Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 144 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

144 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

144 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
45
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
15
1-20 of 119 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews
Good picture Great price
9/7/2011

Customer review by jjohn225

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by jjohn225
by jjohn225

I went to Walmart to buy a 55" LCD HDTV. They had about a half dozen TV's of different Mfg's ranging in price from $1200.00 to $2200.00. I had settled on a LG since I had a 47" LG and really liked the picture. I then worked myself down to the end of the row of TV's and saw the Sanyo DP55441 for $850.00. I liked the price - a lot. I spent a good half hour going between all the 55" sets comparing pictures. The Sanyo's picture fell in the middle of the pack. I was familiar with the Sanyo brand from twenty years ago when I used to service TV's. At that time I found them to be very reliable and well built, but I have no idea if the Sanyo of twenty years ago is the same Sanyo of today. Considering the picture was as good as the others and the price was much lower, I decided to buy it and give it a try. The TV is a little heavier and deeper than the more expensive models but not by much. It was apparent where some of the cost savings were. The inputs and outputs were a little lacking. Only three HDMI inputs and no optical digital audio output. (It does have a coax audio output) The HDTV is not internet ready. It is just a bare-bones HDTV, but I accepted that when I bought it. For $11.00 I bought a coax to optical audio converter and for $20.00 I bought a HDMI switcher which now gives me a total of six HDMI inputs. Both items were bought for less thn $50.00. Like most HDTV's the picture was terrible when setup in my living room. I then pulled out my HDTV calibration disc and went through the simple process of properly setting the controls. When I was finished I was amazed. This TV displayed a great picture. Every bit as good as more expensive models I've watched. Let me take the time now to tell everyone that properly calibrating the picture is essential. I consider this step a must. The difference after calibrating the picture is amazing no matter the manufacturer or price of the TV. The sound is just OK but I have it hooked up to home-theater sound, anyway. I have had the TV almost a week and am very pleased with it. As I said it's a little heavy and deep but for all of it's short comings, the price has made it worth it. If your shopping for an HDTV and your on a budget, I recommend this HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (560) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjohn225
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value and picture
8/8/2011

Customer review by ColonelPanic

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by ColonelPanic
by ColonelPanic

Easy to set up. Tuner lacks Favorites, so you have to manually scroll to or manually enter a station. A combination power-saving / image adjustment feature on the Sanyo DP55441 (and the Sanyo DP52440) is the "Light Sensor". This feature changes the contrast and brightness variably with ambient room light. The default setting on my DP55441 was for the feature to be enabled, and for the setting (low, medium, or high on the DP55441 and simply on/off on the DP52440) to be on high. Since my viewing room is rather dim, I found myself a bit disappointed in the brightness of the image even after I had adjusted it with the THX feature on a DVD. I just happened to stumble upon the light sensor adjustment after a closer re-read of the manual. Turned the feature off, re-adjusted to my taste, and voila - awesome picture! I'm thrilled with this set! Set has coaxial digital audio out, which is not an optical out. I believe you can get an adapter at Monoprice (search for #2947) for about $12 if you need it. I'll tell you what - watching The Matrix on Blu-Ray with this set looked like it was in 3-D! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (195) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColonelPanic
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good TV
8/1/2011

Customer review by Nutsmyer

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Nutsmyer
by Nutsmyer

Very easy to operate. Even with out HD signal the picture is very clear

Was this review helpful? (109) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nutsmyer
Marquette, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice
10/24/2011

Customer review by lldude

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by lldude
by lldude

I have had this television for about 2 months now, so think I know how well it works, and can give a fair assessment. The picture on this television is very nice. I have read other reviews which complain about "grainy" picture, but this is a BIG television, and is made for viewing from a bit of a distance. If you are 3 feet in front, yes, the picture is a bit grainy, but backing up a bit resolves this quite nicely. The stand is a bit flimsy feeling, but I think it will solidly hold the television throughout my time owning it. I can't really rate the sound, as all my sound runs through my surround system, and not the television. Overall, I am thrilled with the TV. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
55" for $798.00?? Are you kidding me?!
2/16/2012

Customer review by Stryke

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by Stryke
by Stryke

My Sony Wega was dying (optical block). So I started doing my research and I looked for about two weeks. This Sanyo came in 4th on Consumer Reports in it's catagory. The other three were LG (2) and an Insignia, all for about 2-3 hundred dollars more. Yes this tv does not have all the bells and whistles that the others have, but it's enough for what I need. The picture is great (it beats my Sony Wega LCP hands down), I did turn off the refresh rate, for it was doing the motion blur/juddering. And what I read from most of the experts, most of the signals that being used is still 60 frames per second, and the higher refresh htz rate are overkill. Yeah the sounds is not the best, but not to many LCD tvs do. Plus I run a home theater system anyway. If your looking for a great deal for your hard earned money, look no further. Pros-Great picture, nice looking tv, and great value for the price. Cons-Sound is lacking and the remote is not greatest, glad I have my Dish remote.

Was this review helpful? (49) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stryke
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeps turning off
9/4/2011

Customer review by Buggyjay

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by Buggyjay
by Buggyjay

I really like this TV, only problem is that it turns off by itself. I called Sanyo customer service and they told me to take it back and exchange it. There is something wrong with the software. I asked if this is a common problem with this model, they said no. I am not too happy about having to lug this tv back to the store and then lug the new one back. I havent even gotten rid of the first box yet. I did call Walmart and they will exchange with my receipt. Other then that I am very happy with the price and the screen quality. -

Was this review helpful? (117) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buggyjay
Waterloo, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good T.V. all around...
1/27/2012

Customer review by TVBug71

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by TVBug71
by TVBug71

I purchased this t.v. 1-21-12, brought it home set it up right out of the box, no problems, this is a great t.v. for the money. It is nothing fancy, but the picture quality is great, crystal clear picture as if you could reach out and touch what ever you are watching.. and it is easy to set up. The sound is a little low but with the purchace of a sound bar no problems. I would recomend this t.v. to anyone who is looking for a great value for a t.v. of this size. Do not go to the store with a car to pick up this tv!!! as the box is huge, you will need a truck or a suv for this one.....

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVBug71
Ridgway, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
3/1/2012

Customer review by skibuddies

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by skibuddies
by skibuddies

This is a great TV for the price. Not a lot of bells and whistles but it has an excellent picture in both HD and SD. Some of the poor reviews are unfounded such as “if you hook up your computer it will not be shown in 1080DPI”. It’s not the TV that’s the problem, but your computer. If you have an older computer and use a 15pin VGA hookup then it will be shown in 480DPI. If you have a newer computer that has an HDMI cable then it will be shown in 1080. The TV has a USB port which works great for viewing pictures from a memory stick. You can view them as a slide show with different options as to how the pictures change from one to another. I too had the TV default to the “home” vs “store” screen each time I turned it on until I let it go through a full scan and that corrected the problem. I have a subscription to a consumer magazine and they rated this TV very good for the price. It was also rated second only to Panasonic in reliability.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skibuddies
Oil City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!
5/11/2012

Customer review by Sanyojunk

1.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Sanyojunk
by Sanyojunk

Purchased from local walmart in May 2011. It is now 5 days out of warranty and the TV completely stopped working. Do a Google search of Sanyo TV complaints and you will find this is a common problem. They will not fix it (5 days out of warranty) very common problem with Sanyo TV's. Do not buy you are throwing away your money. $850 for 1 year use! I see walmart has refurbished ones now (take that as a sign).

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanyojunk
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy so far!
2/27/2012

Customer review by Wallybaseball

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Wallybaseball
by Wallybaseball

I bought this TV at the Walmart store for under $800.00. I also bought the extended warranty for another $100.00, so I have a four year total warranty. I hooked up my cable box with a HDMI cable and hooked up my Bose 321 system with the RCA cables. So far, I couldn't be happier. The picture is crystal clear and of course the sound is great running through my BOSE system. I also programmed my Time Warner cable remote to handle the cable, television and sound system. Everyhting is working great. I don't need all the bells and whistles that some people want. If you just want a nice TV to watch your movies, shows, and sports, I recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wallybaseball
Lancaster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
1/17/2012

Customer review by waypylant

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by waypylant
by waypylant

I sold TV's for a different company for many years. This is the Best Value I've ever seen. Great Picture, Best Features, Best overall quality ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waypylant
Summerfield, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Deal, but no extended service offered!!
9/7/2011

Customer review by Cobhthaigh

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Cobhthaigh
by Cobhthaigh

I have had this TV for 4 months and it is great. the very video and audio exceed my expectations. It does lack the Favorites, but in my case with U Verse, I can use there Favorites section. Exceptional value for the money. I did not know about the service plan till now, no one offered it to me when I purchased at the store. I thought it was funny that they did not offer some kind of service plan, but I thought it might not be eligible. I have been shopping on line for an after market warranty. I just found the on-line version says the warranty is available for $88.00. I will consider that

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cobhthaigh
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Always dependable!
2/9/2012

Customer review by Splendiferous

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Splendiferous
by Splendiferous

Over the years we have bought all different brands from Sony to no-name brands but after spending far too much money on a Sony about 8 years ago and it ended up being a lemon, we decided to try Sanyo's. We now have three Sanyo flat screens ranging from 32" to 55" and they're all great, haven't had a single problem. The picture is clean and clear and they are super easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Splendiferous
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Read First
6/13/2012

Customer review by ConcernedConsumerAlton

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by ConcernedConsumerAlton
by ConcernedConsumerAlton

A: Just wanted to share this ALERT highlighted in RED ON THE BBB website regading the Sanyo brand:"This business has a pattern of complaints concerning product defect issues, specifically that Sanyo flat screen television panels or screens will stop working one to two years after the date that the consumer purchases the television. Consumers typically allege that their television screens stop working shortly after expiration of the Sanyo manufacturer's warranty and that Sanyo refuses to repair, replace, or issue a refund based on expiration of the warranty . Sanyo has responded to some complaints by stating that it will offer free parts to the consumer but not labor, and has responded to other complaints by offering to sell the consumer a new television at a discounted price." http://www.bbb.org/arkansas/business-reviews/manufacturers-and-producers/sanyo-manufacturing-corporation-in-forrest-city-ar-8183

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConcernedConsumerAlton
Alton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Recommended buy in Consumer Reports
2/21/2012

Customer review by sheshecarroll

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by sheshecarroll
by sheshecarroll

After our tv lost its picture, my husband asked me to look for a good tv at a good price. After alot of research and my husbands money pinching ways it was hard to find a good tv at a good price. My mother-in-law offered me her consumer reports book and after looking at the reports and at Walmart I found this tv and it was under the recommended buys and great value, so i bought the tv and we both love the tv and my husband was shocked I found a 55" for $800....

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sheshecarroll
Traphill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/28/2011

Customer review by riverdude666

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by riverdude666
by riverdude666

Sounds great, Pic is good, it's not a LED but it's a great TV. I compared the 55" Vizio and Sony and the pic was about the same but alot less money. I bought it for $680 plus tax it was a return that someone didn't know how to use it. For that price I woud buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riverdude666
Lake Havasu, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible.....Never buy, its Junk
2/18/2012

Customer review by IHeartCameras

1.0 stars 2/18/2012 by IHeartCameras
by IHeartCameras

My grandparents bought this tv and it didn't last a year. It shuts off and won't come back on. We called the company and they just said..... It happens. Don't buy a Sanyo brand tv there junk and the company won't support there product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IHeartCameras
Mason, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/5/2011

Customer review by rasmuten

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by rasmuten
by rasmuten

Out of the box ready. Settings never had to be changed. On sale saved enough to purcahse the three year warranty. Size Picture Dollar for Dollar. You can not beat this tv. This is my third sanyon. They have all been great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rasmuten
Kissimmee Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for the price
12/9/2011

Customer review by Dibean

4.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Dibean
by Dibean

This may not be a top of the line with all the bells and whistles HDTV but it more than meets my needs. I'm satisfied with the picture and the sound. Most less expensive flat screens require a sound system hook up in order to get decent sound and you might want to do that if you're watching blu ray but for everyday viewing the built in speakers are fine. The only problem I had with initial set up was I failed to do a channel scan (since I was hooked up to my direct tv box I didn't think it was necessary) this is mostly for guys because we never read instructions we think we know it all. Of course I know this TV will probably cost about $600 after Christmas but I didn't want to wait that long.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dibean
Houghton Lake, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware! Cheaply made TV.
7/10/2012

Customer review by Jeval

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Jeval
by Jeval

I purchased this TV a little over a year ago. A couple of months ago the picture started to go dark. I turned up the color and brightness settings on the TV but it continued to get darker. It got to the point where the TV was not watchable. I contacted Sanyo only to be told that this is a known issue with the LCD screens but that because it did not happen in the first year I would have to cover the cost of a replacement LCD screen and the repairs which would total about 800.00. If this is a known issue why do they keep using those LCD screens and why should I have to pay for them using cheap parts in the first place. I had a reasonable expectation of a longer lifespan on my TV set. So buyer beware. I hope this helps some. Feel free to do an internet search about Sanyo and the darkening LCD issue if you think I am biased.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeval
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1-20 of 119 reviews