Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

5840 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2830
4 stars
2316
3 stars
415
2 stars
138
1 stars
141
1-20 of 5840 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 5840 total reviews
1-20 of 5840 reviews
A great product
6/18/2011

Customer review by BillinMS

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by BillinMS
by BillinMS

I use Roku to watch Netflix a lot! There is a variety of programing available, many free. Yes, a credit or debit card or paypal is required. I understand from other owners you can get this waived through costumer service. I don't know what the big deal is. Most online services require a method of payment. I pay Netflix directly by debit card. I haven't bought anything from Roku or have any service billed through Roku. You will not be billed anything from Roku unless you buy something through them The box is easy to setup and delivers outstanding video quality. I was up and running in 15 minutes. I am saving $30 on my cable service and my cut more. Programing on Roku is about all I watch, and I am only spending $10 for Netflix. That is streaming to my Roku and computer plus unlimited dvd delivery to my home. I LOVE ROKU!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillinMS
Columbus, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Quite....
8/19/2011

Customer review by bulldogjon

3.0 stars 8/19/2011 by bulldogjon
by bulldogjon
Walmart associate

Keep in mind that this review is nothing against the roku itself. It's mostly about the video channels and the way I thought I could use it. I bought this Roku box after cutting my cable tv off. While I didn't expect it to cover everything, I did expect there to be more free (useful) content. I did find some private channels that could be added, but most of them have limited content. There are a number of channels that require a monthly fee, but this negates the point of cutting the cable. Mechanically, the box works flawlessly. Hooking it up and setting it up with the wireless router were both completely painless. I just feel that if you're looking for free video content from the web, you are better off hooking up and old PC or laptop...which is what I intend to do once I return this Roku. Also, you can't hook up to the box from your computer to play any media that might be saved there. You either need to use a thumb drive or a USB external hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bulldogjon
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Content, content, content...
12/5/2010

Customer review by Wassamadau

4.0 stars 12/5/2010 by Wassamadau
by Wassamadau

I bought it to watch Netflix streaming on my old analog set. Neither Apple or Google TV have good old fashioned video/audio outs, so they didn't get my money. Roku has HDMI AND optical audio AND component AND old school connectors. I even bought a second one for a gift. I didn't really dig into the other content available on the box, but now that I have it, I use it constantly for Pandora and occasionally for a Netflix movie. I've tried to get into the rest of the content available on the box, but some of it is pretty lame. considering the wild and woolly available on the internet, I'd like to see Roku really stretch and find some offensive and radical content. They're going to need to do something to battle Apple TV's Airplay capability and Google TV's wide open internet access. Missing are Hulu (the free service - not Hulu plus which I don't care about...) and YouTube. Overall - I'd buy it again and again, but it will take a better content line up to get the fifth star out of me...

Wassamadau
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The future of IPTV
8/2/2010

Customer review by Roku-Guru

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Roku-Guru
by Roku-Guru

Overall, the Roku is a simple and easy to use box for streaming your favorite online content whether that be Netflix, Amazon On-demand or the ever growing number of online channels. Set up was a breeze and immediately after verify it had Internet access went right into an download/update automatically. The interface is intuitive and only takes a few minutes to get rolling with Netflix. I couldn't be happier with the product given I've only had it 4 days but will come back and give a more robust review after I get a bit more time in on it. Ultimately, I love to ditch my cable and use this exclusively for all my viewing via Netflix/etc but that may be a hard sell given most sports still reside on the upper channles or more specifically ESPN. In any event, it plays nicely for family entertainment and those looking to stream Netflix but don't yet have a blue-ray player,gaming station and/or TV to do the work for you. I can't wait to see how this product develops over the next few years.

Roku-Guru
Camp Hill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as promised and simple to use
7/19/2010

Customer review by Foodie1

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by Foodie1
by Foodie1

Product was extremely easy to set up and link with Netflix and [...] accounts. It's so convenient, we dumped our cable subscription.Displays great picture quality for movies/shows coded as HD.Sound system quality transfers great--we have a 5.1 stereo and it picks up the signal with no problem. Streams via our wireless fiberoptic Internet connection via AT&T, and saves our spot when we pause or shut it off mid-show and come back the next day.Only quirk is that sometimes loading lags a good 10 seconds--but that is very rare and seems related to our Wi-Fi traffic, rather than the Roku box itself. Also, occasionally, we'll select a TV episode and it will play something else. But again, think that is due to a quirk rather than the box, and it happens very rarely. Only other nit I have is that the remote is pretty cheap-looking and gets beat up pretty quick and I can't figure out how to sync it with my more durable universal remote. Net-net, we love Roku and would recommend it to friend.

Foodie1
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plan on getting one for each TV!
3/13/2010

Customer review by Zentopia

5.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Zentopia
by Zentopia

I have been a Netflix user for about 5 years now. I didn't think they could improve on their system, then they started streaming the movies to your computer. Then they came out with the ability to stream to your TV. I had played with it via XBox 360 and was very impressed. I just bought the XR-HD and I must say once again they got it right. Sure some people will complain about the load time but if you have a fast internet connection it isn't a problem. Others will complain about the image quality, but with a good TV, that doesn't seem to be a problem either. I have yet to not find something I want to watch, and that is coming from a person who has rated over 2900 films on Netflix. They seem to add more movies in the standard format and in HD weekly, so the selection is growing. I will be buying a Roku for each TV's in the house and highly recommend it to anyone that might be considering purchasing one. I do wish it had the ability to stream YouTube, but Pandora is a nice addition.

Zentopia
Vancouver WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Small but mighty
12/15/2010

Customer review by Orovista

4.0 stars 12/15/2010 by Orovista
by Orovista

We really enjoy watching NetFlix movies using ROKU. Our ROKU is connected to a Sont Bravia TV using the HDMI setup which gives us a very good picture viewing using standard DVD formatted productions. The unit gives us access to a large variety of video choices which further adds to the entertainment value of this unit. I did experience some problems setting up my unit due to lack of detailed instructions, but ROKU custumer service patiently worked with me to get everything working. It does take a while to load NetFlix, search available movies and start the movie, but it is better than waiting for the mail and you don't need to plan ahead. We have had a couple false movie starts which took a few moments to correct itself without any program loss. Usually movies run without any problem. I hoping to be able to use the ROKU as a bridge to my computer for viewing photos on my TV but have not had the time to try this and ROKU does not provide any guides for it's operation or setup.

Orovista
Lake Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Seems too good to be true
12/27/2010

Customer review by blondee

4.0 stars 12/27/2010 by blondee
by blondee

It really is so cheap relative to monthly cable subscriptions - great that they are partnered with Netflx. Without the Netflx partnership, I'd barely have a use for it. I experience occasional internet outages where I live and that makes Roku temporarily unusable - that's a bummer. I wish it had a feature more like DVR where you can pick and upload shows to save for later viewing rather than only the instant-stream viewing. Also the FF and RWD options are somewhat difficult to control and take getting used to. I don't have an HD TV yet, so can't really comment on the picture quality - seems fine. Haven't had any problems with loading quality or timeliness, other than when my internet is down. Programs/movies streamed do not include the 'special features' that usually accompany DVD's, but that's not a huge loss. All-in-all and for the price, I recommend it. It's very easy and will get a lot of use in my house as long as they continue to add movies and programs to choose from.

blondee
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Helps to get rid of cable and satalite
6/14/2011

Customer review by lttlejohnny

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by lttlejohnny
by lttlejohnny

ROKU, most content is only 720p currently, but that could improve in the future. Its much better than hooking up my laptop to my tv to view Netflix. Netflix, HuluPlus and Amazon are the pay per month services, but if you google roku private channels you can find many free feeds. You have to provide credit card information on first setup or you can't get past the setup screen, nothing will be billed its only to purchase things like netflix if not already signed up.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lttlejohnny
oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for our needs
12/11/2010

Customer review by rwb2

4.0 stars 12/11/2010 by rwb2
by rwb2

Expanded cable and satellite services cost too much and offer too little. This is a very cost-effective alternative. and exceed my expectations. I looked at Apple TV but we still have an analog set and didn't find much content there beyond Netflix. This device has a versatile array of input and output connections which work with our older system now and look like they'll be forward compatible for some time. We're enjoying Netflix streaming more than we thought we would. The picture is good on analog and we're anxious to try it out on an HD set. We hope that Netflix will stream 5.1 surround soon. They have plenty of movies and TV series to catch up on. We love being able to watch them any time without dealing with a DVR or pay-per-view. There's enough content there to keep us happy for a long time. Still discovering the other channels. Quality varies but we find the occasional gem. Anxious to see how the USB integration will work. Have recommended Roku to family and friends.

rwb2
Twin Cities MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely flawless
1/18/2010

Customer review by FlaMovieBuff

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by FlaMovieBuff
by FlaMovieBuff

Our friends Bob and Barbara told us about their Roku, and when we saw it in action, the choice was simple! We purchased the Roku HD-XR Player to ensure the best performance (quality and speed) of the data for just a few extra dollars. [...] Setup was a breeze, and it was functional in ten minutes (and I am not a techie). The hardest part was cleaning the dust bunnies behind the Big Screen :)We have DSL with a wireless router, and the reception quality is DVD. The HD quality is great on the programs that are HD! (Who can really tell the difference between 720 and 1080 anyway?)Why spend hundreds of dollars buying DVDs to jsut collect dust, or pay for premium channels when you can have the Roku? With the Roku's ability to go to our Netflix account, Amazon, and many other sources, the flexibility is tremendous! I estimate that the unit will pay for itself in less than six months!We owe Bob and Barbara a big bowl of popcorn – while we watch as Roy Rogers rides again on our Roku!

FlaMovieBuff
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Get one now!!!
11/6/2010

Customer review by keyz88

4.0 stars 11/6/2010 by keyz88
by keyz88

Was paying $$$+ for broadband and cable TV before. Purchased ROKU & also Bought cheap rabbit ears for my TV (got 24 TV channels over the air). Now only paying < $ (1/3) for my cable (only the broadband) internet. Thank you ROKU!!! Nothing to complain about!!! For the price, you get soooo much. Netflix users, Educational watchers, YouTube addicts and Pandora radio junkies sign up now! PLEASE NOTE: the reason what ROKU does NOT have an off/on button is because it takes about 1 or 2 minutes to sync up when powered on (kinda like your network router). All you have to do is plug ROKU into a "switched outlet" on another device (stereo receiver) and it will turn the ROKU off also. I personaly don't mind the hangtime. You can always leave it on for instant access & only pulls <6 watts anyway / and it doesn't run warm or hot to the touch like some other devices. I utilized the USB drive... NICE. There are going to be functionality down the road, including new private channels and channels via the ROKU menu.

keyz88
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm telling everyone to get one!
1/20/2010

Customer review by GlennOS

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by GlennOS
by GlennOS

Before i bought myself a Roku, i had bought one for my parents. They love netflix but there was no way they were going to be able to use a computer interface to their TV watch netflix on demand, so i thought a Roku might be the ticket. It was even better than i could have hoped and they became hooked on it and i became a Roku believer. I bought one for myself and now have access to my laptop for other things while i watch TV. I have an 802.11n dual band router with WEP security and the setup could not have been easier or more intuitive! The video quality is amazing, the connection has been flawless, and the content of available movies just gets bigger and better everyday. I work at a fire station in a major city and talked the house into getting one and i'm a hero at work. And now major league baseball! 2100 major league games in HD quality (or very near) may be nirvana. The only downside is there is so much on demand available for kids my daughter wants one AND i've got to get one for my room too!

GlennOS
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!
1/22/2010

Customer review by Gadget Gal

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by Gadget Gal
by Gadget Gal

The Roku is everything it was advertised to be. I bought this unit so we can watch Netflix movies. In less than 15 minutes, I had the unit out of the box, hooked up, and playing a movie!! Now, I am comfortable with devices of all kinds, but the 15 yr old in the house, who is not so computer savvy, was also able to intuitively use the unit, and in less than 5 minutes had figured out how to play a movie and had scoped out the downloads on all the other channels. Adding movies to the Netflix queue takes only a couple of clicks on the computer, and they are ready to be played by the time you refresh the Roku player! I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone who wants to watch Netflix movies on a TV rather than on a PC. The best thing about the internal router, is that it makes it possible to watch a movie download and chat online, or do other internet activity, and it doesn't interfere with the quality of the movie. I've watched several films now, and so far, so great!!

Gadget Gal
Eastern WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommended product!
5/31/2010

Customer review by Chris the ...

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by Chris the ...
by Chris the ...

I bought the top-line Roku box because I wanted to take advantage of Wireless-N and HD. I was not disappointed. Initially I had a few setup issues but they were the fault of my wireless setup, not Roku. Once I changed that, everything worked fine. My wireless transmitter is upstairs and the Roku is downstairs, but so far I've had no problems with signal strength. Picture quality is excellent. I use the Roku mainly to watch Netflix instant play features, and sometimes I listen to Pandora. The other items available I'm not too interested in (I'm a senior citizen), but I'm sure more stuff will be added in the future. The remote control couldn't be easier to use. It has a center circle with 4 compass-point buttons and a round center button. Above the circle control is a "home" button. That's about it. Five minutes and you know how to use it. I connect to my plasma TV with an HDMI cable. You can also connect with other standard cables. If your TV has HDMI you should use that.

Chris the ...
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great wi-fi reception, smooth streaming
12/30/2009

Customer review by Professional Couch Spudette

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by Professional Couch Spudette
by Professional Couch Spudette

Pulled the cable plug and now rely on Netflix to see movies, cable series, etc. Wanted to be able to see Instant Play items on something other than my laptop, didn't want to plug laptop into TV all the time. Love the "buy it once and then you're done" aspect of the Roku. Quick set up, excellent wi-fi reception (my home network router is wireless 'n'; router's upstairs, Roku's downstairs). I placed the (small) box on top of my entertainment center - assuming better reception than tucking it next to the TV or on a shelf. Recommend you get the premium cables if you have a recent model (flatscreen) TV - HMDI provides crystal clear reception, no skipping or hesitation (though part of that might be due to my high speed DSL internet). Easy to use remote. Would be nice if the Instant Play listing could be viewed by title, and not just when you placed it in que (perhaps this is a Netflix glitch). Would like to see more Instant Play items available from Netflix. I recommend the Roku to my friends and coworkers.

Professional Couch Spudette
Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Underwhelmed
1/11/2011

Customer review by 3-Dog Mom

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by 3-Dog Mom
by 3-Dog Mom

I bought this for my 70-something parents, mainly so they could easily browse Facebook photos of their children and grandchildren. It was very complicated and time-consuming to set up. I had to return to their house on three different occasions to try to make the Facebook connection, as I kept getting an error message. When I finally got the set-up to go through, I was disappointed by the browsing interface through Roku. I also was disappointed by the poor image quality. The photos look grainy, even using an HDMI cable on a high-def Sony TV. I guess this is because of the small file size of Facebook photos. The other big disappointment is the limited selection of free channels. Anything we're interested in viewing costs money. I don't subscribe to Netflix any more because I felt the selection of movies available for streaming was too limited. People who don't mind paying monthly fees for Netflix and Hulu Plus may be happy with this. But it didn't satisfy my interests.

3-Dog Mom
Scotia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
having a Roku beats cable!
4/7/2011

Customer review by Jonathan

4.0 stars 4/7/2011 by Jonathan
by Jonathan

I bought a Roku a couple of months ago, after getting a netflix account. It has completely changed the way we watch t.v. We got rid of cable completely. The Roku channel store has options for viewing nationaly sindicated news channels (NBC, CBS, etc.) free, so don't feel like I'm missing out on much. Most local channels are available for steaming on line, though I wish they would set up a Roku streamable webcast. There are plenty of free channels available with movies, t.v. shows, music videos, and games. I also keep an account with netflix and Hulu Plus for all the current shows available on cable t.v. I honestly don't feel like we are missing anything, and we save plenty of money without a cable bill. Roku alone is a one time fee, and I have open accounts with both netflix and Hulu for less than half of what we were paying for cable. I am more than satisified. I recommend it to all of my friends and family. My family tells me I sound like a walking Roku commercial.

Jonathan
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never Going Back to Cable....
11/26/2010

Customer review by Kendra

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Kendra
by Kendra

Our whole family absolutely LOVES our Roku player. It is so easy to use, convenient, reliable (we have had it almost a year, and I can count on only one hand, where it froze & all we had to do was restart it). There is so much content on it, your viewing choices are practically endless... also, NO COMMERCIALS!! Our favorite channel is Netflix... the list does go on & on though. We will NEVER go back to cable. Nothing like getting charged over $100 a mth to watch commercials. NO MORE! The only thing we pay for (after buying the Roku) is Netflix which is only $10 a mth. My husband & I constantly comment to all our friends & family how the Roku is the best investment we have made in a while, and it has paid for itself long ago. I find a lot of our friends/family seem to be somewhat "addicted" to cable though... they don't realize what they are missing, they must like throwing their $ down the drain. Buy a Roku, you simply can't go wrong, and won't be disappointed!

Kendra
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE MY ROKU!!!
4/3/2011

Customer review by playstaioncheeze

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by playstaioncheeze
by playstaioncheeze

I purchased my Roku to supplement my Xbox as my primary Netflix instant player. So far, I have to say I LOVE MY ROKU! I have a wireless network setup in my home and can move the Roku anywhere in the house and it connects flawlessly to my wireless internet. Much easier to move around my Roku than moving a wired Xbox to another TV in the house. The only downfall the Roku has had was when it has been unable to connect to Netflix. The problem ended up being with Netflix and not Roku. Roku tech support page did give an adequate description of the problem and so we waited for Netflix to fix the problem. After Netflix fixed the problem, Roku worked properly so that we could continue to watch all of our shows without any more issues. All in all, between the ability to move my Roku player anywhere in the house and not ever having to pay a monthly fee for using my instant netflix viewing, Roku is by far the best choice for my family to have the ability to watch movies and TV anytime and anywhere we want!! Thanks Roku!!!

playstaioncheeze
Pocatello, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 5840 total reviews
1-20 of 5840 reviews