Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 121 reviews | 1.3 out of 5

1.5 stars

121 reviews | 1.3 out of 5

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
9
1 stars
103
6%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
Absolutely Awful
6/4/2012

Customer review by petrapan52

1.0 stars by petrapan52

I have used Rubbermaid drain boards all my adult life, and purchased the small black drainboard to match my kitchen. The hard plastic drain boards now being manufactured are absolutely awful. The dishes, glassware, or anything else I choose to drain on this board slides off the slippery board surface and into the sink. After too many broken glasses, and the loss of my favorite coffee mug this goes in the trash. Very disappointed in Rubbermaid for selling such an inferior product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
petrapan52
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Where are the old BIG drain trays with end opening
3/9/2012

Customer review by LilCAS

5.0 stars by LilCAS

I agree with the dissatisfied customers who have already commented. I too need the old larger size and design drain tray, and have driven myself crazy looking for it anywhere I shop. My old tray finally cracked. I desperately taped it to be able to use while I continued my search. No where to be found. To heck with the retailers need for whatever; listen to your true customers. We need the old, big trays back! I want cream or white! By the way, I did NOT purchase a new style because I could tell it wouldn't work....

LilCAS
Gold Country, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Easy to clean!
9/16/2014

Customer review by finnbaker1

5.0 stars by finnbaker1

I love this product ... it is sturdy and very east to keep bright and clean.

finnbaker1
Up in the Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good Value for the Money
10/9/2008

Customer review by LenetteQ

4.0 stars by LenetteQ

Just looking for somthing inexpensive to keep your counter dry while drip drying your dishes? This product works great.

LenetteQ
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works with Stainless Steel Sinks
4/25/2009

Customer review by gpwguy

4.0 stars by gpwguy

I'm very pleased with this product, it fits nicely against my stainless steel sink and I haven't had any drainage problems yet. I read other reviews complaining about the stiffness of the drain board, but I load mine up with pots and pans and the stiffness seems to help it continue to drain instead of pooling water. It does have a tendency to slide around a little bit, so Rubbermaid could make some improvements there; but when we bought it all the other drain boards looked to be made of the same material, so they all would slide around. I like the look of the new boards compared to the old ones too. I'd give it an A.

gpwguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If It's Frosted, I Love It!
4/1/2015

Customer review by Sophie2

4.0 stars by Sophie2

I love the look of the clear drain board, which is frosted plastic. I use it under a large off-white Rubbermaid dish rack, which I also like because it is spacious. The drain board should be made a little wider so glasses hanging off the side hooks don't drip onto the counter. It drains from the long side, which is different from past drain boards, but is OK, but the lip that goes over the edge of the sink could protrude just a little more. The advantage to a side-draining board is that your dish rack has a smaller profile on your counter. And I love the frosted plastic! It would be nice if the off-white drainer came with a frosted cutlery cup instead of off-white. The cutlery cup does look small, but it is surprising just how much cutlery it holds. You need a few tweeks here and there, but keep up with the frosted plastic cause if is fresh and modern and looks a lot less clunky on the counter! I would buy it again!

Sophie2
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
New Isn't Always Better
6/10/2009

Customer review by SMom

3.0 stars by SMom

I just replaced the dish drainer and drain board I've used for 30 years. They were Rubbermaid and still in decent shape with reasonable wear. When the drain board began to split (the split never "grew" past an inch or so) a few years ago I began to look at new ones, but found the design for the board had "gone sideways"! I finally broke down and got the new one, and I like it as little as I thought I would. Some of the new design features are okay or nuetral, but please bring back the orientation of the old ones!! The new one doesn't channel the water into a small enough outlet, and the counter area accepts the old design better.

SMom
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't Use It
5/14/2009

Customer review by Bobbity

3.0 stars by Bobbity

I chose the large drain tray and had to return it. It drains from the long side and my sink is too small to place it that way. I can't find one that drains from the short end. I agree with the other writers: Puleeze bring back the old style!

Bobbity
Orange Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Drain boards
3/3/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I am not happy with the new Rubbermaid drain boards. I was always happy with the older, original model. The new boards are not as flexible and they are too stiff. I don't care for the microban. There was nothing wrong with the original drain boards. I have bought a supply of the original drain boards so I don't have to buy the new ones the I dislike. I wish Rubbermaid would still offer the original drain board instead of eliminating it.

An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
old one lasted for years
10/14/2009

Customer review by gactor

2.0 stars by gactor

I looked to replace a 16-year old drainer board. All over my area - without finding a large board that has the draining lip on the short side. The other kind doesn't fit on my counter. Also, the material is rather stiff, and I'm wondering about staining.

gactor
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bring Back the Old Model
4/22/2010

Customer review by Grace2005

2.0 stars by Grace2005

I've used Rubbermaid Dish Drainers all my life. They were well designed and lasted a long time..Yesterday I purchased a new set (drainer and board). I'm returning them today. The new board won't drain the water into the sink which has a lip similar to the one in your photo.That's reason enough. I also don't like the flimsy plasticy feel to it. It would slip all over the counter. Bring back the old rubber model please.

Grace2005
Berwyn,Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Drain from side doesn't work for me
2/28/2009

Customer review by greygeek

2.0 stars by greygeek

Our old drain board drained from the end (the short side) which worked well for our sink, which has a lip between the counter and the sink itself. The new design, draining from the long side, keeps slipping off the lip and dumping the water onto the counter. We cannot find a drain board that drains the old way. Why did Rubbermaid stop making them that way? At least offer both and don't force us to use one that doesn't work as well.

greygeek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Drain Tray
2/25/2013

Customer review by connjo

2.0 stars by connjo

I have used your products for years and been totally satisfied. However, I have a problem with your new style drain tray and hope I will not have to look for another manufacturer's product. In the past I have used the old style drain tray with the short drain end. I find the new one does not work well at all. I have to angle it so the water drains into the sink and not on the counter. If the tray is accidentally moved (very easy to do) the result is water on the counter. The angle at both ends of the front should be raised even more so water drain into the sink. Are there any plans to manufacture the old style once again?

connjo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed with drain board
6/11/2013

Customer review by Skylar

2.0 stars by Skylar

I've used Rubbermaid products for 35 years with much satisfaction but the last drain board I purchased did not live up to what I've come to expect from your company. I bought the large drain board and it is not quite as heavy duty as my old one. The previous board had solid plastic running down each short side on the bottom which made it sturdy. Also, the new one I got doesn't fit over the side of my slightly raised sink and water goes underneath of it and onto my counter. I see many other people aren't satisfied with the new drain boards either. It would be nice if you offered a board like or very similar to the old one. Note: It would also be great if your board was raised up on the back side even a little more so the water drains out better!! Thanks for your interest in your customers' feedback!!

Skylar
Pierson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Appearance is not fashion.
4/11/2014

Customer review by cici

2.0 stars by cici

I don't like the appearance. in the market, there are a lot of options. Hope Rubbermaid will develop more up-to-date products.

cici
Sub Standard
6/26/2014

Customer review by NickO

2.0 stars by NickO

Bought one of these to replace our old one that we purchased several years ago. It's lighter and made of a harder material and it slides on the countertop when placing dishes on it. Sure wish Rubbermaid made these with the original material.

NickO
Bradenton, FL, United States
doesnt drain into sink
7/12/2014

Customer review by pjl13027

2.0 stars by pjl13027

needed a new drain board to go with the new sink. this one doesn't work. maybe if I had an undermount sink it would be ok but I don't. the lip does not extend far enough to go over the edge of the sink so the water goes on the counter. kind of defeats the purpose of a drain board. If you made an extra large with a larger lip it would work. a little higher on the side away from the sink would also be good, better drainage.

pjl13027
Baldwinsville, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst Product
4/26/2010

Customer review by sjgl

1.0 stars by sjgl

I have bought Rubbermaid products as well as my mom for many years. Your drain boards are horrible as they do not drain water off them. It just sits there or you need to prop the board up with something. I don't like the dish drainers for dishes either. I returned to using a drain board that was 10 years old. I wish I had kept the old dish drainers as they were a better product.

sjgl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Drain 1182
3/9/2010

Customer review by Marvin

1.0 stars by Marvin

Bad design. The original Basic Drain Board design was excellent. The drain was located in the short dimension, the sides were wider, and the drain lip was longer. This design may be fine for very small kitchens, however the original "Basic Drain Board" design & quality is best for standard size kitchen drain boards with either over or under counter top sinks. This new design is a mess and Rubbermaid should return to the original design or perhaps make both designs and thus give their customers an option.

Marvin
Would recommend to a friend? No
cheap dish board
11/1/2009

Customer review by margo

1.0 stars by margo

I've always bought Rubbermaid dish drains and mats. The new ones are not as heavy and the drain edge doesn't lip over my sink edge enough (can you believe I don't have a flat corian or granite counter?) so I get water under the mat and it runs down off the counter.

margo
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 119 total reviews