Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

145 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
45
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
16
1-20 of 120 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
11/26/2011

Customer review by fuchip

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by fuchip
by fuchip

Paid $848.98, for this amount of money it's a fantastic value!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fuchip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
55" for $798.00?? Are you kidding me?!
2/16/2012

Customer review by Stryke

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by Stryke
by Stryke

My Sony Wega was dying (optical block). So I started doing my research and I looked for about two weeks. This Sanyo came in 4th on Consumer Reports in it's catagory. The other three were LG (2) and an Insignia, all for about 2-3 hundred dollars more. Yes this tv does not have all the bells and whistles that the others have, but it's enough for what I need. The picture is great (it beats my Sony Wega LCP hands down), I did turn off the refresh rate, for it was doing the motion blur/juddering. And what I read from most of the experts, most of the signals that being used is still 60 frames per second, and the higher refresh htz rate are overkill. Yeah the sounds is not the best, but not to many LCD tvs do. Plus I run a home theater system anyway. If your looking for a great deal for your hard earned money, look no further. Pros-Great picture, nice looking tv, and great value for the price. Cons-Sound is lacking and the remote is not greatest, glad I have my Dish remote.

Was this review helpful? (57) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stryke
Pacific Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/1/2012

Customer review by Bigbange

3.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Bigbange
by Bigbange

First, check my order # 2677136-572582 If you do, you'll see we had lots of problems with the initial SANYO 55" TV. However all Walmart personnel did provide good efforts in trying to straighten out the problem. And, as a result, a replacement SANYO 55" was forwarded and is now being viewed... However... the same problem has cropped up: 'video jerks' are, as best as I can describe it, still there. But much better than the previous SANYO that had very obvious 'jerks'. It also had audio 'outs' for a second or two. At least we've purchased the 3-year extended warranty, thus we plan to see how this second SANYO does. So far, little 'jerks' appear and since we're looking for them we are concious of their appearances. We never had this problem with our 55" SONY (though a bad line situation developed, thus our reason for going for the SANYO). Also...we hooked up a smaller VIZIO LED tv to the DVR/Box ... No 'jerks'. Thus, not the DVR/BOX. The problem has to be 'inbred' in the SANYO.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigbange
NW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
3/1/2012

Customer review by skibuddies

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by skibuddies
by skibuddies

This is a great TV for the price. Not a lot of bells and whistles but it has an excellent picture in both HD and SD. Some of the poor reviews are unfounded such as “if you hook up your computer it will not be shown in 1080DPI”. It’s not the TV that’s the problem, but your computer. If you have an older computer and use a 15pin VGA hookup then it will be shown in 480DPI. If you have a newer computer that has an HDMI cable then it will be shown in 1080. The TV has a USB port which works great for viewing pictures from a memory stick. You can view them as a slide show with different options as to how the pictures change from one to another. I too had the TV default to the “home” vs “store” screen each time I turned it on until I let it go through a full scan and that corrected the problem. I have a subscription to a consumer magazine and they rated this TV very good for the price. It was also rated second only to Panasonic in reliability.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skibuddies
Oil City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value and picture
8/8/2011

Customer review by ColonelPanic

4.0 stars 8/8/2011 by ColonelPanic
by ColonelPanic

Easy to set up. Tuner lacks Favorites, so you have to manually scroll to or manually enter a station. A combination power-saving / image adjustment feature on the Sanyo DP55441 (and the Sanyo DP52440) is the "Light Sensor". This feature changes the contrast and brightness variably with ambient room light. The default setting on my DP55441 was for the feature to be enabled, and for the setting (low, medium, or high on the DP55441 and simply on/off on the DP52440) to be on high. Since my viewing room is rather dim, I found myself a bit disappointed in the brightness of the image even after I had adjusted it with the THX feature on a DVD. I just happened to stumble upon the light sensor adjustment after a closer re-read of the manual. Turned the feature off, re-adjusted to my taste, and voila - awesome picture! I'm thrilled with this set! Set has coaxial digital audio out, which is not an optical out. I believe you can get an adapter at Monoprice (search for #2947) for about $12 if you need it. I'll tell you what - watching The Matrix on Blu-Ray with this set looked like it was in 3-D! Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (198) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColonelPanic
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV, excellent value, incredible buy!
5/15/2012

Customer review by Sd8Dr

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Sd8Dr
by Sd8Dr

I did a ton of research before buying this TV and quickly noticed that it was the fourth highest ranked TV by consumer reports for this size LCD. The picture quality is excellent and when I compared it to other, more expensive, models, I found that it was completely on par with them. I originally purchased the refurbished one and it was pretty scratched and had pixels out, so I bought the new one because I really liked the picture. Overall this is a great TV and you can't beat the price. Granted, this TV doesn't have wifi and is therefore not considered a "smart" TV, but then again it's also not $1200! If you've looked around and your trying to find a great picture without breaking the bank, then this is a good LCD TV. I would recommend buying the three year walmart warranty because, well, you never know. The TV comes with a 1 year manufacturer's warranty, then you add the walmart warranty and you've got four years of headache-free HD 1080p TV for only $99 more.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sd8Dr
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Read First
6/13/2012

Customer review by ConcernedConsumerAlton

1.0 stars 6/13/2012 by ConcernedConsumerAlton
by ConcernedConsumerAlton

A: Just wanted to share this ALERT highlighted in RED ON THE BBB website regading the Sanyo brand:"This business has a pattern of complaints concerning product defect issues, specifically that Sanyo flat screen television panels or screens will stop working one to two years after the date that the consumer purchases the television. Consumers typically allege that their television screens stop working shortly after expiration of the Sanyo manufacturer's warranty and that Sanyo refuses to repair, replace, or issue a refund based on expiration of the warranty . Sanyo has responded to some complaints by stating that it will offer free parts to the consumer but not labor, and has responded to other complaints by offering to sell the consumer a new television at a discounted price." http://www.bbb.org/arkansas/business-reviews/manufacturers-and-producers/sanyo-manufacturing-corporation-in-forrest-city-ar-8183

Was this review helpful? (30) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConcernedConsumerAlton
Alton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Nice
10/24/2011

Customer review by lldude

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by lldude
by lldude

I have had this television for about 2 months now, so think I know how well it works, and can give a fair assessment. The picture on this television is very nice. I have read other reviews which complain about "grainy" picture, but this is a BIG television, and is made for viewing from a bit of a distance. If you are 3 feet in front, yes, the picture is a bit grainy, but backing up a bit resolves this quite nicely. The stand is a bit flimsy feeling, but I think it will solidly hold the television throughout my time owning it. I can't really rate the sound, as all my sound runs through my surround system, and not the television. Overall, I am thrilled with the TV. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good T.V. all around...
1/27/2012

Customer review by TVBug71

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by TVBug71
by TVBug71

I purchased this t.v. 1-21-12, brought it home set it up right out of the box, no problems, this is a great t.v. for the money. It is nothing fancy, but the picture quality is great, crystal clear picture as if you could reach out and touch what ever you are watching.. and it is easy to set up. The sound is a little low but with the purchace of a sound bar no problems. I would recomend this t.v. to anyone who is looking for a great value for a t.v. of this size. Do not go to the store with a car to pick up this tv!!! as the box is huge, you will need a truck or a suv for this one.....

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVBug71
Ridgway, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price for good TV
5/4/2013

Customer review by RJG1985

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by RJG1985
by RJG1985

I bought my first Sanyo, a 47" LCD 1080i, in 2007 and at first we thought it was going bad but found out it was actually the cable itslef pixelating. This was our living room TV up until recently because we upgraded to the new Sanyo 55" LCD 1080i HD model. Both my kids have the 32" 720p in their rooms, one being 2yrs old the other a week so they are a little different, one a little more upgraded but both are great. The one thing I can't stand is the remotes look like they light up or glow but the don't! My 55" is actually has all black and grey buttons while two others have the big bulky square remote and the newest 32" has a nice little one. Other then that I have had no issues with any of these units and refuse to pay more for a bigger name brand just because it may have a few extra features. These sets always go on sale at Walmart and that's when I get them. If your looking for something nice, simple and reliable this brands for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJG1985
Naples FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the price
12/9/2011

Customer review by Dibean

4.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Dibean
by Dibean

This may not be a top of the line with all the bells and whistles HDTV but it more than meets my needs. I'm satisfied with the picture and the sound. Most less expensive flat screens require a sound system hook up in order to get decent sound and you might want to do that if you're watching blu ray but for everyday viewing the built in speakers are fine. The only problem I had with initial set up was I failed to do a channel scan (since I was hooked up to my direct tv box I didn't think it was necessary) this is mostly for guys because we never read instructions we think we know it all. Of course I know this TV will probably cost about $600 after Christmas but I didn't want to wait that long.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dibean
Houghton Lake, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good picture Great price
9/7/2011

Customer review by jjohn225

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by jjohn225
by jjohn225

I went to Walmart to buy a 55" LCD HDTV. They had about a half dozen TV's of different Mfg's ranging in price from $1200.00 to $2200.00. I had settled on a LG since I had a 47" LG and really liked the picture. I then worked myself down to the end of the row of TV's and saw the Sanyo DP55441 for $850.00. I liked the price - a lot. I spent a good half hour going between all the 55" sets comparing pictures. The Sanyo's picture fell in the middle of the pack. I was familiar with the Sanyo brand from twenty years ago when I used to service TV's. At that time I found them to be very reliable and well built, but I have no idea if the Sanyo of twenty years ago is the same Sanyo of today. Considering the picture was as good as the others and the price was much lower, I decided to buy it and give it a try. The TV is a little heavier and deeper than the more expensive models but not by much. It was apparent where some of the cost savings were. The inputs and outputs were a little lacking. Only three HDMI inputs and no optical digital audio output. (It does have a coax audio output) The HDTV is not internet ready. It is just a bare-bones HDTV, but I accepted that when I bought it. For $11.00 I bought a coax to optical audio converter and for $20.00 I bought a HDMI switcher which now gives me a total of six HDMI inputs. Both items were bought for less thn $50.00. Like most HDTV's the picture was terrible when setup in my living room. I then pulled out my HDTV calibration disc and went through the simple process of properly setting the controls. When I was finished I was amazed. This TV displayed a great picture. Every bit as good as more expensive models I've watched. Let me take the time now to tell everyone that properly calibrating the picture is essential. I consider this step a must. The difference after calibrating the picture is amazing no matter the manufacturer or price of the TV. The sound is just OK but I have it hooked up to home-theater sound, anyway. I have had the TV almost a week and am very pleased with it. As I said it's a little heavy and deep but for all of it's short comings, the price has made it worth it. If your shopping for an HDTV and your on a budget, I recommend this HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (586) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjohn225
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/16/2012

Customer review by odie241

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by odie241
by odie241

Hi everyone,Just wanted to leave a review for everyone looking to buy this tv.I have owned 3 sanyo tv's and this is my 4th.I have had this for almost 2 weeks.Although I am not happy with it,don't let my opinion steer you away from it.The picture is "Very Good" either watching satellite tv,or through the dvd player,or PS3.The remote is pretty basic,easy to use,as with the menu options.The only things I dont like about it is theres not a whole lot of connections for all the things I wanna do, or advanced setting for sound.The sound is kind of low,even turned up,no EQ to adjust,music doesnt sound very good,unless you have a surround sound.I honestly have to say that this is a great TV,Amazing picture,poor sound in my opinion.If you just want this for watching TV,or watching movies,playing games,then don't hold back and buy this TV.A surround sound makes this TV stand out.I am going with the Vizio 55" for the added connections.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
odie241
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware! Cheaply made TV.
7/10/2012

Customer review by Jeval

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Jeval
by Jeval

I purchased this TV a little over a year ago. A couple of months ago the picture started to go dark. I turned up the color and brightness settings on the TV but it continued to get darker. It got to the point where the TV was not watchable. I contacted Sanyo only to be told that this is a known issue with the LCD screens but that because it did not happen in the first year I would have to cover the cost of a replacement LCD screen and the repairs which would total about 800.00. If this is a known issue why do they keep using those LCD screens and why should I have to pay for them using cheap parts in the first place. I had a reasonable expectation of a longer lifespan on my TV set. So buyer beware. I hope this helps some. Feel free to do an internet search about Sanyo and the darkening LCD issue if you think I am biased.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeval
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy so far!
2/27/2012

Customer review by Wallybaseball

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Wallybaseball
by Wallybaseball

I bought this TV at the Walmart store for under $800.00. I also bought the extended warranty for another $100.00, so I have a four year total warranty. I hooked up my cable box with a HDMI cable and hooked up my Bose 321 system with the RCA cables. So far, I couldn't be happier. The picture is crystal clear and of course the sound is great running through my BOSE system. I also programmed my Time Warner cable remote to handle the cable, television and sound system. Everyhting is working great. I don't need all the bells and whistles that some people want. If you just want a nice TV to watch your movies, shows, and sports, I recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallybaseball
Lancaster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV
8/1/2011

Customer review by Nutsmyer

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Nutsmyer
by Nutsmyer

Very easy to operate. Even with out HD signal the picture is very clear

Was this review helpful? (111) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nutsmyer
Marquette, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeps turning off
9/4/2011

Customer review by Buggyjay

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by Buggyjay
by Buggyjay

I really like this TV, only problem is that it turns off by itself. I called Sanyo customer service and they told me to take it back and exchange it. There is something wrong with the software. I asked if this is a common problem with this model, they said no. I am not too happy about having to lug this tv back to the store and then lug the new one back. I havent even gotten rid of the first box yet. I did call Walmart and they will exchange with my receipt. Other then that I am very happy with the price and the screen quality. -

Was this review helpful? (122) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buggyjay
Waterloo, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Recommended buy in Consumer Reports
2/21/2012

Customer review by sheshecarroll

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by sheshecarroll
by sheshecarroll

After our tv lost its picture, my husband asked me to look for a good tv at a good price. After alot of research and my husbands money pinching ways it was hard to find a good tv at a good price. My mother-in-law offered me her consumer reports book and after looking at the reports and at Walmart I found this tv and it was under the recommended buys and great value, so i bought the tv and we both love the tv and my husband was shocked I found a 55" for $800....

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sheshecarroll
Traphill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!
5/11/2012

Customer review by Sanyojunk

1.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Sanyojunk
by Sanyojunk

Purchased from local walmart in May 2011. It is now 5 days out of warranty and the TV completely stopped working. Do a Google search of Sanyo TV complaints and you will find this is a common problem. They will not fix it (5 days out of warranty) very common problem with Sanyo TV's. Do not buy you are throwing away your money. $850 for 1 year use! I see walmart has refurbished ones now (take that as a sign).

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sanyojunk
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this Tv
2/20/2012

Customer review by lizzyvan

5.0 stars 2/20/2012 by lizzyvan
by lizzyvan

After doing much reasearch on Tv's - We went for the Sanyo & I'm SO glad we did! Setting it up was very easy (I did most of it myself...I didn't need Charter to come & set it up for me!) At first the picture was out of whack but after hooking up the HDMI cable the picture is GREAT! I bought the Accell ProUltra Supreme High Speed HDMI Swivel Cable. We have the HD package with our cable company & with the price of movies at the theater this is definately the way to go. The only thing I didn't care for was the sound quality. My last TV had stero sound so this was a step down. But we after hooking up our surround system it's like being at the Theater. I would highly recommend this TV to any one & I already have.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lizzyvan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews