Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 177 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

177 reviews | 4 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
93
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 stars
20
1-20 of 174 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
O.K. for the price
1/25/2017

Customer review by Build a wall around Trump

2.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Build a wall around Trump
by Build a wall around Trump

I have a small apartment and didn't want to spend many $$. Right off the bat I was frustrated as the head kept coming off the wand. I had to put a little electrical tape inside the head to hold it but that makes it difficult to put other tools on. All in all, for a small place it'd be o.k. but definitely not for a larger place. But when emptying the bin it is amazing how much "guck" it picks up, including my long hair! I find I have to empty bin after apx. 2 uses.

Build a wall around Trump
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT
12/9/2016

Customer review by Mrsgrizel

5.0 stars 12/9/2016 by Mrsgrizel
by Mrsgrizel

I have had numerous vacuums over the years. Even those very expivsive ones. I am tired of what seems like tossing money out the window. I need a good vacuum that can handle hard jobs well. I can't afford to buy a new every year. We have pets and live in the country where dust id just part of live. This Dirt Devil so far is doing the job. I was amazed at the difference. It is an awesome vacuum cleaner. I love to walk in my sock and keep clean socks. Now my floors are clean enough for that. After just one use! I will be a Dirt Devil fan for sure.

Mrsgrizel
Tullahoma, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Competes with German A-brands.
11/23/2016

Customer review by johan

5.0 stars 11/23/2016 by johan
by johan

I am European, and used to German A-brands. Pros: * suction is great, I do not recognise the negative reviews about that, * very long tube and hose - easy to vacuum car / ceiling / tight corners / ..., * auto cable rewind works perfect (at other brands, sometimes the cable does not rewind all the way). Cons: * (minor) when storing it while standing up, the nozzle does not attach to the body (it does when is is lying down), * (minor) when handling it roughly, the accesories fall off the tube sometimes. For this money (very cheap in European terms), it functions very well and can compete with German A-brands. Hopefully its technical lifetime will be 10+ years.

johan
Sacramento, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SUPER SUCTION IN A LITE VAC
7/29/2013

Customer review by Fussy123

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Fussy123
by Fussy123

I bought this vac as a temporary replacement when my vacuum cleaner that I was using went out on me in the middle of cleaning. We had the house up for sale and I needed a vac fast! I figured buying one would be cheaper than renting a vac to finish the job. I didn't have the time to sit down and research vacuum cleaners, so I ran out to the local target a couple of miles down the road to check out what they had. After looking all of the vacs over, ease of handling, design, price, etc., I choose the Dirt Devil Lite. It was the only model of Dirt Devil they had. (My husband and I had been planning on getting a Miele, a German made vacuum cleaner. They're light weight, powerful and compact. But they do run from around $199.00 up to $1000.00. I figure part of that is import pricing.) Anyway, to make a long story short the Dirt Devil lite has a lot of bang for the buck. I couldn't believe the suction power! Just make sure to empty out your dirt cup and clean your filter at least after every 3 vacuumings and it will remain a dirt cleaning demon!

Fussy123
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Easy to use
10/14/2016

Customer review by SEvans8707

5.0 stars 10/14/2016 by SEvans8707
by SEvans8707

I bought the canister bag less because I have 2 large shedding dogs . I received the order promptly and took it out of the shipping box and started to use it. The sweeper worked 100% of the hair is gone it cleans so deeply that I only have to sweep once a week. It also changes from pile carpet to hard tiled floors with ease. The attachments are a snap to change on and off with the swipe I am sure I get the micro fine dust .

SEvans8707
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst vacuum I have ever used
2/29/2016

Customer review by Anon

1.0 stars 2/29/2016 by Anon
by Anon

I got this a couple years ago and started using it last year, and it's the worst vacuum first the hose won't stay connected to the tube and that's because there's no snaps just smooth plastic so it's always falling off I have to hold it at the connecter the whole time and it ended up breaking cause it's cheap plastic so I tape it back together all the time, next it clogs every time I use it cause the floor brush has to small of a hole to suck stuff up, I won't suck up hair, or threads from sewing, lint ect, small pet food things like popcorn kernels it just pushes them around. Emptying it is a hassle and the filter always gets stuck in the contents the vacuum has picked up. Only thing I like is I push a button and the cord goes back in, -5 stars for this, it's no mistake this thing was made to be like this it's a horrible design and cheap plastic that splits every easily. It makes vacuuming a dreaded task and the carpet always looks dirty since it can't remove everything, once I pulled out my old stand up dirt devil and my carpets looked new nothing left on the carpet but this is one leaves 50 % of stuff in the carpet.

Anon
BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
easy to use/ clean
10/12/2016

Customer review by holly44

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by holly44
by holly44

Being a neat freak, I bought this baglwss vac for my car, keeping it in my garage. It is super easy to use, wanted a bagless and this is a homerun!! The attachments are on the handle, easily accesible. It doesn't have large capacity, but for me works very well, would definity buy again.

holly44
tiverton, ri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic after 4+ years
8/31/2016

Customer review by relativityboy

4.0 stars 8/31/2016 by relativityboy
by relativityboy

I love this little guy. It's the only vacuum in my place. The bad reviews here motivated me to write. I have light to moderate dirt build up around the house. I clean about twice a month. It's got great suction IF you know how to use it. The filters are amazingly good, but that means they also clog over time. The trick is to wash the gray foam filter every so-often. It will build up a ton of dust. If you want to make the disposable part of the filters last longer, the HEPA sheet on them can be gently cut away and you'll get many many more days out of it (I've replaced it once and am on this site to buy my 3rd filter)

relativityboy
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Favorite Vacuum
3/27/2016

Customer review by busy1

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by busy1
by busy1

I put this Dirt Devil to work the minute I got home, where some pretty messy animals (4 legged) also live. And I’ve got to say it’s really impressive at picking up dirt and hair from upholstery, carpets and bare floors. The nozzle fell off once but after pushing it onto the wand more firmly that hasn’t happened since. This is lightweight but sturdy, and I especially like the variable suction control, onboard tools, and 20-foot cord rewind. Other pluses include a rear slot for wand/nozzle storage and easy maneuverability. The filters and dirt cup are simple to maintain after each use, and this bagless model would be over the moon for me if it had a power nozzle.

busy1
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product sucks...really well!
11/6/2013

Customer review by lunaskip

4.0 stars 11/6/2013 by lunaskip
by lunaskip

We've had the DD EZ Lite Canister model for about three years now, got it on sale for ~$90 at Target. We have a very hairy golden retriever so above cost our biggest concern is pet hair. This vacuum does well enough for our needs, though with a little extra work on our part. The inner canister typically gets clogged with hair before the much larger outer canister even starts filling, so I have to empty it often and get my hands dirty to unwind the clog. I also have to pick off the hair from the carpet cleaner quite often and bang the filter after every other use or so to keep the air flow quality up. Aside from that, there have been no defects and it's still sucking strong after three years so I'd recommend.

lunaskip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Fantastic: Easy to Use
5/7/2016

Customer review by Tennisbum

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by Tennisbum
by Tennisbum

This Dirt Devil has great suction, easy to move around, and cleans floors, sofas and car mats fantastic. It is also easy to clean. This is the second Dirt Devil I have had, the first one lasted over 5 years. You make a great quality product.

Tennisbum
Arizona, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum
3/11/2013

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Robert
by Robert

I've had this vacuum for a couple years.  It's great on hard surface floors.  We have 2 dogs, 6 cats, and a wood stove so dust and pet hair are a constant clean-up.  The Easy Light is perfect for our needs, no bag expense, easy filter access and maintenance ( I use my air compressor to clean the filter) and superior quality.  We also have 2 other Dirt Devil vac's, a very old hand held with cloth bag that we've used for years, still going strong, and an Ultra Vision upright for carpet.  We give them all hard use, and all have proven to be up to the task.  They are very well engineered, quality machines, and easy to maintain. 

Robert
Front Royal, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Hose comes off canister!
9/19/2015

Customer review by Char1968

1.0 stars 9/19/2015 by Char1968
by Char1968

I bought this vacuum several years ago but accidentally left it at my old house (in another state) when I moved. It was my favorite vacuum ever. The suction was strong and it was so light and easy to use. So of course I ordered another one just like it when I moved to my new house. It's still the same vacuum - still light with great suction - only this time, the hose will not stay connected to the canister. It doesn't "snap" into the canister, it just sort of sits there. It seems like it is connected but as I am vacuuming, the hose falls out multiple times. I tested it by connecting the hose and then pulling on it lightly and it pulls right out with very little effort. This NEVER happened with my previous vacuum, so I know it's not because I am being too rough with it. The biggest issue is that I can't hear it when it disconnects. I think I am vacuuming away and I don't even realize I have just been holding the hose for the past 5 minutes. Of course I never know exactly when it came off so I end up having to go back over the entire room. I just came on this website to see how easy it would be to return it or get it fixed. I bought it in May of this year and I did not keep the box, so I don't know how long the warranty was. I also see that even if I did, I'd have to use my own money to send it to the manufacturer to be "fixed". I am very sad. You have lost one of your most satisfied customers :(

Char1968
Newport, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Vacuum, Although Delicate
3/13/2015

Customer review by Chris912

3.0 stars 3/13/2015 by Chris912
by Chris912

I really like this vacuum. It's small form factor makes it very portable. I have no trouble carrying it up and down the stairs to clean up after my pets. This is exactly why I bought it. However, do be cautioned that it does clog easily. I have had to specially make tools to unclog the hose myself. Even with the hose clear you'll have to regularly clean out the filter and foam filter. I just take them outside and beat them against the doormat. I am now stocking up on replacement filters to try to cut down on this activity. I would recommend this vacuum to others just be aware of the maintenance required. 

Chris912
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Level of expertise:Beginner
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Male
I bought one about 10 years ago or longer and when it was time for a new one this was on the only one I was going to buy!!!
11/30/2015

Customer review by Dirt Devil Damian

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Dirt Devil Damian
by Dirt Devil Damian

The 2 housekeepers we have had are not easy on the equipment and this great little vacuum took any punishment they dished out and picked up everything. The bagless design allows for quick easy cleaning without the expense of bags. When the filter gets clogged with dust you simply pound the filter and brush off the dust from the 2nd foam filter. Once clean this sucking power is back like it was new!!! I would recommend this product to anyone with hardwood floors and rugs. Dirt Devil has a real winner with this product!!!!

Dirt Devil Damian
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The worst ever
3/15/2013

Customer review by keathley76

1.0 stars 3/15/2013 by keathley76
by keathley76

I try to to break this vacuum every time I use it because I want to buy a different one.  Every time I use this vacuum, I have to clean it out several times and it still only picks up SOME of the stuff on my floor.  Anything bigger than an ant will totally clog this vacuum. I only use it once a week because it makes me so angry how horrible this vacuum is.  You couldn't even pay me to take another one of these vacuums because it isn't worth the space it takes up in my utility closet.   Did Dirt Devil even test this vacuum before offering it up for sale???  I will never buy a Dirt Devil product again.

keathley76
Greenwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Read the review.
12/6/2015

Customer review by tnrferals

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by tnrferals
by tnrferals

I would have given 5 stars for everything on the unit, but lack of parts have just totally disgusted me. I have always loved Dirt DeviI, I buy cheaper units and replace them every five years. Bought this unit about 2 maybe 3 years ago. I have cats and dogs, and foster additional ones from time to time= tons of litter, dust, hair, and dirt carried in from outside. vacuum cat trees, couches, laminate,tile, appliances, counters, everywhere! Also doing animal transport I frequently must vacuum car. I vacuum almost everyday. The only problem I have had is that the carrying handle s/b on the top, and there are minimal replacement parts. Nothing has malfunctioned, but we unfortunately put the hose near the furnace and it melted the hose. We taped the hose back together but this has caused many blockages, and we have given up using it. The hose is not an available part, and I have been looking for a long time. I no longer can find another canister that does not have handle at the end of hose that is as "slim" which can be used in countless areas such as a floor register. The handle at end of hose is very comfortable not having an extra handle piece, it puts very little stress on my wrists which I have carpal tunnel. Using accessories has been quick and I don't have to stop and have a production to change the pieces. Never had a problem with the suction,rewind cord, or accessories. My unit would stop after vacuuming certain items, i just stopped and removed them. I'm very disappointed that all parts are not available.

tnrferals
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
1/28/2016

Customer review by Chicopeechik

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Chicopeechik
by Chicopeechik

I ordered this vacuum because the reviews were good and it was not to expensive and desperately needed a new vacuum. Well it finally came in yesterday, I put it together, plugged it in and NOTHING....It does not work, it will not turn on!! My husband and I tried 3 different plugs in 3 different rooms. Now I have to return it and order a new vacuum! Such a hassel.

Chicopeechik
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good on wood
4/17/2014

Customer review by Andy47

4.0 stars 4/17/2014 by Andy47
by Andy47

I've had this about one year and it has cleaned well. However, it came with NO INSTRUCTIONS.  I realized I needed to empty the "bag" and it took me awhile to figure it out. I'm usually good at figuring this out, not so this. Then it has taken me awhile to sort out the filter/foam order of placement. I finally went on line to find instructions. I still have the box and all it has are the same pictures showing it in use, not how to clean it out. Also the crevice tool is too small to ne useful behind radiators and under the refrigerator. 

Andy47
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum - Poorly written cleaning instruction
12/1/2013

Customer review by Moor

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Moor
by Moor

I have own two in the past 6 years. 20 minute vacuum usage everyday for dog and cat hair, human with long hair, plus 150 year old carriage house (no HVAC filter)clogs the cylindrical tube inside the dirt container. Unexplained in the instructions is that with a slight twist this clogged tube is easily removed for cleaning. The port hole between the large dirt collection chamber and the removed cylinder chamber sometimes gets clogged. Most reviewed complaints would be rectified if the consumer would be informed of this major omission.

Moor
Columbia, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews