Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 281 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

281 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

281 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
181
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 stars
24
1-20 of 273 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 273 total reviews
1-20 of 273 reviews
B & D hand vacumn
5/9/2016

Customer review by galaxy10

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by galaxy10
by galaxy10

powerful , easy to handle and the price is affordable <><

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
galaxy10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect
11/29/2011

Customer review by BOBofpA

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by BOBofpA
by BOBofpA

Weight to suction ratio is perfect. I was afraid it would weigh too much for one hand handling. It is very powerful and does the job well around the house,garage,car,patio

Was this review helpful? (75) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BOBofpA
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Handheld Ever !!!!!
4/9/2016

Customer review by momlikesbikes

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by momlikesbikes
by momlikesbikes

I bought this as a gift for my sister but secretly tried it out before I gave it to her. I was skeptical it would vacuum up all the tiny pebbles, leaves and dirt on the floor of my car because all other hand held vacuums didn't suck up anything in my car because they were too weak on suction or the mouth was too large to fit into the tiny grooves and spaces in my car. I was totally amazed it vacuumed up everything leaving the floors of my car spotless and I was even able to get into the tiny nooks and crannies of my car that I was never able to clean before because the head of the vacuum is small enough to get into even the tightest spaces. It also sucked up tons of cat hair on the floors of my house that my regular broom couldn't reach effectively. Anyway, I gave the vacuum to my sister for her birthday and went back online to buy another for myself. I cried when I saw the price went from $29 to $49. Ughhhh. Still a bargain at $49 in my opinion. Don't waste your money on other hand helds with weak suction. Get this instead.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momlikesbikes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped working after 6 months
4/6/2016

Customer review by DTCO

3.0 stars 4/6/2016 by DTCO
by DTCO

Mine was working fine for a few months. Then I noticed that no matter how long I charged it for, it would not vacuum for more than a minute at a time before losing power. I would have to recharge it for days, and even then, the suction power was very week. I contacted Black & Decker's customer service online chat (since it was out of Walmart's return timeframe) and they ended up replacing my item, free of charge without making me ship it back. I rate this item 1 star for being defective and a 5 for the painless and responsive customer service. Note: The customer service rep told me that there were issues with the charging mechanism on this model (manufactured in 2015) that has since been rectified...so maybe this will not be an issue for others purchasing this item in the future.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DTCO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome Little Hand Vac
10/13/2015

Customer review by mbzetti

5.0 stars 10/13/2015 by mbzetti
by mbzetti

My wife and I had received this as a gift from someone, and because of past multiple bad experiences with B&D products my first thought was "Return it." My wife convinced me not to since it was a gift so I unboxed it and charged it overnight. Needless to say, this little vac is AWESOME! It has great power for its size, nice weight and balance, and a decent battery for quick cleanups. The wall hanger that comes with it is nice, getting it off the floor and saving space. It has an attached extention that slides out, as well as a brush on the end of the vucuum that hinges on and off (saves us from loosing these pieces). It is great for cleaning up after the animals and kids. I like it so much that I recently bought a second one for our camper. The only complaint I have is make sure that the nozzle is securely snapped into the body of the vacuum. There was a few time were I thought it was, resumed vacuuming only to have it come apart and dump what I had vacuumed onto the floor. More of a user error, but figured should be noted.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mbzetti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good suction, but......
12/11/2011

Customer review by bstnh1

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by bstnh1
by bstnh1
Top 1000 contributor

The new Dustbusters have more suction than the older ones, but they also have some serious flaws. The nozzle is much narrower, which probably accounts for the greater suction, but it makes for more passes when vacuuming up a mess. The angle at which you must hold the nozzle is much closer to straight up and down than with the older ones and seems very awkward. The flip down brush on the end of the nozzle is next to useless. You cannot push the unit forward with the brush down - there's simply too much resistance. It only works well if you pull the vacuum towards you. The biggest issue is that Black and Decker has done away with the on-the-wall charging rack. You must now plug the charger into the handle of the Dustbuster each time you hang it up. The ugly cord is right there dangling over the unit for the world to look at. And, of course, each time you go to use it you have to remember to unplug the cord before you remove the vacuum. Over all, it's a big step backwards from the older models.

Was this review helpful? (67) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bstnh1
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Has good suction
3/16/2014

Customer review by Verky

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Verky
by Verky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although I've used this hand vac only a few times, it seems to have very good suction. I like several of the "extras"--the fact that both "attachments" are permanently "attached to the vac--so easy to use them. Like that a light is on when the battery is charging but wish there was a way to know when the battery is fully charged. I've wanted to order several fabric filters to have on hand before they are actually needed. But finding out what the correct part number has been almost impossible. Why can't the filter part numbers be printed in the instruction booklet. Most everyone needs to order them so why not just make a note of the numbers. It's nice to have the phone number for customer service but if the filter part numbers were printed in the booklet--or easier to find on the website, customers could buy the filters through the website without a call to customer service. So I will have to call CS. But overall, I think this was a smart purchase. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Verky
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor
3/30/2016

Customer review by unhappy

1.0 stars 3/30/2016 by unhappy
by unhappy

No power after 10-15 minutes it's done.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unhappy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the job well!
7/3/2014

Customer review by HandyManT

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by HandyManT
by HandyManT

I purchased this unit to clean out my car since the crevices are too small to handle the commercial car vacs they have at gas stations. Let me tell you this beast gets into almost every nook and cranny and gets the job done. Yes the nozzle is small and makes for more time spent on large areas such as the floor and seats but the power lasts a good 20 minutes. Just be sure to charge the unit 24+ hours before using and let it totally die out after first use, as per the manual so you can get this long run time. It is very loud but thats due to the power. Have used it around the house for small messes as well. The brush is nice to clean HVAC grilles and keyboards. I also ran it over the curtains and couches until it dies. It picked up alot of fine dust. Totally recommended. I just wish it had a wide mouth attachment.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandyManT
Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Worthless when battery won't hold a charge
4/14/2016

Customer review by Dustbinned

1.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Dustbinned
by Dustbinned

I owned a similar Dustbuster for 6 years and it worked fine. When the battery finally went, I bought this newer model. After 5 months the battery failed. I found that I would have to drive 40 miles to the nearest center for an exchange, or UPS it to them at my cost! It will end up in the trash and I will try to find a product that is worth it's warranty. It will not be another Dustbuster.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dustbinned
Would recommend to a friend? No
Strong suction
9/8/2014

Customer review by rzerbak

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by rzerbak
by rzerbak
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

Like many people, this is about the fourth cordless vac that I have had. Usually they are Black and Decker. So this replaces the one I had. I like the extension on the end. It "locks" in place. The little brush is fine, and I actually like the way it is handy to flip up and down. You don't expect the brush to be expensively made at this price. I followed the directions!!! I let it charge for 24 hours and then let it run all the way down (more than 15 minutes use and then left it on) before recharging. So the battery seems to be quite good. The only thing I don't understand is why the wall bracket is now made so that you have to manually plug the charging end into the unit. The previous ones were built so all you had to do was slide them back onto the wall mount and they charged. This one has to be plugged in. It is not a hugely difficult thing to do. I just don't understand why the design was changed to require this extra step. Overall, I like it. Just wish I didn't have to manually plug it in to charge.

Was this review helpful? (11) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rzerbak
Sweet Home Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
While it worked it was nice
2/14/2016

Customer review by Paratwa

2.0 stars 2/14/2016 by Paratwa
by Paratwa

I owned this for a few months, and while it worked it was a good little vacuum. But the battery would not hold a charge for longer than 30 seconds. This was with plugging it in after each use. I made sure all the filters were clean so that was not the problem. Not worth the money for this thing, and like all Black and Decker products they never last very long. I told my wife not to buy a Black and Decker product, but she did not listen.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paratwa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very nice unit from Black and Decker !
2/4/2014

