Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

27 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 27 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Don't remember where I got it from....
2/23/2016

Customer review by shallotteguy

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by shallotteguy
by shallotteguy

Ok..not sure if I got it from here or amazon...at any rate, I just can't for the life of me understand ANY man that says this is difficult to use..EFFORT...you have to put EFFORT in ANYTHING YOU GRILL..wow!!! I have enjoyed mine so much....once you cook in the thing a few times you get adjusted with it's operation and very FEW quirks....Guys what do you want...a cruise control?? I would recommend this to any WOMAN to cook some flawless BBQ pork or a nice brisket...guys you can just go by some already cooked...jeez........

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shallotteguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!!
1/5/2016

Customer review by BestAuntEver

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by BestAuntEver
by BestAuntEver

This is our first smoker and we love it so far. We have made wings and ribs. They both were delicious and it's pretty easy to use. We bought a digital thermometer instead of the one provided.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BestAuntEver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY CHEAP BUT DOES WORK WITH EFFORT!!!!
6/10/2014

Customer review by mzkat21

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by mzkat21
by mzkat21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I were super excited when we received this as a wedding gift. It was on our registry however, when we chose it we didn't know how cheap it was gonna be once we put it together. The door was not fitting so I had to call and have a replacement sent to me and 2 of the legs are shorter then the other 2 which make it sit at a lean and if you can imagine that doesn't work well with the water bowl because it spills, so we have to prop up the front lets with wood planks. The water dish tends to deplete rather quickly but that might be normal. This is not something you can walk away from for more then 30 minutes at a time because you have to constantly fill the water bowl. It did make some really good meat but its definitely more work then it should be. I would not spend my own money on this but since it was a gift we kept it and use it occasionally (3 times in the past year) It did make a GREAT ham at Christmas. I prefer to stick with my BBQ that I use almost daily. I wouldn't say I am satisfied with this smoker but like I said it does work with effort!

mzkat21
Bakersfield, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love my Smoker but...
3/27/2016

Customer review by Stevenug

4.0 stars 3/27/2016 by Stevenug
by Stevenug

The only problem I have is the combo chip & water pan. Not sure who came up with this bright idea, but it is a waste. Since you combine the water and the wood in one pan on top of direct heat it makes you keep filling both frequently, as they burn up/dry up quickly. They need to be two separate pans, wood over the direct heat and the water over the wood so that is over indirect heat. Give me two pans that are deep enough that I can fill up with plenty of wood and around 2 quarts of water so I do some serious smoking instead of steaming my meat. Would I recommend your smoker? No not until you change the pans, then yes I would.

Stevenug
Would recommend to a friend? No
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Awesome smoker!
4/27/2016

Customer review by Jughead34

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by Jughead34
by Jughead34

I love this smoker, I've used it twice making chicken once and ribs once and everyone loved them both. As far as the built in thermometer goes mine is spot on with the one I bought to put in it. Definitely worth the price!

Jughead34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Smoker
12/7/2014

Customer review by Smokemerandi

5.0 stars 12/7/2014 by Smokemerandi
by Smokemerandi

Works really well. Smoked a brisket and it worked well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smokemerandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dissapointed
3/25/2016

Customer review by Jamie

3.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Jamie
by Jamie

Bought this as a wedding gift for my best friend. It arrived on time but the box was very damaged in shipping. Some bolts were missing from the box and he had to go to the hardware store to get replacements. I was very Excited to get the gift but dissapointed with the condition when it arrived. If I had more time I would have taken it back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love it
4/6/2016

Customer review by Doogie

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Doogie
by Doogie

Easy to use and much better than the electric one I used to have

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doogie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
char broil smoker
2/19/2016

Customer review by pinrod

1.0 stars 2/19/2016 by pinrod
by pinrod

When the box finally arrived at Wal-Mart, i loaded it in my truck took and it home to assemble it. Only to find out the door hinge had come unwelded. I fixed it myself with conventional door hinges so that I could use it that night and also to avoid all the runaround with Wal-Mart of trying to get another one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/22/2016

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your Vertical Gas Smoker. Please contact us directly and we will be able to help get this part replaced.

pinrod
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not impressed
12/25/2015

Customer review by Jrk860

2.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Jrk860
by Jrk860

X mas gift and now have to go find a cookbook before using since it did not come with one.

Jrk860
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
not as discribed
5/5/2014

Customer review by smokedpig

1.0 stars 5/5/2014 by smokedpig
by smokedpig
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was discribed completely different than what I recieved .

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/7/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and definitely want to help you to fully use your vertical smoker. Please give one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists a call at 1-800-241-7548 and they will be more than happy to best assist you and answer any questions you may have.

smokedpig
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker but not as described
2/3/2016

Customer review by shadow52

4.0 stars 2/3/2016 by shadow52
by shadow52

The smoker came with a dented box but was able to fix dented piece. Does a great job smoking and like the separate water chip door. However the size that is stated in the description is not the size of the smoker that I received. It is much smaller but will hold a pan but not a cookie sheet. So it works great, but be prepared to get a much smaller smoker

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadow52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/3/2014

Customer review by RaginCajin

5.0 stars 8/3/2014 by RaginCajin
by RaginCajin

I am sure it works great , since I have a very similar product from Smoky Hollow , without the benefiting feature of the bottom drawer that saves the heat while adding chips or just checking when more will be needed. But what I found very surprising that this is your company site, trying to promote your own product, yet you are so skimpy to provide more pictures of inside. How many shelves, hooks, shape of water pan, and if charcoal pan is perforated as it should. When you sell online, you need to give a potential buyer idea what is he fixing to pull a trigger on and how you compare with the competition. And those pictures cost you nothing.

RaginCajin
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
WORTH THE MONEY!!!
6/12/2014

Customer review by ISLANDERS

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by ISLANDERS
by ISLANDERS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

BEGINNER AT SMOKING YET I DOVE RIGHT IN WITH 3 RACKS OF RIBS AND A PORK LOIN. 6 HRS. LATER THE VICTIMS I INVITED OVER FOR DINER WERE OVERWHELMED BY THE RESULTS. TASTY AND JUICY WITH A PERFECT SMOKE RING IS WHAT THEY GOT. VERY EASY TO USE. YOU'LL GET GREAT RESULTS KNOWING THAT SMOKING REQUIRES PATIENCE. THE CLEANUP WAS VERY EASY AS THE GRILLS WERE WASHED WITH JUST SOAP AND WATER. CONSTANT MONITORING OF THE WATER LEVEL IS A NECESSITY. SECOND ATTEMPT WAS THE FRESH KIELBASI I MADE. HUNG THE RINGS ON A WOOD DOWEL ACROSS THE SMOKER AND THEY CAME OUT GREAT. CAN'T WAIT TO TRY THE SALMON AND WHITING ON JULY 4TH.

ISLANDERS
BARNEGAT NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice cheap gasser
6/15/2014

Customer review by classfour

4.0 stars 6/15/2014 by classfour
by classfour
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After wrapping with fiberglass blankets, the gasser will run at 225, sometimes hotter when the water runs dry. I do use a 9 x 14 pan on the bottom shelf to hydrate the smoker instead of the "bowl" down with the chips. The middle bowl dries up quickly, so not useful to keep your smoked good moist. The lack of racks, and the cost of additional racks (the smoker comes with 3) is a problem. I scavenged two racks from a kenmore smoker to bring the number to 5 - so I can use 1 for the water pan and cook on the other 4. That's 4 briskets or 4 whole boston butts, more than the original smoker is capable of.

classfour
Elizabethtown, KY 42701, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Concerned about damage
10/17/2015

Customer review by NomeeBrat

1.0 stars 10/17/2015 by NomeeBrat
by NomeeBrat

When I opened the carton, the styrofoam padding was broken and crumbling in a few spots and I noticed that one corner of the smoker (the rear left, when upright) is bent inward. I'm torn between returning it and trying to assemble it first. Ordered for home delivery so I wouldn't have to carry it far, so having to lug the thing in for return would negate that advantage. I'm leaning toward trying to assemble, but of course if the leg won't attach properly because of the deformed corner, then I'm stuck. Grumble grumble grumble. I'll come back with an update.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/19/2015

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your smoker. Please contact Char-Broil directly and we will be able to best assist with replacing any damaged parts.

NomeeBrat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great price
7/18/2015

Customer review by Beaglerockrick

4.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Beaglerockrick
by Beaglerockrick

The main complaint for me is having to add water every 35-45 minutes and the wood chip/water tray should be made of a higher gauge metal. I can see this failing fairly early. On the plus side it cooks very well for an inexpensive smoker.

Beaglerockrick
Works Great, Good Smoker!!!
12/1/2014

Customer review by NE SMOKER

5.0 stars 12/1/2014 by NE SMOKER
by NE SMOKER

I have had this smoker for 2 years. I use this all year round. I just increase smoking time in winter months for here in NE. I am totally impressed how well it does. I did add a water pan on lower rack. AS water gets used rapidly, 45-60 minutes. But, my smoking is never neglected. I did an 18# turkey, ribs (many) Brisket, sausage, pepperoni, bacon. Have yet to be disappointed!

NE SMOKER
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Great value - can make great smoked meats!
6/10/2014

Customer review by RetiredGuy

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by RetiredGuy
by RetiredGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this as a gift and was a bit skeptical... with just a little practice and some patience and trials, I was able to produce some of the best smoked BBQ'd meats we've had. Fish, turkey, brisket, baby-back-ribs, St Louis ribs, roasts.... I keep trying and improving the results. It is fun and challenging and the results are worth it.

RetiredGuy
Stuart, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall good product.
6/30/2014

Customer review by JPWTYB

3.0 stars 6/30/2014 by JPWTYB
by JPWTYB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Do not like the combination of water and chip/smoker container as well as the previous model with separate water pan and cast iron chip/smoker box. Water evaporates rapidly, making it harder to maintain constant temp. Do like the separate tray so that you do not have to open main door and lose heat

JPWTYB
Tybee Island, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews