Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 264 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

264 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

264 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
231
4 stars
26
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 264 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews
This is AWESOME!
1/3/2016

Customer review by U5MC

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by U5MC
by U5MC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an awesome turkey fryer, but it's so much more! It's so easy to cook turkeys and anything else your heart desires. Cook turkey, chicken, roasts (pork/beef), sausage, ribs etc. If you like crispy skin on your turkey/chicken... man, it's like eating cracklins. Beef and pork gets that awesome crust too, which seals-in moisture. The drip pan below will have all the fat, and you make use it to make some killer gravy. Not only can you cook the main entrée in this fryer, add your sides (veggies) later-on and save time. Cooking your entire meal in this makes cooking so much easier. I recommend ordering the accessories like I did: the extra basket, rib hooks, meat hooks, skewers and leg holders allows you to make use of every inch of cooking space. Clean-up is very easy, I spray the basket and accessories with cooking spray and wash in the dishwasher. You will not only enjoy this cooker, you will find out that you will use it more than you think. P.S. Don't forget to season the cooker, just like an iron skillet.

U5MC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful!
11/26/2015

Customer review by homechef

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by homechef
by homechef

I've used the Big Easy for 4 extended family meals including Thanksgiving and Christmas and EVERYONE has loved the results. I read another review from someone not so happy and felt compelled to say that with any new cooking style, you have to sort things out! This is worth working with as the succulent results are wonderful. First of all, the suggested cooking times are too short. When you add wind and cold temps, add a bunch more, but the results are still excellent. This is why after the first time when it was windy, I put on our covered porch which has much less wind. I usually brined the bird before which seems to work better. Did not brine it today, but it was still excellent. Reading the other post and response, I learn that you should only put the screen on top at the end to brown, but I have always kept it on for the whole time and when brined, the skin is a very nice medium dark brown and perfectly crispy. Use a meat thermometer and take it out between 155 and 160. I'll never use the oven again!

homechef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Easy to use and Cooks Great
1/22/2016

Customer review by MJRC

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by MJRC
by MJRC

My wife purchased this cooker for me as a gift a few years ago in hopes I would begin to cook more and to begin to enjoy cooking. I have only used it for Turkeys, Ribs and a Prime Rib. Each time I cooked a Turkey it has turned out to perfection. My ribs turned out tasty, but, I should have used the Top Cover to brown them. My Prime Rib also turned out to perfection, according to my family. It was not my cooking skills but the easy to use cooker with the good instructions that made the meals to turn out very good. We purchased one for my son who cooks a lot and really enjoys cooking, both, inside and outside. He loves his and has master using it. He used the Top Mesh Cover and his ribs were brown and perfect. Now, I am getting tips from him and I plan to cook more in the future. We are both very, very happy with our cookers.

MJRC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Great Job Char-Broil! Awesome product!
11/26/2015

Customer review by Scs_29730

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Scs_29730
by Scs_29730

Had it for three days. Assembly was simple and very quick. Cooked three turkeys and one chicken....All I can say is WOW! I used olive oil and creole seasoning on all, and they ALL turned out AWESOME! Can't wait to experiment with different things, but have stuck to the recipes in the book (except olive oil), and all have been juicy, tender and even the skin tastes great. I am impressed! I did buy the Char-Broil Remote Thermostat as well to keep an eye on it while I cooked everything else, and it worked flawlessly as well. Now, I find myself scanning the grocery store ads, so I can find different meat to try in this. Single father of a teenage girl, and it will help prepare meat we can eat for a couple-few days with different sides. Will save money over the long haul for sure! Not just on peanut oil for a fryer. All in all....SO much simpler, and WAY safer than a conventional turkey fryer. Again....WOW! Well done Char-Broil!

Scs_29730
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
20 degrees out and snowing on Thanksgiving Day.
12/1/2015

Customer review by SemperFi23

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by SemperFi23
by SemperFi23

I have cooked two turkeys with this product and will never go back to a traditional turkey fryer. I gave the TRU-infrared cooking system its first run through, one month before Thanksgiving. The first bird was 14 pounds and was prepared without dry rub or injection. The temperature outside was 60 degrees. The cook time was on the low end at 10 minutes a pound, using the cover (as directed) at the end of the cook time. The result was a perfectly browned bird with a moist texture to the meat. My 2nd bird was 15 pounds and was injected (basic creole butter recipe, without dry rub) the night before cooking. The temperature outside was 20 degrees (and snowing). The cook time was on the high end at 15 minutes a pound, using the cover (as directed) during the entire cook time. The result was a perfectly browned bird with a juicy texture to the meat. My wife and I have hosted Thanksgiving for over a decade and average 30+ guests. She brines and roasts a bird in the oven and I fry one outside. At the end of the day, my bird was devoured and we had plenty of left overs from hers.

SemperFi23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
I love this fryer!
12/9/2015

Customer review by Davis dog

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Davis dog
by Davis dog

This fryer is the best cooking gadget Ive bought in a long while. I have fried several turkeys and this pass Thanksgiving I bought a ham and fried it. The whole family raved that it was the best, juiciest ham they ever had. I love to hang chicken wings in and fry those for football Sundays. I just salt and pepper and grease them up and fry. then I make up different types of sauce to pour over the wings . Makes the best fried chicken too. I don't bread them either. The person that wasn't pleased about the uneveness of frying should have put the wire cover on during the last 30 minutes of cooking. That will brown up the meat and also don't let the meat touch each other. I love this fryer so much I bought another one!! Look out Super Bowl Sunday. I am going to make jalapeño poppers, fried cheese, and.....hmmm.... think I might try to fry a Prime Rib for Christmas...

Davis dog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Great cooker
8/28/2012

Customer review by SP5REP

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by SP5REP
by SP5REP

I have had mine now for about 1 year. I even take it camping with us now and then. I find it cooks as fast if not faster than my charcoal smoker. 18lb turkey comes out great, nicce brown chrispy skin as well. I keep trying other things in it and just as happy. Have NOT used my smoker after getting this cooker. The drip pan has a note, Not to use for useing drippings for cooking. Hey, another pan under it and I also can use the dripping to make gravey from. Ever so easy to clean. By the time your done eating, it can be cleaned and put away. I store mine (like my gas grill) under cover so I can get that many more years of use out of (them) it. People that have been here ask, how did you cook this and where can I get one, its that good. It's so simlpe to use, almost like plug and play. I tell everyone to go get one, you'll love it.................

Was this review helpful? (59) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SP5REP
Anderson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Wow, I can now cook food!
11/17/2015

Customer review by MilwaukeeBearsFan

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by MilwaukeeBearsFan
by MilwaukeeBearsFan

Ok, so I burn water. Seriously, ask me some time. Anyway, it turns out I will be alone for Thanksgiving. Am I sad? Nope....except for one thing, no turkey. I started googling turkey cookers and stumbled on The Big Easy and so, hopeful after reading all the reviews decided to try it out. The price was right and better yet, no oil! I figured I would try it out first on the grandkids and did up a couple of whole chickens. Wow...I can now cook food because these chickens came out PERFECT. Perfectly colored, very moist, internal temp at 165 per directions. I was totally amazed and really look forward to Thanksgiving! Item to note was that it was windy so the 1st chicken took about 45 minutes longer to cook but that's fine, came out great. 2nd chicken was quicker after the wind died down. Now I am off to buy accessories for my Big Easy!

MilwaukeeBearsFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 week
Amazing Cooker. Best Tasting Food.
1/3/2016

Customer review by Jeremy92

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Jeremy92
by Jeremy92

Owned this for just a couple months and cooked a couple Turkeys, a bunch of chickens, prime rib and putting a port roast in this afternoon!

Jeremy92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
I'll never buy oil again!
12/25/2015

Customer review by Turkey Man

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by Turkey Man
by Turkey Man

I bought my first Big Easy the first year they were introduced. I now own two. I will never fry again. I cook the turkeys every year for the family get together. I'm not sure how it happens but every year my family says this is the best turkey they have ever tasted, but I use the same recipe yearly. Now my brother, parents, my wife's parents and several friends own THE BIG EASY. By the way makes great Baby Back Ribs.

Turkey Man
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great product
12/31/2015

Customer review by mariquitta

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by mariquitta
by mariquitta

Fantastic we will never buy oil again to deep fry.

mariquitta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 week
Very Satisfied!
12/25/2015

Customer review by dlinville

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by dlinville
by dlinville

This is an excellent product and my family has had nothing but quality results when using the cooker. Family and Friends are amazed by the moisture of the meat and the method! Easy clean up also. We don't have a outside temperature problem since we live in Florida!

dlinville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Best Turkey cooker evet
12/26/2015

Customer review by Pawross

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Pawross
by Pawross

I have been using this product for about 4 years. Fried turkeys for about 30 years. There is no way I would go back to oil frying!! So easy & the best tasting bird ever! This is one product that lives up to its claims!!

Pawross
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Helped sell over a dozon of them
12/18/2015

Customer review by Mike Pav

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by Mike Pav
by Mike Pav

I am a tailgater, at the falcon games where I ran into the marketer of the grill and he was so excited. Bought my first unit 8 years ago and on my second one now. My friends and neighbors have sampled what I have cooked and everyone owns one now. I am sitting in front of two units being wrapped as gift for Christmas gifts as I type. Looking at the accessories as gift for those that own a unit. Bah Hum bug to those that don't like the unit. Mike Pav

Mike Pav
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Excellent product
12/28/2015

Customer review by Dean Nelson

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Dean Nelson
by Dean Nelson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best fryer on the market. No hassle and no mess. Perfect turkeys every time.

Dean Nelson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use. Very little clean up
12/13/2015

Customer review by DakotaDanao

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by DakotaDanao
by DakotaDanao

We have owned ours for almost a year. Cooked turkey, chicken, pork roast, ham, beef roast, potatoes, and chicken drumies. This product plain and simple works awesome!!!! One thing to keep in mind is its a temperature cooker. Invest in digital temperature probe turn on and cook to temperature.... It's that easy. Also remember that cook times are estimated not exact science. Wind outside temp can alter estimated cook times like every other cooker. When this one wears out I will definitely be buying another.

DakotaDanao
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:3 months
Worked one time
12/24/2015

Customer review by JD104

1.0 stars 12/24/2015 by JD104
by JD104

Fryer does not cook turkey all the way through. Outside lloks good. Breast area doesn't cook all the way. Cooked a 20lb, 15lb, 10lb 14lb, 11lb, and 13lb turkey. None of them cooked all the way through. The breast area does not cook all the way.

JD104
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Juicy Turkey and perfectly cooked beef
12/10/2015

Customer review by SabrinaNY

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by SabrinaNY
by SabrinaNY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this as an alternative to using our traditional turkey fryer. First let me say if you are used to a traditional fryer, the Big Easy does not cook as quickly as the other. That would be the only draw back. Having no oily pot and oil to dispose, AWESOME. Not having to buy oil that you can only use a couple times, if that, really AWESOME. We are keeping this on our covered back deck area to continue to cook on through our tough NY winters, we have already used it for beef. I did a dry rub and it turned out fantastic!! We love it.

SabrinaNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Backyard cooking laboratory!
11/3/2015

Customer review by Dubra

5.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Dubra
by Dubra

A friend was moving and gave me this. I began experimenting with different meats, rubs, marinades, etc... This thing is just too much fun. Coupled with a digital thermostat it approaches perfection. Some advice: for pulled pork be patient and really let it get to 185-190 degrees. For ribs (or anything with a rub for that matter) don't buy a rub, make your own. Jarred rubs are mostly salt which, due to the style and speed of cooking, does not get removed from the meat. You will have delicious but too salty ribs. People will still eat them... Also, play with the lower settings to get a longer cooking time. You can even do wrapped baked potatoes in this thing. Unwrap them if you want juice from above dripping on them. This thing just makes the imagination go wild.

Dubra
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
12/26/2011

Customer review by Bickle

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Bickle
by Bickle

We made turkey legs first just to see how they would turn out, they were great. Then we did a whole turkey and it was really good, just as good as the ones done in oil with no oil mess.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bickle
Danville, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1-20 of 264 reviews