Customer review by PAJON59

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by PAJON59
by PAJON59
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well to start with I read the owners manual ! You don't just start using it right out of the box. It has to charge 24 hrs MINIMUM before first usage! I went 48 hrs. On first use my Wife went thru the whole house and I cleaned my laptop, was more than 20 mins run time! Then left it running till dead, AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!, The intake is larger than it looks in the pictures, The pull out extension is very handy and it does not collapse back in if you pull it out till it locks! again AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!. The flip down brush does a great job of cleaning dust from computer vent grills. OH yes when you take a break and sit the unit on a table it just sits there on its legs, dosnt roll off and crash to the floor. This unit replaced Our old B-D that had the large wall mount. I find the small wall mount is a space saver , and the charger coard attaches nicely into it. I have yet to tire my fingers out by putting the charger plug into the charging port! All in all a very good value for the money, as expected from BLACK AND DECKER. Also the angle which you hold it at is aprox 45 degrees not flat down!Jon H.

Was this review helpful? (53) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAJON59
Barnegat NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not a good buy :(
5/24/2016

Customer review by Beach

1.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Beach
by Beach
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this hand held vacuum as it is a good price and its a black and decker, we ordered it online and when we picked it up at the store, the box was damaged, we looked at it and it looked okay, it had a charge that did not last very long, and we plugged it in every day after using it, and it kept slowing down quicker and quicker until a weeks use it would not hold a charge, we took it back, if your looking for a handheld vac, try the newer ones with lithium batteries, they may hold a charge longer than a week :(.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for cleaning up after toddlers
3/7/2012

Customer review by MamaAppleseed

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by MamaAppleseed
by MamaAppleseed

I purchased this cordless hand vacuum primarily to clean up my car and daughter's car seat. The first time I used this vacuum after charging for the recommended 24 hours, the battery lasted about 25 minutes. The instructions suggested to run down the battery completely during the first use. I vacuumed my daughter's car seat, and my entire car and the battery was still going strong. I like this lightweight model, and that it can be opened up and easily cleaned. There are no replacement bags or filters that you have to purchase. It has an extending tool that works great for getting into tight spots. The vacuum power is as powerful as my full size vacuum. It is loud, but it does a great job. I'm hopeful that this product will continue to perform well.

Was this review helpful? (160) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaAppleseed
Eliot, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works well
4/4/2016

Customer review by Ronald

5.0 stars 4/4/2016 by Ronald
by Ronald

Works well. Powerful but loud.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronald
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't last
4/18/2016

Customer review by JennaWhenna

1.0 stars 4/18/2016 by JennaWhenna
by JennaWhenna

Only lasted about 3 months! I used it MAYBE once a week. Even fully charged, it only vacuums for about 2mins!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JennaWhenna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Suction and Power Drains Quickly
4/23/2016

Customer review by PaxicoTrader

1.0 stars 4/23/2016 by PaxicoTrader
by PaxicoTrader

Even after being fully charged, I only get a minute or two of really good suction. And then I can actually hear the power downgrade and suction gets weaker and weaker. I get (at best) 5 or 10 minutes of cleaning, and after that it won't pick up anything. There are a couple of other problems. The extendable nozzle won't stay extended if I put any type of pressure on it, rendering it virtually useless for crevices and corners. Additionally, the filter inside gets really easily clogged, so emptying and cleaning the canister is not quite as easy as advertised. I purchased the Bissell CleanView to replace this one, because the Bissell has an actual power cord and needs no recharging.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaxicoTrader
Would recommend to a friend? No
Handy Little Vac
11/21/2011

Customer review by karebear28

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by karebear28
by karebear28

I received this for Christmas from my brother last year and use it almost daily. My kitchen tends to get messed up more than any other room in the house, so I often sweep up the debris and use my little vac to suck it all up daily for a quick clean up. Very powerful and easy to clean out.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karebear28
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed
5/13/2016

Customer review by Lynn

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Lynn
by Lynn

I have only had it for about 2 weeks, but so far so good. It has good suction and I like the extender on the end. Bought one for my mother as well and she has had no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 273 total reviews
1-20 of 273 reviews