Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 189 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

189 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

189 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
98
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
40
1-20 of 142 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Do not buy a Sanyo!!!!!!
4/19/2013

Customer review by Remshot2

1.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Remshot2
by Remshot2

We purchased a Sanyo 42" 3 years ago and bought the extended warranty, in November of 2012 we turned on the tv the screen was half black we called customer service and told them our problem they gave another number to call for technical issues. Big mistake they had no clue what we were talking about even though I sent pictures. I also sent all the warranty information, the tv information and all seriel numbers. This has been going on since November 2012 they are not honering the warranty nor are they going to reimburse us for the TV we can't use. The customer service is terrible they need to take classes on how to deal with customers and their products. We had it appraised at a tv repair shop it was going to cost $500.00 for a $350.00 tv.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Remshot2
Lafayette Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
READ ME BEFORE BUYING A SANYO TV
4/15/2012

Customer review by RidgeShe

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by RidgeShe
by RidgeShe

I felt the same way as everyone else, "great value, good picture, all around great tv for the price" well that was 2 years ago, and if you are looking for a short term tv then this is your product, you get what you pay for and I will never pay for Sanyo or Panasonic products again....My tv is only 2 years old, recently it has started making a screaming noise from behind the tv and yetserday the picture went out but the sound was perfectly fine, so I started to research, and this seems to be a common problem for Sanyo TV's.....they are making cheap tv's that last around the 2year mark, don't believe me google sanyo tv with your model number and complaints.....read how many people have had the SAME problem as me and the best part you ask, Sanyo doesn't stand behind their product....I may be crazy but I don't ever remember buying a tv that only worked for two years!!!!! I wouldn't and will never purchase another Sanyo product ever again!!!!! $500 was alot to spend on a disposable TV!!!!

Was this review helpful? (43) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RidgeShe
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Purchase - Happy
11/22/2011

Customer review by MtnGuyTuolumne

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by MtnGuyTuolumne
by MtnGuyTuolumne

Easy to set-up. Beautiful color and clarity. The only problem I had and am sure others have experienced IF you use SAT. HDTV, when you initially do the set-up on the TV, instruction manual fails to tell you that at completion of channel scanning (which will display 0 Analog channels found, 0 Digital channels found). After calling customer support, I found out it will not display/detect channels. Just bypass this one step, AFTER the display indicates Channel Scan Successful. All the channels are detected by your receiver, not the TV. It will however, show what it detected during it's scan. ie: HDMI1 (yes) HDMI3; (yes - if you had something plugged into that spot.) Drove me nuts for some minutes. But, by just completing the initial setup and ignoring 0 channels found, I exited the setup and WHAM, there was my channels and guides.. Sound is good. Easy to setup your surround sound system if you have one. No complaints EXCEPT, no swivel base. No biggie. Works perfect.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtnGuyTuolumne
Sierra's in California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This TV is everything I wanted and expected.
8/5/2012

Customer review by BeechCliff

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by BeechCliff
by BeechCliff

I take reviews (both positive and negative) with a grain of salt. Sure, I want to see what others have to say, but at the same time, I’m a little leery. I also do a lot of research before I buy anything. This TV included. I’ve now had this TV for a week and find nothing I’m not happy about. I have a tube Sanyo that I’ve had for 12 years, and there is nothing wrong with it. It was just time for something new. I am still excited to own this TV. I use it as a TV and computer monitor. With a wireless keyboard, I can kick back in bed and browse or chat to my hearts’ content. The picture is great, the sound is fine with me. I find no issues as described in the negative reviews I read. Something that surprised me: I have basic cable and with my old TV there was no reason to go digital, spend the extra money, and have another box and remote, yet with the basic, the TV is picking up digital signals from somewhere. I now have several “digital” channels. However, seeing the difference in analog and digital, I’ll probably be upgrading my cable. What a difference.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeechCliff
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible TV
4/23/2012

Customer review by CyberWizard

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by CyberWizard
by CyberWizard

I had high hopes for this Sanyo. I own a Sanyo 27" CRT TV and a Sanyo 42" Plasma HDTV and both are superb and have been trouble free. I was casually shopping for another TV and saw this in the store for $388, so I bought one without doing any research on it. This was a huge mistake!. Out of the box all of the HDMI inputs were dead. I then did some research on the Internet and found this was a common problem with this particular model. There were many other people like myself who experienced non-working HDMI inputs when they turned on the TV for the first time. And there were many others who reported their HDMI inputs stopped working after three to six months of ownership of this model. DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL SANYO - IF YOU DO YOU WILL LIKELY BE BRINGING IT BACK.

Was this review helpful? (385) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CyberWizard
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy with this TV
2/13/2012

Customer review by HorseyDaddy

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by HorseyDaddy
by HorseyDaddy

The sound and picture are great, I only gave them 4 because there may be something better. I bought this TV with the warranty refund from my last TV (different brand). Sanyo had one of the lowest percentage of warranty returns, plus the price was great for this size screen. The picture is great, even watching hockey. You can choose from 3 picture presets or really tinker with it manually. The sound is suprisingly good. Watching the Grammys right now and it sounds great (for a TV). 3 audio presets, as well as auto, plus you can manually adjust bass, treble, bass enhancer and 4 band eq. I just use the presets depending if I'm watching TV or listening to music channels. There's stereo outs and digital audio out for your home theater. The speakers aim downward. I have mine on the stand and it doesn't hamper the sound. The manual power, input, channel and volume buttons are on the bottom. Almost thought it didn't have them, and I sometimes lose the remote. This is probably handy if you have it wall mounted up high. Lots of inputs, a couple for my old vcr and dvd, 3 hdmi , pc input, usb, and oh yeah the cable/satellite in. And it was under $499 where the price of the extended warranty jumps up. If it continues to function as it does now I am totally happy with this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HorseyDaddy
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Price Bad Quality
2/14/2012

Customer review by Danelle99

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by Danelle99
by Danelle99

I bought this TV as a upgrade but little did I no it was actually a downgrade! I was expecting an exceptional picture but I did not get it with this particular brand. After 3 day's of owning the TV a Red Line started showing up on the screen I thought it was a fluke or bad connection after rewiring everything the red line persisted and even got worse!! Over the next couple of days it just started showing up more and more and as others have said in their reviews it was on the left side of the screen I asked around and did some research online and found out that this is a problem that Sanyo Tv's have! I wish I would have known that information prior to my purchase after I found out all the problems that the brand has had with the red lines I returned the TV a week to the day later! I exchanged the TV for a 43" Samsung Plasma and the picture quality is a 100x better than the Sanyo. I would recommend you keep looking unless You wanna go through a whole lotta hassle I was very disappointed with this TV! Very happy with my Samsung and it was basically the same price!

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danelle99
Dayton Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Picture + Great Price= Happy Camper!!
8/28/2011

Customer review by JohnPauljr

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by JohnPauljr
by JohnPauljr

Lost my 32” Flat screen to Lighting surge and needed to replace. I wanted to replace with an inexpensive larger (42’) monitor. After looking at all the available offerings at my local Wal-Mart I was surprised that the Sanyo looked as good, if not better then some models that cost considerably more. I use Windows Media Center, with Over the Air signal as my HDMI/ HD Source , and it works Great! My new Sanyo DP-42841. picture is incredible. I was blown away with some of the recorded (Hawaii Five 0) episodes I had saved with the Media Centers record function Netflix picture quality is wonderful . I have my home security system plugged into the VGA port and that works just fine. Just remember if you use the VGA port to hook your computer to this Monitor you give up the #1 HDMI port. Hey you still have two more…lol. My computer muli-media center has a HDMI interface and works great with my new Sanyo. I run external speakers with my Entertainment Center I did try the onboard speakers and found them to be adequate with lots of adjustments to play with. That reminds me this model has a lot of preset/ manual adjustments that should suit everyone personal needs. I am sure everyone that owns this set will love the USB picture slide show function. Thanks Wal-Mart for the really great deal! Nothing out there can touch this one for under 500 hundred bucks.

Was this review helpful? (206) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnPauljr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/25/2011

Customer review by Eddy09322

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Eddy09322
by Eddy09322

This deal was good enough, we bought it before black friday. Very happy with purchase. Love the picture and sound, but decided on the optional 2 year service agreement, just in case.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddy09322
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV!
11/14/2011

Customer review by Shop80

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by Shop80
by Shop80

I recently upgraded from a 32" LG and bought this Sanyo 42" tv. I paid $450 plus tax inside the store (so dont buy it online). I was a little worried about the sound (after reading the previous reviews) but I was blown away by the quality of the sound. I have a sound bar that I had to buy b/c the sound on the 32" was horrible and I thought that I would need it for this onem but I did not. The picture is nice, bright and clear even though it is a 60hz TV. There are a few pre-set settings that are useful. The viewing angle is also nice (at 178 degs).

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shop80
Lexington Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!!!
11/11/2011

Customer review by golfguy79

1.0 stars 11/11/2011 by golfguy79
by golfguy79

If you are considering buying any sanyo t.v. read this warning. I bought my first sanyo t.v. this same one 8 months later the screen went black. I thought it was just a defect and I bought the 46" sanyo now one year later the screen does not work on the left half of the t.v. I decided to research it and you can too type in the model and screen goes black on google see how many hits you get all the same story all within a year or so of purchase.

Was this review helpful? (48) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
golfguy79
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ok tv..
3/28/2012

Customer review by 585lady

4.0 stars 3/28/2012 by 585lady
by 585lady

After searching store to store, i opted for this tv because it was the best value. Had it for about 2 weeks and i must admit that it has proved itself to be a great purchase. The sound is really loud with a little bassy which i like. No need for a soundbar. The picture is really huge and the hd is spot on. The colors are bright and the only problem i have is when i watch stream crackle movies through my xbox. They start out pixilated, but eventually are crystal clear. All in all not a bad purchase so far. I'll check back in a year or when there is a problem.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
585lady
rochester, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be happier!
4/11/2012

Customer review by Fairlight

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Fairlight
by Fairlight

This unit is absolutely fantastic! I'm using it both as a TV and as a 1920x1080 monitor for my computer, via HDMI. It's crisp, sharp, has a beautiful picture, more inputs than I'll ever need, outputs for sound (I routed it to my computer's speaker system in tandem with my computer), and has more features than a Boing 767. Setup and use is a breeze. Especially love the light sensor that adjusts brightness depending on ambient light, so you're not squinting by day and cringing at night. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this unit to anyone, and at $448, it was a steal!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fairlight
Clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, a few gens old though
11/8/2011

Customer review by Bushmaster2000

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Bushmaster2000
by Bushmaster2000

I picked this up on a Super Saturday sale for under $400, for that price you get a lot of TV for your dollar. The picture is great when comparing to a standard definition TV but isn't as nice as more modern HDTVs. All in all though it's a very acceptable picture quality for this price range. I was surprised at how decent the sound was from the built in speakers, you get a good amount of sound depth built in, not quite as nice as an external sound system but for built in speakers, these surpassed my expectations. That being said, know that if you buy this TV, it's a few generations behind the latest standards. It's 60hz refresh rate instead of 240hz, LCD instead of LED, HDMI 1.3 instead of 1.4, 'coax' digital audio out instead of fiber optic or even better.. hdmi and it's not internet ready so you don't have any built in apps like netflix and hulu. I mostly use this TV to hook up to a computer and a video game system, both hook up with HDMI cables. The compuer works great for playing videos, web content and media center type content, the mouse control is responsive on-screen meaning the screen doesn't lag. The video game console is equally well displayed on this TV. There is no processing lag on the screen like I noticed with a much more expensive up-to-date in standards TV that i returned. I was worried the 60hz refresh rate at this size would lead to a poor gaming experience but it hasn't, I'm pleased with the results. Other than that, the buttons are located on the underside of the tv along the bottom right. There's six buttons (volume up/down, channel up/down, input, menu, power) and they're easy to use. The on screen menu system is pretty basic, you can adjust your typical brightness, contrast etc and a few other things but there's nothing else in here but the basics. Audio outputs through the TV speakers and the audio out jack simultaneously. This means if you run the TV into an external audio receiver, you need to turn down the volume on the TV so you just hear the audio from the receiver. Typically TV's have a setting that you set to either use internal speakers or an audio system, this one uses them both at the same time... kind of weird but not really much of a problem. Overall a pretty good value for the dollar. I'm happy to have a large 1080p screen now for my gaming and home theater pc content. While it lacks some of the modern features, I just wanted a big screen that worked well from a reliable name brand and the Sanyo delivers at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (86) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bushmaster2000
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Television
10/23/2011

Customer review by lldude

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by lldude
by lldude

I just bought one of this size for my wife to Zumba with. The picture is great, and the ability to change the pic format is nice. The speakers are great, having a nice stereo output that makes my wife's music sound nice for her. The only issue I have, and it is not necessarily with the television, is that LCD interferes with some of the remote controls that rely on infrared signals. My satellite remote works intermittently now. So, the TV is great, but beware if you rely on your remote.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/7/2012

Customer review by AG25AG

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by AG25AG
by AG25AG

Bought this tv to place in room. Thought i was down grading a little from my Sony Bravia. To my amasement, the tv looks great and sounds really good. Bought the extra warranty with it. A must have now with any TV. hope this helps anyone looking for a good TV, with a budget.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AG25AG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/27/2013

Customer review by letsgojojo

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by letsgojojo
by letsgojojo

I usually never post reviews because I don't always believe what I read online but in this case I wanted to make an acception. I purchased this television set a little over two years ago and it suddenly started malfunctioning. It just started turning off by itself and now wont turn on at all. I was told ( by more than one repair technichian) that it would cost over $300.00 too repair. I was attracted to this set because of its low price and now I wish I had just spent a little more for a better brand. I would highly recommend puchasing the extended warranty if you do decide that this is the right set for you.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
letsgojojo
torrance, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay AWAY from this model
6/26/2012

Customer review by JuniorFoo

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by JuniorFoo
by JuniorFoo

I purchesed this tv on april 14th. It was amazing until the morning of June 26th when the sound just stopped working..... Thankfully still have a few days left to return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JuniorFoo
West Allis, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Remote sucks
9/27/2012

Customer review by Jimmie

2.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Jimmie
by Jimmie

I think I got one that was a display model or something. There was no battery in the remote. The box was taped shut with clear mailing tape, looked like it had been opened before? Supposed to come with a protective plastic film covering the screen that had already been removed. The store person on the phone told me that if I wanted to return it I could, but she assured me it was not a display model. I already had it set up and mounted on the wall so I figured I might as well keep it. It has only been two weeks but so far so good. I did purchase a different universal remote because the remote that came with it sucks. The buttons must be placed for a left handed person because they are all in the wrong places, non ergonomic and it only controlled the tv not the DVD. Picture is as expected. Sound is weak and tinny. No current Time displayed anywhere, not even on the info page. All in all if I was to do it again I'd go with the LG instead of the Sanyo.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmie
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of a my hard earned money
4/28/2012

Customer review by WritingDiva

1.0 stars 4/28/2012 by WritingDiva
by WritingDiva

I bought this tv in May 2010. Not even 2 years later I am getting that same screeching sound. I called Sanyo and all they advised me was to take it into a shop and pay for it out of pocket. No willingness to help whatsoever. Sometimes while watching tv the sound goes out and I have to hit mute on the control and then play and voila-- it works. I paid about $600 for this tv. I feel hoodwinked! I too will never buy a Sanyo product ever again. This tv is horrible.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WritingDiva
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews