Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

156 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
60
3 stars
18
2 stars
13
1 stars
18
1-20 of 146 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
OK for the money
7/24/2014

Customer review by OHIOfans

3.0 stars 7/24/2014 by OHIOfans
by OHIOfans
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thing was not a grill, but a grill kit. No two pieces were pre-assembled. Took two evenings put it together. Our last grill was just like this and only lasted about three seasons. The new one has more plastic and is lighter weight. With a couple of discounts and gift cards was able to purchase for under $60. Wouldn't pay anymore than that. But the more expensive grills don't last either so the aren't any better options.

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OHIOfans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good grill but needs better directions 4 assembly
5/26/2016

Customer review by Rose

4.0 stars 5/26/2016 by Rose
by Rose

Its a Char-Broil, so you know its going to be a quality product for the price paid. We never used the side burners on our previous grills , so this model without the side burner was perfect. But it was a miserable task putting it together. There are NO WRITTEN directions at all. And the parts are not even labelled L or R or even Numbered. No clues given in this mystery. You have to look at the schematic drawings and hope you're getting it correct. Sometimes you'll find that you should've done a certain step first because you won't be able to access the screw to tighten it. Or find two parts that look similar , but are not exactly the same. So Char-Broil, why not label them so we can put this thing together in less than an hour? Really, its not that difficult to assemble, its just difficult to ascertain your have the correct part in hand. Putting in a new garage door opener was easier than this because everything was labelled.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Value for reliable grill
8/19/2014

Customer review by oldbikebob

4.0 stars 8/19/2014 by oldbikebob
by oldbikebob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I feel this is a good grill for the money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldbikebob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
25 minutes with a screwdriver
6/18/2016

Customer review by Xgotmyweber

4.0 stars 6/18/2016 by Xgotmyweber
by Xgotmyweber

I can't understand how reviews can be so different . I opened the box & took everything out .everything was packaged securely .there were 2 booklets .1 was how to assemble. 2 was how to operate . I don't know how some people say there was no instructions !there were big clear Pictures with clear wording . All the parts had numbered stickers on them .the burners were already assembled and installed in the fire box with the supply hose and regulator ready to attach to a propane tank . The dreaded bag of assorted screws , washers , nuts , bolts , and cotter pins was actually a piece or shrink wrapped cardboard with everything separated by step . Pretty sweet ! No sorting . open instructions to step 1 .remove all screws for step 1 thru perforation in cardboard .step 1 done in 90 seconds .one review said it took him 4 nights to complete the assembly .are you kidding me .you probably shouldn't be BBQing ! You are basically just screwing 4 legs together with a few cross pieces .then plop on the fire box and lid .probably could assemble it in 15 min with a cordless screwdriver. It fired right up .it doesn't have a push button ignition. It ignites when you turn the burner knob to high. It got real hot .it has a strong flame . Just finished the 15 minute break in .the handle wasn't too hot but the side shelves were surprisingly warmer than I expected. I wouldn't leave the cheese for your cheeseburger there .no way It's not a bad little grill for $89. The real question is how long will it last ? ? ?

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xgotmyweber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lesson Learned
7/1/2016

Customer review by Mom2BoysNC

1.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Mom2BoysNC
by Mom2BoysNC

I'm usually pretty good at following instructions and assembling things, but this was a nightmare! The manual doesn't include any written instructions and the diagrams are hard to follow (100 times harder than anything from Ikea). The pieces on the diagram are labeled, but the actual pieces have no labeling on them, so it makes it impossible to even know which piece you should be using. After 2 hours I had only gotten one leg put together and decided that it was not worth the hassle. I boxed everything up and back to the store it went. My local Walmart store did offer assembly, but there was no way to get the assembled grill back to my house so that wasn't an option. I've definitely learned my lesson and will only buy pre-assembled grills from now on! Congrats to those of you who have figured out how to put it together...you definitely deserve some type of engineering award!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2BoysNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Kate P.
6/16/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/16/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Holy jeez this took me 8 hours to assemble. Over 2 days. No lie. Granted I've never assembled a grill before, but COME ON. I've assembled my share of furniture. There is a manual that shows little pictures of the parts and assigns them a number and the schematics show roughly what you are supposed to do, in like 15 different steps. I got to step 9 before I called it a night and picked up the next morning. For real, a 2-burner grill at Lowes is going to start at $200, and this was about 1/2 that, but what you save you will make up for in the time it takes to put it together. Plus, I bought the Charbroil 2-burner grill cover at the same time and IT DOES NOT FIT. You will have to take one of the side shelves off to get the grill cover over this grill. At any rate, hopefully it works well, I haven't used it yet ;)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 7/1/2016

We're sorry to hear of the issues encountered with assembly. To best protect your grill we recommend the Char Broil 2-3-Burner All-Season Grill Cover. This is model # 8926390 and it is available on the Walmart site. Please contact Char-Broil directly and we will be able to further assist.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Grill for the Money
6/10/2016

Customer review by DFWKeith

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by DFWKeith
by DFWKeith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The grill is as advertised - appeared to evenly distribute the heat in my first and only try so no complaints yet. This is a great grill for the money. Definitely nice to have someone help you put it together - extra hands to hold pieces.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DFWKeith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for starter grill
6/23/2013

Customer review by KristiK2

4.0 stars 6/23/2013 by KristiK2
by KristiK2

I purchased this grill 3 years ago to replace an older Char-Broil grill. The grill does not have any frills, but it worked as intended for grilling 2-3 nights per week. Pros: Small size does not take up much room on the patio I chose to only install one side table to save room Fired up each time with a single press of the ignition button The grease trap below didn't leak (but needs to be cleaned regularly) Good size for 1-2 people Cons: The paint on the interior cover has flaked and come off over time The handle never stays tight (bad design) Not large enough if you regularly cook for a large family or parties I'm replacing the grill because the heat shield has rusted through and it's not worth paying for a new part + shipping when I can replace the entire grill for $99. I would definitely recommend this grill to others noting the issues above.

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KristiK2
Ladera Ranch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Happy grilling
6/4/2016

Customer review by Cindy

4.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Cindy
by Cindy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well, right size for me and my husband. Many parts to put together and directions could have been better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great small grill (so far)
7/11/2014

Customer review by Clairadrial

4.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Clairadrial
by Clairadrial
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old grill was completely rusted out. Probably had it 10 yrs. Got this one three days after I ordered it, even though I chose free shipping. The expedited shipping which was much more expensive had promised delivery the day AFTER I got mine. I had to assemble the whole thing, no words, just pictures for directions. I would have preferred some words as I put the first parts together wrong and had to take back apart and reassemble. All in all not horrible, but as I am disabled with very bad back, a couple pieces were challenging. I put the whole thing together in my kitchen so I could be inside and sit on a step stool. Finally used it last night. I gave four instead of five stars because I'm not sure how it will hold up, and it seemed to be very hot even on low setting. But overall, I am thrilled to have a grill again. I did get a 60" grill cover for it, which seems a little big, but has Velcro tabs on both sides so at least it stays in place. This fall I'm going to store it the garage so I can avoid some of the weather. All in all very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clairadrial
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Taking it back.
4/29/2016

Customer review by ddsjewels

2.0 stars 4/29/2016 by ddsjewels
by ddsjewels

I have been working on this grill for 4 days. Instructions are not very helpful. The end broke off the axle for the wheels and the bottom of the grill wont line up with the stand. Totally frustrated. Going to spend a lot more now on one that is already together. Thanks Char Broil!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/4/2016

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Has a case been created with us? When an issue is encountered we ask that you contact us directly and we will be able to best assist and replace any damaged parts.

ddsjewels
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value!
7/16/2016

Customer review by Rose

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Rose
by Rose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a 2-burner gas grill. It works great and is easy to clean and maintain. The directions to assemble are a bit confusing and hard to follow. That doesn't take away the fact that you can't beat this value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product/good company
3/30/2016

Customer review by Cajun

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by Cajun
by Cajun

I purchased this Char-Broil 2-Burner Gas Grill because I so liked the 1st one I owned and used for 8 years. Char-Broil is an excellent product and an understanding company with good telephone and chat assistance.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cajun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
lots of parts, few instructions
4/2/2016

Customer review by notgrillinyet

3.0 stars 4/2/2016 by notgrillinyet
by notgrillinyet

grill has a lot of parts and poor instructions. use your imagination to put this thing together. grill works OK now that it is assempbled.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/19/2016

We value you as a Char-Broil customer and apologize for any frustrations with assembly. If you ever have any questions please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best assist.

notgrillinyet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awful!!
6/15/2016

Customer review by frank

2.0 stars 6/15/2016 by frank
by frank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have seen this grill in 1980. Every piece had to be assembled, over 100 different fasteners etc. Two legs were bent from sitting in a warehouse for twenty years or more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/17/2016

We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Was a case created with us? Please contact us directly and we will be able to best investigate and assist.

frank
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No complaints here!
10/11/2012

Customer review by NotSoDumb

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by NotSoDumb
by NotSoDumb

I've owned this grill for about three years. Considering how little it cost, it has stood up surprisingly well. Amazingly, the pushbutton starter still works even though this grill has sat unprotected on my deck for the past 12 months. (The cover disappeared about a year ago and I never bothered to buy a new one.) I've owned far more expensive grills whose starters died after only a year or two despite having consistently been kept under cover when not in use. It's a great choice for a one- or two-person household. It can be pressed into occasional use for a larger number of people, but depending on how many mouths you have to feed you may find yourself standing there still cooking your own meal long after everyone else has been served. If you frequently cook for four or more, you will probably want something bigger. The firebox is still solid, showing no signs of rusting out or burning through. I recently had to buy a replacement heat tent for it as the original had nearly disintegrated, quite understandable considering its age and the number of times I've forgotten to shut off the gas after cooking and left the grill burning for hours. (My sincerest apologies to the ozone layer!) I expect to get another year or two of use out of this grill before it will become more cost effective to buy a new grill than to keep this one going by replacing parts one or two or three at a time. All in all, I consider my money to have been well spent.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotSoDumb
Exeter, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Grill
7/4/2016

Customer review by Mark

4.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Mark
by Mark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Decent small grill for the price but let store put it together - takes a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fell apart in a year
4/18/2012

Customer review by MWGx3

2.0 stars 4/18/2012 by MWGx3
by MWGx3

We use our grill several times per week. It is stored in the garage and wheeled out about 5 feet each time we use it. Within a year one of the wheels fell off and now the top rack inside the grill has broken and falls down each time we grill. It's a good cheap grill but not if you use it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (82) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MWGx3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great grill for beginner or seasoned veteran
5/25/2012

Customer review by rick61

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by rick61
by rick61

I have owned this model for several years and couldn't be more pleased with it's performance. I know it isn't the fanciest model out there and far from the most expensive, but it does a heck of a job for me. I once grilled 400 Wal-Mart sirlion steaks in one day using this grill and it performed flawlessly. Maintainence is simple on this grill, as I have had to replace the igniter, burner and surface a couple of times since mine is 7 years old. Since I prefer grilling to cooking inside, mine gets used a lot. Keeping it clean & maintained is the key to the life of any grill.

Was this review helpful? (79) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rick61
Tyler, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Char-Broil 2 burner gas grill
3/28/2016

Customer review by GrandpaHappy

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by GrandpaHappy
by GrandpaHappy

Very pleased with the purchase and quality of the grill. Not happy with Fed-Ex for delivering it to the wrong house.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaHappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews