Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 240 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

240 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

240 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
33
3 stars
25
2 stars
32
1 stars
83
1-20 of 237 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 237 total reviews
1-20 of 237 reviews
Rust :(
11/26/2016

Customer review by mlyps

2.0 stars 11/26/2016 by mlyps
by mlyps

My mom had an old Rubbermaid dish drainer, and it finally saw it's last day. We searched everywhere for one that would even compare. Every family trip we would have to go to kitchen stores in different cities to see if we could find something. Finally I got her the wire Rubbermaid dish drainer, and she is having all the same problems as the previous post. Cutlery holder doesn't have a separator The cross bars where the cutlery holder goes have been removed - unnecessarily It's backwards if you set it on the right And the worst part - it rusts..... especially because water drips into the feet that are open, the water sits there and the rusts shows throw the translucent feet covers. Bad design, something we didn't anticipate, and it can be seen when you look at the dish rack. It is unfortunate that my mother is in a negative place every time she sees her new dish drainer.... this energy over a product is unhealthy and hopefully if someone finds something like they used to make I hope they share the info.

mlyps
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Really Poor Re-Design
11/9/2016

Customer review by Mikka25

1.0 stars 11/9/2016 by Mikka25
by Mikka25

My old dish rack was starting to rust. Just bought this new dish drain rack with this oval cutlery holder. SUCH A POOR DESIGN. The shape of the cutlery holder is such that the items will not stand up in it, but fall over, fall out, or lie on the bottom. It is in totally the wrong place. If the dishes are put in the drainer properly, they cover the cutlery holder. Like a previous customer stated, if you put it to the back, the plates go in backwards, in the front you are knocking things out of it. The squarish cutlery holder in the corner was so much better, and you could change it to where you wanted. With the new shape and design it sits only in one place. Tried to put the cutlery holder in a different spot and then stuff falls through the hole where it should have been. Used my old cutlery holder in the new dish rack and things fell out the hole where the other should have been. Don't know why they had to take out the cross bars underneath where the cutlery holder goes. Doesn't even make sense because the cutlery holder doesn't hang below the rack. Really POOR DESIGN!

Mikka25
Kamloops, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Wire Dish Drainer
2/2/2017

Customer review by anonymous1

1.0 stars 2/2/2017 by anonymous1
by anonymous1

Great product IF YOU LIKE RUST at almost weld in less than a month of buying it. Very unhappy.

anonymous1
Leland, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor redesign of a great product
11/21/2016

Customer review by joenyc

3.0 stars 11/21/2016 by joenyc
by joenyc

I finally had to break down and buy the newer version of the rubbermaid large dish drainer and tray because my 30 year old rubbermaid set was too far gone to keep using.I have avoided this as long as I could because of the new design of the tray which now sits sideways instead of longways.I have turned the drainer in various directions and have come to the conclusion it could only possibly work if you put it on the left side of the sink.Otherwise you either have to stack the dishes backwards or reach over the tall plates and pans to place the shorter cups and mugs.If you then place the silverware tray in the gap you are constantly knocking into the silverware when you reach to place your dishes in the drainer.Also the lack of a divider in the utensil tray makes it pretty useless as everything just falls down in a mixed up heap.I am using my old siverware tray which has the divider even though it is a different color.I am going to try the universal drain board because this configuration is just crazy.The color won't match but it might be more workable.Whoever designed this obviously never washed a dish in their life.

joenyc
NYC, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Please bring back old model of RACK
1/2/2017

Customer review by acyn

1.0 stars 1/2/2017 by acyn
by acyn

This comment from many customers has been going on for YEARS, and I don't understand how the company cannot see "low hanging fruit" that is right before its eyes. I agree with previous reviews regarding the older rubber coated wire model. Am limping along with an ancient one which has been deteriorating for years while I wait for Rubbermaid to come to its senses and produce the quality product it used to have. There are many of us out here who would buy it in a heartbeat ... I would buy several in case they go off the market again!! This surely would be a money maker for Rubbermaid, or whoever now owns the Rubbermaid brand. There is NO competition whatever, out there.

acyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Picture doesn't accurately represent product
1/19/2017

Customer review by MaryJo

1.0 stars 1/19/2017 by MaryJo
by MaryJo

The wires in this dish rack don't go all the way to the front, unlike the online catalog picture.

MaryJo
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Rust in less than two months
1/14/2017

Customer review by tammyw02

1.0 stars 1/14/2017 by tammyw02
by tammyw02

I bought this dish drainer right before Thanksgiving 2016. By Christmas it was already starting to rust.

tammyw02
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
new corners are too angled !
1/2/2017

Customer review by jackiemack

1.0 stars 1/2/2017 by jackiemack
by jackiemack

My old one was more rounded without such a sharp corner and fit perfect in my sink...now it won't! I don't know why they changed the design! I cannot find any that fits right! My sink is not old but it is with rounded corners and it needs the old style! Please let me know if you have any left in your warehouse somewhere!!! Thanks

jackiemack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This product is not as good as earlier model
6/2/2012

Customer review by Shah12

3.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Shah12
by Shah12

We had similar rubbermaid dish drainer which lasted for a long time. It was beige in color with rounded top corners and two spoon holders which hung on outside of the rack. We really liked it. The new rack has mitered corners at the top which looks good but is not functional as larger plates can't fit in reduced width at ends. New rack has no horizontal wire about an inch above the bottom like the old ones and space between some of the wires is too wide. Smaller items like juice glass and small cotainers tend to fall out from wider open spaces. Also added horizontal wire will keep glasses placed in glass holders up from the bottom tray. There is only one spoon holder which is not adequate if you have more spoons and other items. Also spoons tend to slide at the bottom and fall sideways. Some cross stiffeners as in older baskets will prevent this. Spoon holders hang on the inside and reduce the space for dishes and or pots to fit in the dish rack. New dish drainer appears good but is not functional like old one.

Shah12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
You Do Get What You Paid For
11/10/2016

Customer review by MattGZat

3.0 stars 11/10/2016 by MattGZat
by MattGZat

People, this is a steel rack. It is steel wire (it rusts, it discolors) that is plated over with a thin, shiny layer of chrome (which wears off). It is not stainless steel (which is rust free and does not wear off!). That's why they sell the same product that has various color-coatings over that same steel wire which will over time wear off and then begin to rust. You pay a moderate price and get what you paid for. You can pay less for all plastic and more for all stainless steel. This is mid-priced and a mid-quality product. I am satisfied!

MattGZat
Oak Forest, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
How could you?
3/18/2013

Customer review by heartbroken

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by heartbroken
by heartbroken

Dear Rubbermaid Designers, You will be happy to know that I made it safely back into the house, with no broken bones, after walking out to the parking lot and climbing in and out of the garbage dumpster. Why did I do that, you ask? TO GET MY OLD DISH DRAINER BACK! And at my age such acrobatics are no small feat, but it was worth it. Have any of you people ever actually washed dishes? No--I didn't think so. If you had, you would realize that the silverware cup does NOT belong in the center. In that location it's in the way, and the space on each side of it is wasted. When it was located in the corner, the design was just perfect. The bottom was little enuff that small items didn't fall down flat, causing a tangled mess. In the corner the cup took up the smallest total space possible, and was the ideal arrangement. Why did you mess with perfection? So I will just keep using my old, stained drainer until you come to your senses.

heartbroken
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Miss the old quality of this product
12/9/2014

Customer review by falcosmommy

1.0 stars 12/9/2014 by falcosmommy
by falcosmommy

Decided to replace my small white dish drainer because the rubber is just starting to peel off after 10 years of daily use. I did not give any other product a serious consideration, but once I got home and compared to my old drainer, I noted that the wire is not as heavy, the silverware bin is thinner plastic, and the dish slants are now pointed towards the silverware basket, so you can't use them all. You can't move the silverware basket to the other side, because moving it reveals a big gap in the wire mesh under it (the old drainer was fully formed). But then again, the basket is so flimsy it doesn't stay affixed to its intended position anyway. The drainer is not so terribly expensive that a higher price would put me off. I would gladly pay double for this product at it's older quality. I also noted my new product is manufactured in China. I know my old one was made in the USA, because I pay attention to that. I always stuck to Rubbermaid products because they were faithful to their US roots, but I'm afraid I'm losing my reasons to stay a loyal fan.

falcosmommy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Happy!!
11/5/2016

Customer review by joannwr1956

1.0 stars 11/5/2016 by joannwr1956
by joannwr1956

Very disappointed. Very cheaply made. I had one that I had for years. Quality was so much better. These new drainers really don't hold as much as the old ones. Wish I could find something better, but there is not much at all out in the stores.

joannwr1956
Layton, UT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
10/5/2016

Customer review by grandma2

1.0 stars 10/5/2016 by grandma2
by grandma2

I bought a new drainer as we updated our kitchen and wanted a new one. The old red one I hated to give up but had for many years and was looking dingy. The new one I just don't like. It doesn't seem as sturdy, has an oval silverware tray and when put in the sink with it in the back, you have to put the plates in backwards - very awkward. If you turn around so plates will go in better, you keep hitting the what you have in the silverware tray. If I hadn't already thrown away my old one, I would have used it still.

