Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
11
1 stars
19
1-20 of 135 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews
No Nonsense Tablet
1/27/2013

Customer review by Shumby

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Shumby
by Shumby

Using this tablet for several weeks, I can confirm I made the right choice for my needs. After trying all contenders, the blackberry playbook 32G won by a nose and this is why. The case is sturdy metal, feels substantial, does not flex. The screen is gorgeous, bravo, brightness and contrast make text crisp and color images pop. Finger response is first rate, but not overly sensitive either, I like the fingerswipe sideways to close an app, intuitive. The system upgraded at first start, took only a few minutes, and now more apps than I will ever need are available. FB, the browser itself, and my email client (gmail) work perfectly, and tethers with bluetooth to most cellphones, mine is a samsung g3. Wi-fi is strong, connecting, and maintaining a connection at home or on the go without a hitch. The sound is very loud and clear, with nice response- great for gaming, music, movies, whatever, frankly puts apple and nexus 7 to shame, and there are 2 speakers, not 1. I have the rapid charging stand which is twice as fast(a charge lasts hours btw), and provides a nice pedestal to perch while not in use. I did not have any issues as some mentioned with the standard plug in charger, it was tight and secure, but I could see where the connector could break if bent at the insertion point. I purchased the playbook because of past experience with the brand, the perceived quality, nice price, software updates, processor speed, and just a general balance of design and function. Many will underestimate blackberry, and I think apple already has. Schools and businesses are snapping up the units for a reason, these are sturdy and secure. I realize the market has many choices, the hd nook, the kindle fire, and the nexus 7 I feel were close in usability, and may suit those who will spend more time in the B&N, Amazon, and Google worlds. The nook hd felt sleek and light but flimsy, the nexus has only one weak sounding speaker, and the kindle hd was slow and heavy. My plans are to use this for travel and home convenience, so extra doo-dads do not impress me, but the quality and intuitive simplicity do.

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shumby
Western North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/18/2011

Customer review by Alivenkikin

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by Alivenkikin
by Alivenkikin

Excellent product. It is exactly what I expected and the experience using it for business and entertainment keeps getting better as they roll out the updates. As a matter of fact, I am typing my review on the Playbook. Excellent and easy to master user interface. Outstanding portability. Photos and videos taken with the Playbook are of the highest quality and resolution. Word to Go, etc., easy to use and I look forward to updates increasing the power of the Playbook for business. The best thing by far is the Bridge application, which enables me to browse and use the internet, to reply to email, update calendar and contacts, and send messages via BlackBerry Messenger without paying an additional fee (e.g., 3G or tethering) via my BlackBerry Storm 2. I am a BlackBerry user, have been for years, and never wanted to use or purchase an iPhone or an iPad. I waited for the Playbook since last fall's announcement specifically because I knew it would meet my needs better than any Apple product.

Was this review helpful? (200) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alivenkikin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/16/2013

Customer review by CCofD

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by CCofD
by CCofD
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best purchase I've ever made. An absolute steal for the money. It's like a mini laptop of the highest quality. The price on this was $599 when it was introduced in 2011. I could care less about the supposed lack of apps. The size, feel and build are perfect. The OS is perfect. The Internet browsing is wonderful. The speakers are great. The screen quality is amazing. The email works beautifully. The talk about long startup time is ridiculous. I just swipe from the standby mode, no problem. I can't think of any product that can do so much so well for this price. It befuddles me why people are so negative about BlackBerry products. They are top of the line quality all the way. Even with their recent financial troubles they will survive. Quality and true value always win in the end. I bought one for $169 last year. Use it everyday at home and work. Just bought 2 more 32gb at $129 as presents for family members. Have played around with friends iPads and Nexus. IPad is cumbersome in size and nowhere as slick as this gesture based device. Nexus was like a toy. I previously owned an inexpensive android device. Absolutely no comparison.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CCofD
St. Clair Shores, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't do Android Apps, but the price was right.
11/26/2012

Customer review by gaa53871

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by gaa53871
by gaa53871
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I first received the Playbook, I was very disappointed that I could not access my Google Apps store because the Playbook uses its own proprietary software. But then I discovered that someone created a website that converts Android apps to Playbook ".bar" files. All the apps I use on my Android tablet work on the Playbook after converting, so now I really love it! There is not much you can do to the layout but change the wallpaper. But I don't really care about that. One thing I really like is being able to swipe from the bottom and either minimize or close an app. It is really handy, I can be playing Angry Birds and bring up the camera without having to quit. I can also close apps without worrying that they are accidentally running in the background. Overall, it is totally worth the 159 I paid for it. I don't think I would love it as much if I had paid 300 or more...

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gaa53871
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So much fun
11/13/2011

Customer review by tiredgrandma

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by tiredgrandma
by tiredgrandma

This was my anniversary present, and my husband was lucky to get it at such a great price. $200 off normal price. But the playbook is fantastic. Bridges off my blackberry so I can use it even if I don't have wifi available. Only drawback, had to get wifi for home in order to set it up. Tons of apps for free on blackberry appworld. Can't be beat for games and just plain fun. Has wonderful organizer plus more available. The free apps are fantastic, everything from games, to shopping, to the Bible, there seems to be something available for everyone. LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (160) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiredgrandma
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great multitasking!
11/27/2012

Customer review by KMCKevin

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by KMCKevin
by KMCKevin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this because of the brand name and price. I paid the same price for the 32 gig model that everyone else was selling the 16gb model for. About 179.00 after tax and free shipping. The tablet works great for the price. It isn't an iPad but does things iPad doesn't. Mainly multitasking a great all in one messaging center where your email and social messages can be accessed all at one time. You can switch between running apps with just a swipe of the screen. Docs to go will let you create edit and open ms word and excel documents. You can also compose and send rich text emails which are beautiful compared to plain text emails. The weather app is better than the stock iPhone app but you will have trouble finding certain apps like eBay and so on. So far I haven't been able to get the bing maps app to fine my location but that may only be available with the 4g version of the tablet because I don't believe the wifi only version that I have includes a GPS. I mainly got this to surf the Internet and send a few emails with while watching tv but wanted to try the blackberry brand and it will do this very well. It is about two and a half times as thick as the iPad mini and pretty heavy. The screen size is quiet a bit smaller as well but for the price very well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KMCKevin
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast tablet with great visual and sound!
12/20/2011

Customer review by MichiganChick

4.0 stars 12/20/2011 by MichiganChick
by MichiganChick

I have not written a review before, but I felt compelled to add one given the mixed reviews on the Blackberry Playbook. I love the 7" size, and this tablet is fast. The graphics and sound are amazing! There are apps already available for reading books (kobo), and Android compatibility is supposed to come in February 2012 with the updated OS. You CAN read email NOW through GMAIL, YAHOO, anything really, as the tablet has a complete internet browser capability installed. I use my calendar on Hotmail, and it is perfect. The touch type is very easy to use. The multitask capability is easy and does not slow with multiple apps or windows open. I have used GOHBO through the internet browser, and it's gorgeous. Netflix is not available through the browser, but it is supposed to be coming after February. Movies and videos play on different websites such as HBO and myLifetimeTV. They are beautiful and sound is great. The radio and news app, Slacker is great. Pandora plays on the browser perfectly, and it sounds unreal for a small tablet. I'm still learning the device, but I really like it. Youtube is also great. The business apps include Word, spreadsheet, pdf reader and a Powerpoint viewer. I don't have a Blackberry phone, but I do use Wifi in my office or on my hot spot Palm Pre phone. It does sync up with your computer to install music, video or business files. Comparing this to the Amazon Kindle or Nook is easy. The graphics, speed, memory and browswer on the Playbook offer much more than the Kindle. This ALSO has camera and video camera capability which the Kindle and Nook do not. They also don't have full browser capability. Good luck with your decision, but I really like this and am looking forward to the February software update when the Kindle reader should be available with the android compatibility in the new software OS. Right now, you CANNOT use library downloads with the Kobo apps this currently has, but that should be fixed in February.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MichiganChick
Metro Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect For Blackberry Users
11/24/2012

Customer review by veekee

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by veekee
by veekee

I have always had a Blackberry phone and was totally sold on trying the Playbook simply because it wouldn't cost me anything extra in data usage since I would be using the same plan as I use on my phone - unlimited everything. I cannot be happier because as long as my phone has service, my tablet has service. They have recently added the ability to text from the tablet (though I cannot attach photos/videos yet or send to a group that isn't already in my phone contact list#. I love the size because it fits perfectly in my purse #I don't carry big bags) and doesn't add all that extra weight in my briefcase. I can create and edit word docs, keep up with the latest news and add all of my email accounts. It froze up twice in a year and I simply performed a "shift,alt,delete" kind of function and all was well!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
veekee
B'ham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Props to BB, not brickbats
12/13/2011

Customer review by blazon1

4.0 stars 12/13/2011 by blazon1
by blazon1

I purchased the 32GB BB PB bundle that is offered by Walmart, but I purchased at the special price that was offered by BB thru 12/3/11. I had read a number of negative reviews of this tablet but had played around with a demo model and was impressed by it. When BB dropped the prices for a limited time, I decided to make the purchase. After some initial problems getting the wifi to work (due to an old wifi router, not because of the PB), I was able to get things setup and running. It is very easy to work with the PB, with the touch screen being very responsive to the hand gestures needed to navigate the PB. The screen is eye-catching without being obtrusive, and should be familiar to users of the BB smartphones. Video looks great on this device, and the audio speakers on each side of the PB are surprisingly good. Also, I like the size of this device as it fits perfectly in one hand and is light enough to hold without discomfort. Overall, the experience with this device has so far been a very good one. Is the PB perfect? No, there are some things they need to improve for the next version. As many have already stated, they need to offer more apps for this device. Mind you, I can't see ever getting around to using the hundreds of thousands of apps offered for the iPad, but the offerings from BB are a bit skimpy at this time. Also, BB has an app related to showing you the different functions of the BB PB, but you have to download it to view it. This should be a part of the system when you first boot it up, though. In general, I think this device should be marketed as an entertainment device, not a business device (although it should work fine for those purposes). It has the chops to go toe-to-toe with the other tablets, but BB is limiting themselves by focusing on the business market. So, I am quite pleased with this purchase, especially since I got a very nice deal on three accessories with this purchase. Frankly, if the iPad is a better device than the Playbook, then it must be some great kit because the PB is pretty impressive.

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blazon1
Williamsville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Met my expectations, all positive!
9/30/2013

Customer review by Chipsliders

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Chipsliders
by Chipsliders
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed to go to Vegas. Don't want or need A $$$ PLAN and a Smart Phone for internet and emailing. Mostly needed internet. Can't handle internet access on a stupid smart phone. I have a cheapo phone FOR CALLS. So I get the Playbook and Love it. Then a MIFI and I was connected on the go where there wasn't any wifi. I like the "docs on the go" from my desktop, Easily transferred docs I needed to show all from my desktop. Even plays Powerpoint and more. The Playbook is more business friendly. I added a keyboard case and a wireless mouse a Wedge by Surface and very pleased with having 3 interfaces that all work together. Way Cool! Setting up I had some issues and this is where it gets interesting, the SUPPORT. It was outstanding! Beyond the call of duty was my rep. So my business trip was a complete success. Oh Happy Day Tom

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chipsliders
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
superb
12/28/2011

Customer review by Vlad2000

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by Vlad2000
by Vlad2000

excellent tablet! speed and pic quality second to none. prefer over ipad any day.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vlad2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Best Tablet Out there
1/16/2012

Customer review by ArrancarO

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by ArrancarO
by ArrancarO
Walmart associate

As far as OS goes this is the best tablet out there. NO flaws. NO freeze. Super smooth. And the Multitasking is the best thing ever. Is the number one feature a tablet should have in my opinion. the only downfall right now is the lack of apps. there are apps in the blackberry app world for the tablet very nice gaming and interesting apps but its not as compared with the android or the apple market. but other than that its the best.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArrancarO
Gainsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great for the price
12/13/2011

Customer review by Cwestauto

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Cwestauto
by Cwestauto

I LOVE this item. It does exactly what I need it to do and at 299.00 the price was right. I read alot of books and needed a e-reader or tablet that could read PDFs. This one does this and more. Downloaded free apps. I do wish that I could get netflix on it but that is supposed to be coming soon. I Could not buy this item now for the 299.00. It is now 599.00. Easy to use. 1 thing to note when you purchase-----YOU MUST HAVE WIFI in order to set it up! Just so you know before you buy it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cwestauto
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product.....Definitiely a good buy
12/10/2012

Customer review by Small55

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Small55
by Small55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this product last week ( Dec 3rd )....And I havent put it down yet. I was really impressed with the Performance Life after charging......it lasts for exceptionally long time ( 12+ hours ). It comparison to my wife's ACER 7"......which lasts about 2 hrs. I quite with the free apps...radio channels, Tablet TV.....and especially the Phone App....That was awesome. I know that there much more that I havent discovered about this tablet.....But so far I am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Small55
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/26/2011

Customer review by subi90

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by subi90
by subi90

I have an apple Ipad which is a great unit, but I had a hard time playing videos on specific websites due to the agreement issue between apple and adobe. I have a blackberry smartphone and syncing ability between the two is great. I can also play flash files without any problem on my playbook. The only downer on the unit is the power button. its too small.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
subi90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this tablet
12/22/2011

Customer review by cherokeep

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by cherokeep
by cherokeep

Great tablet . Easy to see. Need for speed game is awesome. Camera takes great pics.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cherokeep
Beavercreek, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Business
12/6/2011

Customer review by Sailheli

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Sailheli
by Sailheli

This blows the I Pad away on workmanship. This is a unit for the person that wants to sync with their blackberry for sure. I have used both and this unit is much more business friendly than I Pad Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a business tablet. If your looking for a play toy buy the i pad, if you want to multitask, then buy this. Its well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sailheli
Rocky Mount, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome buy
11/13/2012

Customer review by Naveen82

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Naveen82
by Naveen82

I bought this blackberry playbook in a deal. Its cool and fits all my needs (mails, browsers, flash player, youtube, HDMI output etc) and it fits perfectly in my hand and the screen is gorgeous and it plays movies in HD and the pictures are stunning

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Naveen82
omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is my first tablet.
11/27/2012

Customer review by Agrann

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Agrann
by Agrann
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to figure out how to install a book program. It was a little complicated but I was able to get the app onto the Playbook. The playbook attaches easily to the computer and it is easy to transfer music, pictures, and video onto it. I bought it for the $159.00 price tag. I think this tablet will be around for a quite a while. The camera is easy to use and the pictures are pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agrann
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Tablet! Beyond Comparable to an i-Pad!
11/18/2012

Customer review by CMMvip

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by CMMvip
by CMMvip

I have waited to purchase a tablet for over a year now, because I wasn't sure which one would be the best purchase: i-Pad or BB Playbook. I needed a portable tablet to do business, conduct meetings, and do presentations for lecturing as a professor. After reviewing all the research on both tablets, it appears the only difference is the screen size (@2in more on i-pad), and the 1,000snds of apps Apple offers, which I'd never get around to, so not interested. Also, the i-Pad doesn't have the Flash-Player to play videos such as, You-Tube. Who doesn't view and/or use You-Tube these days..? I certainly use it often! Also, BB Playbook has dual facing cameras!! Just got mine 11-13-2012. So, The Winner Is_BB Playbook!! For the price & Functionality, this is THE BEST TABLET EVER-Especially When Bridged w/YOUR BB Smartphone!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMMvip
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1-20 of 135 reviews