Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 stars
5
1-20 of 67 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Excellent all around
11/25/2012

Customer review by NMJester

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by NMJester
by NMJester

We've been using this printer for a while now, and we've been completely satisfied with every part of it. The printing speeds are good, though likely not at laser levels, it prints quickly for an inkjet. The capacity to handle ledger (11" x 17") paper has allowed us to print signs. The colors are very true and accurate. Photo printing is of the highest quality. The bypass feeder makes special one-off jobs much easier to handle. The ink cartridges are easy to replace and are individual colors, so you only replace them as they run out. The yield has been excellent. My wife uses the fax function for her job. No issues there. Faxes are very clear and print quickly. The scanner is great, too, allowing excellent resolution and good speeds. The MFC-J6910dw does have a large footprint. But for all the features, it performs at a level comparable to much larger, and far more expensive, copy systems. I have no reservations about recommending this machine to anyone from the occasional home user to a medium business.

NMJester
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product. Just read the book !!!
3/5/2012

Customer review by DJ48

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by DJ48
by DJ48

I read somewhere, that this was not a "PHOTO PRINTER". That isn't true. I find this to be an excellent Photo Printer. Like anything else, you have to take the time to figure it out. I'm still finding out things about this machine, and Brother has excellent people to help you if you need help. I reviewed the Ink (SEE BELOW), and found it to be excellent in quality and length of use. I find the Innobella paper to be top quality also, and it isn't any costlier than other comparable paper. This is a "PROFESSIONAL SERIES MACHINE" people, so take your time and treat it like one. "This review is going to be just a little biased, but not that much. Having recently purchased a Brother MFC j6910dw Inkjet Professional Series All In One machine from Walmart.com, as well as the XXL Ink Cartridges, and the 3 year extended warranty, to replace my dead for sure HP 2410v PSC All In One, which served me very well for 8 years, I can say that I & my family have already used up most of the Color ink in the starter pack, the most being the Yellow(Got a "LOW INK" notice on the yellow. The other 2 colors are just a little below half, and the Black hasn't hardly moved at all. So far, We've printed 40 4x6 Glossy Photos & 4 8x10 Glossy as well as several Black & White 8x10 Glossy photos. I have a 9 month old Great Granddaughter which is the reason for all of this activity. I have also printed a bunch of stored documents, such as tax files, insurance files, etc., anything that I had saved after my HP died, and I felt was important to mr to be printed. This is where the "BIAS" comes in. My HP ate me up in ink costs, especially the Tri Color Cartridge. When one color ran out, the entire cartridge was shot. The Brother has 4 cartridges, and you can get them very reasonable from "BROTHERMALL". If the XXL Cartridges produce like they're supposed too, I'll be very happy. There are other Re-Engineered & Re-filled Cartridges on the market, but I'm only going to use genuine Brother Ink & Paper". I find everything about this machine to be top quality, and more so, since I got it all when everything was on sale.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJ48
Bonnyman,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy & product!!
12/23/2011

Customer review by Jen2929

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Jen2929
by Jen2929

I love this printer! It was a great buy for the price. Prints come out crisp & bright. I would recommend this printer to anyone looking for a new printer....

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jen2929
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Very Happy
10/16/2011

Customer review by MikeyG

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by MikeyG
by MikeyG

I bought this unit to replace an MFC-5440CN that lasted 5 years and traveled to and from Afghanistan and back twice. Being very happy with my previous unit, I researched Brother MFCs and decided that this unit is the right one for me. I love that I can duplex and that the driver supports booklet printing (which I use for some of the instruction books I make for the computers I build) and I especially love the duplexing auto document feeder. Configuration to my network (I used the LAN and not the wireless) was a snap, and the driver works will all functions across the network. There is an app on the Android that supports this unit and although I only very rarely print from my phone, it is pretty cool to do so. I also love the separate ink cartridges and knowing that I'm not wasting a whole bunch of magenta ink whenever I need to replace the yellow, which happened all the time with the last Epson I owned. The only issue I have with this printer is that it is freaking huge for a home office, but with all the features, I suppose it has to be on the large side.

MikeyG
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Right Fit For My Business
12/3/2012

Customer review by KCBGJ

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by KCBGJ
by KCBGJ

We are a Custom Home & Commercial Builder with 5 employees, & we purchased this product to consolidate the 5 pieces of machinery that this printer accomplishes single handedly. It is very difficult to find a printer that will handle 11x17 media, & this is a huge plus for us when it comes to blue prints for smaller projects. The printer easily networked to all 6 workstations in our office, some of which are running XP and Windows 7. The included software is more than sufficient & easy to use. The touchscreen is a nice feature & operated smoothly. Add to that duplex, scanning, faxing, copying, & printing...the printer is well priced for the features. This is the first brother printer I have owned, so I can't speak to the longevity. We have owned this printer for almost 2 months now with no issues. The only complaint that I have is that the edges of text are not clean and crisp, they are slightly jagged as if the ink slightly bleeds after printing. I will be experimenting with paper to see if this is the cause. In any case I would definitely recommend this product.

KCBGJ
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Printer for Decent Price
3/16/2012

Customer review by MomsCrew

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by MomsCrew
by MomsCrew

I Purchased this printer to do ledger 2-sided documents in booklet/program format, as well as large photos and poster images. I Like that it will print 11x17 double-sided. A+ for the dual paper trays, each holding 250 sheets. I Had to learn by frustration that it will not copy 2-sided 11x17, only copy up to 8x14 2-sided, and that's great, too. The color print quality could be more vibrant/true color, e.g. blue appears purple, red, well it's not red, and so on. Though I have not tried it yet, Brother support suggested to me to use Brother quality paper, and that sounds reasonable being all printer manufactuers suggest using their products and accessories. Overall, I like the printer for the price. It's affordable and produces a great finish when printing text only documents with no color photos/images, and I LOVE the fact that it will print 2-sided in ledger format!

MomsCrew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommended
10/15/2012

Customer review by AtomicAl

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by AtomicAl
by AtomicAl

Brother: This is my review of Brother Multifunction printer-scanner-copier MFC-J6910DW Hardware: Very good Color touchscreen: Excellent Programming of touchscreen: Excellent This printer-scanner-copier comes with 2 sets of software. The first is perfectly good scanner software from Brother. The second is included at no charge Paper Port SE from Nuance. Nuance does not sell the SE version. To get it you must buy a Brother product. Included in the Nuance package is: Nuance Paper Port SE Nuance PDF Viewer Plus, and Nuance Image Viewer I rate this product ***** stars out of 5 NOTE TO BROTHER PROGRAMMERS: The printing preferences could be improved. When a user changes the kind of paper he is printing it is necessary to enter the Paper Size twice, on the Basic Screen and on the Advanced Screen. I am sure you can simplify and improve this so information is entered 1 time in 1 place. Less chance for error. NOTE TO NUANCE: There is no way to register this product. When I tried your website asks for the Nuance serial number. There is no serial number for Paper Port SE. I rate the Nuance software ****** (6) stars out of 5.

AtomicAl
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job
2/13/2013

Customer review by Drobinson

2.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Drobinson
by Drobinson

Setup was easy. Printing was another story. Real poor printouts at first, but , with a little tweaking, got some good B&W documents. Direct copying is poor. To get good copies, I had to scan to the computer making PDF documents and print them. Flimsy base and paper drawers which are a pain to load. Side loading can only handle one sheet at a time. The ledger size copy and printing is it's only plus. Color prints are mediocre. You really have to try different settings to find one that works well. The lever over the black cartridge broke when I replaced it the 1st time and had to have it fixed. Paper trays are difficult to load because you have to manually 're-size' the tray to match the media size. They should have different size trays for different size media. I would recommend this to a friend only if they needed a Ledger Size copier/printer.

Drobinson
Graham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a good all around printer
3/12/2012

Customer review by Imaginate2468

2.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Imaginate2468
by Imaginate2468

This printer is very good at scanning. I like that you can save the scan to a folder as a pdf with a specific name. I also like that you can scan standard size paper portrait or landscape. I, however, use this as my main printer as an Admin. These are the issues I've found: - Large print jobs: Originals have fallen on the floor and the printed pages get out of order because the printed page won't necessarily land on top of the previous page. This is what drives me crazy the most about this printer. - Depending on the software, documents are printed in reverse order. - If any of the ink cartridges is below half, I get a balloon message throughout the day, even if I'm not printing. - The printer default is FAX. So when I need to make a copy, I have to hit COPY several times to get to the copy mode. Otherwise it wants to fax my document. - There is a beep when it is out of paper or jammed, but I also get a beep for other functions that I do not need to be alerted about. - The back manual tray, only accommodates 1 page and doesn't like labels. - The color print quality is poor and sometimes is not even close to what I see on the monitor. - The printer may hold 500 sheets but if you put that many in, it will jam.

Imaginate2468
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good but....
12/25/2012

Customer review by truthbeknown

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by truthbeknown
by truthbeknown

I need 11x17 and love the machine but it's not as fast as advertised. This is a replacement machine for a machine which was corrupted from the start. I never realized it. Brother support noticed it and changed it. That's pretty good I'd say. This one works beautifully BUT it is somewhat slow. I need fast. ALSO, after every copy job - 1 page or 50 pages - there is a long wait period while the machine checks itself. Still, it's a unique machine. If in the future these problems were addressed, I'd have no trouble buying another Brother printer. Last, my expertise as Advanced amateur or home (personal use) (below) does not meet the title I'd choose nor do the others. Let us write it in out own words. Whomever wrote them has a narrow perspective.

truthbeknown
Brooklyn N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I'm lovin' it.
12/3/2012

Customer review by BusyBeaver

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by BusyBeaver
by BusyBeaver

The all-in-one is so integral to my 2-person engineering business that I could not function without it. Once I figured out to operate it through the icon on my computer screen instead of through the touch screen on the all-in-one, everything came together. The quality of scans on True Gray is what I need to send high quality drawings that well represent my final product to my clients. I needed an all-in-one that does 11"x17" paper and I don't know if there is anything else available except a full blown photocopy machine that costs many times more than this. When printing, I have to feed the 11x17's in one at a time which is slow but that is my only issue. Scanning 11x17's is done through the paper feeder and is nice and fast. For me, I like to the variety of scanning qualities I can choose from. It is fast and easy to change qualities and I am always choosing the most suitable based on quality versus file size for ease of emailing. And your tech. support was awesome. The Brother MFC-J6910 has really helped launch my new business. I recommend that your tech. support and operating manual more highly recommend that the all-in-one be operated from the computer icon. That did not dawn on me until I had gone through some unnecessary travails.

BusyBeaver
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good printer. Forget the WI-FI, get a cable.
2/28/2014

Customer review by Constant

4.0 stars 2/28/2014 by Constant
by Constant

So, this printer is slow, you need to know, but it's also inexpensive. Secondly, I had no mechanical issues with it. The problem with this printer is the wireless connection. My internet connection did drop a few times, and when it happens the printer gets stuck. I had to re-initialize the WLAN connection at the printer, then set the connection again to have it working. I also had an issue with the scanner refusing to work. I had to run a registry cleaner program on my computer, then reinstall the printer software on my computer. This fixed the issue. Note that when the printer has issues, it leaves traces in the Windows registry that you need to clean before reinstalling the printer software. Simply use a program such as CCleaner and perform all the cleanings it recommends, both in registry and in computer files, then the printer should be working again. Please note that the issues I have experienced are not to the reach of the average computer user. I don't believe Brother would have helped with this, and they also redirect you to Windows help which is useless in such situation (they will redirect you to Brothers customer service). Finally, I recommend using a standard USB cable (standard USB connectors at both extremities, just like a normal USB memory stick), you can get one from dollar stores.

Constant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MFC-J6910W
12/3/2012

Customer review by reb1941

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by reb1941
by reb1941

Just what I expected from a Brother printer. Having owned several Brother printers in the past. I have owned other major bands also,but they seem to always having maintenance problems. My Brother printers just seem to always work. As for the MFC-J6910W the text looks very good. The scanner and fax each work no problem.It is also very easy to go to the Brother website and just download the software driver.I shopped around and found my best price at Staples with a $25 off coupon.Also I ordered new ink From AMAZON.com $26 for the LC79BK XXL cartridge All in all very satisfied with the MFC-J6910W model, So far no problems.

reb1941
CHANDLER<AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Large format print/scan/copy/fax
6/21/2013

Customer review by drsyed

4.0 stars 6/21/2013 by drsyed
by drsyed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to be working fine so far. Have had it a week. Paper output won't fall on floor if the paper guide holder is pulled out from tray 1 as directed. Paper trays seem to be fine, not flimsy, but made out of a more flexible plastic and could possibly bread easier...but that's what the warranty is for. Brother offers a 3 yr warranty on the product already...not sure if the Walmart warranty is needed, but it wasn't too expensive so I got it also. Color appears a little faded and less vibrant. I'm using it mainly for scan/fax and regular copy so it meets my needs. I send color photo or other higher quality work to either walmart photocenter or a copy center. All in all, seems to be a good product. Stay tuned...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drsyed
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good machine that can get better
12/3/2012

Customer review by Soundfield

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Soundfield
by Soundfield

I've been pleased with this machine except for the software used for scanning. There have been real problems geting the software to work (the scans sometimes don't copy to my Mac properly) and I've found it very difficult to do anything about that. Last time I checked there's another company that's responsible for software problems and I did not get any help from them (they are in the UK). The US market really needs more products that can handle 11x17 scans and printing, so I hope Brother will continue to improve upon what it has done so far, starting with better scan software.

Soundfield
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This printer is excellent
8/18/2011

Customer review by Gracie

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Gracie
by Gracie

This is my second Brother printer and while the other 3in1 is still working well, I wanted another printer for two reasons: one that would have a large format scanning bed and printing area and one that would print on heavy artists paper w/o rolling it thru. I do architectual floorplans and elevations and I'm also an artist. The print quality was also a consideration. This printer performs unbelievably well on all counts. I thought I was going to have to spend $1000 or more. I'm very pleased with this printer and can't recommend it enough.

Gracie
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a remote office
11/25/2012

Customer review by charliethetuna

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by charliethetuna
by charliethetuna

As an engineer, I often work remote from my office and colleagues. This printer's capability to both scan and print 11x17 documents is a godsend. My office sends me drawings as pdf's which I can quickly mark up in red, scan, and send back to the person doing the CAD work. So far I have had several months of flawless performance. It is physically large - almost too big to share a desk with other activities. The default location for saving scans is most clumsy to use and customization altho not easy to figure out is necessary

charliethetuna
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great performer!
12/4/2012

Customer review by Jules

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Jules
by Jules

Just right for home use or small home business tasks. Easy setup, Good versatility and options. It has run smoothly since my purchase of several months ago. I like to print 2 sided to save paper and the two trays for different sized paper is handy. Not to mention the extra third option of mannual dingle feed for unusual sizes which I do from time to time. Ink lasts and is very easy to change. All in all I would highly recommend this multi task printer for home or small home business purposes.

Jules
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2-Month Review
9/14/2011

Customer review by CorrEngCon

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by CorrEngCon
by CorrEngCon

So far, so good. When I purchase a product I actually expect it to work as it is described. I also do a great bit of research and comparisons of products before making a decision. This leads me to feel confident in my purchasing decision and creates a high level of expectation from the product I purchased. This printer has performed as anticipated, so far. I have not had to purchase ink for the product yet, but I did find there is a limited number of local places that sell the ink.

CorrEngCon
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Printer - Great Buy
10/21/2011

Customer review by RiverNut

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by RiverNut
by RiverNut

We bought this printer to print AutoCAD drawings on 11x17 without having to change out the paper and settings like on our previous Brother. It works like a charm. The settings are easy to change to switch between printing, copy and fax. Best of all, this printer doesn't "eat" ink like some others we have owned. We also found replacement ink cartridges online for a very reasonable price! We are completely satisfied with the quality and reliability of this Brother product.

RiverNut
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews