Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 411 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

411 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

411 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
222
4 stars
124
3 stars
30
2 stars
12
1 stars
23
1-20 of 302 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
5/26/2011

Customer review by eric33

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by eric33
by eric33

This GPS is awesome! It is small enough to prevent a blind spot but screen is big enough to see easily while driving. It's easy to register this unit on my.garmin.com and the download/installation of the map updates takes about 3-6 hrs depending on your internet speed. (May seem like alot of time but a map update runs $40-$60 for a ONE time update. you get 4/yr with this GPS) All the accessories come with the GPS and the battery life is very long. It also offers an ecoroute, a way to conserve MPG. I highly recommend this unit!

Was this review helpful? (520) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eric33
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Good basic device, Lifetime map update
6/19/2011

Customer review by NewGarminGuy

4.0 stars 6/19/2011 by NewGarminGuy
by NewGarminGuy

If you are not looking for a fancy GPS with all the gadgets and you just want a basic direction guidance with lifetime map update to keep it current. This is it. I have this nuvi 1100LM for almost a month now. Overall once you bought the device, you got to do an updates both on maps and softwares. This will take a good 6 to 7 hours. When it is completed, the GPS is ready for use and it is very easy to set up. The routing is good and quick. Please to uderstand, the automotive use GPS is not designed to be dead on the address, especially for a govenmental address. This is done for a reason, so don't blame it to mis guide you to the next door neighbor. All GPSs are like that regardless how much you spend. When you suppose to be guided on a freeway but you decide to stay on the frontage road, this GPS sometimes will get it confused and that is why I deduct a star. The more expensive GPS will use the speed and traffic condition to make a correction but this one simply just project the position based on the GPS signal. Use a little common sense, and you will not get shocked when you are "ordered" to get off a freeway but you are not on it. For a foreign person, Garmin has all the languages built in even on this inexpensive model. This is very useful for the people who speak other languages. Overall, I think Nuvi 1100LM is a must have in a car for a needed time.

Was this review helpful? (207) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewGarminGuy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does Not Speak Street Names
7/22/2011

Customer review by RockinMomma4

3.0 stars 7/22/2011 by RockinMomma4
by RockinMomma4

A couple of years ago we purchased a Garmin GPS for our daughter who was going away to college. When she is home and we travel with her, we have used her Garmin multiple times and have absolutely loved it. As she is away at school again we decided to purchase our own Garmin so we wouldn't need to rely on hers. We were very excited to see the Garmin Nuvi 1100 included lifetime maps and cost just under $90. It arrived yesterday and we took it out for a test run. To our dismay, this Garmin does not speak out the street names. It will say things like turn left in 3 1/2 miles and as you get closer to the intersection it will say turn left in .1 miles. The street name is printed on the screen, but there are times, especially in busy traffic, one doesn't have the ability to view the screen. I guess if we had never used one before, this would not be a deal breaker for us, but we have had exposure to an earlier version with the audio street name readouts and cannot live without it. We will be returning this model and purchasing one that will meet our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (115) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockinMomma4
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1st GPS
6/28/2011

Customer review by BWGirl

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by BWGirl
by BWGirl

I purchased my gps so I could feel comfortable driving on the highway, when I recieved my gps I didn't know what to expect. I had heard that some gps need to come with a video for instructions, but the garmin 1100 was so easy that a 7 yr old could understand. I really love my gps took the gps for a beach trip this week and its awesome. I will never leave home without it on a long distant trip---well worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (121) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BWGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but not great
6/20/2011

Customer review by ninja660

3.0 stars 6/20/2011 by ninja660
by ninja660

When I saw this GPS had lifetime map updates, one might think it meant for the lifetime of the product. According to GARMIN, it is as long as they deem the product viable (rough guess is about 1 to 2 years or PRODUCT LIFETIME, NOT UNTIL THE PRODUCT ACTUALLY FAILS/DIES.) If you want a feature rich GPS, consider a TomTom - they have alot more features and can actually use the GPS from a desktop computer. The only option with this GPS is that you can update maps from the Internet Connection and that's all. It does not allow one to submit map corrections (as TomTom does.) The map updates come about 4x per year (or quarterly). To sum it up, this is a feature limited GPS - if you have tried TomTom - you should stay with it as this makes the TomTom look like a luxury edition.

Was this review helpful? (145) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ninja660
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returning after 1 road trip
11/27/2011

Customer review by Agro42

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Agro42
by Agro42

I have been looking for an inexpensive GPS for a while, but I live in Las Vegas which has lots of streets being added all the time, so OI wanted one with lifetime map updates. This Nuvi 1100 with lifetime maps for $75 seemed like a great deal. I set it up, updated the maps and was happy and all set to use it for a road trip to Omaha for Thanksgiving. That's when the issues started coming up. 1. My wife was annoyed that this model doesn't speak the street names as you approach the turn. I thought all car oriented GPSs do that. I could live with it if that was the only issue. 2. It's not possible to have the keyboard in QWERTY mode, only in alphabetical order. I'm a programmer and spend all my time in front of a qwerty keyboard, an alphabetical keyboard is SOOOO annoying and slows me down incredibly. Another thing that I could live with if it was the only issue. 3. The sensor or calculator or whatever it is that switches the display from daytime (bright with a light background) to night (black background that doesn't ruin your night vision) was messed up. Driving from Denver to Las Vegas took me about 12 hours (twin 3-year-olds in the car mean lots of stops). In November, that means about 1/3 of the day's driving was in the dark. During the time it SHOULD have been in night mode, it kept flipping between day & night modes. It would also flip between a relief map and a basic street map display randomly, not just at night either. If it hadn't done night mode at all, that would have been less annoying than the constant flipping back and forth. If this issue was the only one, it is something that would have had me contacting Garmin for a different unit of the same model. 4. The killer. The unit kept rebooting for no reason. It was plugged into the car's power and never had a low charge. I'd be driving along the interstate in the middle of nowhere (I70 in Utah might not be the MIDDLE of nowhere, but you can see it from there) and it would reboot up to 10 or more times in an hour. It did it in cities (driving through Omaha, Denver, Mesquite, Las Vegas) and on the interstates in between. I think in the 1300 miles on the trip home from Omaha to Las Vegas, it must have rebooted 50 or 60 times at least. Sometimes within a couple of minutes, but I think the longest stretch without one was about 20 minutes. And so I'm returning it and looking for another inexpensive GPS with lifetime maps.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Agro42
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Compact and Convenient
7/12/2011

Customer review by lovemy2kids

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by lovemy2kids
by lovemy2kids

Was able to mount very easily to the dashboard of my chevy work van down by my radio, (didn't want to advertise by leaving an obvious mount on my windshield, I travel to some big cities) using the included mounting disk with sticky back. The suction cup grip is reliable yet releases easily when I want it to so I can put it in another vehicle in a pinch. The screen is small but very easily visible in pretty much any light. Excellent not just for directions but as a travel tool with constantly updating ETAs, average MPH, elevation readings, compass and other features to play with. The map update took a really long time but it came with fun upgrades to the vehicle icons. Also some issues with entering street addresses, (constantly autofills which can be maddening) I think a phone call to Garmin will probably clear up the issue as the device otherwise fuctions really well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemy2kids
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Limited GPS
10/5/2011

Customer review by norskagal

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by norskagal
by norskagal

I was very disappointed in this product. I had purchased it to replace an older Garmin Nuvi Model 265L on which the charger port had quit working. The 1100LM was unfortunately a lot less sophisticated than my old 265T, it did not give street names when navigating, it did not show the speed limit, and it did not have the Blue Tooth Option. These were options I had learned to appreciate in my old 265T, so I ended up returning the 1100LM, an ordered another 265T. I thought that the newer model would be an upgrade, but in this case it was definitely a downgrade.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
norskagal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Beware
8/2/2011

Customer review by bp001

2.0 stars 8/2/2011 by bp001
by bp001

Just returned this product to Walmart today. Owned this device for only a few weeks and just took a road trip where it worked for only a short while before it rebooted and locked up. The message I get everytime now is that it can't unlock maps and therefore cannot show any directions. Not the easy to use GPS I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bp001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per week
6/17/2011

Customer review by superjen615

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by superjen615
by superjen615

I wish this product had a way to chage your route by clicking/dragging on the map. It would be very helpful for comparing alternate routes quickly. Other than that, I'm totally pleased with it. I should have bought one sooner!

Was this review helpful? (21) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superjen615
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Searching for Satellite a few times
8/13/2011

Customer review by Need4Spg

3.0 stars 8/13/2011 by Need4Spg
by Need4Spg

Sometimes when you are on the road following the gps directions, all of a sudden out of no where it will say "searching for satellites". You are in the middle of the road and you might miss the exit that you are supposed to take and right at that moment you have that issue. Imagine you being in traffic and that happens. You have to stop your vehicle on the shoulder of the road until it tries to get back to normal(having satellite access back again). It has happened to me, want to make everyone aware of it prior to buying it. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Need4Spg
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/8/2011

Customer review by dcj314

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by dcj314
by dcj314

boutht this for my husband to help him locate addresses of customers because he is a plumber. he is neither computer or electronically literate, so i had concerns about his being able to operate it. thank you Garmin for making this unit so simple to use. within a week he had it down pat. this weekend our daughter is using it to get to a new work location as she has to travel to different locations for her job also. we also plan to use it when we go out of state for the first time next summer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcj314
reva, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
doesnt work
8/14/2011

Customer review by shawnfresno

1.0 stars 8/14/2011 by shawnfresno
by shawnfresno

this gps doesnt even get a signal. I have my nuvi 205 right next to this one and the 1100lm would never get a satellite signal. I took it outside and waited 15min and it never got a signal. my other one the 205 not even 2 min. An i get a signal indoor or outside. It looks nice but over all if it goes get a signal its just junk. My brother has the 1200 and his took some time to get a signal but it got a signal.

Was this review helpful? (15) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shawnfresno
fresno ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
out dated technology???
7/27/2011

Customer review by pianoking12

1.0 stars 7/27/2011 by pianoking12
by pianoking12

We have 2 other Garmin GPS that have outdated maps. We thought this would be excellent for the LM feature. We updated the maps and went on a 2500 mile trip. Between all the times it "lost sattelite", and all the times it wanted to send us off the interstate, it was almost worthless. I have run a copy of my return slip, and it is going back. Not happy at all.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pianoking12
VillaRica, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
price vs value can't be beat
8/6/2011

Customer review by vfw6506

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by vfw6506
by vfw6506

I've had the unit about a month and have used it several times. It works great. Hasn't missed a turn and has consistently taken me directly to every destination. I know that some people prefer the larger units, however, for a basic unit which I was interested in, this gps is perfect and for the price, including lifetime maps, I don't know how you can go wrong. I'm a novice, so I didn't understand the difference between voice to speech and voice directions and I'm still not 100% sure, however, this unit does provide voice directions. Also, I had read other reviews about downloading maps that took a long period of time. I have Comcast internet and my download only took about 20 minutes. Also, charging the unit didn't take hardly any time at all. I'm not really sure why others have had the problems that they've stated. Once again, for a basic unit, for the price, this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vfw6506
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good GPS for the price
6/22/2011

Customer review by 2grandparents

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by 2grandparents
by 2grandparents

My girls have a Tom Tom and this is equal theirs.....the only con is it talks to much......but you can mute it and watch the roads.....

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2grandparents
Bellingham, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great GPS for someone who wants Lifetime Map Updat
8/16/2011

Customer review by jeremyboy

3.0 stars 8/16/2011 by jeremyboy
by jeremyboy

This GPS is great for someone who wants Lifetime Map Updates. The only problem I have with the unit is it's a little small and it does not Text to Speech, meaning it does not speak street names. The only thing the unit will tell you is to turn left, right, or continue for X number of miles.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeremyboy
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't trust Garmin
4/1/2012

Customer review by johnnc48

1.0 stars 4/1/2012 by johnnc48
by johnnc48

Walmart has good customer service. Garmin doesn't. I bought a model with lifetime maps, and they wouldn't fulfill that promise. First they denied I had purchased a model with lifetime maps. Then they claimed the error was Walmart's. Walmart, they said had put the wrong information outside and *inside* the sealed package. Ridiculous. I wish I had just returned it and not even tried to get Garmin to stand behind their product. If you buy a Garmin, check out everything right away, and be prepared to return it. Don't depend on the manufacturer for support.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnnc48
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garmin Nuvi 1100
8/30/2011

Customer review by SandyLikeTheBeach

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by SandyLikeTheBeach
by SandyLikeTheBeach

I'm very pleased with the new GPS after a trip to Boston and an experience with Hurricane Ilene! Roads were closed. Alternate routes had to be used. It was always connected to excellent satellite reception. Connecting to Garmin on my computer and updating maps was simple. I look forward to unlimited map updates. I will have to familiarize myself with all the uses of the GPS but for now I'm very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SandyLikeTheBeach
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great choice.
7/11/2011

Customer review by texaslp

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by texaslp
by texaslp

OK, we researched and researched and finally decided that what we wanted and needed was a good gps that is update-able and could also do geocaching at least a little. I took a chance and ordered a reconditioned one because the price was fantastic and I figured I could always return it if it did not work. We received the nuvi within a week. It looks brand new, box and all. We have used the gps portion twice; once in a metropolitan city and there was not a single blip. We used it in our little tiny suburb, where the streets are under 2 years old and there has been no problems. We have tried to geocache with it twice and got to within 10 feet of the marker. We are super happy with this choice, Garmin nuvi 1100LM 3.5" GPS w/ Lifetime Map Updates, so far. Will add more in about 6 months, but so far, so good. We also bought the 1 year warranty, it was cheap.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texaslp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews