Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 28 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
A Great Value
9/9/2011

Customer review by sharonsusan

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by sharonsusan
by sharonsusan

Looking to buy a 42" for our teenagers TV Room. When we found this set, we deiced to buy if for our bedroom, and give the kids our 42". We couldn't pass on this bargain. Because we've owned other Sanyo products, we knew we could trust this brand. Set up was easy. Not to different from our other set. The picture quality is excellent, and my husband is excited by all the features. It definitely exceeded my expectations, and I would recommend for sure!!!!

Was this review helpful? (52) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharonsusan
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets Expectations, Great Value
11/23/2011

Customer review by ASU23Justice

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by ASU23Justice
by ASU23Justice

I have been researching TV's for the past year, and although I wish I could have a fancy new LG with 3D, Internet, and LED, ETC., it's just not in my budget. I really just wanted a cheap big screen that had a great picture, that looked good with my XBOX 360, knowing it's not the best available. So far, I am very happy with my Sanyo. Consumer reports gives this TV an awesome rating for picture, which is the most important part of a TV. Sure, the sound isn't great, but these are made to be hooked up to surround sound systems. At first, I admit I wasn't happy with the default, out of the box picture. It didnt look as good as it did on the store wall. But, I knew I just had to tweak the settings. I read alot online about how to calibrate an HDTV. I set up the picture settings myself, and now it looks amazing. There are a couple of options that are turned on automatically by default, and after playing with these I got the picture I wanted. So, if you buy this and get home and dont like it, do your research, learn the settings, and after some adjustments you will be happy. Read about the picture settings and what they do. Anyways, I am happy with this TV for the price. Sanyo is owned by Panasonic now, which is a top of the line Japanese TV manufacturer. As far as brand reliability, Sanyo and Panasonic have the lowest percentages of returned products (due to broken parts or malfunctions) than other TV brands, even LG, Sony, and Sharp. It has every option you need for hookup, 3 HDMI, Digital and Optical Audio out, and even a USB slot. Just remember, you are paying less than 600 bucks for a 46" HDTV. It's not going to be the best out there, but it is the best for the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASU23Justice
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Don't Buy
9/7/2011

Customer review by Trix123

1.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Trix123
by Trix123

We purchased this TV in Dec 2010. Worked fine for 8 months then it started turning it's self on & off all on it's own. This is a very commonly reported problem -- google it.

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trix123
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by 9613

1.0 stars 10/1/2011 by 9613
by 9613

I purchased this tv in December. After about 7 months we began to have problems with the audio. We took it to a local repair shop, it's still there two weeks later. The repair shop is still waiting to hear from Sanyo and to have the parts sent. The tv was great when it worked, but I would suggest avoiding this and purchasing a better quality brand with better customer service.

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9613
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Sanyo 46"
2/13/2012

Customer review by DesertDwellar

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by DesertDwellar
by DesertDwellar

Based on the reviews I thought this TV would be horrible but after returning another name brand TV, I was in shock. Great picture, great sound, and I am VERY pleased. I also have a Sony and I can't tell the difference in picture quality. PS. I have 20-15 vision.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertDwellar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BAD HDMI PORTS
1/27/2012

Customer review by kiyomi87

3.0 stars 1/27/2012 by kiyomi87
by kiyomi87

Bought this tv almost a year ago. Never had a problem with it before today when I turn on the tv and there is no signal for any of my HDMI ports. I looked up the problem and I guess its common with this brand. We are suppose to get it repaired since its still under warranty hopefully this will solve the problem but I will not by this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiyomi87
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
2/12/2012

Customer review by walmarteasyshopping

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by walmarteasyshopping
by walmarteasyshopping

I purchased this in 46 TV about a month ago and thus far it has been a great and enjoyable TV. The picture shows well and the sound is great. I do have it hooked up to a surround sound system for times we watch movies. We use the TV on a daily basis in our living room. I can't speak on the HDMI features as we're not utilizing them. For now I would say that the TV is worth the price. In case of any issues I did purchase an extended warranty. Ho

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmarteasyshopping
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sanyo not recommended (see below)
1/24/2012

Customer review by billya1951

1.0 stars 1/24/2012 by billya1951
by billya1951

I promised Sanyo that i would let everyone know about the way they DON't stand behind their product. I purchased a 37" flatscreen from them approximately 3 yrs ago. Not long after the One-Year Warranty expired, dark spots began to appear on the screen. I wrote them to see if it was a defect or regular occurence with their product, and to see if they would exchange it, or have it fixed for me. $600 seemed a lil steep to pay for a tv every two or so yrs. They told me to get a tv repairman if the one-year warranty had expired. Apparently, this is something that happens quite often to their tvs after the one-year warranty expires. I gave them a couple of weeks to do something positive, but there was no further contact from them. If they do contact me to make it right, i will let everyone know. I hope it will help some consumers in the future to spend a lil more (if need be# on a good, dependable Magnavox #which we kept over 20 yrs) rather than a Sanyo that did not last for a reasonable amount of time for me.

Was this review helpful? (23) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billya1951
Fort Oglethorpe, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good for the price
12/27/2011

Customer review by waterskicndude1

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by waterskicndude1
by waterskicndude1

not bad at all so far key is we dont know the future but this SANYO46 is fine for bedroom or living room basically it is best for smaller room areas, bigger is always better in my opinion, it could have a couple of extra inputs, directions, are short and sweet, picture adjustable i just hope it last long enough for me to payoff plus several years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waterskicndude1
dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/15/2013

Customer review by WinFL

4.0 stars 9/15/2013 by WinFL
by WinFL

Paid $228 plus tax, best deal ever on a large screen TV. Sound is miserable, paid 99 for a decent sound bar and sub-woofer, but to be expected in a TV this cheap

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WinFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesnt have the stated inputs and outputs
9/16/2013

Customer review by Lovetocamp2448

2.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Lovetocamp2448
by Lovetocamp2448

Doesnt have all the stated hdmi, pc, and component inputs... Wrong features posted online..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovetocamp2448
Erie PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV
9/16/2013

Customer review by Uomgrasso

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Uomgrasso
by Uomgrasso

Bought this TV on clearance for an awesome price. It is close to my $1000 plasma in picture quality and has much better sound. Haven't had any problems so far, so I have to give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Uomgrasso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected
3/21/2014

Customer review by ChiChiTx

2.0 stars 3/21/2014 by ChiChiTx
by ChiChiTx

Did not have the screws to mount the stand to the tv, owner's manual, warranty card nor did it have the remote control. Had to call Sanyo to get them. Plus, Sanyo told me this tv was manufactured in 2011, not 2013 like the sticker on the back says. Picture quality is not all that great for a 1020p. Tv is extremely large and heavy and old, would not have purchased had I known what this was.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiChiTx
fort worth, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Noisy image, strange behavior
7/24/2012

Customer review by ololo

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by ololo
by ololo

I bough the HTDV today, plugged in and found out that the unit is defective. Picture is noisy, grainy like I use poorly tuned analog antenna. Tested it with Google TV connected via HDMI and Comcast cable box with no luck. Also the remote control behaves strange. I'm able to turn the TV on, but it doesn't react on turning off. The model has bad reviews on internet, but it's hard to find them on other sites other then Walmart. Returning

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ololo
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Warranty up and so did tv
12/15/2011

Customer review by teapartyd

1.0 stars 12/15/2011 by teapartyd
by teapartyd

Pretty good tv bought it two years ago had a two year warranty about 2 months after warranty expired tv acted up.. it takes about 30 minutes on for it to warm up and the picdture comes out good...before thqt half the picture is black...So for this christmas i need a new tv. not a sanyo.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teapartyd
crisfield md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy
3/23/2014

Customer review by Franchize07

4.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Franchize07
by Franchize07

Saw this rollback a week after buying a 42" Visio smart TV. I ended up buying Chromecast to get HBO Go which completely defeated the purpose of having a smart TV so I decided tho take the Visio back and get this Santo 46". Saved $70 on the exchange. The picture quality of the Visio was amazing so I was very reluctant to take a chance with Sanyo. Got the Sanyo today. Very easy setup. Chromecast works flawlessly. The picture quality out of the box isn't that great but a little tuning and it's just as good if not better than the Visio. Tuning tip: turn the sharpness all the way down, turn off dynamic contrast, tweak the contrast a little and you're there. There's no backlight adjustment but the super bright whites are only useful in store displays. Very clear picture with dark blacks. I'm very impressed. Can't say much about the sound since Im using a home theater system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Franchize07
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Yuck !
11/22/2011

Customer review by ClydeMonster

2.0 stars 11/22/2011 by ClydeMonster
by ClydeMonster

I was not that impressed w/ the picture to begin with. I actually wanted a Samsung as are all other t.v.'s in the house. I have had the unit for nearly two months when today I purchased a Bose theater system and to my amazement, it sounded like I hooked up one of those sorry Vizio sound bars. Not only was the sound quality inferior, a conversation could easily be carried while on full volume. In short, it is being returned 1st thing in the morning...

Was this review helpful? (4) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClydeMonster
Arvada,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/27/2013

Customer review by ohmg

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by ohmg
by ohmg

This was a gift to my husband for our bedroom. He is thrilled with everything about it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohmg
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed
3/29/2014

Customer review by ZeroCool83

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by ZeroCool83
by ZeroCool83

I thought that because this is such a cheaply priced TV it would be lacking in some way. But I'm pretty impressed by the quality of picture and sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZeroCool83
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
4/4/2014

Customer review by JDK2

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by JDK2
by JDK2

Great product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDK2
Morris Plains, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews