated Blueray player compared by CNET and though it was a good player; for streaming TV and Netflicks Movies you can not beat the Roku. (I WAS NOT OFFERED MONEY OR A GIFT FOR THIS COMMENT) I just love your product. Keep up the good work. Only thing I do not like is that I wanted to buy the same model that I got last year but it is only sold online now. I would buy another Roku. I don't know how long they last since I have only owned the one for a year, hopefully it will keep working for a long, long time.

Harsh family circus
Mount Solon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does exactly what it says it does
12/22/2011

Customer review by Memphis lady

4.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Memphis lady
by Memphis lady

I tried several blue-ray players with wi-fi internet and none of them did all that they said they would do. This box got it right. It does what it says it will do, it works and it works right. I'm disappointed I can't stream Netflix (due to my account setting not Roku) because I have a limit on streaming hence Netflix only allows me to stream to my computer.My granddaughter loves crackle. Me, I found it very tiresome that the same exact commercial ran every 12-14 minutes and once my movie just stopped and I had to reset up to finish watching.My only complaint with Roku is that they expect your credit card when you setup your device. Since I bought mine from [@]where they said on air that it was not required, I knew there was a way around that. But I had to get tech support to help get things setup without the credit card.Nothing personal with Roku but many companies do not protect your personal information very well, so I am very careful about what online entity I allow my personal info on.

Memphis lady
Memphis TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Investment!
1/15/2012

Customer review by Cinnamon

4.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Cinnamon
by Cinnamon

Roku is a great buy even for the casual user. Instantly watch hundreds of videos and gain access to channels you never knew existed. I bought the basic one and am definitely satisfied with this purchase. I haven't experienced any issues and I'm quite blown away by how easy it was to set up and use. One improvement would be being able to gain access to online tv network's streaming (ex. abc.go.com). Roku does have an extensive list of channels however they're not the usual channels I use for entertainment. If I could eliminate the need to rotate between my tv and laptop for online videos that would be fantastic. Another possible change could be the way Netflix is set up. With the current Netflix layout I am unable to scan through Netflix's entire library. Roku limits me to the movies/shows Netflix has recommended and who knows what low percentage of recommended movies I've actually watched. These minor things don't, however, take away from the fact that Roku is indeed a wonderful investment.

Cinnamon
Newtown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its great but needs some more work....
9/20/2011

Customer review by Jazz-man

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Jazz-man
by Jazz-man

I use this as my main TV source. I love it because I paid a one time cost for it and no cable subscription service at all! I do have a hulu and netflix account so that adds up to $16 a month. Hulu and Netflix work great. There are a bunch of private channels you can add, some of which are good (ex: TED Talks). The main drawbacks are news channels and sports. There is nothing for live sports. Nothing. Period. For News, the audio newscasters are ok.. Meh.. a few private streaming news channels are there. But they vary in quality of streaming from day to day. The user interface really needs to be better. I love the simple remote but everytime I want to watch an episode of my fav TV show on Hulu I need to navigate 4-5 levels down which is painful and slow. Need to have some better mode for shortcuts. Another big drawback is the lack of browser support. For instance I cannot watch "Conan" on this because it streams free only on teamcoco.com. All in all, I am happy with it but still miss live TV.

Jazz-man
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
still learning
1/6/2012

Customer review by none

3.0 stars 1/6/2012 by none
by none

Overall I'm marginally satisfied with the player. Not the easiest to learn to use, it could use a more intuitive interface. Granted, I'm not a big TV watcher or gadget freak,watching local and national news mostly. The reason for purchase was a free spiritual channel, but I soon learned it doesn't archive it's programs. Which brings me to my chief complaint of no recording ability. There is another program I would like to watch on u-stream but I haven't taken the time to learn if there is an index to find that program. Lastly, I don't care for the rounded shape of the remote, it has a tendency to roll in my hand. I will hang on to the little box and learn more about how to use it, I believe internet communications will replace over air and cable/sat systems eventually. If I could stream live local and national news I would drop my satellite service. I will recommend this system to friends/family with explanation of limitations and need of subscriptions for current movie watchers.

none
Rural PDX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like it, but expected different...
1/8/2012

Customer review by The ORIGINAL She-Bandit

2.0 stars 1/8/2012 by The ORIGINAL She-Bandit
by The ORIGINAL She-Bandit

I guess I expected a bit more, such as being able to use it like an internal television tuner for your computer. I do love movies and I am spending minimal , at the time, to get some good movies and some good television. I dropped my satellite due to rising costs and only have the ROKU now and have had to add a digital antenna to pick up free, local channels.There are so many channels I have yet to get thru them all, unfortunatly most of the very good ones cost a monthly fee and once I find all I need I do hope it is cheaper than cable/satellite or this "NEW" product/technology has not met its expectations. It will take me a while to know if the money has been worth it and also need to figure out the extra things the ROKU is supposed to do. At this time I do lke it, but the 2 channels I watch I am paying for monthly. Of its type, I have discovered it is the best product compared to the few others on the Market.It does have fast, clear, and very good streaming and picture quality.

The ORIGINAL She-Bandit
Great Lakes Region, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/27/2011

Customer review by lilorphan1024

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by lilorphan1024
by lilorphan1024

This little gadget is great. I was up and running in 10 minutes and now I get my Netflix on my flat screen tv. Also other movie channels such as Crackle. No problem setting up and using. Very user friendly item. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (148) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilorphan1024
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 19974 total reviews
1-20 of 19974 reviews