grandma2
Moline, IL,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Rubbermaid® Large Dish Drainer (6032-AR-BISQU)
5/21/2015

Customer review by CherylS

3.0 stars 5/21/2015 by CherylS
by CherylS

I've been buying Rubbermaid Dish Drainers and other items for 40 years as does my family and many friends. The quality of the most recent model dish drain rack is of poorer quality and is flimsier than the previous rack I purchased. The plastic-coated wiring is much thinner and there are fewer vertical plastic-coated "wires" around the outer part of the rack. One of my plates toppled over the entire rack because the rack no longer has any weight to it (because the coated wiring is now so thin). Also, I've had several glasses fall through the open end of the rack where the silver ware holder is now supposed to go. Many people prefer to put the silver ware holder on the outside of the rack to allow as much room as possible IN the rack. PLEASE return to the former good quality rack you once made. I'm sure customers would be willing to pay $5 more (or whatever) for a better product.

CherylS
Berkeley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Unhappy user
3/8/2012

Customer review by Evlina

2.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Evlina
by Evlina

I recently replaced my old Rubbermaid dish drainer with this newer model. I don't like it at all. My largest complaint is with the long silverware drainer. The corner squarish one on my old drainer was much better. Also the drain holes in this one are too large/long. I cut up a sponge and placed it in the bottom of the utensil holder to prevent the tips of my knives and the handles of my silverware from falling through. Because there are no upright support bars behind the utensil holder it flops forward toward the dishes when it is full. Also I think the dish separators are too wide and I agree with other reviewers who said some of the space beside the separators is wasted. Unfortunatly, there is not a lot of choice when shopping for a dish drainer now days. Color is also an issue. This drainer only comes in black or white, I believe. I would have preferred something in bone/beige.

Evlina
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointing Redesign
2/15/2016

Customer review by Delta

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Delta
by Delta

We have been looking and looking trying to find a replacement for our older Rubbermaid dish drainer and could not find the same thing anywhere. Bought the closest thing (which is the large dish drainer seen on this site) but overall it just felt flimsy. Comparing the two they are the same size however construction of the new rack is now using lighter gauge wire. The designers even removed one of the dish holders leaving a big gaping hole for things to fall out. The utensil cup has been redesigned to fit the gaping hole but is longer than the older version allowing the utensils to keep falling over which is a pain whereas the older square corner cup was sturdier and could hold things up better. Will be returning this to the store and keep looking for other alternatives with better quality or just clean the old one up and live with green. Disappointing!

Delta
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Don't buy!
9/30/2016

Customer review by Squeezy

1.0 stars 9/30/2016 by Squeezy
by Squeezy

I bought this product because I have always been happy with Rubbermaid products. The silverware basket has no stops in the bottom so the silverware won't stand upright. Upon removal, the silverware basket is so tight that it removed the rubber coating and left rust in its place. The feet have rusted. It is in the warranty period, but I didn't keep the receipt.

Squeezy
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
So disappointed!
10/4/2016

Customer review by BHalz

1.0 stars 10/4/2016 by BHalz
by BHalz

I bought the small tan wire dish drainer about 3 months ago. I could have purchased a different brand but decided to go with Rubbermaid. It has already rusted in almost every spot where the wires cross each other. I will have to throw it out because I don't have the receipt any longer.

BHalz
Woodbury, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
2/2/2015

Customer review by Boomerchef

1.0 stars 2/2/2015 by Boomerchef
by Boomerchef

It was finally time to replace my large, heavy-duty Rubbermaid wire dish rack, and lo and behold, I was shocked to find a cheaply made imitation of the classic design in its place. I have been a Rubbermaid customer for over 40 years, and until now equated the Rubbermaid name with quality. The original design had versatility to allow me to accommodate a variety of dishes, glassware, heavy mixing bowls, bakeware, pots and pans, etc. And the removable corner flatware holder could be placed appropriately for the ever-changing loads, and easily cleaned in top dishwasher rack. Now, the new, but NOT IMPROVED version would barely hold the weight of my kitchen essentials, thus will not suit my needs, let alone have lasting value, since I am not willing to purchase things that contribute to this "throw away" society. I was required to enter one star, but no stars would better represent my overall disappointment. Please return to the original Classic design, with it's corner pocket and thick, heavy wire frame and generous coating. I am not interested in anti-microbial chemicals either, in my food area, or in our environment.

Boomerchef
Portland, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1-20 of 237 reviews