Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2830
4 stars
2316
3 stars
415
2 stars
138
1 stars
141
1-20 of 5840 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 5840 total reviews
1-20 of 5840 reviews
Helps to get rid of cable and satalite
6/14/2011

Customer review by lttlejohnny

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by lttlejohnny
by lttlejohnny

ROKU, most content is only 720p currently, but that could improve in the future. Its much better than hooking up my laptop to my tv to view Netflix. Netflix, HuluPlus and Amazon are the pay per month services, but if you google roku private channels you can find many free feeds. You have to provide credit card information on first setup or you can't get past the setup screen, nothing will be billed its only to purchase things like netflix if not already signed up.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lttlejohnny
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product
6/18/2011

Customer review by BillinMS

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by BillinMS
by BillinMS

I use Roku to watch Netflix a lot! There is a variety of programing available, many free. Yes, a credit or debit card or paypal is required. I understand from other owners you can get this waived through costumer service. I don't know what the big deal is. Most online services require a method of payment. I pay Netflix directly by debit card. I haven't bought anything from Roku or have any service billed through Roku. You will not be billed anything from Roku unless you buy something through them The box is easy to setup and delivers outstanding video quality. I was up and running in 15 minutes. I am saving $30 on my cable service and my cut more. Programing on Roku is about all I watch, and I am only spending $10 for Netflix. That is streaming to my Roku and computer plus unlimited dvd delivery to my home. I LOVE ROKU!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillinMS
Columbus, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Future of Entertainment
6/14/2011

Customer review by SWCarle

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by SWCarle
by SWCarle

I have owned a Roku since 2009. I would highly recommend. It has saved me money on entertainment and the amount of content that is on the box now is ever increasing and making it a better value.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWCarle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Might work for others but didn't work for us....
6/28/2011

Customer review by Orion

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Orion
by Orion

I bought the Roku based on customer and industry reviews and bought it specifically for Netflix program viewing on our flatscreen TV. However this product did not work for us. It was located in our family room about 20 feet (non obstructed) from our wireless router. We also have a Wii game console that is attached to a seperate TV in the same room. The Wii works great with Netflix but the Roku would only allow you to view the program for about 15 seconds before going into "hour-glass" mode to download more video. After about 5 minutes of watching the "spinner" and less than 1 minute of movie viewing we gave up and put the Roku back in the box. Additionally, the initial install took over an hour due to a necessary Roku software update. The problem was that it would time out at different % complete intervals, once at a heartbreaking 99% complete figure. After several aborted attempts we decided to hard wire the console directly to our router and the software update took only minutes to complete. I read several reviews that said the 99% issue is a recurring problem for some when using the wireless method of updating. Finally, I doubt there is an issue with my wireless system since we have had no problems with our Wii system and usage. We will probably move the Wii system to our larger TV to enable us to continue to use our Netflix account.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Orion
Western US
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So small, so powerful!
6/28/2011

Customer review by Auntie100

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Auntie100
by Auntie100

I absolutely love it - it was so easy to setup and use. The most difficult part of the installation - making sure to have your correct network security code available. If you do then the setup is a snap, just follow the onscreen instructions. It is very intuitive to use and has so many of it's own channels to choose from it is almost overwhelming, but I can't wait to try some of them. There is even an Android app that turns your phone into the remote control! Too cool!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Auntie100
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for steeming
6/28/2011

Customer review by Kadodog

4.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Kadodog
by Kadodog

I bought this to so I could streem video's on my TV instead of my computor. Very easy to set up. Takes a bit longer to set up then they tell you it while take. Maybe about 15 min. more time. Spent the first week moving it from the TV in living room to bedroom. that got old went and bought a Roku XD for my other TV. Quit the Cable company. Now am very happy with the way Ruko performs. Did find out I could have got by with just the Roku XD, as I don't use it to play games. Both wearth the money

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kadodog
Palmdale,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Roku Ever!!!
6/23/2011

Customer review by cjdriver

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by cjdriver
by cjdriver

I have had a Roku box sence they first came out,and I got to say this is the best one ever.. I don't have the fastest internet (dsl) out there but it streams better then my top of the line laptop, I'm very happy with it and the sound when you use the optical audio is outstanding..I still own the first Roku,It's in the Guest room.. And the best thing is they are still adding porgraming so you all ways have something to watch, I'm thinking of dumping my cable..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjdriver
Gerber,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
6/17/2011

Customer review by kmb54

4.0 stars 6/17/2011 by kmb54
by kmb54

It will take my family some getting used to, after getting rid of Dish Network, but I think it will be worth it in the long run. If you do much TV watching, it helps to have some additional viewing options available such as the ability to watch things off your Web browser on your computer...but otherwise, it's all good...I'm happy enough with it...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmb54
Ely, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Quite....
8/19/2011

Customer review by bulldogjon

3.0 stars 8/19/2011 by bulldogjon
by bulldogjon

Keep in mind that this review is nothing against the roku itself. It's mostly about the video channels and the way I thought I could use it. I bought this Roku box after cutting my cable tv off. While I didn't expect it to cover everything, I did expect there to be more free (useful) content. I did find some private channels that could be added, but most of them have limited content. There are a number of channels that require a monthly fee, but this negates the point of cutting the cable. Mechanically, the box works flawlessly. Hooking it up and setting it up with the wireless router were both completely painless. I just feel that if you're looking for free video content from the web, you are better off hooking up and old PC or laptop...which is what I intend to do once I return this Roku. Also, you can't hook up to the box from your computer to play any media that might be saved there. You either need to use a thumb drive or a USB external hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bulldogjon
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Better than Blurays
8/26/2011

Customer review by MeverGiveUp

5.0 stars 8/26/2011 by MeverGiveUp
by MeverGiveUp

For those concerned with savings and quality, this item exceeds the performance of the Bluray player it so easily replaced. Sony 3D Bluray + Sony WiFi adapter double the price of Roku and half the quality of Roku.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MeverGiveUp
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Credit Card ABSOLUTELY REQUIRED to use this prodct
6/14/2011

Customer review by GrangerX

1.0 stars 6/14/2011 by GrangerX
by GrangerX

This product box text does not list a Credit Card or Paypal account as a requirement, but this is required before ANY FUNCTIONALITY can be used on the device.

Was this review helpful? (11) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrangerX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great gagdet
6/22/2011

Customer review by JDNYC3

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by JDNYC3
by JDNYC3

Makes Netflix-ing and Pandora-ing so easy! I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDNYC3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great!
6/24/2011

Customer review by lumberjack227

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by lumberjack227
by lumberjack227

Does a great job and does everything i wanted it to do!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lumberjack227
Jacksonville,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the price. Streaming HD at its best
9/30/2011

Customer review by himey64

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by himey64
by himey64

This little gem is a huge upgrade to the Playstation I was using to stream video. It is compact but does everything I want it too. The only negative thing I can say about this is that the new version came out days after I purchased mine. Wish I would have waited.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
himey64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The best media player.
9/30/2011

Customer review by mwb585

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by mwb585
by mwb585

It is a great internet media player!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mwb585
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Roku vs. Comp, Netflix fade through VCR
1/11/2011

Customer review by Dirtydeedsdavis

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Dirtydeedsdavis
by Dirtydeedsdavis

I really like or Roku player. A friend of mine tried out the compitition and although it had a few advantages it was not worth 3 times the money. The two advantages the Other box had were 1) it had several cool options for animated screensavers while playing Pandora that were easy to use and looked like Windows media mixed with iPad for pandora. 2). When going from one video to the next or even different channels/apps the last channel would play softly faded in the background until you selected a new song or video. This made it more like cable which is the biggest thing I notice with the Roku is the silence while browsing shows/movies. Hopefully though these are just an update away. For me instead of pay three time as much for a box (unfortunately I can't say name or actual price in review) with few advantages, I would rather buy 3 Roku players, one for each tv in my house and control them all with my iPhone or iPad app which is awesome by the way!. One piece of technical info I would like to share is I tried to cheap out and just buy one player and hook it up to my old cable lines through my VCR and Netflix wouldn't work. Turns out VCR's had a copyrite sensor that is triggered by Netflix so the screen fades from dark to bright. You could get a RF modulator and get around this or just buy a Roku for each room so you can watch different programs at the same time.

Dirtydeedsdavis
Sergeant Bluff, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful product!!!!
1/11/2011

Customer review by Mary Lou

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Mary Lou
by Mary Lou

Has to be positioned just so to work

Mary Lou
Tremonton, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Why didn't I do this sooner !!!!!
12/27/2010

Customer review by ybmfgqm

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by ybmfgqm
by ybmfgqm

I can add an antenna for local stations and get rid of my satellite dish. Even with Netflix and HuluPlus subscriptions, I'll save over 50 dollars a month. I discovered Pandora radio and we both love it. The picture quality is much better than with the satellite dish or cable.

ybmfgqm
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more cable!
12/27/2010

Customer review by Happy roku user

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Happy roku user
by Happy roku user

We use this for netflix, pandora radio, and I LOVE that I can get the news!! No more cable for us!

Happy roku user
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a great product!!!
12/27/2010

Customer review by Tiger Lil

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Tiger Lil
by Tiger Lil

This is the future of home entertainment. How wonderful to watch a good movie without the constant barrage of ads!!! I loved it so much, I bought a second one for my bedroom. Hoping that you add more channels. You are off to a great start!!

Tiger Lil
Naples, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 5840 total reviews
1-20 of 5840 reviews