Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

164 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

164 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 155 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
Great quality! Excellent Grill
3/24/2013

Customer review by Dauphinmac

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Dauphinmac
by Dauphinmac

I first purchased a grill at a lower price point and took it back the next day. I decided to pay top dollar for this grill and am very satisfied. This grill is the best i have every owned and is far superior than my previous gas grills. There is no flame up with electric grilling and the design is perfect for anything on the grill. Most importantly, the 1700 watts will get the grill to 550 degrees for a perfect sear on a juicy, thick, ribeye. Great grill!! Better still, Wal Mart had the best price and the best money back guarantee! I use this grill almost everyday and love it!

Was this review helpful? (115) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dauphinmac
Orange Beach, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Grill for a condo
2/25/2013

Customer review by Jahewitt1

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Jahewitt1
by Jahewitt1

This was an easy grill to put together. We recently downsized and sold our home and Weber grill to move to a condo on a marina. They do not allow gas or charcoal grill so we had to go with an electric. I researched many types and so far we are very happy with the Char-Broil patio grill. I would recommend if you have to have an electric grill, very easy to install and use.

Was this review helpful? (97) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jahewitt1
Hilton Head Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic for the apartment dweller!
6/11/2013

Customer review by yelloweyelet

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by yelloweyelet
by yelloweyelet

Well.... I have tried many electric grills. Since I live in an apartment, electric is the only kind that is allowed. I must say after having to return all the other electric grills I have purchased, I am so glad to finally purchase one that actually lives up to the concept of grilling! I had saved the box as I had for all the others I purchased because I just knew I would be needing to return it, but to my surprise, I threw the box out the same night because this grill truly grills like a grill should! I was shocked how my steaks and burgers tasted so awesome and to have the grill scent enter my windows just let me know it was summer. I highly recommend this grill, it was easy to put together and is so true to what it claims. Finally, after all the other failures of other electric grills, I am so thrilled not to of given up on electric! I even put my potatoes, green peppers and onion dish in a foil pan on the grill and they turned out awesome! It has a very large cooking area so fitting the cooking rack in my sink to clean is hard, but I still manage to get it cleaned. I can not be any more thrilled with this grill and you can still use wood chips on the cooking rack for the smoke flavor how awesome is that?! You will be fully surprised on the high caliber results you will get from this grill. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (112) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yelloweyelet
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
4/20/2013

Customer review by deep6

4.0 stars 4/20/2013 by deep6
by deep6

Used twice so far, with excellent results - grilled marinated boneless skinless chicken breast, then whole chicken legs brushed with light olive oil. The skin on the legs formed a light crunchy crust. Also cooked small quartered redskin potatoes tossed in light OO & sea salt - also great results. Half heat kept the legs at a steady, slow sizzle. My old natural gas grill required frequent rotation from center to edges to cook evenly, so I have to get used to the idea of leaving the lid closed and relying on timing. Cooking seemed very even right to the edges. The grill is small but OK for 2 people, though my old vegetable and seafood trays are too big for it. I also have to remove the warming rack to get to the rear part - it would be nice if it flipped up out of the way without falling off. There was a little more to the assembly than I expected. No major difficulties but a second pair of hands would have helped at a couple of stages, to hold pieces in position while fitting the fasteners.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deep6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HELP?
3/22/2014

Customer review by Livin2ride

4.0 stars 3/22/2014 by Livin2ride
by Livin2ride

I want to know if anyone has used wood chips and used this grill as a smoker, as well. Does anyone know?

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 3/28/2014

Wood chips are a safe and easy way to add great flavor to your food and can definitely be used with this Char-Broil Patio Bistro. Follow this link to view all of the flavors of wood chips that we currently have available... http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/flavored-wood.html

Livin2ride
Central City, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for my small patio!
4/8/2013

Customer review by Lulushopper6655

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Lulushopper6655
by Lulushopper6655

This is the best grill I have ever had. The cooking space is huge but the entire grill is compact. I love not messing with propane anymore My patio has an electrical outlet so it is so convenient to just plug in and turn on. It cooks the same as propane, you would not know the difference. I love it and would recommend to all! I got the red, really nice....

Was this review helpful? (69) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lulushopper6655
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A nice little grill.
6/2/2013

Customer review by WHJ52

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by WHJ52
by WHJ52

Had this grill for about 2 weeks and not disappointed. Assembly took about an hour working at a relaxed pace. Quality seems good for the price, and so far it's worked exactly as advertised. I have used charcoal grills for years, and I find grilling on an electric to be a bit different. This little grill requires a bit of patience as it doesn't heat all that quickly. After about 20 minutes it reaches 500 or so, and the grate is hot enough to sear a steak fairly well. After 7-8 minutes you can turn a piece of meat and sear the other side as long as you put it on a ddifferent spot on the grate. I've also found cooking times to be a bit longer, but I gladly accept that since I no longer have to mess w/ charcoal. Admittedly the food doesn't have the same flavor as it had grilled over charcoal, but it isn't as bad as I originally feared it would be. I also suspect the flavor will improve once the grill is well seasoned and I learn more about how it cooks. So far I don't regret the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WHJ52
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Char-Broil Patio Bistro
5/25/2013

Customer review by ft14051

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by ft14051
by ft14051

Extremely happy with our purchase of this grill. It truly is "patio" friendly. After years of propane grilling, keeping the tank in a "safe" zone when not in use and grilling approx. 20 feet from our patio (fire code) it is a pleasure and relief to be grilling under the protective awning of our patio and doing it legally! Even w/o the wood chip the flavor is wonderful and hardly a step down in taste from our old propane. Thank you

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ft14051
East Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love my patio grill
6/26/2013

Customer review by durangotreasure

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by durangotreasure
by durangotreasure

I don't have to wonder if I have propane, or briquettes. I simply plug it in, preheat, and throw my food on the grill. It's smallish for a grill, but large enough to cook plenty of food. My last one (which was stolen) didn't have the extra warming shelf, so this is a plus. The purchase from Walmart went perfectly. Delivery was faster than predicted and the price was the least expensive. I checked Lowes, Home Depot and Sears. Thanks Char-Broil Mfgr, and Walmart. And I put it together myself. It is basically the base/legs that need assembly. The grill is already together.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
durangotreasure
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Char-Broil Patio Bistro Infrared 240-Square Inch E
1/9/2014

Customer review by Ammklm

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Ammklm
by Ammklm

This grill is perfect for apartment living, especially above the first floor, as is has no open flame. It cooks fast as well as evenly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ammklm
Ormond Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great replacement for gas or charcoal pit
5/7/2013

Customer review by blablabla777

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by blablabla777
by blablabla777

Does the job well. Backside gets hotter than frontside. Grill is a pain to clean, but preparation is very quick.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blablabla777
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
well made-great job cooking
6/9/2014

Customer review by LucyRae7

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by LucyRae7
by LucyRae7

Its so cute! Took me a while to put together, but I was by myself and perhaps it would have been easier with another hand or too. Directions weren't bad, but could have been a bit more detailed. It took me about an hour to assemble. The grill is well made and a good, heavy duty quality of materials. I did notice that the temp goes down quickly when opening the lid, but it quickly rises back to where it was set after closing. I have used the wood chips on the grate as the Char-Broil site suggests and it gives the food a mild smoky flavor. I found the grate to clean easily as it is a porcelain finish- I put it in my sink which worked best. I have cooked chicken, hot dogs and turkey burgers and salmon. They were all juicy, yet thoroughly cooked. This is far better than messing with Charcoal and propane if you ask me! I have already recommended it to several friends and family members! I also purchased the cover and it fits beautifully, is well made and a sturdy material.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LucyRae7
North East, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for Apts.
5/22/2013

Customer review by ScubaDeb

4.0 stars 5/22/2013 by ScubaDeb
by ScubaDeb

I bought this for my apartment since we can't use propane or gas here. It's suppose to heat up to 550 degrees...but never gets above 500 even after an hour of pre-heating. I called company and they say that is 'normal'. You definately have to leave the lid closed...each time you open it the temp. goes down 50 to 100 degrees. It didn't sear the burgers as I would have liked, but the chicken and pork steaks turned out excellent!! Be sure and pre-heat at least 30 minutes before use and you'll be happy with it. I haven't done much grilling, so I'm still learning, but I like it. Beats cooking inside the apartment! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScubaDeb
Lenexa, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/23/2013

Customer review by starlets

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by starlets
by starlets

fabulous, meets all expectations of cooking, flavor, tenderness, moisture. what a wonderful way to bbq. friends could not believe how tender and moist the steaks were and to think it is not carcinogenic like grilling on gas bbq. hamburgers stayed juicy and did not shrink, ifact they puffed up. price is great too. the price is higher at other stores and it has a cast iron plate accessory for pancakes, eggs, sausage. infared is the new way said our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (15) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starlets
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT!!!!
6/8/2014

Customer review by MyNewItem

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by MyNewItem
by MyNewItem

We purchased the electric grill because we did not want to use charcoal anymore. We also did not want to use gas or propane.When we found this electric grill we purchased it right away. After cooking chicken and turkey burgers on it, we will forever be sold on electric. We love this grill. The chicken and turkey tasted great and retained the natural juices. We will always own one of these. We were also able to place foil on the grill, which cut down the cleaning time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyNewItem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as Advertised
5/30/2014

Customer review by grillmyster

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by grillmyster
by grillmyster

We recently replaced a well known brand outdoor grill with this one, and were not disappointed. We prefer electric grilling which is not for everyone, but if you are looking for a well made, easily assembled (if you can follow diagrams and instructions) electric grill, this one lives up to it's advertised "True Infrared" cooking results. We grillled chicken breasts on Memorial day by following the cooking recommendations and they turned out completely cooked on the inside, and very moist throughout. We found the unit easily maintains the proper temperature evenly across the grill and exceeded our expectations on the amount of time it took to complete the cooking process. The breast were the best we have eaten. We have not had the unit long enough to judge it's longterm durability, but from how it is made, and the matetials used, I expect it to outlast and out perform any grill of it's type. Clean-up was on par with most grills and the porcelain grill surface was a plus.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grillmyster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cooks food great, hard to clean
7/22/2013

Customer review by kanto501

4.0 stars 7/22/2013 by kanto501
by kanto501

I had to try this because I do not like dealing with charcoal or messing with gas. I must say my first experience was very good, We cooked 2 steaks and some hot dogs. It took me a bit to figure out how long to cook each steak but the result was fantastic! The steaks were moist and perfectly cooked. The hot dogs cooked in less than 5 minutes and were not dried out at all. The grill was not easy to clean but then what grill is. I do not have a big deep sink so to clean the removeable grill was a chore and it took some work. The bottom of the unit has a removable trap to catch grease and other items so you can clean the inside of the unit and let any liquid go to the trap and empty it out later. I would say this grill is well worth the money and does a great job!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanto501
Ellsworth, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great upgrade from regular grills
6/14/2013

Customer review by GrillPaPa

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by GrillPaPa
by GrillPaPa

This infrared cooking experience is truly amazing. Meats remain juicy and flavorful plus the outside of all type of meats are perfectly browned and crisp.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrillPaPa
Brighton, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some issues with the grill
7/9/2013

Customer review by delton50

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by delton50
by delton50

Pros: Cooks food very well and quickly, pretty compact so doesn't take up a lot of space, has a pretty good size cooking area, easy to put together Cons: does have cold spots, the grill cooking rack is very difficult to clean

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
delton50
wisconsin dells, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Most tender roast I ever made!
6/23/2013

Customer review by doyouwantmyreviewornot

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by doyouwantmyreviewornot
by doyouwantmyreviewornot

First, assembly...turn the wheels around from the way they're packed with the caps! Second, it takes 20-30 min. to heat to 500, then when you open the lid, you lose 50-100 degrees, so plan. spray with canola oil every time. and, put oil on your meat. even so, you won't get a hard crust, but the roast will be so tender! I cooked a Chuck rib roast...30 min each side on highest heat, then low heat for another hour+ (note:turn heat off to get temp to come down, then adjust). Cooking times are far longer than regular bbq. p.s. clean with water and scrubber when still warm...high heat "burn off" did not work well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doyouwantmyreviewornot
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews