Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
16
1-20 of 66 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Disappointed in this grill
2/29/2016

Customer review by Vanamarie

1.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Vanamarie
by Vanamarie

We purchased this with the intention of getting rid of it once our house purchase was done and we were moved in and boy those were a long 7 months to use this grill. I hated every minute. The top was always unhinged and we tightened bolts non stop. It was pre put together so we returned it thinking there was something wrong and got the same one... Same issue within two uses. On top of that no matter how new our tank was or which we used (we have three) it never cooked evenly our steaks are preferred at rare to medium rare and sometimes they would still be half raw at 9 minutes. This grill wasted hundreds of dollars in meat for us so we only used it for things that you can over cook without issue like sasauge or chicken drumsticks.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/3/2016

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using this grill. Has a case been created with us? Please contact Char-Broil directly and we will be able to best assist and help you to get back up and grilling.

Vanamarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
CHAR-BROIL 3-BURNER GAS GRILL WITH SIDE BURNER
6/12/2016

Customer review by Sonny

4.0 stars 6/12/2016 by Sonny
by Sonny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

TWO HOLES WERE NOT DRILLED CORRECTLY. I WANTED TO USE A ROTISERIE BUT CANNOT USE ONE WITH THIS COOKER. THIS WAS NOT STATED ON THE PACKING OR IN THE ADS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sonny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Enough for a family
7/12/2016

Customer review by Eddy

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Eddy
by Eddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Not sure if it will be great for a party

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AN NICE 3-BURNER.
6/2/2016

Customer review by Jimboni38

4.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Jimboni38
by Jimboni38

I bought this gas grill, a year ago and it does a fine job, cooking my meats and fish. . The three - burner system, (that you find in more expensive grills), is great... plenty of heat. And, no briquettes to clean. One drawback is, the placement of a propane gas tank. Instead of "suspending" the tank, I built a lower shelf, to hold tank.That was easy enough. But you sure cannot beat the price. All in all, I love my gas grill, made by the Char- Broil company.

Jimboni38
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Perfect for our grilling habits
5/26/2016

Customer review by Nan B

4.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Nan B
by Nan B

Happy with this grill. Fits our grilling needs. However I'm getting ready to buy a new lid/top for this grill. The inside of the of the lid it seems it gets to hot and the paint is melting away. Not happy with that

Nan B
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Poor quality
6/20/2016

Customer review by laingsburgray

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by laingsburgray
by laingsburgray

This has a ceramic coating that failed on first use around the grill handles. Walmart was helpful with return.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/27/2016

We're very sorry to hear this. Whenever an issue is encountered please contact Char-Broil immediately and we will be able to assist.

laingsburgray
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy Assembly and Great Size
4/24/2016

Customer review by kris4635

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by kris4635
by kris4635

I just bought this prodcut a couple weeks ago and just had it put together. Only took about 30 mins to assemble. Very pleased with how quick it heated up to temp. Definitely recommend for price and size for a few people.

kris4635
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Adequate
8/6/2014

Customer review by Knighthawk

3.0 stars 8/6/2014 by Knighthawk
by Knighthawk

This is my second summer using this grill. It operates fine most of the time, but there are some issues. The igniter works most of the time, but not all of the time. The grates warp quite a bit and sag in the middle, placing them almost touching the burner shields. This happened when I first bought it and thinking the grate was defective, I ordered another one, but with the same results. They cannot withstand the "preheat" temps. The lid was fine until this year. Now it goes so far back, that the warming rack collapes down almost on top of the cooking grate. In this position, I cannot clean the grates with the grill brush, or place food at the back of the grate. This reduces my cooking surface area. One last thing is the handle. When bringing the grill up to pre-heat temps (and I always do this for better searing) the handle gets too hot to handle without a oven mitt or hot pad. If the cooking grates could be a bit more durable and the issues with the hinges (I've seen several complaints about this) fixed, this would be a great grill. For the money paid, I thought it would be much better quality. But it's usable and it gets used almost daily.

Knighthawk
Ft. Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Poor, Poor Quality
7/6/2014

Customer review by Swimmom

1.0 stars 7/6/2014 by Swimmom
by Swimmom

We purchased this grill two months ago as a replacement for one that we had owned for years. The ignition button worked for a week, the lid opened all the back after a month, the grates warped, and now at two months, the painted coating on the interior of the grill is peeling off. In addition, the temperature is very difficult to regulate-it's either too high or too low.Often times the flames are very unevenly dispersed; so you must monitor where items are because one piece of food can cook twice as fast as another. At this point, the only way that I can use it is if I keep the lid open so that paint doesn't flake off onto my food and so that the grill doesn't overheat. I have owned Charbroil in the past without any problems, but this item has certainly soured my views of their quality control.

Swimmom
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
11/26/2012

Customer review by lfsd

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by lfsd
by lfsd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very shotty grill. Very unstable and difficult to put together. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lfsd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/16/2013

Customer review by JNRivera

2.0 stars 5/16/2013 by JNRivera
by JNRivera
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased this Char Broil 3-burner gas grill. As noted in other reviews on Amazon and other sites, many parts will arrive damaged. . That's your first sign of trouble. The box showed some shipping damage, however the damaged parts did not seem to be part of the box damage. Like another reviewer noted, it appears to have been shipped by Char Broil in this condition. Char Broil's website indicates "No Tool Required" because parts are hooked onto loosely pre-installed screws. The enclosed guide book ends the first step with the instruction "Tighten the screws." Apparently the Char Broil people and the instruction guide people are unrelated. "No tools required" actually means at least a phillips head screwdriver. I would also suggest: hammer, rubber mallet, scrap 2" x 4" about 18" long, pliers (several) and vise grips. Your parts will not easily snap together as designed. I also recommend a can of black paint to retouch the parts you will damage with your hammering. You'll need all of these, maybe more, to wrestle the parts together. Initial test seemed OK with good heat. It works, burns hot, but is very unstable. Don't plan on moving this one around the patio. It's a discontinued model and at a deep discount it's a decent deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JNRivera
Los Angeles Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price and Quality is Right On.
7/25/2014

Customer review by Jackie2014

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by Jackie2014
by Jackie2014

Spouse bought this as a replacement at Meijer for a lower price then what is online, spring of 2014. Always had great grills with Char-Broil and this 3-Burner is another great grill, a little concern over the cover but we expect it to last just like the other ones. Both of our last two grills were Char-Broil and the parts wore out before the covers did, very pleased so far with this one and it is the end of July. We grill almost every during the summer so we are probably above average use, during the hot days we are outside and grilling so we do not use the stove. Easy to assemble and to use, good quality.

Jackie2014
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Great Grill that serves its purpose
6/25/2014

Customer review by SS93

4.0 stars 6/25/2014 by SS93
by SS93
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought the grill with the exception of doing casual grilling (once or twice a week). It has not disappointed. I have used the grill more than once or twice a week. Every time that I think of something I am grilling. The flame are a controlled heat and cook the meat evenly. I do have a problem with the side burner and the ignitor does not always work without lighting with matches. I tried to connect it the side burner twice and it still doesn't work. Other than those things I am happy with the grill.

SS93
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/16/2012

Customer review by dosh

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by dosh
by dosh

have looked for a Char-Broil because recommended by Consumer Reports, had hard time finding what I wanted at price that was reasonable. This one a little higher than I wanted to pay, and sure enough, Walmart came out with a model I would have purchased for a better price. However, this one is what we guess will be good, but we have only used it once since the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dosh
Heart of Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
cheap awful grill
6/10/2014

Customer review by Carol

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Carol
by Carol
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this a year ago and have regretted it ever since. It is flimsy, there is high flame and low flame and almost nothing in between. The igniter button hasn't worked properly since day one and char broil won't work with me to replace. The grates get to hot and have warped. Save your money and don't bother with this grill. I just bought a much better one for a lot less money from a rummage sale and it works so much better

Carol
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Queen Of The Grill
6/10/2014

Customer review by DSteel

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by DSteel
by DSteel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I confess, as a 20-something female, I've always left the grilling to whatever guy is available and willing. However, I purchased this grill a few months ago, and I am now the Queen of the Grill! My Char-Broil Classic 3-Burner is easy and safe to use and the food always comes-out delicious. I've been impressing family and friends for months now! Move over fellas - there is a new grill master in town!

DSteel
Richmond, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, Affordable Grill
6/10/2014

Customer review by Byoder40

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Byoder40
by Byoder40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this last summer after my previous gas grill had a hose spring a leak & start the front panel on fire! Thank goodness I follow proper frilling guidelines & was right there to shut the propane off & avoid a disaster. This grill has yaken its place quite nicely. Nothing fancing, but does a fine job of grilling my basics: steaks, burgers, chicken, brats, and ribs.

Byoder40
Clarkston, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor performance
11/5/2014

Customer review by Charleston

2.0 stars 11/5/2014 by Charleston
by Charleston

The product was shipped to us. The porcelain grill grates were already cracked. The have desentagrated. Literally.. The center burner stopped working before the first year was up. Very flimsy in overall design. Handle gets very hot. The secondary rack which holds the lid up... Doesn't.. Real disappointment... Really cheap quality.

Charleston
Charleston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
cheap
6/10/2014

Customer review by price

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by price
by price
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very disappointed, the grates keep warping, the side burner is so flimsy that im I afraid to lay a meat tray on it.Sometimes When you start the grill the propane doesn't wanna come threw the lines so you only get a small flame so you have to shut every thing down and start all over.Just very disappointed with the money we paid.

price
Fishertown, PA, United States
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Every thing you need to grill!!!
6/10/2014

Customer review by Mustang

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Mustang
by Mustang
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought as a replacement for my old grill. Looked for a long time to find a unit the had the features I needed - grill space/heat zones, temperature reading, hot plate and coounter space. This unit met all of my needs and is easy to keep clean. Gas bottle holder is also very convienent - easy to remove and replace bottle.

Mustang
Vancouver, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews