Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

154 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

154 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
92
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 132 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews
7/25/2012

Customer review by johnsonfan

4.0 stars 7/25/2012 by johnsonfan
by johnsonfan

This is a really heavy duty safe! It is not something you would want to carry around but I feel confident that if there were a fire or flood, my documents would be safe and sound. It certainly is spacious and will hold all of the average person's important papers. I think it is a good quality safe and well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnsonfan
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/1/2013

Customer review by oldldy

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by oldldy
by oldldy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I spent lots of time searching for the right safe, and finally settled on this fire and water safe model. I was planning to use the safe without the hanging files, but found that the inside dimensions were a little too narrow to accommodate an 8 1/2 sheet of paper flat. Therefore, I had to buy the hanging files after all. I bought them at WalMart at a good price, so didn't mind the extra cost. I like everything else about the safe and think it will be a good fit for my document needs.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldldy
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good safe filing cabinet
1/22/2014

Customer review by onthegard

4.0 stars 1/22/2014 by onthegard
by onthegard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall I'm pleases with it. Heavy enough you know it will survive but not to heavy that one person can't carry over short distances. Works great a a filling cabinet that is secure, perfect size for the pendaflex hanging folders. Wish it came with a net for the spot in the lid to put cd's or other electron stuff in, you have to buy a net seprate if you want to use the space available in the lid.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onthegard
Salt Lake City ,UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
1/12/2012

Customer review by DiscGolfDude

4.0 stars 1/12/2012 by DiscGolfDude
by DiscGolfDude

I thought this safe would have a more sturdy locking mechanism, but overall it is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiscGolfDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1/8/2012

Customer review by cgs64

4.0 stars 1/8/2012 by cgs64
by cgs64

Safe is very sturdy and weighs 46 lbs. Also sharp looking and roomy.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cgs64
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by soxandtux

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by soxandtux
by soxandtux
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, I am pleased with this fire/water proof safe. It holds hanging file folders and a good number of files. It can be hard to latch until you realize you need to push down the black part of the latch, not the whole top. The only major complaint I have is that there are NO handles of any kind. This is a heavy item and once full is even heavier. Without handles, it is hard to move around because you have to get your arms completely around it to lift it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soxandtux
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a safe
11/21/2013

Customer review by drizuid

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by drizuid
by drizuid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i haven't dunked it or taken a blow torch to it, but it holds stuff and locks..

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drizuid
Mount Juliet, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, basic, safe storage for papers/files
1/28/2013

Customer review by MechanicalEngineer1

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by MechanicalEngineer1
by MechanicalEngineer1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The SentrySafe Fire and Waterproof File is a good, basic unit without going overboard on size, complexity, and cost. It should hold as many documents as the average household needs to protect. This does not include photos since some people have many, many photos and photo albums; however, it will be adequate for the normal amount of legal documents, passports, vehicle titles, property deeds, etc. It will also accommodate letter-size hanging files. Although is has a key lock, this is not a safe to protect things from thieves. Although slightly heavy, and it has no handle, it is small enough for one person to carry off. Also, the plastic latching mechanism could probably be hammered loose easily. If you have things to protect from thieves, this is not for you. The only real negative that I have is that the latch is a little difficult to press closed and pull open. The amount of force required to snap the latch closed is estimated at 15-20 lbs., pressing with the palm of your hand - it does seal tightly. It will then require about 5 lbs. of force on the latch with your fingertips to open. As the instructions say, pressing down on the lid to partly compress the gasket helps a little to operate the latch. The latch operation seems to be getting easier the more I use it, however, so it could still fully meet my expectations. Since we have no snooping kids (or adults) in the household, we probably will not even lock it with the key. Rather than have a burglar carry it off, I would rather them be able to see that there's nothing of immediate value in it for them like cash, drugs or guns. For keeping household papers safe from fire/water, it will serve that purpose rather well at a very good cost compared to other units I researched.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MechanicalEngineer1
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product -- Great Price
8/29/2012

Customer review by PurpleSageRR

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by PurpleSageRR
by PurpleSageRR

I bought this to replace a much smaller fireproof safe I've had for years. I really, really like this one because it comfortably fits the 1 inch plastic binder that my living trust documents are stored in. I looked a long time for a reasonably priced fireproof/waterproof safe for this purpose, so I'm very happy with this gem of a find.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleSageRR
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good safe
8/28/2011

Customer review by tiffybear

4.0 stars 8/28/2011 by tiffybear
by tiffybear

I bought this to replace another fireproof safe I had from the past that was cracked and was compromised. I like this, it's sturdy and appears as though it would hold up well during a fire or flood. It's just a little smaller than my last safe, so that's the only disappointing part. Otherwise, good product!

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiffybear
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great size
11/11/2013

Customer review by Bud52

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Bud52
by Bud52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really great for storing a large amount of personal documents. Very roomy and you can review files easily.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bud52
Mt. Airy, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Roomy Safe
11/20/2012

Customer review by Canonshooter1

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by Canonshooter1
by Canonshooter1

I purchace this at my local Walmart store, and it has lots of room and is built very well for the price. Don't care alot about the plastic handle used to open it, even though it makes it easier than an older model I also have. Works great for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canonshooter1
Somewhere in WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Quality & Value
10/12/2013

Customer review by FiolaGTX

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by FiolaGTX
by FiolaGTX

Plenty of room for documents and other valuable items. Yet to see if waterproof from flooding. Overall, feel my valuables are much more secure. Only Fear: Remote possibility of any strong-armed thief taking it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FiolaGTX
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safe safe
11/30/2013

Customer review by Wikiwmn

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Wikiwmn
by Wikiwmn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good value I have looking for this at A good price I found it

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wikiwmn
Pittsburgh Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will do the job
2/6/2014

Customer review by Busybell

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Busybell
by Busybell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a heavy sucker, weighs at least a double hernia. I stenciled "IMPORTANT PAPERS" on the top and front. in hi vis yellow' I don't intend to put money or anything of monetary value in it, so it is not locked. Maybe that will keep a burglar from taking it. I feel that my important legal papers are well protected from fire & water. I will probably put my name and address on the outside also. We live in tornado ally.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busybell
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
12/26/2012

Customer review by Jaryn

1.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Jaryn
by Jaryn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe I received was dirty on the outside and had scuff marks on the outside. Not too long after opening the safe the rubber lining inside the lid just fell out. Overall it looked cheap and shotty and I am glad to have returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaryn
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
See below
8/18/2013

Customer review by KMcph

1.0 stars 8/18/2013 by KMcph
by KMcph
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was very happy with the safe the first couple of time I used it but when I got all my files together, organized and in the safe it refused to close and lock. It is not too full and the files are not too tall, they easily fit. So, I am going to have to make a return trip to Walmart with the return (which, by the way, is too heavy for me to get into my car without help). Very sorry and disappointed that this happened, it is the first time I have been disappointed with an online order.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMcph
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/2/2012

Customer review by gurban77

4.0 stars 4/2/2012 by gurban77
by gurban77

Sturdy construction though the locking mechanism seems a little flimsy. The walls are nice and thick and the inside is fairly roomy though not quite as big as I expected. Overall, it works well and serves its function.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gurban77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
inexpensive piece of mind
11/28/2013

Customer review by omym

4.0 stars 11/28/2013 by omym
by omym
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

large enough for most family needs small enough to fit in a closet

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
omym
Toms River , NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Value
1/18/2013

Customer review by GrandmaYvette

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by GrandmaYvette
by GrandmaYvette
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For a while I have been researching fireproof and waterproof safes in which to keep my important papers. I bought a house recently, and the deed is just one more valuable document needing to be kept in a safe place. For a couple of months I had been debating whether to buy this at a big warehouse store. Then I found it at Walmart on sale and immediately ordered it. This safe is heavy but not so heavy that it can't be carried out in the event of fire or floods. All your important documents, as well as those digitally backed up, stored in one safe place. My only complaint is that it isn't wide enough for legal-size document, but those file safes cost three time the price of this one. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has important files and backup files.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaYvette
Dallas, Texas area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews