Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 657 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

657 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

657 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
436
4 stars
128
3 stars
23
2 stars
28
1 stars
42
1-20 of 604 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 604 total reviews
1-20 of 604 reviews
Good tent for the money
9/21/2011

Customer review by ThatTimGuy

5.0 stars 9/21/2011 by ThatTimGuy
by ThatTimGuy

I bought this tent because it was a lot of tent for the money. I figured even if I only used it once or twice it's cheaper than what I'd pay for most hotel rooms. The stitching all seemed very well done and the material was decent enough. The tent itself was big enough to fit 3 queen size beds, maybe even 4 if you pushed them together. I thought the tent might be TOO big, but there was plenty of room at our camp site. No problems with breaking poles our first time out. The only minor complaints would be that the instructions were a bit difficult to follow, but the 2nd time should be much easier now that we know what we're doing. It does take at least 2 people to set up the tent. Also, the room dividers only clip to the tent in four places and don't go all the way to the ceiling, I guess I was expecting something a little more solid. But frankly, I would've purchased it even without the dividers. On one of the warmer days, it was nice to take the top off and let things cool down inside.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatTimGuy
Ukiah, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Family Cabin Tent
4/15/2012

Customer review by Survival

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by Survival
by Survival

Ours is 2 years old and with the proper maintenance and storage still looks new. We camp 2 to 3 times / year minimum and has always been a great experience very easy to set up. Once a year we do a 10 to 12 days camp trip and at that time I take advantage to waterproof, sun block and do all preventive maintenance which is very little required. We also use a Tarp above the tent not only to keep it cool but also dry during the summer (that way on departure day there is no mess. Pictures will show that we have also added a custom built boot and air conditioner to ours. At the end of all we have 2 bedrooms with double high queen beds each and a living room with a small flat screen for those rainy or lazy do nothing days. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Survival
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
This Tent is a Beast!
6/21/2011

Customer review by DFamNC

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by DFamNC
by DFamNC
Top 100 contributor

I spent the better part of the last month reviewing around 50 tents for this camping season and always kept coming back to this one. After reading all of the reviews here and elsewhere I went ahead and purchased one hoping for the best. We just got back from camping in the mountains of Western NC and let me tell you this tent was amazing! Not only is it huge and totally accomodating for the group we had with us but it is well made and looks fantastic set up. I was a little worried about fitting this monster into a standard camp site but it did great and we actually got it as well as a 9x7 triangle tent and a pop up 2 person intstant tent on our site with plenty of room to spare. See the pics for details. My other fear was all the reviews of tent poles breaking and rain leakage. We did put down a tarp for good measure before putting up the tent and treated the lower seams with Coleman seam sealer. We had two major thunder storms while we were camping, the worst in years according to the campground owners who were busy reassuring campers after the storms that it "rarely happens" in their area. The tent flexed some initially as we hurried to get inside when this storm literally came out of nowhere but there was no movement at all once the door was secured. As for leakage...not a single drop, and it rained hard for an hour and a half straight! When the storm was over we saw tents blown down around the campgrounds including our own 2 person pop up instant tent, but the Big Beast as my kids now call it would not be moved. This tent is easy to set up and is everything we've always wanted in a tent big enough to accomodate a large group. I have read all the reviews as I have said and the only thing I can think of for the issues brought up is user error. I can easily see how the flex poles could snap on someone who is struggling to get them in the corner connectors and gets frustrated and just jams them in or bends the heck outta them causing them to break. Or how the fabric guides for the poles could rip due to the end sections of the shock corded poles tearing the material due to someone not paying attention and forcing them through. In all this tent is well worth the money and I look forward to many more wonderful weekend trips with it.

Was this review helpful? (2040) (114)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DFamNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Top 100 contributor
Nice
7/29/2011

Customer review by CadillacMan74

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by CadillacMan74
by CadillacMan74

The only problem I have had so far is trying to pack this beast away and have only used it once !. I will try to master a good technique on packing it later . Funny thing was also my sister in law and boyfriend had the same tent when we camping and they have liked it so far Other then that I love how the tarp material on the bottom go's up the sides 6 inches in case of heavy rain !

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CadillacMan74
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
IGNORE THE BAD REVIEWS, THIS TENT ROCKS!
4/1/2012

Customer review by shopaholic317

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by shopaholic317
by shopaholic317

I was skeptical to buy this tent after reading the bad reviews, but am so glad I bought it anyway. I would like to address the claims made by the negative reviews so that other people are aware. The tent is made of light, thin material, but is not cheap or flimsy. When you unzip the windows, they can be rolled up and tucked inside the pockets of the windows. The tent cover completely covers the tent. The door/canopy takes about 2 minutes tops to put up, and less than 15 seconds to take down (just move the poles and pull the two stakes out of the ground!) The directions were short but simple enough for two beginners to follow. We took the advice of one review and did not stake the tent down until after we set it up. Set up was very easy, took us about 25 minutes to set it up the first time, but we went slowly to make sure we did it right and did not break anything. Like another reviewer stated, if there are problems with this tent, it is either user error, stupidity, or just bad luck to have gotten a lemon (just return it and get another one!!) We left the tent up in our backyard for about 2 weeks, just waiting for a storm to hit to see how it held up. We live in Indiana, so in a 2 week period in March we experienced many different kinds of weather. On cool days, the tent held some heat (as much as you would expect a TENT to hold....it is a tent after all, not a house!) and on warm days, the tent stayed relatively cool. After we opened the windows and took the cover off, we had a nice breeze coming through. There were a few days were it rained a little bit, and the tent did not leak. One day it was VERY windy, and the tent held its ground. There were a few strong gusts of winds were I thought for sure the tent was going to collapse, but it didn't. And eventually, we had a severe thunderstorm. The rain poured down and not a single drop was inside the tent, and we did not seal the seams!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopaholic317
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Tent!
7/17/2011

Customer review by WildernessCamper

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by WildernessCamper
by WildernessCamper

This is the greatest tent you will find. We used it once at the end of camping season last year and have used it several times this season and have been thoroughly pleased with it. One trip we took we had a major storm blow through and the boys that were with us were distressed because all their gear in their tents got wet during the storm. Our tent was nice and dry. We have also been camping during a flash flood and same result.....everything stays dry. The ventilation on the tent is excellent compared to most tents. For the money, you will not find a better tent. We use one section for our queen air mattress. The middle section we use as our "kitchen" area (it's great not to have flies on you and your food while eating). The other end is our changing room (complete with port-a-potty). We are going to purchase another tent just like this for our boys to use so there will be no more wet gear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WildernessCamper
Woodlawn, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
7/1/2012

Customer review by CubsDenLdr

4.0 stars 7/1/2012 by CubsDenLdr
by CubsDenLdr

I had purchased the Ozark Trail 10 person 3 room XL Camping tent for my family of (4) and I for weekend’s trips and to use at our Boy Scout /Church functions. The size of the tent when it was put up was really beyond my expectations. The tent had accommodated all of our backpacks other camping gear and 4 cots with plenty of room to spare. The tent was very easy to put with both of my 7 & 6 year olds helping and it only took about 20 minutes to include the staking and tie downs. Even though our camping site was limited we were able to set up the tent with just a few minor adjustments on the tie downs. The ONLY complaint that I have about the tent is that when you are going to close the door for your evening sleep you have to take down the overhead foyer. It would have been nice to be able to just close it from the inside and to leave the overhead still in position. A simple tent modification can be made and sold for just pennies which would make the tent a really hard item to pass up for it value. During the course of the evening I had burned my propane heater and the tent had stayed warm all night long and the children had got out of their sleeping bags without any morning chill at all. The ventilation was excellent, when the windows were tattered there were no wind seepage and when we had let them down we had plenty of air flow coming through. When we had packed the tent up after our adventure we had no problem putting it into it carrying bag plus I had added a few more items into the bag such as a hammer, broom & dust pan and better quality tent pegs to make the tent a complete package and had enough room to add something else if I had needed it. This was a great investment for our family and I have recommended this tent to other families that wish to have a comfortable and enjoyable camping experience without really giving up the comfort of home for city girls like my wife.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CubsDenLdr
Daegu, South Korea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent for the Price!
6/24/2012

Customer review by BethProverbs31

4.0 stars 6/24/2012 by BethProverbs31
by BethProverbs31

Even though there are only 3 of us in our family, we wanted to purchase a tent large enough for at least 2 queen air mattresses and enough room left over for our gear. After looking at several larger tents, we opted to purchase this one from our local Walmart because it was the largest one we could find for our under $200 budget. We didn't want to take any chances so we water-proofed it and seam-sealed it before our first use and will probably do so again each year before first use of the season, so I couldn't tell you how it holds up without the water-proofing. Likes: 1. Size...this tent is HUGE inside! We had a queen air mattress on one end, a single air mattress on the other end, and tons of gear in the middle and still had room to spare. If you had to jam 10 people in here you could, but if you want space to move around, 6 or 7 people might be your "comfortable" max. 2. E-port...came in handy for bringing in an extension cord which we used for the air-pump to blow up our mattresses and then for the electric heater we brought for cooler nights. 3. Open mesh top and air flow vents...allows more moisture to escape and prevented condensation on inside tent walls, though our sleeping bags did feel just slightly moist in the mornings. 4. Bathtub floor...kept the floor seams elevated off the ground and prevented leaks. 5. Attached lantern loop...in the middle of the tent to hang a light/lantern on. 6. Mesh pockets...in bottom corners of tent for storing things in to keep them handy. Dislikes: 1. Rain-fly...doesn't cover side windows where tent side rooms are slanted out and doesn't cover enough of the tent for my liking. We bought a blue tarp a little bigger than the tent and used that as an extra covering over the tent and it worked out very well, but then we could not take the fly off and look at the stars on rain free nights because of the extra tarp. 2. Door/Canopy...the tiny front canopy is the door cover! If you choose to keep the canopy up, you will have no privacy in your middle room nor protection from rain because there is no solid door without it being down, just mesh! When the canopy is down, it velcros in several spots along both sides of the doors, but not at the bottom, which leads to another small issue...if it rains and the wind blows against or up the tent door cover, rain could possibly splash up through the bottom of the cover because it cannot be secured there. The canopy can be rolled up and tied at the top with attached tie backs. 3. Windows...sealed at bottom, zipper shut along both sides, but top is completely unsecured, which could lead to rain getting in if the wind blew it against the windows hard enough. 4. Room dividers....nothing more than flimsy pieces of material that attach only by four loops and hooks, one on each corner of divider. 5. E-Port...doesn't zip shut when not in use, only lays flat against tent. We have used the tent twice so far since purchasing it and despite the things I don't like about it, the tent really is a great value for the price if you are on a budget. Both times we used it it rained a bit...the first time light rain, the second time a moderate storm with a bit of wind. The extra tarp over the top and down the sides a bit helped I am sure, but the areas even where the tarp did not reach didn't leak and we stayed bone dry. Not a tent for use in winter because of the vented ceilings and windows that don't close on all 4 sides, but we did get a few nights during our Kentucky trip in early April where it went down into the 40's and with a small space heater and sleeping bags we were fine. I would recommend buying heavier steel tent pegs (we bought Coleman ones) as the ones that come with the tent are thin and could possibly bend or break after repeated use or in hard soil.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BethProverbs31
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product Great Value
7/29/2011

Customer review by BNLALady

4.0 stars 7/29/2011 by BNLALady
by BNLALady

Took this tent camping a couple of weeks ago and it was great! We were lucky that someone in our group had the same tent so we were set up within 20 minutes. The set up was easy, the tent was roomy and we had air mattresses in each room along with a small table in each of the rooms. The only thing that stops it from being a 10 is that the rooms are separate by curtain that is you are tall or pull down you can see over, but it still provides some privacy for each person.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BNLALady
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Poor material and poles
7/20/2012

Customer review by Raspatutee

2.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Raspatutee
by Raspatutee

We had about a 35 mph gust of wind come through our camp area and it busted both middle poles and ripped the top cover. You can see where we had to duct tape the holes on the cover. We found replacement poles at a Walmart which was a 3 hour trip from where we were camping. The front door cover also gets caught in the inside mesh zipper very easily and ended up tearing a little. Due to all the mesh on top, even with the cover on, we had a lot of sand and dirt blow into the tent from the top. The things we did like about the tent is the easy set up, height inside and the square footage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raspatutee
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A great family tent!~
4/5/2012

Customer review by Joy81

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Joy81
by Joy81

Its a very nice tent to have camping with the family. easy to put up and take down with 2 people and it will even fit back into the bag that it comes with! love it I give 5 stars all the way!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joy81
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The "Beast" outlived all expectations
1/18/2012

Customer review by kookiebrew

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by kookiebrew
by kookiebrew

Went camping in Ireland for a week last August and with the unpredictable Irish weather this tent was soon christened "The Beast". We had one day and night of strong winds and once the guy lines were tightened there was no moving us. We woke up morning after winds to find every other tent around us had gone, after this we knew we made the right decision getting this beast of a tent. Overall the tent was easy to put up and take down, and surprisingly we got it back into the carry bag with ease. Inside the tent there is ample room for 2 Large families with plenty of air vents and zero condensation. This tent comes highly recommended by us, THE BEAST is the best.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kookiebrew
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
VERY CHEAP! Not good quality
4/24/2013

Customer review by wren207

1.0 stars 4/24/2013 by wren207
by wren207

We set up the tent last weekend for the first time and noticed pin holes in the rain fly, then we saw that the seams weren't sewn correctly and were splitting at the zipper. Yuck. I planned on calling the company to report this when a gust of wind blew the tent over. No big deal, we set it back up and tied the guys tighter. The next gust of wind SNAPPED the two center poles. Rendering the tent completely useless. When I spoke with the customer service rep he delicately told me that this is their lowest end brand. The next one up is the Wenzel (which isn't made much better) and then the top of the line is the Ketly #sold at REI). We checked into the differences and the poles are TOTALLY different. The seams are sewn so much better AND the design actually allows for wind and rain. Bottom line, if you plan to use the tent more than one night, buy something better. This is one of those situations where you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wren207
Plano Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
The Perfect Tent
5/3/2011

Customer review by SGarciaS

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by SGarciaS
by SGarciaS

Been waiting since the end of last season to use our new tent, and it did not disappoint. It is HUGE, very well ventilated, has lots of mesh "shelving" and a port for an electrical cord. It went up and came down very quickly and easily and yes, it does actually fit in the bag along with all of the parts. Fantastic tent; we're going again in a month and I can't wait!

Was this review helpful? (103) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SGarciaS
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Family Tent
7/19/2011

Customer review by SwavyShopper

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by SwavyShopper
by SwavyShopper

I read all the reviews on this tent before purchasing..and still wanted this one. We camped out for 9 days, this tent held our queen size mattress at one end, our daughter's twin, and granddaughter's twin at the other end. Plus we set up a table in the middle toward the back to hold the extra clothing, a tub underneath that and still had plenty of room in the middle room for changing. It rained 3x while we were there..one night was a steady thunderstorm..and we stayed completely dry! I didnt even have time to treat the seams or anything before we left and it worked great! Some helpful hints, put a tarp on the ground underneath your tent, the rain flap needs to be staked down so the water will run off the top..first rain we hadnt done that...had to keep draining the roof but never leaked inside. After we staked the cords...rain just ran off and to the ground. LOVED this tent...would recommend it highly...we bent the poles very carefully when setting up due to reading some had broke on other people. Set up was fast...fairly easy...take down & storage a breeze as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SwavyShopper
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great tent for the price and very, very easy setup
4/29/2012

Customer review by Marel557

5.0 stars 4/29/2012 by Marel557
by Marel557

We purchased this tent for a camping trip with the cup scouts. This was the first time we had gone camping since we were little. The setup was very, very easy. I'm not sure what the negative reviews are about the poles snapping...the only way they would snap is if you put them in the wrong area...if that's the case then you need to just stay in a motel. Anyway, the first night it rained VERY hard and had strong winds. This tent kept us TOTALLY dry! We were so impressed with it. The size once it was put up was amazing, and we quickly became know was the owners of the "mansion". I would recommend this tent to anyone and if I needed another tent I wouldn't hesitate purchasing another one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marel557
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Spacious Tent, but very prone to wind damage.
8/14/2012

Customer review by Expeditioner

1.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Expeditioner
by Expeditioner

I’m an avid expedition camper that camp about 2 to 3 months at the time. This year I decided that I was going to take this specific tent because of the space, therefore allowing me to stay at one specific location for a longer time. My plan was to take the tent and use it for about 2 months and test the durability of this tent. Here are the results: PROS: Tent is very spacious, with three partitions that are removable. While is not designed so, it can be setup fairly easy by one experience person in about 30 minutes. The tent is very well ventilated with 5 large windows and a large door. An average height person can walk from one side of the tent to the other without stooping down. When raining the tent is very dry inside, but when it gets somewhat windy, water may spray inside a little bit. CONS: Like all tents in the market today, the stakes provided with tents are useless, so I personally replace all tent stakes with military grade aluminum stakes. The front door opens like a T. While I did not personally have a problem with this, there is a potential for smaller bugs to get in where all the zippers meet. The tent is very well ventilated, but the there is no way to actually seal the tent from the cold wind during colder days as there is no way to close the top part of the windows, so as a result the tent tend to be very drafty during cold days and nights. But the biggest flaw is that the tent is very susceptible to any wind and because the way the rain fly is designed is very prone to damage. Now with that said any experience camper knows that the higher and larger the tent is, the more prone they are too windy weather. But this tent could not even sustain milder wind gust without caving in. In my specific case the tent lasted 5 days standing up, and I notice the day before that during normal windy days the tent would cave in from the center as there is little support provided in that area. Unfortunately on the fifth day I was sitting outside of the tent and a wind gust cave the tent to the point that the fiberglass tent poles attached to the rain fly shredded to pieces causing 2 major irreparable rips on the tent fly. The tent was discarded on site. The tent may be a great tent for occasional weekend use where no wind is expected, but other than that I could not recommend this tent to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Expeditioner
Temple
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great family tent
7/7/2011

Customer review by nwcmpr

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by nwcmpr
by nwcmpr

Picked up the tent this past Friday 1 July 2011. It was my families first time to go camping. We had so much fun! The Ozark Trail 3- room tent was easy to set up and more than enough room for all of us. We are looking forward to many more weekends in our home away from home.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nwcmpr
Pairs, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Has lasted 3 years...
6/11/2013

Customer review by Slipkitty

3.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Slipkitty
by Slipkitty

I have had this tent for nearly 3 years. We went camping in the beginning of May 2013 and it was rainy, well it leaked horribly from where the nylon bit meets the flooring. If any amount of water builds up for any length of time it starts to drip. I got a good couple of years out of and when it isn't rainy it is awesome! Also invest in stronger tent steaks. It goes up pretty easy considering the size, rain fly can be tricky at first until you figure out what side goes where.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slipkitty
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for good weather camping!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Newlyweds1984

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Newlyweds1984
by Newlyweds1984

Great for camping in good weather. We did find the tent floor is thin and within a few days there was a hole from the ground underneath (our backyard). We also found in a thunderstorm with wind that the rain came up under the flap. Overall it is well worth the money and the buy...the ventilation in this tent is great and there is plenty of room for everyone! We slept four along with all of our belongings more than comfortably in this tent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newlyweds1984
Nottingham, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 604 total reviews
1-20 of 604 reviews