Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

35 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
Doesn't cut into hands
5/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

These baskets are super sturdy. I can throw clothes in until it is stacked twice as high as the basket itself and it doesn't bend or bow. The handles are comfortable and I love the belly curve so you can rest it against your tummy or hip. My daughter even likes to play in it and she is no gentle child lol. Well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SO disappointed.
11/10/2012

Customer review by fuzzymama

1.0 stars by fuzzymama

Boy, do I wish I'd gotten one of these that has lasted people through years of use and multiple moves etc. Mine have definitely NOT been that reliable. My Sterlite baskets (I bought two of them) have been problematic since about two months after they were purchased. The handles began popping out of place under stress; before long, they would no longer fit back into their spots; then the handle areas cracked and broke without the handles in there. I've struggled with them for about a year, but I'm done, and I'm not buying another Sterlite basket. I did some research and am choosing the Rubbermaid Flex N Carry Jumbo Hamper instead. I'm hoping they'll hold up better and cause me less frustration than this model did.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fuzzymama
Harrison, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/23/2011

Customer review by Motherof19

5.0 stars by Motherof19

Perfect gift for the perfect mother...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Motherof19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good basket
1/4/2012

Customer review by Gamermommykz

5.0 stars by Gamermommykz

best laundry basket in my opinion. does not crush easily and fits to my hip with an easy grip handle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gamermommykz
New Hudson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
built to last
5/30/2012

Customer review by CountyLivin

5.0 stars by CountyLivin

Ditto the other *good* reviews. I bought this in 2004 for college and it has yet to break in anyway, even through moving at least 13 times and being loaded with junk and jammed in my vehicle. The shape is perfect and I love the way it sits on my hip when carrying laundry (its the little things in life, I tell ya). Just added one to my wedding registry and I think its safe to say its the only laundry basket I'll ever buy-at this rate however, I don't think I'll ever have to buy another!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CountyLivin
Presque Isle, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Laundry Basket
4/27/2013

Customer review by MichaelG7355

5.0 stars by MichaelG7355

Until I found this particular laundry basket, I had been using a smaller, more flimsy one that had hard to hold uncomfortable handles only on the ends making it difficult to carry large loads to the laundry room. This laundry basket is more than sturdy. It's (so far) practically indestructible. Believe me it's been tossed around, dropped, slid down stairs full and empty and is still as good as it was when I purchased it. In fact it is so good that I went out and replaced all of the old laundry baskets in the house with this particular one. That's how much I like it.

MichaelG7355
Renton, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does the job and looks great.
8/10/2013

Customer review by Ducky

5.0 stars by Ducky

I bought one for my son's freshman year in college and soon discovered that one was not enough. I bought another and the laundry process between school and home worked. Bringing him home for the summer, I found that one of the handles was missing and there was a crack. Calling Sterlite brought 2 replacement handles although they were the incorrect ones. Sheepishly, I relayed my problem to Sterlite and they delivered 2 correct handles and advised me to recycle the first ones. I have since purchased another basket. They are ready for his junior year, in great shape. I recommend the basket and applaud their customer service.

Ducky
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Holds a lot of laundry
8/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I use these when I'm cleaning my house. I don't just use them for laundry. I have quite a few. They hold a lot of items.

An anonymous customer
Davie, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Product is as reliable as the company that made it
12/19/2013

Customer review by Rick Lange

5.0 stars by Rick Lange

I bought this basket at a WalMart, and when I got it home I noticed a missing snap-on handle. The basket wasn't expensive, so I hesitated to contact Sterilite. But, I emailed them, and had a response almost immediately. I can't recall the employee's name, but she told me she had already mailed me a handle, no charge. She even apologized for the missing handle, which I may even have lost on my own. I love this company, own dozens of their products, and am supremely happy with Sterlite, and Sterilite products. Meanwhile, 2 years into constant use, and this basket looks like we just bought it. Thanks, Sterilite!

Rick Lange
Freedom, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Like the look
1/11/2014

Customer review by RyBro

5.0 stars by RyBro

I like this laundry basket.. I have had it for over a year now and it works as good as a laundry basket should work. like the shape it is not just straight rectangle.

RyBro
Valpo, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
awesome
4/17/2014

Customer review by tmonson

5.0 stars by tmonson

I love that these are larger and the handles are so convenient and easy to carry they do not hurt my hands

tmonson
Fort Collins, Colorado
Gender:Female
Durable and Long lasting
6/25/2014

Customer review by Melly

5.0 stars by Melly

I have had this laundry basket for several years. I have found it very durable. It even survived Hurricane Sandy!

Melly
Brooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
Durable
8/18/2014

Customer review by 1froglegs

5.0 stars by 1froglegs

I tend to be hard on laundry baskets by leaning on them as I empty them, and that usually results in the sides cracking. So far this basket has stood up very well to the abuse I have subjected it to.

1froglegs
Lincoln, Nebraska
Very Sturdy!
9/5/2014

Customer review by westiekc

5.0 stars by westiekc

I will not buy any laundry basket other than Sterilite. These baskets are high quality and very durable. This particular basket is nice because it fits extra large loads of laundry easily in them.

westiekc
Loganton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great for large loads!
3/16/2014

Customer review by Rhonda P

4.0 stars by Rhonda P

We have had this laundry basket for over 7 years now. It has held up very well, and I like that it holds at least 3 large loads of laundry. The only negative is that the gray handles have broken off, buy that is to be expected after that many years of use! Other than that, great product!

Rhonda P
Mission, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Something of a mixed bag.....
9/5/2013

Customer review by sandyhud

3.0 stars by sandyhud

I have 4-5 of these baskets as we do A LOT of laundry at our house. The sides and bottom of the basket are very durable. I have never had the sides or bottom portion of the basket break. The reason I say sides and bottom is because the grey portion of the handle has come off of several baskets over the years. I just replace the basket with the same thing and go on, but it is definitely a weakness in the design of the basket.

sandyhud
New Braunfels, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Handles are a problem.
8/29/2014

Customer review by JPKM

2.0 stars by JPKM

I bought three of these laundry baskets and one of the handles fell off within 24 hours of purchasing them. I have only had them a few weeks and a second handle keeps falling off. These feel really durable until you get them home and use the handle to hold the basket with some weight in it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JPKM
Azle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the size and shape, but the handle has already broken .
10/10/2011

Customer review by Renee

2.0 stars by Renee

After only a few months, the handle on this basket has already broken.

Renee
Yorktown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very poor handles
5/19/2013

Customer review by Tim D.

2.0 stars by Tim D.

I have had several of these baskets. All of them have the grey handle insert catches break so they cannot be retained. The catches are just not strong enough to handle any side load. Without the handle inserts, there is not enough material in the handle area and it breaks. Note that the breakage would probably not happen as quickly if the basket is carried with two hands, but it will not stand up to being carried on a hip with one hand. The kidney basket may work better that way.

Tim D.
Granada Hills, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Quality was better in the past, but now has gone downhill
3/7/2014

Customer review by Marie The Amazon

2.0 stars by Marie The Amazon

I agree with most of the other reviews; I have been buying Sterilite products for many, MANY years (my first Sterilite laundry basket was in college, and -that- was while dinosaurs still roamed the earth), and I've previously always liked the quality and durability. It's easiest for me to have at least two baskets in rotation, one with dirty and one with clean or to separate the loads, so I like to have at least two or even three. AND -- I still have one of the laundry baskets that I bought probably twelve years ago that is still going great and puts up with all the abuse it ought to; unfortunately, Sterilite no longer makes this model, a slightly more straight-sided and squared-off rectangular model. This new one listed here has unfortunately NOT lived up to its predecessor's record -- I barely got any laundry into it soon after beginning to use it and the handle inserts popped out, sometimes snapping off the tabs on the ends of those inserts, weakening the whole sides of the basket and making it impossible to carry it on my hip up our staircase. I am reasonably handy, so I tried to glue the handles back in place first with superglue, but it failed; then tried epoxy, being sure to also cover the tabs that are supposed to lock the inserts into the body of the basket. No dice; they did not stay. Undefeated, I drilled small holes thru the slots into the inserts and installed small screws to keep them in place when the tabs wouldn't. Nope. The portion of the basket that surrounds each tab of the inserts now broke off -- STILL attached to the inserts -- making the whole darned thing unusable. Because even if I wasn't using those handles to carry the basket, without the inserts there the structure is so weak it "folds" at the part of the basket where the inserts used to be. I don't think the frame would stand up to doing any home-reinforcing to make it last longer -- And frankly, I do not think I ought to have to kludge OR to baby a basket THIS much to be able to use what I've paid for, for the exact use it was supposedly designed to fill. I have to say I am really, really disappointed in the quality and the structure of these baskets! I have now gone thru FOUR of the new ones since buying the first of this model, and the OLD basket is still undamaged and structurally sound. C'mon, Sterilite -- I -know- you can do it, you have in the past -- isn't there a way you can slightly change the design on this and make it durable? I'd buy several so that I'm never without a good quality, sturdy basket again!

Marie The Amazon
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 32 total reviews