Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-16 of 16 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Does just what I needed done.
2/16/2012

Customer review by Squidgetguy

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by Squidgetguy
by Squidgetguy

This anchor control and lock pulley does a fantastic job for an item costing less than six bucks. I still have to pick up the anchor and put it over the side, but this unit allows me to lower and raise the anchor while sitting in my deck pedestal seat. I pull the anchor line towards myself to raise the anchor, no longer having to lean over and pull the anchor straight up. It greatly reduces the strain on my back muscles. By hanging the anchors out just above the water before putting the boat in the water, the anchors are ready to drop simply by pulling on the line to unlock the mechanism and lower the anchor when ready to fish in one location. Another good feature is that I don’t have to put the anchor in the boat to move to another location and then put the anchor back over the side. I just pull the line in until the anchor reaches the pulley and lock it in place, still hanging over the water, then I move the boat to a new spot. Then, after I stop again, I unlock the line by pulling on it and lower the anchor again. This makes lowering and raising the anchor so much easier than before. (I bring the anchors inboard if I move the boat at speed with my outboard motor, but leave it out if moving the boat slowly with the outboard or with my electric trolling motor.) I handle the bow anchor and my fishing buddy handles the stern anchor, all without getting out of our fishing seats. I mounted my pulleys on pieces of plywood, then attached the plywood at the bow and stern of my bass boat with single screws so that the pulleys swing out so that the pulley wheel is just over the water to use the anchor and then swing inboard for covering the boat. The unit instructions states that it uses anchor line up to 1/2”. I am using a 5/16” braided, floating line and it just does lock in place. Any smaller and it would not lock. I recommend using at least a 5/16” floating line, or a 3/8” standard braided line if you want the locking mechanism to work properly. If the line is not thick enough, it will slip and not lock firmly.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squidgetguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product
9/2/2012

Customer review by tommyt654

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by tommyt654
by tommyt654

I installed this o a small inflatable poontoon boat I have and it works perfectly. Highly recommend for those in need

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tommyt654
Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does the job
10/30/2013

Customer review by camofisher

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by camofisher
by camofisher

This is a very inexpensive anchor pulley that does the job. It doesn't look like much when you first see it but once installed and used on your boat, you will be pleased with the results. I have a small boat with a 15 lb anchor so I don't know how it would do with much heavier anchors. Either way, it doesn't cost you much to try it out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camofisher
Arlington, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i am very happy
9/19/2012

Customer review by simong48

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by simong48
by simong48

quick response and very good price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
simong48
brooklyn,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/14/2012

Customer review by rb56

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by rb56
by rb56

i bought two of these to use on my canoe and couldn't be happier. to release my anchors now i don't have to move from my seat at all. i simply pull the anchor line and it releases. when i pull it up and let go of the line it closes back on the line to secure it. whether you use a device or by hand, once your anchor is in place these work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rb56
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product...only one small issue
5/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Would have given this 'meets expectations' a 5th bar but the mount holes are small. I mounted this on a metal 'john boat' that required me to drill holes but the holes in the device were so small, I spent all day digging for bolts or large screws that would fit. I mounted two units, bow and stern and when I did the second (stern) I drilled the mount holes in the unit a tad larger to accomodate what I had to mount it with. Once mounted though - they stay put! Good product! Makes dropping and pulling ancors up much easier!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Xenia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great
6/27/2014

Customer review by themancmt

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by themancmt
by themancmt

Good thing to have for good price

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
themancmt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy with it.
7/31/2014

Customer review by governorDODGE

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by governorDODGE
by governorDODGE

Does it's job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
governorDODGE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for a small boat.
7/30/2014

Customer review by subsaylor

3.0 stars 7/30/2014 by subsaylor
by subsaylor

Works pretty good but a little on the small side. A small rope falls off the the roller if it is not straight on the roller. Otherwise it does what advertised.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
subsaylor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mr. Disappointed
12/24/2014

Customer review by Codyboy

1.0 stars 12/24/2014 by Codyboy
by Codyboy

This is so small it looks like a toy. Junk!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Codyboy
Would recommend to a friend? No
great product for what it is.simple to use.
7/15/2013

Customer review by turttypiontbuck

5.0 stars 7/15/2013 by turttypiontbuck
by turttypiontbuck

great product. but they care this same thing in store made by shoreline. same price. so if you need it now just go to the store, i found this out the next day after i bought one on line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turttypiontbuck
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great
6/23/2013

Customer review by pcolapirate

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by pcolapirate
by pcolapirate

Had two on my old boat for years, they finaly rusted away. they work great when using the right size rope and anchor. works great for small boats on ponds, gentle rivers, bays, etc. I would not reccomend it for anchors of 15 lbs or larger, rough currents, larger boats over 16 ft.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pcolapirate
Jay, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Anchors Away.
2/10/2015

Customer review by Heartpumper

5.0 stars 2/10/2015 by Heartpumper
by Heartpumper

Excellent product, price, and delivery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Heartpumper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/11/2013

Customer review by richte36

4.0 stars 5/11/2013 by richte36
by richte36

i like this product it makes it easier to pull up the anchor because the line stays in one place and it locks in place when you are done.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
richte36
Cadillac, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very useful well made!
12/11/2014

Customer review by Zuter

4.0 stars 12/11/2014 by Zuter
by Zuter

This is great! Dropping and raising 2 anchors alone has always been my one issue with a fishing boat. It does what I want it to do. I can run both anchors from the stern without moving around. I am able to lower and raise the anchor without even standing up, love it! I think 3/8" rope is perfect for this. I have a 15lb anchor, does not seem to have a problem with it, says it is rated for 20lb anchor. I would not go over that depending on your mount. The unit itself I think the metal is stout enough, does not seem to flex, should last for years. For the price, and what this does for you, priceless... My one fault would be the mounting of it. You are not going to be able to just screw this in and use it in most cases. You will have to come up with a way to mount it and not everybody can do this, if you are fairly handy then you will figure out something. I would drill out the holes and use lag screws or nuts and bolts whenever possible. Or better yet, weld it to a better support system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zuter
Golden, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Anchor Tender
10/20/2014

Customer review by Snailspace

4.0 stars 10/20/2014 by Snailspace
by Snailspace

One of my anchor controls broke. The plastic gets brittle after years of use. Walmart had the direct replacement at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snailspace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.