Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 41 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Good while it lasted
8/13/2011

Customer review by DobroGuy

2.0 stars 8/13/2011 by DobroGuy
by DobroGuy

This was a great TV - great price, exceptional picture and decent sound. But after only 19 months, the picture suddenly disappeared into a few sparkling pixels in one corner. And I was told that it would cost much more to fix it than to buy a new one. I think I'll try a Sony or Vizio next.

Was this review helpful? (162) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DobroGuy
Deltaville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but not the Greatest
9/2/2011

Customer review by BamaBP

4.0 stars 9/2/2011 by BamaBP
by BamaBP

I was looking for a decent tv over 50 inches and accidentally stumbled upon this one while browsing one day. The size and price were the main reason I seized on the buy. I never had a plasma before and I'll concede blacks are blacker on a plasma but in every other way LCD's are superior. But I got mine for $100 less than listed and it balances out. I play a lot of movies and they do indeed look great and my audio is connected to an external audio system. My main grief is it's VGA mode, it's only 1024x768 and in the old 4:3 screen ratio. To access to other screen modes including it's native graphics mode you need a driver on the computer and I have yet to find one. My old 42 inch LCD had all video modes accessible without a driver so I know how it should work. I also wish you could play movies from it's USB port but no it's only for photos.

Was this review helpful? (68) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaBP
Hamilton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV and a good deal
8/22/2011

Customer review by bondgirl007

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by bondgirl007
by bondgirl007

I've had this TV in my bedroom for over two years. It is a great TV. I use it as a monitor to watch Hulu and stream netflix via my Wii. Good picture, good sound. People tend to laugh when I say I have a 50-inch TV in my room, but my room also serves as a place to watch movies with friends. So far the TV does not disappoint in the slightest. It's a few hundred cheaper now than when I bought it, so definitely a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (66) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bondgirl007
Mason, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You wont get much use out of this!
10/19/2011

Customer review by kat59

2.0 stars 10/19/2011 by kat59
by kat59

Bought this tv when it was $1500 and it hasnt lasted 3 years. It started taking a long time to come on, about 10-15 minutes, woke up one day and it never came back on. Yes, it worked fine the first 2 years but a tv should last longer than 3 years.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kat59
Mayfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT!
9/15/2011

Customer review by kelliamber006

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by kelliamber006
by kelliamber006

love this tv. had it for 3 years with an ex (still up and running) and now have the same tv because its a great value for such a good tv!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelliamber006
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/8/2011

Customer review by JnJiBANEZ

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by JnJiBANEZ
by JnJiBANEZ

I purchased this TV back in the beginning of 2009 and it has been wonderful. It still shows perfectly, sounds perfect, and I love it. I paid a good price for it and I honestly am surprised that it has lasted me this long. But it is going strong even after we watch it everyday and sometimes all day for 2 1/2 yrs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JnJiBANEZ
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would not buy again
11/4/2011

Customer review by only2bedisappointed

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by only2bedisappointed
by only2bedisappointed

My other 50" went out and needed to get another spur of the moment before hubby went nuts. Ran to the local Wal-mart and it looked ok in the store, sounded ok. Got it home hooked it all up and was I ever disappointed. The lights in the store make it look much better than what it is. Never could get the picture brighter and the speakers vibrate all the time. I am taking it back and will go another store to find a tv.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
only2bedisappointed
Puyallup, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice TV
9/9/2011

Customer review by uswlen41

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by uswlen41
by uswlen41

My parents were in need of a modern television upgrade. So, I surprised them with a Sanyo 50' Flat Screen. The picture showed great and the sound actually gives you a movie-time feel. Regardless of the occassion, I recommend this product as a perfect gift for your family.. Or, for yourself!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uswlen41
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV - so far
9/4/2011

Customer review by Chary73

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by Chary73
by Chary73

We got this TV for a great price on Black Friday, the day after last Thanksgiving. So far the picture has been great. We have HD TV and the picture is incredible. But what I have read about Sanyo service on this website as well as elsewhere, I don't believe I will buy a Sanyo again and I know I won't buy a plasma tv again. We have a 42" Visio in our bedroom and we have had that for about four years. It still works great. If our Sanyo lasts as long, maybe I will change my mind.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chary73
UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Horrible, steer clear of this lemon!
12/31/2011

Customer review by StickmanVader

1.0 stars 12/31/2011 by StickmanVader
by StickmanVader

First bought the previous version of the Sanyo 50" Plasma on 2/20/2011. On 5/1/2011 the HDMI inputs just quit working. Called Sanyo, and was told to exchange it at Wal-Mart because it was still within the first 90 days. Exchanged the television for the Sanyo 50" Plasma DP0741. Everything worked great with this one until about 11/15/2011 when for no apparent reason, the sound quit working! Called Sanyo, and was instructed to take it to a local repair shop where the warranty work would be performed. It was fixed within one week, and picked it up a day after Thanksgiving. Everything seemed to be fine, until intermittently the sound would fluctuate from loud to soft and make weird, garbling noises, but then leveled out to normal. Then last night, 12/30/2011, I come home from work, turn on the TV and guess what? Yep, the sound went completely out again, never to come back! The picture is nice and clear, but no sound! So, I'll have to wait until probably Tuesday, 1/02/2012, due to a long holiday weekend, to call Sanyo back and tell them this thing is a lemon! I have read that Sanyo televisions have caused house fires, so I've completely unplugged it, and will push for a complete refund, no one should have this much problems with a television. But like the old cliche goes, "you get what you pay for"! Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra money on a better, reputable brand! I'll never, ever purchase another Sanyo product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StickmanVader
Park Hills, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SANYO Rocks!!!!
11/11/2011

Customer review by notourproblem

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by notourproblem
by notourproblem

I have purchased Sanyo televisons for as long as I have been purchasing televisions (I think I've bought 6 or more over the years) the latest one lasted for over 10 years and had to be put down by lightening to quit. This is my first ever really large television, flat screen & plasma and we are wonderfully excited. My husband spends hours sitting right in front of it staring and we keep it running nearly 24/7. Now he is rushing me to replace the one in the bedroom and nothing is wrong with it. Hook this lovely up to your surround sound and enjoy every minute.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notourproblem
Tupelo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy
11/2/2011

Customer review by rm1252

4.0 stars 11/2/2011 by rm1252
by rm1252

I have only had this TV for about a month now and as far as I can tell it is a good buy for the money. I don't think it has as clear a picture as my Vizio but it is pretty close. This TV is a plasma and I don't really know that much about them but all in all this TV seems to work well and you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rm1252
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT VALUE & EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCT FOR $$$$
2/21/2012

Customer review by Palapala58

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Palapala58
by Palapala58

I purchased this television as a replacement of my large screen projection tv that died. Due to the economy and holiday season, I looked around for a new television set that was a good value and affordable for my budget. I was a little apprehensive about this tv because the price was so reasonable but decided after a few weeks to purchase it. I have NO regrets and I'm enjoying my new television. I wish it had better sound but I plan to buy a surround sound package to hook up to it later this year. I'd recommend this set to anyone needing a big screen tv and have limited finances and are in need of a good value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Palapala58
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Buy for The Money
11/6/2011

Customer review by animal661

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by animal661
by animal661

I have had this TV for little over 3 yrs no complaints! Use it everyday had it wall mounted now back to table top. Combined with Bose 123 and this system rocks!! For the money it has out performed my expectation!! I also have another TV and the picture on the plasma is just as clear if not better than LCD. That is my opinion and I would recommend this TV to anyone, I would say it is the best buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
animal661
Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great T.V. but you have to add a soundbar.
12/4/2011

Customer review by Mammoth1

4.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Mammoth1
by Mammoth1

We bought this T.V. about 2 weeks ago, it was a great deal plus I really like plasma's over lcd. The only issue with this T.V. the sound quality is terrible, you can mess with the settings all you want and it won't change anything. What you can do is buy a soundbar. We bought the Vizio SoundBar w/ Wireless Subwoofer and It's made a world of difference.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mammoth1
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/26/2011

Customer review by Consumer32

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Consumer32
by Consumer32

Owned the TV for a year now. Great value, good TV. Haven't had not one problem with the set. Its only 720p but the picture is absolutely great! Plasma is a great way to watch any of your fast action programs. Comes with a built in digital tuner and plenty of HDMI connections. Speakers work well on the TV, surround sound is always a good addition. A thing to be careful with however is screen burn. Leave an image on too long without movement will burn it into the screen. Comes with a built in repair feature to reverse the effects if it does happen. But for severely burned screens it can be a time consuming process. Other than that minor issue its a great TV.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumer32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best ive ever own
1/26/2012

Customer review by reviewgeek

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by reviewgeek
by reviewgeek

had it almost 2 years and other then kinda slow start up its been great. ive got it hanging on my wall and the sound is awesome compaired to my 55" lcd samsung the picture is very clear works awesome with blue ray and video games i also have a computer hooked to it and there isnt anough good things i can say about this tv. this is the first sanyo thing i have ever own and i will buy more of them tell they do me wrong. all my friends have sony and other top brands with cheap brands like vizio in there bedrooms and they r going to sanyo when there tvs go bad after hanging here and hearing this without a theater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewgeek
frankfort ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read My Review
2/10/2012

Customer review by YuKey7

4.0 stars 2/10/2012 by YuKey7
by YuKey7

I was kind of hesitant on buying a plasma tv. This one caught my eye mainly because of the price. I was looking at a 55" lcd but at the time it was $200 dollars more. It is a great television not as bright as I would like but, nonetheless awesome tv. If you have a lot of light coming into your house during the day time like I do, the reflections can be a bit annoying. This is a great tv to watch movies at night deep rich colors and the speakers on it are loud even when I have it on volume 5. I added a Vizio sound-bar and subwoofer and it's all you need. So, I guess I spent that 200 dollars adding to the tv for a great movie night with the family.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YuKey7
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible T.V.
12/15/2011

Customer review by vjohns01

1.0 stars 12/15/2011 by vjohns01
by vjohns01

I bought this t.v. for $650 in May of 2011, and by November 2011 it was broken. After only ONE month of having it, the sound started to crackle and got 10x louder than it was (but it didn't say it was any louder.) This happened 3 times before November when the sound finally just went out completely which I know was the speakers, I hooked up headphones to the T.V. and the sound worked just fine. After about 5 months or so in October, the picture would suddenly appear very dark when you turned the T.V. on, and changing the settings didn't fix it. After turning the T.V. off and back on a couple of times it would fix it, but for $650 I expected this T.V. to last more than a few months without getting problems. I've read that SANYO's customer service isn't the greatest, but I guess it doesn't really matter because I lost the receipt to use the 1 year warranty anyways. It really shouldn't matter that I lost it, because the T.V. shouldn't have broken this soon in the first place. Word of advice- you get what you pay for, and sometimes you don't even get that. SO do NOT buy this T.V. unless you want to chance throwing $568 what it is priced now) down the drain!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vjohns01
Fort Campbell, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/29/2011

Customer review by Whistfully

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Whistfully
by Whistfully

I bought this TV 2 years ago on a Black Friday special, and it has performed flawlessly ever since. It has never needed any service or adjustment. Picture quality is excellent, and given the price, it is a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whistfully
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews