Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
98
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
41
1-20 of 143 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Horrible TV
4/23/2012

Customer review by CyberWizard

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by CyberWizard
by CyberWizard

I had high hopes for this Sanyo. I own a Sanyo 27" CRT TV and a Sanyo 42" Plasma HDTV and both are superb and have been trouble free. I was casually shopping for another TV and saw this in the store for $388, so I bought one without doing any research on it. This was a huge mistake!. Out of the box all of the HDMI inputs were dead. I then did some research on the Internet and found this was a common problem with this particular model. There were many other people like myself who experienced non-working HDMI inputs when they turned on the TV for the first time. And there were many others who reported their HDMI inputs stopped working after three to six months of ownership of this model. DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL SANYO - IF YOU DO YOU WILL LIKELY BE BRINGING IT BACK.

Was this review helpful? (381) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CyberWizard
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, a few gens old though
11/8/2011

Customer review by Bushmaster2000

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Bushmaster2000
by Bushmaster2000

I picked this up on a Super Saturday sale for under $400, for that price you get a lot of TV for your dollar. The picture is great when comparing to a standard definition TV but isn't as nice as more modern HDTVs. All in all though it's a very acceptable picture quality for this price range. I was surprised at how decent the sound was from the built in speakers, you get a good amount of sound depth built in, not quite as nice as an external sound system but for built in speakers, these surpassed my expectations. That being said, know that if you buy this TV, it's a few generations behind the latest standards. It's 60hz refresh rate instead of 240hz, LCD instead of LED, HDMI 1.3 instead of 1.4, 'coax' digital audio out instead of fiber optic or even better.. hdmi and it's not internet ready so you don't have any built in apps like netflix and hulu. I mostly use this TV to hook up to a computer and a video game system, both hook up with HDMI cables. The compuer works great for playing videos, web content and media center type content, the mouse control is responsive on-screen meaning the screen doesn't lag. The video game console is equally well displayed on this TV. There is no processing lag on the screen like I noticed with a much more expensive up-to-date in standards TV that i returned. I was worried the 60hz refresh rate at this size would lead to a poor gaming experience but it hasn't, I'm pleased with the results. Other than that, the buttons are located on the underside of the tv along the bottom right. There's six buttons (volume up/down, channel up/down, input, menu, power) and they're easy to use. The on screen menu system is pretty basic, you can adjust your typical brightness, contrast etc and a few other things but there's nothing else in here but the basics. Audio outputs through the TV speakers and the audio out jack simultaneously. This means if you run the TV into an external audio receiver, you need to turn down the volume on the TV so you just hear the audio from the receiver. Typically TV's have a setting that you set to either use internal speakers or an audio system, this one uses them both at the same time... kind of weird but not really much of a problem. Overall a pretty good value for the dollar. I'm happy to have a large 1080p screen now for my gaming and home theater pc content. While it lacks some of the modern features, I just wanted a big screen that worked well from a reliable name brand and the Sanyo delivers at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (84) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bushmaster2000
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than expected!!!
1/1/2012

Customer review by MrClark77x7

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by MrClark77x7
by MrClark77x7

I have been researching TV's for weeks. 3 things were important to me: 1.) Size 2.) 1080P 3.) Price. I personally wanted a 50" but the wife said that was just too big and too expensive. She also wanted me to stay within a $400 budget. I said, "Hey, I'll meet you in the middle and try to find a 42" for around $400. She was ok with that. So I did some looking and at first was thinking of going with a 42" Scepter for around $360 on Walmart.com. But after reading a bunch of negative reviews online and actually witnessing someone return one while I was in Walmart, I decided to take a look at HiSence. I did some research and they seem like a decent company. I originally walked into my local Walmart with the intent on buying a 42" HiSence for about $400. They were out of stock and wouldn't be getting any in for weeks. I started looking at some of the other TV's in my Walmart. They all seemed to be too expensive or 720p. I just couldn't seem to find a middle ground. I'm pretty knowledgeable when it comes to A/V stuff and I ended up talking to an associate for about 45mins while he was stocking shelves, etc. He had mentioned he owned a 42" Sanyo for a year and a half and loved it. They had a 42" Sanyo in stock for $398 but it was only 720P. I really wanted a 1080P. I had some other shopping to do and decided it just wasn't my time to get a TV. As I was walking out of the Electronics section I found a small display of 2 1080P 42" Sanyo TV's. They didn't have these on display with the other TV's. I figured the price would be way out of my range. As it turned out, they were on sale in my Walmart for $448. It's listed at $479 on Walmart.com. The TV was still $50 more then my original budget, but after my talk with the store associate I decided to take a risk and go with it. The wife wan't the happiest with the extra $50. Got the TV home and found it packed pretty well. The base stand was VERY easy to put on and seems very sturdy. TV doesn't seem to wobble or tilt at all. I'm actually kind of glad I didn't get a 50". I almost think a 50" would of been too big for my living room. A 42" TV looks small in the store when viewed with all the other TV's. But I found it looking a lot larger in my home and it was a pretty good fit for my Living Room. I might just put this one in the bedroom and get a 46" for the front room in a few years. I got my PS3, Antenna, Surround Sound, Etc. set up. Here's the first thing I loved about this TV. I have a cheep indoor antenna and a HUGE hill blocking the towers where I live. With the Converter Box on my other TV I was only able to pull in 3 Digital Channels. After the channel search on Sanyo was done, I was able to pull in 13 Digital Channels a 1 Analog channels!!! The tuner on this TV is GREAT!!! Can't wait for my 60 Mile Outdoor Antenna to come in a few days and see what I really can pull in. The picture is GREAT! My wife started playing Skyrim on the PS3 and it is just Beautiful!!! Even she was blown away by the picture quality and didn't seem to mind the extra $50 I went over budget anymore. I was a little weary about the sound quality from reading other reviews. I think the sound is great! There is a Bass and Treble adjustment that I turned all the was up and found the sound to be a lot fuller. I'd recommend doing this! There is even a 5 band Equalizer. You can really dial in the sound on this TV. I'm HUGE on sound quality; but unless your planing on playing music through this TV, I really don't think a Sound Bar is needed. It has a Coaxil output just in case that's what you want. I have my PS3 (for gaming and Blu-Ray) and IPOD hooked directly into my surround system anyway. This TV pretty much has the basic Picture Adjustment options. Nothing special or amazing. I find the Vivid setting is pretty nice, but plan on doing some more in depth adjustments to Contrast, Tint, Etc when I have the time. For now it looks pretty good. The 1080P is stunning. Very sharp, crisp and clean picture. It also gives you the option of a a Home or Store display mode (the Home mode being more energy efficient). It also has a Energy-saving "ECO" remote key (backlight) dimmer and Light Sensor. I want the best out of this TV so I have it on Store mode and the ECO and Light sensor OFF!!! This puts the Backlight on it's Brightest setting. The few extra $$ in electricity is worth the better and brighter picture to me. But you have many options to fit what is best for you. The 60Hz seems to be just fine. Don't find any motion blur or lag while watching fast action programs like sports. No lag while playing the PS3 and I'm watching a Football Game as I'm typing this and it's beautiful. Besides Hz is all based on your input source anyway. Don't have the PC hooked up to it yet, but as it turns out, I'm using my wife's 19" Sanyo TV as my computer monitor right now. I didn't even realize it was a Sanyo until I actually looked at it today. It has a VGA with Mini Audio Input so you can run the sound right through the TV. My mom's 32" Vizio doesn't even have that option. This TV also has USB inputs that allow you to view Picture and VIDEO through a flash drive. Most HDTV's only have a picture viewer. I thought that was pretty cool. The only CON I found on this TV is that the remote is pretty basic and a bit touchy. And it DIDN'T come with AAA batteries??? I found it a little annoying getting the TV all set up and then not even being able to use the remote! But not really a huge issue for me. Certainty wouldn't stop me from recommending this TV. Overall, I am very happy with this purchase so far!!!

Was this review helpful? (226) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrClark77x7
Ontario, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture + Great Price= Happy Camper!!
8/28/2011

Customer review by JohnPauljr

5.0 stars 8/28/2011 by JohnPauljr
by JohnPauljr

Lost my 32” Flat screen to Lighting surge and needed to replace. I wanted to replace with an inexpensive larger (42’) monitor. After looking at all the available offerings at my local Wal-Mart I was surprised that the Sanyo looked as good, if not better then some models that cost considerably more. I use Windows Media Center, with Over the Air signal as my HDMI/ HD Source , and it works Great! My new Sanyo DP-42841. picture is incredible. I was blown away with some of the recorded (Hawaii Five 0) episodes I had saved with the Media Centers record function Netflix picture quality is wonderful . I have my home security system plugged into the VGA port and that works just fine. Just remember if you use the VGA port to hook your computer to this Monitor you give up the #1 HDMI port. Hey you still have two more…lol. My computer muli-media center has a HDMI interface and works great with my new Sanyo. I run external speakers with my Entertainment Center I did try the onboard speakers and found them to be adequate with lots of adjustments to play with. That reminds me this model has a lot of preset/ manual adjustments that should suit everyone personal needs. I am sure everyone that owns this set will love the USB picture slide show function. Thanks Wal-Mart for the really great deal! Nothing out there can touch this one for under 500 hundred bucks.

Was this review helpful? (206) (84)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnPauljr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!!!
11/11/2011

Customer review by golfguy79

1.0 stars 11/11/2011 by golfguy79
by golfguy79

If you are considering buying any sanyo t.v. read this warning. I bought my first sanyo t.v. this same one 8 months later the screen went black. I thought it was just a defect and I bought the 46" sanyo now one year later the screen does not work on the left half of the t.v. I decided to research it and you can too type in the model and screen goes black on google see how many hits you get all the same story all within a year or so of purchase.

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golfguy79
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
READ ME BEFORE BUYING A SANYO TV
4/15/2012

Customer review by RidgeShe

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by RidgeShe
by RidgeShe

I felt the same way as everyone else, "great value, good picture, all around great tv for the price" well that was 2 years ago, and if you are looking for a short term tv then this is your product, you get what you pay for and I will never pay for Sanyo or Panasonic products again....My tv is only 2 years old, recently it has started making a screaming noise from behind the tv and yetserday the picture went out but the sound was perfectly fine, so I started to research, and this seems to be a common problem for Sanyo TV's.....they are making cheap tv's that last around the 2year mark, don't believe me google sanyo tv with your model number and complaints.....read how many people have had the SAME problem as me and the best part you ask, Sanyo doesn't stand behind their product....I may be crazy but I don't ever remember buying a tv that only worked for two years!!!!! I wouldn't and will never purchase another Sanyo product ever again!!!!! $500 was alot to spend on a disposable TV!!!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RidgeShe
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by HARVEYOJ

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by HARVEYOJ
by HARVEYOJ

GREAT TELIVISION FOR THE MONEY...NICE PICTURE, GREAT SOUND, AND A GOOD LOOKING STAND....

Was this review helpful? (41) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HARVEYOJ
PARMA , OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for a good price!
8/24/2011

Customer review by Airplayne

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by Airplayne
by Airplayne

After researching and looking between Best Buy and Walmart, I decided to purchase the Sanyo 42 Inch LCD TV. Price was right about what I wanted to pay and took home and set it up. I was worried that the sound wouldn't be very good, and am pleasently surprised to report the picture, and sound are great! Setup was easy and it looks great in my living room! I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a value priced 1080p HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (114) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airplayne
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Purchase - Happy
11/22/2011

Customer review by MtnGuyTuolumne

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by MtnGuyTuolumne
by MtnGuyTuolumne

Easy to set-up. Beautiful color and clarity. The only problem I had and am sure others have experienced IF you use SAT. HDTV, when you initially do the set-up on the TV, instruction manual fails to tell you that at completion of channel scanning (which will display 0 Analog channels found, 0 Digital channels found). After calling customer support, I found out it will not display/detect channels. Just bypass this one step, AFTER the display indicates Channel Scan Successful. All the channels are detected by your receiver, not the TV. It will however, show what it detected during it's scan. ie: HDMI1 (yes) HDMI3; (yes - if you had something plugged into that spot.) Drove me nuts for some minutes. But, by just completing the initial setup and ignoring 0 channels found, I exited the setup and WHAM, there was my channels and guides.. Sound is good. Easy to setup your surround sound system if you have one. No complaints EXCEPT, no swivel base. No biggie. Works perfect.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtnGuyTuolumne
Sierra's in California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV!
11/14/2011

Customer review by Shop80

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by Shop80
by Shop80

I recently upgraded from a 32" LG and bought this Sanyo 42" tv. I paid $450 plus tax inside the store (so dont buy it online). I was a little worried about the sound (after reading the previous reviews) but I was blown away by the quality of the sound. I have a sound bar that I had to buy b/c the sound on the 32" was horrible and I thought that I would need it for this onem but I did not. The picture is nice, bright and clear even though it is a 60hz TV. There are a few pre-set settings that are useful. The viewing angle is also nice (at 178 degs).

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop80
Lexington Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very happy with this TV
2/13/2012

Customer review by HorseyDaddy

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by HorseyDaddy
by HorseyDaddy

The sound and picture are great, I only gave them 4 because there may be something better. I bought this TV with the warranty refund from my last TV (different brand). Sanyo had one of the lowest percentage of warranty returns, plus the price was great for this size screen. The picture is great, even watching hockey. You can choose from 3 picture presets or really tinker with it manually. The sound is suprisingly good. Watching the Grammys right now and it sounds great (for a TV). 3 audio presets, as well as auto, plus you can manually adjust bass, treble, bass enhancer and 4 band eq. I just use the presets depending if I'm watching TV or listening to music channels. There's stereo outs and digital audio out for your home theater. The speakers aim downward. I have mine on the stand and it doesn't hamper the sound. The manual power, input, channel and volume buttons are on the bottom. Almost thought it didn't have them, and I sometimes lose the remote. This is probably handy if you have it wall mounted up high. Lots of inputs, a couple for my old vcr and dvd, 3 hdmi , pc input, usb, and oh yeah the cable/satellite in. And it was under $499 where the price of the extended warranty jumps up. If it continues to function as it does now I am totally happy with this.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HorseyDaddy
Sandpoint, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money on Sanyo
9/28/2011

Customer review by coffeebe1

2.0 stars 9/28/2011 by coffeebe1
by coffeebe1

Have 2 Sanyo's, 46 in and 42 in. The 46 in was about a year old. It died about 2 weeks ago. The screen went black 2 times, it hasn't worked at all since. The 42 in has about a 4 inch top to bottom line on left side of screen, where's it's started to burn out. It's less then a year old. While they work, their good. But I can't afford to replace 2 tv's every year. Also have a Emerson 32 in that's 5-6 years old still going strong. Don't waste your money on Sanyo's.

Was this review helpful? (54) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeebe1
Lexington,Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of a my hard earned money
4/28/2012

Customer review by WritingDiva

1.0 stars 4/28/2012 by WritingDiva
by WritingDiva

I bought this tv in May 2010. Not even 2 years later I am getting that same screeching sound. I called Sanyo and all they advised me was to take it into a shop and pay for it out of pocket. No willingness to help whatsoever. Sometimes while watching tv the sound goes out and I have to hit mute on the control and then play and voila-- it works. I paid about $600 for this tv. I feel hoodwinked! I too will never buy a Sanyo product ever again. This tv is horrible.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WritingDiva
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Television
10/23/2011

Customer review by lldude

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by lldude
by lldude

I just bought one of this size for my wife to Zumba with. The picture is great, and the ability to change the pic format is nice. The speakers are great, having a nice stereo output that makes my wife's music sound nice for her. The only issue I have, and it is not necessarily with the television, is that LCD interferes with some of the remote controls that rely on infrared signals. My satellite remote works intermittently now. So, the TV is great, but beware if you rely on your remote.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lldude
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/25/2011

Customer review by Eddy09322

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Eddy09322
by Eddy09322

This deal was good enough, we bought it before black friday. Very happy with purchase. Love the picture and sound, but decided on the optional 2 year service agreement, just in case.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eddy09322
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This TV is everything I wanted and expected.
8/5/2012

Customer review by BeechCliff

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by BeechCliff
by BeechCliff

I take reviews (both positive and negative) with a grain of salt. Sure, I want to see what others have to say, but at the same time, I’m a little leery. I also do a lot of research before I buy anything. This TV included. I’ve now had this TV for a week and find nothing I’m not happy about. I have a tube Sanyo that I’ve had for 12 years, and there is nothing wrong with it. It was just time for something new. I am still excited to own this TV. I use it as a TV and computer monitor. With a wireless keyboard, I can kick back in bed and browse or chat to my hearts’ content. The picture is great, the sound is fine with me. I find no issues as described in the negative reviews I read. Something that surprised me: I have basic cable and with my old TV there was no reason to go digital, spend the extra money, and have another box and remote, yet with the basic, the TV is picking up digital signals from somewhere. I now have several “digital” channels. However, seeing the difference in analog and digital, I’ll probably be upgrading my cable. What a difference.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeechCliff
NE Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/7/2012

Customer review by AG25AG

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by AG25AG
by AG25AG

Bought this tv to place in room. Thought i was down grading a little from my Sony Bravia. To my amasement, the tv looks great and sounds really good. Bought the extra warranty with it. A must have now with any TV. hope this helps anyone looking for a good TV, with a budget.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AG25AG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Couldn't be happier!
4/11/2012

Customer review by Fairlight

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by Fairlight
by Fairlight

This unit is absolutely fantastic! I'm using it both as a TV and as a 1920x1080 monitor for my computer, via HDMI. It's crisp, sharp, has a beautiful picture, more inputs than I'll ever need, outputs for sound (I routed it to my computer's speaker system in tandem with my computer), and has more features than a Boing 767. Setup and use is a breeze. Especially love the light sensor that adjusts brightness depending on ambient light, so you're not squinting by day and cringing at night. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this unit to anyone, and at $448, it was a steal!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fairlight
Clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value.
1/29/2012

Customer review by stud69

4.0 stars 1/29/2012 by stud69
by stud69

Backlighting could be brighter. I only paid $448 for this at Walmart November 2011 so overall I am satisfied with it. Very good sound, lots of hook-ups but picture not as bright(backlight) as my Samsung dlp or Sony.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stud69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ok tv..
3/28/2012

Customer review by 585lady

4.0 stars 3/28/2012 by 585lady
by 585lady

After searching store to store, i opted for this tv because it was the best value. Had it for about 2 weeks and i must admit that it has proved itself to be a great purchase. The sound is really loud with a little bassy which i like. No need for a soundbar. The picture is really huge and the hd is spot on. The colors are bright and the only problem i have is when i watch stream crackle movies through my xbox. They start out pixilated, but eventually are crystal clear. All in all not a bad purchase so far. I'll check back in a year or when there is a problem.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
585lady
rochester, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews