Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 277 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

277 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

277 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
241
4 stars
28
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 277 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Best Outdoor Cooker Yet
6/6/2016

Customer review by TheMrBob

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by TheMrBob
by TheMrBob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My younger brother in Florida has been bragging this cooker up for the last year. He uses it exclusively for turkey cooking. He convinced me to buy one for healthful easy outdoor cooking. First time we used it we cooked a chicken with just a light rub of Odobo seasoning, set the thermometer for 165 degrees and waited for the next hour. The alarm went off and we turned off the gas. While the chicken rested we used the drippings to make gravy. After 15 minutes we placed the chicken on the table and enjoyed the most juicy, outdoor roasted chicken we ever had! I can't wait to try other foods cooked in the Big Easy! No flare-ups, no grease fires, no turning the meat to cook evenly, just EASY! I would recommend this to everyone looking for a better way to cook effortlessly outdoors!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMrBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best ever...
7/11/2016

Customer review by No Wake Zone

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by No Wake Zone
by No Wake Zone

I was looking for a turkey fryer online about 3 months ago when I found The Big Easy. I have used it at least once if not twice every weekend. Its an excellent alternative to unhealthy frying, and the results are a refreshing change from everyday barbecuing. Its a revolutionary way to cook and each usage I get increasingly better and creative. We love the results from our Big Easy. So far we've cooked pork ribs, sockeye salmon, beef ribs, chicken, roast beef, and grilled hamburgers, and corn in the husk. The meat is fantastic, smoked and cooked evenly once you learn how to regulate the heat. Saving the juices and making gravy is something my family enjoys, and its also something you cannot do with a deep fryer. I haven't done a turkey yet, but when I do, I will start the bird on high heat for a spell, then turn the flame down, be patient and enjoy 2-3 beers while she turns into a juicy, golden brown bird. Once in a while I'll pop in and baste her in her own juices from the collecting tray I've had a lot of fun experimenting with the smoke or no smoke dishes too. I found that chicken is best just with a light rub. I cant believe how juicy the meat is, and how healthy it is to eat - without deep frying! I would highly recommend this cooker, and I would not hesitate in buying another one. Simply fantastic!!! Gotta go now - Man am I ever hungry :)

No Wake Zone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
excellent cooker but needs to be tweeked
5/12/2016

Customer review by juge

4.0 stars 5/12/2016 by juge
by juge

The product is really good and i never had a bad turkey yet. Raves everytime and called the best turkey they have ever eaten. Only problem is when you drop the bird in the cage it slumps over making it hard to get the thigh area cooked all the way through. So i pierce the leg and thigh area where the blood would normally gather and i shove a large skever from one side of the rib cage to the other sticking out enough to catch the sides of the turkey basket but not enough to touch the sides. I then center the turkey keeping its rump from touching the bottom. I line up the cavity opening with the hole in the bottom of the fryer so all the juices go into the tray below for making gravy. A 24 hour brine , no salt butter under the skin and the bird coated in olive oil gives an extremely crispy skin and an absolute tender bird. Little bit of fresh cracked pepper on the outside is all you need.

juge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Great cooker
8/28/2012

Customer review by SP5REP

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by SP5REP
by SP5REP

I have had mine now for about 1 year. I even take it camping with us now and then. I find it cooks as fast if not faster than my charcoal smoker. 18lb turkey comes out great, nicce brown chrispy skin as well. I keep trying other things in it and just as happy. Have NOT used my smoker after getting this cooker. The drip pan has a note, Not to use for useing drippings for cooking. Hey, another pan under it and I also can use the dripping to make gravey from. Ever so easy to clean. By the time your done eating, it can be cleaned and put away. I store mine (like my gas grill) under cover so I can get that many more years of use out of (them) it. People that have been here ask, how did you cook this and where can I get one, its that good. It's so simlpe to use, almost like plug and play. I tell everyone to go get one, you'll love it.................

Was this review helpful? (61) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SP5REP
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This is AWESOME!
1/3/2016

Customer review by U5MC

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by U5MC
by U5MC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an awesome turkey fryer, but it's so much more! It's so easy to cook turkeys and anything else your heart desires. Cook turkey, chicken, roasts (pork/beef), sausage, ribs etc. If you like crispy skin on your turkey/chicken... man, it's like eating cracklins. Beef and pork gets that awesome crust too, which seals-in moisture. The drip pan below will have all the fat, and you make use it to make some killer gravy. Not only can you cook the main entrée in this fryer, add your sides (veggies) later-on and save time. Cooking your entire meal in this makes cooking so much easier. I recommend ordering the accessories like I did: the extra basket, rib hooks, meat hooks, skewers and leg holders allows you to make use of every inch of cooking space. Clean-up is very easy, I spray the basket and accessories with cooking spray and wash in the dishwasher. You will not only enjoy this cooker, you will find out that you will use it more than you think. P.S. Don't forget to season the cooker, just like an iron skillet.

U5MC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful!
11/26/2015

Customer review by homechef

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by homechef
by homechef

I've used the Big Easy for 4 extended family meals including Thanksgiving and Christmas and EVERYONE has loved the results. I read another review from someone not so happy and felt compelled to say that with any new cooking style, you have to sort things out! This is worth working with as the succulent results are wonderful. First of all, the suggested cooking times are too short. When you add wind and cold temps, add a bunch more, but the results are still excellent. This is why after the first time when it was windy, I put on our covered porch which has much less wind. I usually brined the bird before which seems to work better. Did not brine it today, but it was still excellent. Reading the other post and response, I learn that you should only put the screen on top at the end to brown, but I have always kept it on for the whole time and when brined, the skin is a very nice medium dark brown and perfectly crispy. Use a meat thermometer and take it out between 155 and 160. I'll never use the oven again!

homechef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Char Broil Turkey Fryer is a great product.
7/3/2016

Customer review by S Shane

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by S Shane
by S Shane

I got this as a gift about 8 months ago, It works great, I have done turkeys, pork loins, and pork butts for pulled pork. Every thing came out to perfection.

S Shane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Great portable gas grill!
3/28/2016

Customer review by Krispayyy

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Krispayyy
by Krispayyy

I orginally bought this for last Thanksgiving but plans changed and ended up using it today (Easter). This was our first try on this thing (we had alternate plans in case the thing didn't work) and let me just say it worked perfectly! If you follow the directions to a T you will not have any problems. We decided not to put the wire top on til the last 10 min. of cooking after reading other reviews and really I'm not sure if we needed to because it was browning all along. We cooked a 12 lb. turkey in 2 hrs. flat in this thing and now were thinking of taking it camping with us. I might even buy some extra "tools" to cook up some ribs. Minimal clean-up as well. Fyi, we also rubbed canola oil and a rub on it for flavor. All of our guests raved upon how moist the turkey was. Very pleased with cooker but you need to list it under gas grills so people can find it better.

Krispayyy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Great Job Char-Broil! Awesome product!
11/26/2015

Customer review by Scs_29730

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Scs_29730
by Scs_29730

Had it for three days. Assembly was simple and very quick. Cooked three turkeys and one chicken....All I can say is WOW! I used olive oil and creole seasoning on all, and they ALL turned out AWESOME! Can't wait to experiment with different things, but have stuck to the recipes in the book (except olive oil), and all have been juicy, tender and even the skin tastes great. I am impressed! I did buy the Char-Broil Remote Thermostat as well to keep an eye on it while I cooked everything else, and it worked flawlessly as well. Now, I find myself scanning the grocery store ads, so I can find different meat to try in this. Single father of a teenage girl, and it will help prepare meat we can eat for a couple-few days with different sides. Will save money over the long haul for sure! Not just on peanut oil for a fryer. All in all....SO much simpler, and WAY safer than a conventional turkey fryer. Again....WOW! Well done Char-Broil!

Scs_29730
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
12/26/2011

Customer review by Bickle

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Bickle
by Bickle

We made turkey legs first just to see how they would turn out, they were great. Then we did a whole turkey and it was really good, just as good as the ones done in oil with no oil mess.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bickle
Danville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/4/2011

Customer review by goldking

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by goldking
by goldking

This is a good product! It really is just like the ad's and reviews!it is nice not to buy exp oil and have to worry about risky hot oil and safety issues!on this unit u just prep the meat and turn it on!how simple is that? i would def reccomend buying it!There is a small amount of parts installation but then you only need the fuel and whatever meat you desire!But don't use exp cuts of meat till u learn to judge the cooking time since it is a really hot fire and you can overcook fairly quickly! I would say ten mins for ea pound of meat! but use a good meat thermometer for best results! overall i give it a A+ .just follow the directions and enjoy the feast!

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldking
oklahoma city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
20 degrees out and snowing on Thanksgiving Day.
12/1/2015

Customer review by SemperFi23

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by SemperFi23
by SemperFi23

I have cooked two turkeys with this product and will never go back to a traditional turkey fryer. I gave the TRU-infrared cooking system its first run through, one month before Thanksgiving. The first bird was 14 pounds and was prepared without dry rub or injection. The temperature outside was 60 degrees. The cook time was on the low end at 10 minutes a pound, using the cover (as directed) at the end of the cook time. The result was a perfectly browned bird with a moist texture to the meat. My 2nd bird was 15 pounds and was injected (basic creole butter recipe, without dry rub) the night before cooking. The temperature outside was 20 degrees (and snowing). The cook time was on the high end at 15 minutes a pound, using the cover (as directed) during the entire cook time. The result was a perfectly browned bird with a juicy texture to the meat. My wife and I have hosted Thanksgiving for over a decade and average 30+ guests. She brines and roasts a bird in the oven and I fry one outside. At the end of the day, my bird was devoured and we had plenty of left overs from hers.

SemperFi23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Great cooker
10/2/2011

Customer review by PaRedneck

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by PaRedneck
by PaRedneck

Just did a 16 lb. turkey in under 3 hours and came out great. Nice and moist.

Was this review helpful? (65) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaRedneck
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
We love it.
5/2/2016

Customer review by mimitoo

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by mimitoo
by mimitoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for my husband. We put it together within minutes. Seems to be very well constructed. Had family over to try it out and we cooked a hen. It was beautiful and tasted very good. Was extremely moist. I generally do not eat any white meat as I find it very dry, but this way of cooking leaves all of the meat very moist and delicious. Family is coming over again and can't wait for us to cook ribs. Can't wait to try it. Clean up was so easy.

mimitoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and Cooks Great
1/22/2016

Customer review by MJRC

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by MJRC
by MJRC

My wife purchased this cooker for me as a gift a few years ago in hopes I would begin to cook more and to begin to enjoy cooking. I have only used it for Turkeys, Ribs and a Prime Rib. Each time I cooked a Turkey it has turned out to perfection. My ribs turned out tasty, but, I should have used the Top Cover to brown them. My Prime Rib also turned out to perfection, according to my family. It was not my cooking skills but the easy to use cooker with the good instructions that made the meals to turn out very good. We purchased one for my son who cooks a lot and really enjoys cooking, both, inside and outside. He loves his and has master using it. He used the Top Mesh Cover and his ribs were brown and perfect. Now, I am getting tips from him and I plan to cook more in the future. We are both very, very happy with our cookers.

MJRC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
I love this fryer!
12/9/2015

Customer review by Davis dog

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Davis dog
by Davis dog

This fryer is the best cooking gadget Ive bought in a long while. I have fried several turkeys and this pass Thanksgiving I bought a ham and fried it. The whole family raved that it was the best, juiciest ham they ever had. I love to hang chicken wings in and fry those for football Sundays. I just salt and pepper and grease them up and fry. then I make up different types of sauce to pour over the wings . Makes the best fried chicken too. I don't bread them either. The person that wasn't pleased about the uneveness of frying should have put the wire cover on during the last 30 minutes of cooking. That will brown up the meat and also don't let the meat touch each other. I love this fryer so much I bought another one!! Look out Super Bowl Sunday. I am going to make jalapeño poppers, fried cheese, and.....hmmm.... think I might try to fry a Prime Rib for Christmas...

Davis dog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Rust Issues
4/18/2016

Customer review by DJ12

1.0 stars 4/18/2016 by DJ12
by DJ12

Love the grill, features, results, etc. Hate the fact that after only 1 1/2 years it's rusting. And this is after taking very good care of the grill ... resting on bricks, bought one of your not so inexpensive covers, stored covered in an enclosed porch for the winter, etc. Would be very reluctant to purchase another Charbroil Grill.

DJ12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Flawless
4/17/2016

Customer review by Medic

5.0 stars 4/17/2016 by Medic
by Medic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had the Big Easy for a couple of weeks but it has performed FLAWLESSLY.! After you get your meat ready and into the Big Easy, all you have to do is wait for a perfectly cooked turkey! I've also done chickens in it, and all I get from the family is: MMMMMM! This thing is awesome, the whole family is impressed!

Medic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Space Maker
6/10/2014

Customer review by Pegs

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Pegs
by Pegs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I remodeled my kitchen I had to have the nice high BTU Viking stainless steel stove. THEN came the holidays and once I put the turkey in the oven I had no room for any side dishes, so cooking that first holiday dinner was a nightmare. I saw the oil free turkey cooker in the store and new right away this was my salvation. We purchased it 2 days before Thanksgiving and just took a shot that it would work out. WOW, was everyone impressed, first of all it cooked it in a fraction of the normal cooking time, it was crispy on the outside and so juicy on the inside. And it has a fabulous drip pan with disposable liners that made the best gravy I have ever made. Clean up is practically nothing. Since that holiday I now use it in the summer (keeps my kitchen cool) I have the rack where you can cook 2 chickens at one time. A very versatile product and it delivers exactly what it promises- even easy cooking and easy clean up.

Pegs
Palm Desert, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
1/16/2013

Customer review by 223322

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by 223322
by 223322
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great cooker. Very simple and does exactly what it advertises. I found that by putting a whole chicken on a stand like the beer cooker, to hold it upright, even makes the chicken more flavorful and tinder and cooks in the same amount of time.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
223322
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews