Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 33 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Amazing Little Machine
5/11/2011

Customer review by Broken3551

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by Broken3551
by Broken3551

Wow! This is an amazing little box (it is very small and doesn't take up much room) and does so much. And no monthly fees for the Roku!!!This is my second Roku because the first one worked out to be a phenomenal deal. Set up was a little tricky at first then everything was done in less than 10 minutes. You can watch thousands upon thousands of movies, documentaries, TV shows, cartoons, etc. when you want and it remembers where you left off if you don't finish watching an entire show. Anything in your Netflix instant queue is what you can watch on Roku and there are also numerous other channels like Hulu, Amazon, etc. The Roku saves me about $500 per year using Roku with my Netflix subsciption instead of standard cable. Best purchase ever!!!

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Broken3551
Schenectady, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No more cable bill!!
5/30/2011

Customer review by Sxymoho

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Sxymoho
by Sxymoho

I have an LG HD LCD with 1080P. (not wifi) I also have the GE Flat Panel Passive Antenna to pick up local channels. (installed first-great picture too, btw) I set my Roku XD to display at 1080P. I am using a wireless internet connection with a FIOS router and needed to have my wep key entered during setup. (security code too if you have one) Easy installation-it took about 10 minutes. However, during setup it is a good idea to have a laptop handy if your PC is in another room. You will have to register the ROKU device with an onscreen activation code onto their website, then do the same to link up your Netflix account. PROS: 1. The picture is BETTER than digital cable on this tv! Even in 1080P, I couldn't believe it! 2. I'm only paying for Netflix and Hulu Plus about $8 each/month instead of $160 for digital cable and the movie channels. 3. Older popular movies are available to watch instantly instead of being on PPV for $2. 4. This player streams Netflix, Hulu Plus AND Amazon. I almost bought a WIFI Blu-Ray for less $$ to stream online media but it was only compatible with Netflix. 5. Tiny box! CONS: 1. I have yet to see a news on demand channel like HLN, so I am back to watching the local news via the antenna. 2. A couple of the buttons on the remote feel like they would sink into the case and get stuck if pressed too hard. 3. The remote doesn't have numbers or alpha characters. When searching for movies, you use the arrows to help type the titles of movies you are searching for via the onscreen guide. 4. A little pricey for the technology. It's pretty much standard now. 5. Have to buy another less expensive model for another tv (analog+converter box) for use in another room.

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sxymoho
Deep South
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by ujackson1

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by ujackson1
by ujackson1

The Roku XD was easy to set up and did exactley what was promised and for me to be able to do it with an old tv/dvd of about 15 years old surprised even me. I am very happy with my results and the cost of the Roku.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ujackson1
Fountain, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product as long as you have high speed !!
5/31/2011

Customer review by profitscp

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by profitscp
by profitscp

This is a simple easy to use way to stream Netflix and Hulu Plus, also many other channels like Pandora and Christian Stations like TBN and Christian Radio. Must have a good solid High Speed internet connection of at least I would say 10 Mbps to get and maintain a good picture.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
profitscp
Dacula,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Not what I expected
7/28/2011

Customer review by anonmusicaholic

3.0 stars 7/28/2011 by anonmusicaholic
by anonmusicaholic

I read tons of reviews about these players and was confident that I had made a sound decision. Think again. No one told me this stuff that I had to find out on my own. First, you read the specs at the manufacturer's web site and you see all the channels available with this player and you see tons of "free" content channels and it looks awesome. Well, I didn't find out until I bought and used it that you can only have a certain number of these "channels" available to you at one time. You have to go to the "channel store" and download the channel. If you don't have enough memory, you have to delete other channels before you can get that one. It makes it very cumbersome. Not what I thought it would be AT ALL. A word about the "free" content. I was excited about that, but as it turns out, most of the content lasts about 5 minutes or less. It seems to be some weird stuff that is broken into little clips and wading through them all is a chore. The only "free" content channel that I have been impressed with is "Crackle", which is free but pauses your movie a few times to sneak in a commercial. No biggie. The movie selection is okay for free but I don't know how often they rotate the selection. You could watch it all and then have nothing else to watch. Netflix on this is a real annoyance. After every single thing I watch on Netflix, the player comes back and says there is no connection. It will randomly pop up that message when trying to get something to play, also. I have to go out to Crackle and start a movie, then go back into Netflix to get the player to understand that there is a connection. Compared to my Vizio internet enabled player, this thing is very annoying. Another thing. The HDMI cable I am using is apparently cheap and stops sending the picture signal or something so that when I switch over to view the input of Roku, the player is difficult to get going, sending a signal through the HDMI cable to wake up the television. That is probably just an issue with the TV/HDMI cable compatibility because it did something similar with another device on that same HDMI cable. Overall, I don't know that I would reommend this. Some of it is cool, but some of it is a pain. I think I would stick with the DVD internet enabled players. Buying this player just for the free content isn't really worth it. You could probably see the free content on the internet without using this player. Stuff like chow.com and break or whatever. I wouldn't go out of my way to switch to using this. It's really not as great as i thought it was going to be. Of course, I only pay for Netflix. If you are using other pay-for-content providers like the sports stuff or whatever, it would probably be worth it instead of getting cable tv or something. I would check out the manufacturer's web site about this product for channel info. Like I said, you can only access a few channels at a time because you have to download them and the memory for it is small. I think I have these channels available: Pandora, Netflix, Crackle, Chow, Break, BlipTv and omnivision. There is no room for other channels. I would have to delete one, download the new one. And if I wanted the deleted one back, I would have to delete one and retreive the previously deleted one. It's kinda stupid. But overall, it's not that bad.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anonmusicaholic
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good machine
6/19/2011

Customer review by RJ35126

4.0 stars 6/19/2011 by RJ35126
by RJ35126

While I had long ago "cut the cable cord" the roku has allowed me to get by on the 2 at a time plan as compared to the 4 at a time plan before. Thats $13 a month plus tax in savings at Netflix. I had to buy a router and the roku Paid $70 for the Roku XD a few months back at Amazon with a $10 off deal. The router was about $65 with tax from Sams. So, they will pay for themselves in 10 months as compared to the 4 at a time plan. Plus, I always have something to watch with no commercials. I only wish I would have bought the roku a year or two sooner. Amazon took about a week for it to get here so if they would have been in stores locally, I probably would have bought local.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJ35126
Trussville,AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Right out of the Box
7/7/2011

Customer review by OrangeRabbit

4.0 stars 7/7/2011 by OrangeRabbit
by OrangeRabbit

Set up was easy and internet registration no problem. I did not like the fact that I had to have a credit card just to set up and register the product. Somethin' wrong with that premise because that is not mentioned anywhere on the box or in the marketing for the product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OrangeRabbit
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Roku XD Streaming device
5/22/2011

Customer review by donclaireJ

5.0 stars 5/22/2011 by donclaireJ
by donclaireJ

Easy to set up. Many channels available in "Channel Store". The only device that works Wi-fi at a distance over 25 feet. Remote is good. I tried to buy a second unit but it had dissapeared from your web site.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donclaireJ
Sterling IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Think, Just Buy This Device!
6/19/2011

Customer review by FearAndLoathing

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by FearAndLoathing
by FearAndLoathing

The Roku Player is by far one of my favorite purchases in recent memory. Whether you want to stream Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Pandora, etc. you can all from your TV with ease. Setup is a breeze, as simple as hooking up a DVD player, and the device works flawlessly using WiFi or an Ethernet cord. Certainly one of the best products Walmart has ever chosen to carry in their stores! I no longer pay for cable or satellite TV service largely due to this device, you will not be disappointed in Roku.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FearAndLoathing
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
7/8/2011

Customer review by Gonnagocrzysoon

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Gonnagocrzysoon
by Gonnagocrzysoon

We are not a video game family so we didn't already have an XBox or a WII that allows Netflix streaming videos so this Roku was perfect for us. I love how easily I can move it from one TV to another and have instant movies whenever I like. I also use ot to access my Pandora account and can listen to streaming music whenevr I like. Setup was simple for a computer geek like me. I would not only recommend this to ANY one wanting instant access to streaming media but have purchased one for my parents to enjoy as well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gonnagocrzysoon
Inverness,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
6/22/2011

Customer review by 27320nc

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by 27320nc
by 27320nc

Recently eliminated cable, and purchased this to stream movies. It works great, and offers many options for sources to stream video. I HIGHLY recomend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
27320nc
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Player
6/30/2011

Customer review by millenniumdoug

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by millenniumdoug
by millenniumdoug

this player works great and with the internet applications it just rocks. Netflix works great and dvd's look better then ever.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
millenniumdoug
Anna texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good device for the price.
8/19/2011

Customer review by hoscman

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by hoscman
by hoscman

I didn't like having to submit a credit card to setup an account for a free service. Technical support is not in the USA so a little hard to understand. I believe you can remove the credit card information from the account after it is activated if I understood tech support correctly. The device works great with Netflix.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoscman
Huntsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible Product
8/5/2011

Customer review by TeacherSandra

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by TeacherSandra
by TeacherSandra

The product is easy to set up. The Roku worked for one day and the next day it would not start up. I wanted to use Roku to watch Hulu Plus programs that I was watching on my computer but many of the programs I could not watch through Roku. I guess it works better with Netflix. I returned the device to Walmart and got a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeacherSandra
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My house has forgotten about cable
7/20/2011

Customer review by JohnBoy77

5.0 stars 7/20/2011 by JohnBoy77
by JohnBoy77

I bought this two days ago and I can't be happier, works better than advertised. My 6 year old daughter can use it to search Netflix even has her own radio station on Pandora. There is also very good content on some of the free channels. I would highly recommend this to anyone that wants to ditch their cable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnBoy77
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/12/2011

Customer review by BBW35

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by BBW35
by BBW35

TV FREEDOM!!! Movies, Tv Shows, Free Music, Games, World News, Local Weather, and Much More

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBW35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Money Saver!
8/18/2011

Customer review by VRAMOS

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by VRAMOS
by VRAMOS

The Roku allows me to stream videos (TV, internet, movies) and music from several different sites, among them NETFLIX, AMAZON (where you can rent or buy movies for as little as $1.99), and HULU PLUS, and PANDORA are just a few. I pay nothing as far as monthly charges to have the ROKU, and combined, my NETFLIX and HULU memberships cost less than $20 monthly. I have gotten rid of my high-priced cable and kept my WiFi internet and now cut my entertainment bill by $100/month! So far there are no CONS that I can think of. This unit was well worth the money I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VRAMOS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Roku XD Rock
7/12/2011

Customer review by AF23

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by AF23
by AF23

I am very pleased with my purchase of Roku XD. I can watch almost anything on my own time & not the Cable company's time. It works better if connected through an HDMI port. Does not support qwerty keyboard, but the remote does everything you need. Network integration is a problem if you want to stream media to the device.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AF23
columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to use I love it
5/24/2011

Customer review by 7gram7

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by 7gram7
by 7gram7

product is as described. easy to hook up and easy to use. Ordering from Walmart is easy and quick.. I had it delivered to my neighborhood store and it worked out fine. It arrived much sooner than I expected. I have since ordered a new TV from Walmart the same way and had it delivered to my Walmart neighborhood store.. shipping to the store is free. great transaction.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7gram7
albuquerque NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Streaming Player
6/3/2011

Customer review by Rob75

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by Rob75
by Rob75

I really like the Roku because of its size and simplicity. If they could improve anything it would be allowing YouTube to play on it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rob75
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews