Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 352 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

352 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

352 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
301
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 352 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews
Amazing tool.
2/15/2017

Customer review by the colonel

5.0 stars 2/15/2017 by the colonel
by the colonel

My wife bought me this cooker for Fathers Day several years ago. I think this product is nothing shy of magic. I love it. I am not sure how it works and, to me, it has nothing to do with "frying." All I know is it is an amazing cooker. We have terrific success with Baby Back Ribs and TriTip steak. It is excellent with Turkey breast/thighs, and chicken as well. I am a long time kettle grill addict but find this product a wonderful alternative. It is faster. The TriTip is much more juicy. Crispy nicely cooked exterior with a juicy medium rare center is easily accomplished. I can't tell you how it works. I can only assure you it does....extremely well.

the colonel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
PERFECT!
12/14/2016

Customer review by pappaw george

5.0 stars 12/14/2016 by pappaw george
by pappaw george

I love it, I have never really cooked very good but my wife is an excellent chef, after 40 yrs I thought I really should help out on the cooking when all our grown kids ,spouses and grandkids come she's overworked cooking for them, well I was only in her way, I was at lowes and bought the big easy thinking I could cook outside but figured i'd still ruin our turkey lol, so we bought 2 turkey's=one for me and her's in case I ruin mine, my first turkey ever was the best we've ever eaten,all three I've done since were better each time, but tonight I cooked a pork loin about 4 lbs, I just happily made a rub outta her spice rack supply nothing measured ,she and our daughter were making fun, well let me tell you what my beloved big easy did, the pork loin is the best food we've ever eaten ever.....I am so excited I'm about to become a chef!

pappaw george
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
fantastic product
10/29/2016

Customer review by aguinness4me

5.0 stars 10/29/2016 by aguinness4me
by aguinness4me

We purchased the big easy to make a turkey while camping. We read the reviews and were a little sceptical that it would not taste as good as a deep fried bird.... To be honest... it was way better for a number of reasons.. First the overall cooking time is faster.. no waiting for the oil to hit temperature. Second.. no expensive oil to purchase Third. . Way more versatile and easier to clean Forth and by far the most important was the taste... all of the seasoning stayed on the turkey and not floating through the oil. The drippings made fantastic gravy and the skin nice and crispy while the meat was oh so tender and juicy. I have since done a beer can chicken as well as ribs... we are trying a pork roast tonight... Would I recommend this product ? Depends if they are going to invite us to dinner... P.s. The thermometer that was included with the big easy was broken when we opened the box. Called char broil customer service and the support was fantastic. Not only do they made a fantastic product but they back it up with first class service. Keep up the great work

aguinness4me
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
Amazing Swiss Army Knife of BBQ products
1/18/2017

Customer review by dado

5.0 stars 1/18/2017 by dado
by dado

I bought this as a gift for my son and his wife (hardcore BBQ ists), Was so impressed with the potential uses I bought one too! I found with the many accessories it was limitless in the scope of cooking styles I could use it for. Being a fan off low fat good eats, the Big Easy allows me to concentrate on flavor and allow the grease to flow away without the flair ups or water trays etc. Easy cleanup too. Enjoyed last weekend in a snow bank making BBQ chicken Results were superb.

dado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Best Happy Accident Ever
11/25/2016

Customer review by mystyc74

5.0 stars 11/25/2016 by mystyc74
by mystyc74

We picked this up the day before Thanksgiving this year because our oven wasn't working properly. Even though the reviews were overwhelming positive for this product, I was still a little skeptical as the few bad reviews I found seemed to be related to issues in cold weather climates and I am in Upstate New York. I now call it serendipity that our oven died, because this was hands down the best turkey we ever made. The temperature outside was in the mid to upper 30s, and it cooked perfectly and was done in around three hours (an almost 20 pound bird). Not only that, but the gravy from the drippings was absolutely to die for! It was easy to assemble and use. I have already recommended this to all of my Facebook friends and this will be our turkey cooking method for years to come. I can't wait to try some other meats in the near future!

mystyc74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
This is an excellent cooking product my family loves it! I'v
2/2/2017

Customer review by Thomas

5.0 stars 2/2/2017 by Thomas
by Thomas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent cooking product my family loves it! I've cooked turkeys, chicken pork roast with excellent results.

Thomas
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful!
11/26/2015

Customer review by homechef

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by homechef
by homechef

I've used the Big Easy for 4 extended family meals including Thanksgiving and Christmas and EVERYONE has loved the results. I read another review from someone not so happy and felt compelled to say that with any new cooking style, you have to sort things out! This is worth working with as the succulent results are wonderful. First of all, the suggested cooking times are too short. When you add wind and cold temps, add a bunch more, but the results are still excellent. This is why after the first time when it was windy, I put on our covered porch which has much less wind. I usually brined the bird before which seems to work better. Did not brine it today, but it was still excellent. Reading the other post and response, I learn that you should only put the screen on top at the end to brown, but I have always kept it on for the whole time and when brined, the skin is a very nice medium dark brown and perfectly crispy. Use a meat thermometer and take it out between 155 and 160. I'll never use the oven again!

homechef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Male
Awesome!!!!! Devon P excellent product
11/26/2016

Customer review by Russp1

5.0 stars 11/26/2016 by Russp1
by Russp1

Someone several years ago bought this cooker for me for Christmas and it's been in the garage unopened since well I got married in nov 16 I told my new bride about it because she wanted family over for thanksgiving I had tasted a turkey out of one before as I also used to own a restaurant that oil fried for customers and this was by far the best so I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS and seasoned it twice and it worked absolutely perfect we made a Cajun rub and put on the outside the only thing I want to do for perfection is try injecting maybe a Cajun or hickory smoke flavor. The turkey was very juicy cooked perfect I used the time method 2.5 hours for 15lbs and I also used my IGRILL min which I love to cook with on the big green egg. What a great product for the money very well made thank you I plan to cook a lot more things soon.

Russp1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
great product
1/22/2017

Customer review by saltminer1945

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by saltminer1945
by saltminer1945

I got this for Christmas, sure glad the kids got it for me. I really love cooking on it. Everything comes out great every time, moist and tender.

saltminer1945
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
No Thanksgiving Fire Here!!
11/24/2016

Customer review by loefflerje

5.0 stars 11/24/2016 by loefflerje
by loefflerje

I bought the Big Easy in 2013 and have loved it since. I was pregnant when I purchased this and was craving deep fried turkey but my hubby was worried I'd be the person on the news who burnt our house down. INSERT the Big Easy one of my patients recommended it and I've never looked back. Now my first use wasn't a ball park homerun, I used a syringe and injected my turkey and it didn't come out great. My second and every use after I have brined the turkey and it has come juicy on the inside and crispy like it was deep fried in oil but the best part is you can use a rub on the outside because there is no oil to limit your possibilities. I loved it so much I then decide to add the additional accessories and my rib, roast and chicken is out of this world. We now never have left over issues. My Turkey is now fab not drab.

loefflerje
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Female
Goodbye oil! Hello easy!
11/21/2016

Customer review by Luckydawg21

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Luckydawg21
by Luckydawg21

Love my big easy. Before we got it we were doing the oil and having to wait on cleanup and all that jazz. When i saw this i had to get it and i got to say i was concerned at first and yea some people say close the lid last 15/20 min of the cook. Well i didnt do that last year as i was closing and opening it after about 20/30 min. (Close for 20/30, open for 20/30) and i got all sorts of great comments on the bird. Used peanut oil brushed on and some tonys injectable marinade (was lazy) and it was such a hit that i barely got any of the bird myself. My advise is pay close attention to the temperature as that is the main key on "deep frying" a turkey. Temperature isnt right then the bird wont be either. Enjoy crispy birds! Also this is extremely portable and makes it easy to go to a friends house to "assist" with the cooking.

Luckydawg21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Male
This is AWESOME!
1/3/2016

Customer review by U5MC

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by U5MC
by U5MC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an awesome turkey fryer, but it's so much more! It's so easy to cook turkeys and anything else your heart desires. Cook turkey, chicken, roasts (pork/beef), sausage, ribs etc. If you like crispy skin on your turkey/chicken... man, it's like eating cracklins. Beef and pork gets that awesome crust too, which seals-in moisture. The drip pan below will have all the fat, and you make use it to make some killer gravy. Not only can you cook the main entrée in this fryer, add your sides (veggies) later-on and save time. Cooking your entire meal in this makes cooking so much easier. I recommend ordering the accessories like I did: the extra basket, rib hooks, meat hooks, skewers and leg holders allows you to make use of every inch of cooking space. Clean-up is very easy, I spray the basket and accessories with cooking spray and wash in the dishwasher. You will not only enjoy this cooker, you will find out that you will use it more than you think. P.S. Don't forget to season the cooker, just like an iron skillet.

U5MC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best turkey EVER!
11/26/2016

Customer review by new white meat fan

5.0 stars 11/26/2016 by new white meat fan
by new white meat fan

I bought this unit Nov. 10, 2016. Easy to assemble, though I had problems getting it to light. Got on-line w/ customer service, and 3 minutes later, BAM!, it's lit. Turns out I didn't push the igniter knob all the way down. I bought a 10 lb. turkey for Thanksgiving. Removed all the stuff they pack in the body cavity, rubbed it down with a bit of olive oil and a Spice Islands Turkey Rub. Put it in, turned it on. Checked on it at an hour, it was at 145 degrees. Went out 10 minutes later, it was at 175 degrees. Yikes! Turned it off, pulled out the basket w/ the turkey and let it rest for 15 minutes, and re-lit the unit to burn all the drippings at the bottom of the cooking drum. I'm 54. This was the first time I've EVER had juicy, tender white meat on a turkey. It was incredible. It's even tender and juicy cold out of the fridge two days later! I haven't even eaten the dark meat at all. I will NEVER cook a turkey in an oven again. I'm already planning on trying a prime rib roast for Christmas. Note: I've never had a deep fried turkey, so I can't compare this to that. I can only say that this was hands down the most tender, most juicy turkey I've ever eaten.

new white meat fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Fabulous fryer!
1/17/2017

Customer review by Karenk

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by Karenk
by Karenk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Amazing food without the grease!! Love how it cooks- even in 2feet of snow and weather in the teens!

Karenk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible uneven cooking
1/9/2017

Customer review by Jon h

1.0 stars 1/9/2017 by Jon h
by Jon h

Bought this one month ago. I have borrowed me friends and used his in the past and had decent results. This fryer will cook the top part of the turkey and leave the bottom raw. See the attached photos. This was a thawed turkey that was in the fryer for almost five hours. Completely unsatisfactory. I tried to finish on the oven, but ruined.

Jon h
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Dissapointed after first use
11/11/2016

Customer review by Sleepy66

3.0 stars 11/11/2016 by Sleepy66
by Sleepy66

Bought this for upcoming thanksgiving turkey and did a test run with a 4lb test whole chicken. Completely thawed and dry, never frozen chicken. After 90 min cook time internal temp only 138f. I cooked for extra half hour due to outside temp being 45 degrees. Dial turned to max entire time. Wound up needing to put kids to bed so i had to throw out whole meal since it was undercooked and i ran out of time. Again, i allowed extra half hour due to colder weather!! Very disappointed and im reconsidering our thanksgiving meal in this cooker. Rec cook time by charbroil guides and advice is 8-10-15min per pound depending on meat and are all significantly off based on my use. Charbroil needs to provide accurate recommendations for cooking in cold weather so people are not fooled this holiday season and ruin their meals. Im soooo glad i tried this out before the big day. Perhaps with appropriate cook time guidelines this device would be easier to use. But after this attempt, which i read about extensively prior to cooking, im VERY leery heading into thanksgiving. Based on this performance i cannot recommend this device and am considering a return myself.

Sleepy66
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
JUNK
1/8/2017

Customer review by MadMax68

1.0 stars 1/8/2017 by MadMax68
by MadMax68

I don't know who writes these 5 star reviews, but this fryer is a huge waste of money. Have used it twice, once with a turkey and once with a small chicken. Both times followed directions and both times they came out raw. Don't waste you money.

MadMax68
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Love this Grill!!!
1/11/2017

Customer review by RaceMom43

5.0 stars 1/11/2017 by RaceMom43
by RaceMom43
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for our son in law because we love ours so much. It cooks great and no oil!!!

RaceMom43
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:6 months
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turkey is perfect
11/26/2016

Customer review by Female

3.0 stars 11/26/2016 by Female
by Female

Okay, putting it together was a breeze. Turkey was Very moist! I did cut off the tail and place it in the top of the breast. Cooked within 2 hrs., 15 pound turkey. Made gravy! It is the clean up and the storage that I have problems with. I am a person that cooks my turkey in a bag. No Mess! Well this is very time consuming to clean. It takes a long time to clean! And the storage I am really having a BIG problem with. After you clean it, you are to brush it with oil. That is okay, but I will be storing it in my garage. And my garage smells like gasoline and chemicals. I might use it twice a year. The amount of pounds of meat you need to have in order to cook in it is too large for my family. I would like to know how many men actually clean this.

Female
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:6 months
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
WOW What a great fryer
12/31/2016

Customer review by Cajun Santa

5.0 stars 12/31/2016 by Cajun Santa
by Cajun Santa

Got it for Christmas. I season it twice, once in the morning then again the same afternoon. cooked a chicken the next day. came out good, tender and juicy but cooking it to 165deg wasn't quite cooked enough. when I cooked the turkey I cooked it to 170 deg I was perfect. So easy I was able the drink a little bourbon and smoke a good cigar while cooking the turkey

Cajun Santa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews