Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

228 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
117
4 stars
55
3 stars
19
2 stars
19
1 stars
18
1-20 of 227 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
Quality black printing plus copier & fax & scanner
10/29/2012

Customer review by DenimFan

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by DenimFan
by DenimFan

We were tired of paying for color cartridges that dried up or quit working. We were tired of not being able to print BLACK if a COLOR cartridge was dry. We were tired of replacing expensive cartridges when we hadn't gotten the good out of them. We were just sick and tired of ink jet printers. We have lost count on how many we have had, and they always convinced us that they had greatly improved. Ha! We decided to go with a black-only laser printer. We have used it for over a month now, waiting to write a review in order to know the machine better. We are pleased in every way. We have three wireless Mac computers (one 10.4.11; two 10.7.5) , and it was easy to set them all up with the disk included with the machine. We have never had a jam even though we recycle used-on-one-side paper. We have used all the features, and the manual that comes with the machine made everything easy to understand. I don't see how we could like this Brother machine any better than we do. Something might happen tomorrow that will change our minds, but right now, today, it is the best printer we have had. Oh, one thing. It scans to pdf, not ocr. That means I can't put it into my documents as text, only as a "picture." Bummer.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DenimFan
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Printer
10/17/2014

Customer review by Anthonyotg

5.0 stars 10/17/2014 by Anthonyotg
by Anthonyotg

I had a Brother (TRUE) laser printer years ago and loved it. Don't know why I fell for the laser jet pitch. They seemed to always be out of ink at the worst time. And way too often. I tried several different brands, always with the same frustration. Then I asked myself, "How often do I really need color?" Those really rare times don't even compare to having an absolutely dependable, high quality b/w true LASER printer. Even when the toner eventually gets low, I can always take the cartridge out, gently rock it side to side, reposition it and print more copies. Wireless home network setup was a breeze when guided, step by step, by the excellent free, native-English-speaking, phone tech support. My XX (NOT) laser jet went to the Goodwill and I am happy whenever I need to print on my Brother-7860DW (TRUE) laser printer. The initial higher price, compared to the (NOT) laser-jets, is quickly paid for by the much lower-per-copy ink cost of the Brother. Not to mention the end of aggravation!

Anthonyotg
Cupertino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/22/2014

Customer review by Jcimmino

2.0 stars 10/22/2014 by Jcimmino
by Jcimmino

This All in One printer is not what I expected for the price I paid. From the beginning I have had trouble. I was told there was enough ink in the cartridge to print at least 600 pages. My machine only printed about 20 pages. I was told it had great speed for faxing, printing and copying. It is much slower than my old cannon machine. This machine also makes noise when using the functions. I went to staples to complain and they told me to call brother. I called and the person who helped me made me do a few different things with the printer. It still didn't help. Now I am getting error messages every time I need to fax. I am very disappointed in this product. Tried calling several times in the last couple of days during regular business hours. The recording gives the hours, and they the recording says they are closed and call the next business day.. I depend on my multi function brother all in one for my business... I had to connect my printer from about 10 yrs ago back in to get my work done...Thanks brother for nothing!

Jcimmino
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great with Hotspots from a smart phone
6/28/2012

Customer review by CSV4

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by CSV4
by CSV4

Walmart's price was great for this product. Only $50.00 more for wireless. Worked great with my smart phone hotspot set-up to allow my laptops to print wireless. No USB connections. Took a little time to install the driver software into the laptops, but that is to be expected.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CSV4
Vero Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice fast compact MFC
3/3/2013

Customer review by samm

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by samm
by samm

We've had a 7820N for years, but wanted Wireless support. the drum needed to be replaced on the 7820, so I took the opportunity to upgrade to the 7860DW when they went on sale again. faster, quieter, and the wireless support is just what I wanted. printing from our mobile devices now just works. (wish we had color support, but the units are too big for the space I have) on my 7820 review I criticized the scanning of pictures support. the 7860 has improved that, you now have the ability to manually set a crop area for each scan.. rotate the image if the picture is not square, eliminate the background.. so the work compared to the 7820 is way down. but still not usable by a casual user. this printer supports both wired and wireless.. but you can only have ONE active at a time. sad.. in my networked environment, the hard wire is much faster than wireless.. so you should be able to use both.. but so far it works reliably on wireless.

samm
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saves $ on printing
11/24/2012

Customer review by NotechSavy

4.0 stars 11/24/2012 by NotechSavy
by NotechSavy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Cant get the darn wifi to work. Sure its more my fault then the printer. Not the brightest tech person. But still prints off well. Have printed more then 500 documents and toner is still got a long way to go!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotechSavy
Phenix City,AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MFC-7860DW
8/16/2013

Customer review by BobQ

2.0 stars 8/16/2013 by BobQ
by BobQ

I feel that the printer is a good product WHEN IT IS OPERATIONAL!!! Living in Florida we are subject to numerous and sometimes vicious storms, not attempting to exclude Hurricanes which are another story. The major problem I have been experiencing is that when a storm “knocks out the power” for some reason or the other the “Network Card” must go blank or something and the printer goes off line. Under normal circumstances this would be OK, however there is no notification and when you really need to print something that’s when you find out your offline?????? My question: Is there some way to be notified when “offline”?? Without having to check every Wi-Fi or connection?? Is there an easy fix?? I do follow all the directions to fix it although if I’m printing I do need it now?? Last minute changes for a class assignment or a work project?? When I speak to your support staff they are very kind, courteous and helpful. Thanks Bob

BobQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very capable machine
6/29/2012

Customer review by AL3920

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by AL3920
by AL3920

This is the first laser multifunction machine we have used in our business and so far it has been working great. Set up was very easy and the machine has excellent features for this price level. I highly recommend this printer and I would definitely purchase another for my home office.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AL3920
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MFC again
9/9/2013

Customer review by MFCagain4us

1.0 stars 9/9/2013 by MFCagain4us
by MFCagain4us

I had another Brother MFC model for years and it was wonderful until age related issues started. Instead of repairing we bought this new MFC-7860DW. For some reason I am having constant issues. I am spending lots of time on Brother website looking for solutions and trying everything. Mostly it tells me I have transmission problems, printer offline, etc. I've plugged into other USB ports, bought new shorter printer cable, etc. My next step will be to reload the software when I have time. When working the item is GREAT but the stop and fix issues slow down my productivity since I print a lot for work purposes. I also had, or should I say still have, problems getting my laptop to work with it wirelessly. Scanner issues, too. The scanner software is a nuisance with constant emails & pop-ups trying to sell me upgrades. Paper speeds in so fast it takes too many pages and overlaps. If hand feeding it still has issues. Again more time wasted. Very frustrating. If my boss hadn't been so happy to pick & purchase this model, I would have returned it very soon after I got it.

MFCagain4us
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good work horse but...
6/30/2012

Customer review by MakeitworkforMacs

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by MakeitworkforMacs
by MakeitworkforMacs

I have not yet figured out how to scan to my iMac. The menu just says "Scan to PC" and it does not work for the Mac so far. I need to do research. Other than that it's working great. Seat up was pretty easy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MakeitworkforMacs
Ann Arbor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Always Good Products - But Toner Warning Not Green
2/18/2014

Customer review by SmallInsOffice

3.0 stars 2/18/2014 by SmallInsOffice
by SmallInsOffice

This little Brother is very functional for the price. Prints, Scans, and copies well. However, the low toner warning has been coming on for months. Granted, most of our printing is done at the office on another printer so this is low volume, but we have printed several hundred pages since the warning told us to replace the cartridge. What an absolute waste it would have been to have replaced it when the program told us to. Besides the unnecessary expense to us, what a detriment to our environment. Fuel burned to ship for recycle, energy used to recycle, fuel burned to ship the recycled product to new consumer. I'm not a green freak, but am concerned about wasteful use of our natural resources. Come on, Brother, recalibrate your sensors so that replacement warning comes on at the appropriate time. Here's an idea, indicate the actual number of pages left at typical toner usage per page and allow the consumer to set when the warning comes on - 500 pages, 200, 100 pages, etc. Toner replacement warnings that come way too early, and often, only serve to irritate otherwise loyal customers and harm the environment.

SmallInsOffice
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Real good value & performer
4/5/2012

Customer review by RobK

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by RobK
by RobK

I searched for a while for a wireless, black & white all-in-one laser printer. While doing my research I saw that my local Best Buy was having a sale on these, with $100 off. I saw that it received positive reviews so I took the plunge and purchased it. Set up was pretty easy. I had a bit of trouble getting it to wirelessly connect with my home network. I called Brother and they were able to help me very quickly. I think it was a case of me not fully understanding the instructions. After using it for a few months I am extremely pleased with this machine. The quality if printing and copies is excellent. The print speed is very fast. I love that I can print on it from anywhere in the house with my wirelessly connected laptop. Scanning is easy and I use it a lot. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase. Highly recommended.

RobK
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a review
5/6/2014

Customer review by slow

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by slow
by slow

I've only tried the wireless feature so far, and can confirm wireless printing from computers on another floor works, which saves time transporting computers to the wired USB plugged printer. We did connect it and our computers to our router's local network, though, so I'm not experienced with the printer's wireless capabilities without a router. Our older printers are also Brother all in one kind printers. Though they were wired, they were capable of printing out textbook-worth of papers and are still functional after more than 4 years. One of them has only encountered one breakdown that was a mystery for a while, but with some Googling, was revealed to be an internal paper jam. This printer has been working without problems for a few months, and we expect the same longevity from this printer as from our wired Brother printers.

slow
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another wonderful Brother product.
11/5/2012

Customer review by roadjungle

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by roadjungle
by roadjungle

I will keep it short and to the point. Wonderful customer service to assist me with original wireless setup on three computers. Instructions emailed to me so I can easily complete set up in the future if necessary. Clear, fast machine at a very fair price. My experience with Brother products have shown me that Brother makes machines that last. Heck I have a Brother Typewriter with white tape erase and printer cassettes I keep on hand because it still works perfectly. Others I know are very pleased with this machine and Brother as a company as well. All my experiences have been positive. I have owned the machine for almost 5 months so far. Good company, Good product. P.S. My Daisy wheel 3.5 disk Brother is most likely still working in someones home after I donated it in perfect working order more years ago then I can remember.

roadjungle
Spokane WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
4/11/2012

Customer review by Ikie

2.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Ikie
by Ikie

This is one of the most inconvenient printers I have ever used. I do like to print my envelopes and it is most annoying and inconvenient to have to do it from the back of the machine. It is also extremely difficult to feed a single piece of paper into it. I found the scanning software clumsy also. It takes a long time to wake up from a sleep to print. It is very poorly designed. I will be taking this back and looking for something that will better suit my needs. I wanted to test out a piece of paper with a label layout and it would not print unless you used the manual feeder in the back which I still have not been able to do. This has been an extreme waste of my time. I do a lot of volunteer work and am familiar with a lot of programs and have used several different types of printers. This has been the worst.

Ikie
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap to buy, expensive to run, lots of headaches
10/30/2014

Customer review by Clarendon7205

2.0 stars 10/30/2014 by Clarendon7205
by Clarendon7205

Soon after buying this product -- but outside the warranty period -- I noticed that after just a couple hundred copies, the print becomes so pale that I need to change the toner cartridge, even though there is plenty of toner left. Currently alternating among three different cartridges depending on how good a print product I need! Also, the copy function produces an even lighter result than the print function. Tech support was unable to resolve; replacing drum didn't help. I noticed same machine at another office and confirmed that they have the same problem. Also, the manual paper input is poorly designed and clunky to use. My last machine was a Brother, but after this one I am reluctant to buy a third one. As the electronics get ever more sophisticated, the physical product seems to get flimsier.

Clarendon7205
southeastern Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Laser Printer
12/30/2012

Customer review by seafms

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by seafms
by seafms

The printer integrates well with Windows XP or Windows 7. I was getting tired of paying high prices for the inkjet cartridges. Since I almost always print in black, the black and white printer is the way to go. I did notice that the printed pages tend to curl. However, they can be reinserted if you need to print on the reverse side. This printer will print duplex (both sides) if you choose that option from printer setup. Much faster than the inkjet printers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seafms
Renton,Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mixed Bag
11/3/2012

Customer review by CA94551

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by CA94551
by CA94551

Once installed the unit worked very well. Quality prints , copies, and scans To get there-another story: Installation was problematic. Th PDF software took over an existing installation of NITRO - this required cleaning up the mess , re registering and that only after significant time analyzing an approach. Why the install didn't recognize the existing install and at least ask - I don't know. Regarding scanning - and this is true of our 9560CDW as well The scan interface is at best difficult. Setting changes require restart of the system -WHY??? Our "P" scanner doesn't. And the file management is somewhat convoluted Still our history with Brother products for reliability has been good They make good, reliable hardware. Perhaps they can learn to improve the human interface

CA94551
SF Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Printer
3/22/2012

Customer review by JJRGV

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by JJRGV
by JJRGV

I purchased this printer to complement a color inkjet that prints well but is too expensive for printing day to day items that I need for only short term purposes. It also does a great job printing manuals since it seems most products no longer come with them but rather with a link to where you can print one if needed. The installation was a breeze and connectivity via wifi is great. I've only had one connectivity problem and that was caused by the wifi gear and not the printer. Print quality and speed are both good. It is noisy while printing but quickly goes to sleep when the job is done and is unnoticed. I am a happy customer. The starter cartridge lasted me well over a month so I am optimistic that it will be economical on the use of toner.

JJRGV
Edinburg Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too many issues with this model
6/19/2014

Customer review by Atassm

2.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Atassm
by Atassm

I left HP and joined Brother as the sales person said no hassle printer MFC7860DW. It was hassle from the first week and I still have multiple problems getting it to work. It work then it stop again for different reason every time. I hate it. I will go back to HP or try Cannon next time. The documentations Brother put for troubleshooting are no idea what they are talking about. HP excellent done and just follow and you get your issues fixed. Menu on the Brother is in a language no one understands. HP is easy and clear to do anything you need too. Without tech support with Brother no way you can fix your printer problems. Customer service if you got them right away they do solve your problems. I can give them 4 stars for CS.

Atassm
San Diego County
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews