Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

119 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
24
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 116 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Great on hard floors!
8/28/2011

Customer review by Brandellhoffer

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by Brandellhoffer
by Brandellhoffer

This vac is just what I needed! I had an upright that would spit sand all over my concrete floor (which are in 90% of our house). This vacuum is great at picking up dirt and sand! It's also nice to use the wand tool to reach the cobwebs in the rafters and ceilings. Easy to use. Someone complained that the cord is a little short, but I found with the wand attachment it adds on several feet of reach and is also longer than my upright. This is not great on carpeted floors and rugs, but that's not what I was buying it for (so I still rated it 5 star since it didn't let ME down). If that's what you want it for, I suggest another vaccum. If I had any complaints it would be that the canister is a bit small and has to be changed fairly often, but it's simple to empty and isn't a big deal. In fact, my kids (age 5 and 2) both fight over who gets to empty it. Lucky me!

Was this review helpful? (80) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brandellhoffer
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EZ Lite is The Best!
9/21/2013

Customer review by DoverGall

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by DoverGall
by DoverGall

I LOVE THIS VACUUM! This is my second EZ Lite--I bought it to use at my mothers house. I have another one at my house that i've had 4 or 5 years and no complaints. It is lite, maneurvers easily, has a long enough cord that retracts. It has adjustable suction and the max setting is really powerful. The floor brush does not have a rotating brush - if you need that this isn't the vac for you. Both the floor brush and the upholstery brush rotate and I have found the floor brush adjusts to whatever positon you need. There are more features than this. I still have my first Dirt Devil cannister (Mini Vac) - it is smaller, lighter, and was cheaper, but it has cleaned my houses and served as a "shop vac" when I was remodeling. Thanks to Walmart and Fedex this vac came in two days. I couldn't be more satisfied. You will be amazed at the amount of dirt this little devil sucks up!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoverGall
Conroe Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Disappointed
1/28/2016

Customer review by Chicopeechik

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Chicopeechik
by Chicopeechik

I ordered this vacuum because the reviews were good and it was not to expensive and desperately needed a new vacuum. Well it finally came in yesterday, I put it together, plugged it in and NOTHING....It does not work, it will not turn on!! My husband and I tried 3 different plugs in 3 different rooms. Now I have to return it and order a new vacuum! Such a hassel.

Comment from Kenya - 1/28/2016

Hi Chicopeechik! Wow, this is really odd and we can totally understand how that was a disappointing experience. We want to help. We are sending you a private email to better assist. Thanks!

Chicopeechik
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
It is a shock
2/7/2016

Customer review by wafita

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by wafita
by wafita

I was so happy when I bought it , but after assembling it and plug it in to electricity ................a huge silence, it wasn't working. It was a big disappointment to me .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wafita
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
1/28/2016

Customer review by ronkel

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by ronkel
by ronkel

I ordered this vacuum because the reviews were good and it was not to expensive and desperately needed a new vacuum. Well it finally came in yesterday, I put it together, plugged it in and NOTHING....It does not work, it will not turn on!! My husband and I tried 3 different plugs in 3 different rooms. Now I have to return it and order a new vacuum! Such a hassel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ronkel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible suction
1/13/2016

Customer review by Nancykay1960

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Nancykay1960
by Nancykay1960

This is the worst vacuum I have ever owned. It continually plugs up and has minimal suction. I am so disappointed. Very frustrating to use.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/13/2016

Hi Nancykay1960! In no way should you be disappointed when using your EZ Lite Bagless Canister and we have a pretty good idea why this may be happening. We want to help! Under normal use, the vacuum should run at optimal performance and not continuously clog. If you're experiencing this, it is mostly attributed to dirty filter (s) or a clogged hose. Try this: remove the hose from back of the canister and visibly inspect for any clogs or obstructions. If any are found, insert a broom stick through to clear out any blockages. Now, remove the dirt container and empty it of any contents. This will ensure adequate air distribution. Let's check your filters! Grasp the filter tab and pull it out from the dirt container. For best results, tap the filter against the inside of a waste basket to remove any remaining dirt. The secondary filter is located on the back of the canister and can be removed by pushing down on the filter door tab. Once done, pull away from the cleaner. Rinse it under warm water and allow to air dry for 24 hours in full. Your filters should be replaced every 6 months- 1 year. On your next use, the cleaner should work without any interruptions. Please let us know if you need any other assistance. Thanks!

Nancykay1960
Tulsa, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
a challenging sweep
10/29/2015

Customer review by Dingydolittle

2.0 stars 10/29/2015 by Dingydolittle
by Dingydolittle

I bought this vaccuum a year ago. It is a dissapointing buy as it is has many problems. The pros are: It has good suction but the clog indicator light does not work and only worked the first week. The attachments are my issue because they swivel around and it is hard to keep them in position to clean. They always end upside down. (so frustrating) Poor design and poor made. Canister cup is big but if you have pet hair the space in between canister cup and suction is to small so hair gets wrapped around this small space and indicates clog fairly soon. A mans hand can not fit inside the small space to clean it out, so if you have large hands you must have a screwdriver to clean out small area. I hope this helps in deciding which vaccuum cleaner is best for you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dingydolittle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dale
1/11/2016

Customer review by Curly

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Curly
by Curly

works great on wood & carpet

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Curly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Read the review.
12/6/2015

Customer review by tnrferals

1.0 stars 12/6/2015 by tnrferals
by tnrferals

I would have given 5 stars for everything on the unit, but lack of parts have just totally disgusted me. I have always loved Dirt DeviI, I buy cheaper units and replace them every five years. Bought this unit about 2 maybe 3 years ago. I have cats and dogs, and foster additional ones from time to time= tons of litter, dust, hair, and dirt carried in from outside. vacuum cat trees, couches, laminate,tile, appliances, counters, everywhere! Also doing animal transport I frequently must vacuum car. I vacuum almost everyday. The only problem I have had is that the carrying handle s/b on the top, and there are minimal replacement parts. Nothing has malfunctioned, but we unfortunately put the hose near the furnace and it melted the hose. We taped the hose back together but this has caused many blockages, and we have given up using it. The hose is not an available part, and I have been looking for a long time. I no longer can find another canister that does not have handle at the end of hose that is as "slim" which can be used in countless areas such as a floor register. The handle at end of hose is very comfortable not having an extra handle piece, it puts very little stress on my wrists which I have carpal tunnel. Using accessories has been quick and I don't have to stop and have a production to change the pieces. Never had a problem with the suction,rewind cord, or accessories. My unit would stop after vacuuming certain items, i just stopped and removed them. I'm very disappointed that all parts are not available.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/23/2016

Hi tnrferals! This is certainly not good to hear and we completely get parts should be readily accessible to you when you need to replace and order them. At this time, we highly recommend that you take the cleaner in to an authorized Dirt Devil Service center or reach out to a third party retailer to locate a replacement hose. To find a location nearest you, please visit this link here: http://dirtdevil.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us. Thank you!

tnrferals
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Faulty wind up cord
1/2/2016

Customer review by smokeelee

1.0 stars 1/2/2016 by smokeelee
by smokeelee

I bought 3 of these and all of them did same thing. One for my Mom, Sister and myself. Originally, the wind up cord would have issues. Then as time went on the vac wouldn't start unless we pulled the cord a certain way. Then finally, we would smell burning and the vac died!!!! Not a good product. That happened to all of them within a year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/26/2016

Hi smokeelee! This certainly doesn&#39;t sound like Dirt Devil quality and your concerns are extremely important to us. Please reach out to us at 1-800-321-1134 (M-F 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST), tweet us &#64;Dirt Devil, or leave a comment on our Facebook page. We&#39;d be more than happy to assist you! Thanks!<br />-Joscelyn,<br />Dirt Devil Customer Care

smokeelee
Would recommend to a friend? No
I bought one about 10 years ago or longer and when it was time for a new one this was on the only one I was going to buy!!!
11/30/2015

Customer review by Dirt Devil Damian

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by Dirt Devil Damian
by Dirt Devil Damian

The 2 housekeepers we have had are not easy on the equipment and this great little vacuum took any punishment they dished out and picked up everything. The bagless design allows for quick easy cleaning without the expense of bags. When the filter gets clogged with dust you simply pound the filter and brush off the dust from the 2nd foam filter. Once clean this sucking power is back like it was new!!! I would recommend this product to anyone with hardwood floors and rugs. Dirt Devil has a real winner with this product!!!!

Dirt Devil Damian
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't like it at all.
11/27/2015

Customer review by Caymanmum

1.0 stars 11/27/2015 by Caymanmum
by Caymanmum

We have tile floors, children and pets, so vacuuming is a daily job in our home. I've used the old Dirt Devil Breeze Vision Canister vacuums for almost 20 years and loved everything about them. Sadly they are no longer made so I had to buy this model. Other than being quiet, I hate everything about it! The handle is large and difficult for me to hold(I am petite but not overly so). The floor attachment is difficult to move from side to side-it wants to move forward and backwards only. This causes fatigue to my fingers, forearm and elbow quickly, and I end up having to use both hands to maneuver the vacuum. Although it has great suction, the floor nozzle doesn't suck properly from the front, but does have great suction from the sides. So, if you live in a home with corners(!!) you have to contort yourself and the vacuum to make sure the side of the floor attachment reaches the walls. Because the floor attachment swivels on the hose you can't even raise the front of it to catch any pieces of dirt that are being pushed in front of it. The floor attachment is heavy and large. It won't fit under most dressers or pieces of furniture, and is difficult to lift up to use on ledges or steps. The vacuum itself is much heavier and unwieldy than the old Breeze Canister. I can whip round my house in 20 minutes with the old Breeze Canister and have my floors spotless, but it takes me over 30 minutes with this vacuum. I've had this for a year now, and hated it so much that I went back to my 'on its last legs' Breeze Canister. Sadly, it has now died, but after having to use this EZ Lite for a couple of days I am going to have to go and buy a new vacuum, and sadly it won't be a Dirt Devil again. I wish you would bring back the Breeze Canisters.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/1/2015

Hi Caymanmum! We're very sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with the design and performance of your EZ Lite Bagless Canister! Please try this tips below to ensure the unit can perform at its optimal ability. If you need any more assistance, please reach out to us at 1-800-321-1134, leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @DirtDevil. Thank you! If you noticed the suction is poor when the floor attachment is on, it may be attributed to a dirty filter, clogged dirt passage or the canister may be full. Try this: remove the dirt canister by pressing the release button. Now, empty the canister out over a waste basket. Next, let's check the filters. Grasp the filter tab and then remove from the primary filter from dirt container. The secondary filter can be removed by pressing down on the filter door tab. Tap and rinse both filters under warm water and then allow them to air dry for 24 hours completely. For best performance, replace both filters every 6 mos-1 year. Find them here : http://bit.ly/1yysdSf, under the parts tab. To remove the hose, press the tabs on the back of the inlet until it unlocks. Now, take a broom stick to knock out any clogs or obstructions. After completing these steps, your EZ Lite should work like brand new!

Caymanmum
Cayman Islands
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lives up to its advertising
12/24/2015

Customer review by Lilypuppy

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Lilypuppy
by Lilypuppy

I used this for the first time today and I really like the fact that you can change the suction on it. Did a great job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilypuppy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SUPER SUCTION IN A LITE VAC
7/29/2013

Customer review by Fussy123

4.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Fussy123
by Fussy123

I bought this vac as a temporary replacement when my vacuum cleaner that I was using went out on me in the middle of cleaning. We had the house up for sale and I needed a vac fast! I figured buying one would be cheaper than renting a vac to finish the job. I didn't have the time to sit down and research vacuum cleaners, so I ran out to the local target a couple of miles down the road to check out what they had. After looking all of the vacs over, ease of handling, design, price, etc., I choose the Dirt Devil Lite. It was the only model of Dirt Devil they had. (My husband and I had been planning on getting a Miele, a German made vacuum cleaner. They're light weight, powerful and compact. But they do run from around $199.00 up to $1000.00. I figure part of that is import pricing.) Anyway, to make a long story short the Dirt Devil lite has a lot of bang for the buck. I couldn't believe the suction power! Just make sure to empty out your dirt cup and clean your filter at least after every 3 vacuumings and it will remain a dirt cleaning demon!

Fussy123
Spartanburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
12/27/2011

Customer review by DomesticDiva8

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by DomesticDiva8
by DomesticDiva8

This little vacuum cleaner is one notch above a broom. It works ok on hardwood floors, don't expect much though, and doesn't work on area rugs at all, not even very low pile carpet. Also noteworthy: (1) very cheaply made plastic parts and (2) when you want to return the product, you'll have to work with the vendor who, fortunately, has better customer service.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DomesticDiva8
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
great value,
12/15/2015

Customer review by mbarb

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by mbarb
by mbarb

Just what I need ed for vacuuming my stairs and furniture

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mbarb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Suction but terrible vacuum head.
12/29/2012

Customer review by okidoll

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by okidoll
by okidoll

I've bought many Dirt Devils over the years, and they aren't extremely expensive so I've never gotten more than one or two years out of them. However, they have outdone themselves this time with this piece of garbage. This is the worst vacuum I have ever used. Actually, the only good thing about it is it does have good suction. You do have to empty the canister frequently during use, but that isn't the problem. The main problem with this vacuum is the extremely cheap and badly made head. There is no roller. There is no rolling brush movement so forget about having an actual sweeper head. This thing has a small rectangular area where the suction comes from . That's it. It does not have rollers like a regular sweeper. I thought I was missing the head, but nope. The head is this cheap piece of plastic. It is easy to clean, but I just want it gone. If you like a vacuum that is comfortable to use then this isn't it. You have to stoop to use it. The floor unit doesn't lay flat unless you bend over and extend your arm in this extremely uncomfortable position. Even then I still couldn't get the head to properly work. There is no brush other than some very cheap, tiny brush heads that can come out. This is terrible on carpet.It's terrible on flooring. It's just terrible. I really feel like I've been ripped off. I hate this piece of trash.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okidoll
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to maneuver
11/1/2015

Customer review by Pate

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Pate
by Pate

A nice lightweight vacuum that works really well,including on stairs,but I have to wonder why the unit didn't come with a manual in the box.Otherwise very happy with it.

Pate
St Paul, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great on hardwood/tile floors, not on carpet/rugs
10/29/2015

Customer review by tre7

4.0 stars 10/29/2015 by tre7
by tre7

Need a nozzle with a beater-brush. It will not clean carpets/rugs well at all. I'm having to use my old, heavy upright vacuum on them. If you have hardwood/tile it works great, but if you have a lot of carpet or rugs, I don't recommend it.

tre7
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dirt devil ez lite bagless canister
11/21/2015

Customer review by nanamammaw

3.0 stars 11/21/2015 by nanamammaw
by nanamammaw

I will begin by saying the service and delivery were above and beyond great. The product arrived days earlier than expected and in great shape. The product is a gift so I can not say anything else about it till the person I gave the gift to tells me. At which time I will share more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nanamammaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews