Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

14 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

14 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-13 of 13 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Do NOT Buy
12/12/2013

Customer review by jdmccarty

1.0 stars 12/12/2013 by jdmccarty
by jdmccarty

I would like to have had the opportunity to discuss my review and complaints with the company. However, Oster seems to be one of the ever more present consumer companies that has a PO Box for its address, automated telephone line for its calls, and noreply@ auto email address - so I am going to leave my review for all in the public domain. About a month or two after purchasing out Oster OGYU701 we are unable to effectively use approximately half of the keypad. This includes the numeric keypad buttons as well as many across the top row. The start/reset buttons work and the microwave will beep at you, however you are unable to ever set a power level and actually heat your food. This started after 2-3 times of actual use. Judging by my experience, as well as the other reviews, this is clearly a substandard product. My main issue lies in the lack of consumer support that is clear avoidance and a hope that you, the consumer, will quickly eat the cost of replacement. This service is unacceptable to me. More so, I am a working person and have little time to play games with the lack of response I have received to date. I am unable to return the item to the store for a new faulty item and would like to have Oster contact me and replace the product on their own accord. Unfortunately, I am unable to get in touch with them properly through their website or phone line. Please do not repeat this mistake yourself.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdmccarty
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too light to push the buttons without it leaving
5/24/2016

Customer review by Shirley

1.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Shirley
by Shirley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good name, very poor product. Each time I tried to push the buttons it would slide and move about, needed three hands to use it or some Super glue. Luckily the paper thin metal side was bashed in so I was able to return it without an issue. Buy the cheapest thing out there and you will have something that works better than that. 4 minutes for a cup of soup is crazy. Just for grins and giggles tried to pop popcorn, did not work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shirley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oster Microwaves
4/21/2016

Customer review by Sharon

2.0 stars 4/21/2016 by Sharon
by Sharon

The company was very good at making blenders, but the microwaves have a definite digital problem involving the panel. I bought it, set it, it showed the time, then that went away, then the buttons didn't work some of the time, then half of the buttons stopped functioning altogether, and everything had to be heated on frozen dinner. It was small and I had bought it on sale at another store. No damage on the box or the microwave. Door shut completely. My only complaint is about the digital display and functions malfunctioning. I took it back to the store and they refused to: repair it, give me a replacement of the same brand, give me a store credit, give me a cash refund, and instead, since I had purchased a yearly plan for a small amount, they asked me to call a tollfree number to report that it had stopped working and would not heat although it lit up inside and the fan still came on. They said I would not have to ship the microwave to the warranty company. The company would send me a store voucher to use to buy another one. Oster? No thanks. I bought a different brand of microwave although priced higher than the Oster one. Don't waste your money buying a small microwave that quits working in only two months!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharon
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/5/2013

Customer review by meekcheeks

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by meekcheeks
by meekcheeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like the buttons....heating controls. heats good for a 700 watts oven.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meekcheeks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
didnt like it
1/6/2013

Customer review by me718

2.0 stars 1/6/2013 by me718
by me718
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

its way too small, it arrived with a dent. it seems very cheaply made. for it to be named oster it is a shame. because i love the name brand oster but this was a cheap microwave. i returned it for a better oster one and believe it or not it was cheaper too. lol but i love it

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
me718
flanders nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Died in under 2 years, always smelled bad
12/6/2014

Customer review by BeachParents

2.0 stars 12/6/2014 by BeachParents
by BeachParents

This was an attractive microwave that cooked OK and did its job while it lasted. However, no matter how much we tried to clean it, it always smelled like rotten food inside so it is hard to clean. And it started smelling like burnt electronics in less than 2 years and then died completely shortly after. We took great care of it. Will never buy another Oster. I have now read other reviews about how Osters die young. Will replace with another brand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeachParents
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
DONT BUY
7/2/2014

Customer review by BLAHBLAHBALAH

1.0 stars 7/2/2014 by BLAHBLAHBALAH
by BLAHBLAHBALAH

All I used it for was to warm food. LASTED JUST OVER A YEAR! DONT BUY.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLAHBLAHBALAH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice one i love it
1/12/2016

Customer review by Guiller1017

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Guiller1017
by Guiller1017

I like this one very much for the price i paid is very good , it works fine very fast easy to use ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guiller1017
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks sleek and highend.
12/23/2014

Customer review by LBL2010

3.0 stars 12/23/2014 by LBL2010
by LBL2010

Although we are used to the bigger microwaves, this smaller version has worked well for us in our small place. It has a nice stainless steel look. The only thing I don't like is that it slides on our counter when we pull the door to open it so it would be nice if the stand had rubber grips to avoid this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LBL2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple but nice
9/9/2014

Customer review by Catfish56

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by Catfish56
by Catfish56
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a small kitchen so we were looking for this size microwave oven. Our use is pretty moderate mostly reheating things. This Oster is handsome and matches our other stainless appliances quite well. I like the handle too versus pushing to open it. Only had it a short time but like it quite a bit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catfish56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/1/2013

Customer review by Xyaz

4.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Xyaz
by Xyaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My mom bought it for me. She bought it on line. I got it really in a reasonable amount of time. I am in college and I live in a one bedroom apartment. It sits well on the counter next to the kitchen sink. I love it. When I come in from class, I can quickly heat up her food.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xyaz
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
lotta power little space.
1/9/2013

Customer review by CarlaJustSayin

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by CarlaJustSayin
by CarlaJustSayin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looks great too. Perfect for small NYC apartment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlaJustSayin
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It didn't last very long at all. Maybe a year.
2/25/2012

Customer review by bpd333

1.0 stars 2/25/2012 by bpd333
by bpd333

I purchased this microwave because it was cheap and on sale. Well you get what you pay for I guess. It started having problems as soon as I brought it home. I should have taken it back right then, but I didn't. It looks nice, and works very well when it is working. This one just didn't last for me.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bpd333
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day