Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 181 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

181 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

181 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
43
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
7
1-20 of 173 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
Very powerful handvac
11/21/2011

Customer review by CaliCaliGirlGirl

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by CaliCaliGirlGirl
by CaliCaliGirlGirl

My old Dustbuster finally gave out after 10 years. After reading reviews, I decided to get this model as a replacement. I was pleasantly surprised at how much more powerful it is compared to my old one. Plus the charge holds for a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (126) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliCaliGirlGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for cleaning up after toddlers
3/7/2012

Customer review by MamaAppleseed

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by MamaAppleseed
by MamaAppleseed

I purchased this cordless hand vacuum primarily to clean up my car and daughter's car seat. The first time I used this vacuum after charging for the recommended 24 hours, the battery lasted about 25 minutes. The instructions suggested to run down the battery completely during the first use. I vacuumed my daughter's car seat, and my entire car and the battery was still going strong. I like this lightweight model, and that it can be opened up and easily cleaned. There are no replacement bags or filters that you have to purchase. It has an extending tool that works great for getting into tight spots. The vacuum power is as powerful as my full size vacuum. It is loud, but it does a great job. I'm hopeful that this product will continue to perform well.

Was this review helpful? (124) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaAppleseed
Eliot, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Handy Little Vac
11/21/2011

Customer review by karebear28

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by karebear28
by karebear28

I received this for Christmas from my brother last year and use it almost daily. My kitchen tends to get messed up more than any other room in the house, so I often sweep up the debris and use my little vac to suck it all up daily for a quick clean up. Very powerful and easy to clean out.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karebear28
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/5/2011

Customer review by bananabana

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by bananabana
by bananabana

Great little hand vac with lots of power.

Was this review helpful? (68) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bananabana
West Linn, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
perfect
11/29/2011

Customer review by BOBofpA

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by BOBofpA
by BOBofpA

Weight to suction ratio is perfect. I was afraid it would weigh too much for one hand handling. It is very powerful and does the job well around the house,garage,car,patio

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BOBofpA
17701
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice unit from Black and Decker !
2/4/2014

Customer review by PAJON59

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by PAJON59
by PAJON59

Well to start with I read the owners manual ! You don't just start using it right out of the box. It has to charge 24 hrs MINIMUM before first usage! I went 48 hrs. On first use my Wife went thru the whole house and I cleaned my laptop, was more than 20 mins run time! Then left it running till dead, AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!, The intake is larger than it looks in the pictures, The pull out extension is very handy and it does not collapse back in if you pull it out till it locks! again AS PER THE OWNERS MANUAL!. The flip down brush does a great job of cleaning dust from computer vent grills. OH yes when you take a break and sit the unit on a table it just sits there on its legs, dosnt roll off and crash to the floor. This unit replaced Our old B-D that had the large wall mount. I find the small wall mount is a space saver , and the charger coard attaches nicely into it. I have yet to tire my fingers out by putting the charger plug into the charging port! All in all a very good value for the money, as expected from BLACK AND DECKER. Also the angle which you hold it at is aprox 45 degrees not flat down!Jon H.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAJON59
Barnegat NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good suction, but......
12/11/2011

Customer review by bstnh1

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by bstnh1
by bstnh1

The new Dustbusters have more suction than the older ones, but they also have some serious flaws. The nozzle is much narrower, which probably accounts for the greater suction, but it makes for more passes when vacuuming up a mess. The angle at which you must hold the nozzle is much closer to straight up and down than with the older ones and seems very awkward. The flip down brush on the end of the nozzle is next to useless. You cannot push the unit forward with the brush down - there's simply too much resistance. It only works well if you pull the vacuum towards you. The biggest issue is that Black and Decker has done away with the on-the-wall charging rack. You must now plug the charger into the handle of the Dustbuster each time you hang it up. The ugly cord is right there dangling over the unit for the world to look at. And, of course, each time you go to use it you have to remember to unplug the cord before you remove the vacuum. Over all, it's a big step backwards from the older models.

Was this review helpful? (44) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bstnh1
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent Product
12/9/2011

Customer review by daCowboy

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by daCowboy
by daCowboy

I am an agent for Penske Truck Rental and use this Hand-Vac many times on a daily basis in cleaning truck cabs. The suction power is great, charge holds very well, easy to empty and clean filter. The long slender nozzle and extension makes it easy to get into tight areas and under the seats. I liked this Hand-Vac so well... I purchased another for home use and family auto's.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daCowboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
B&D improving on their Hand Vac, but...
5/16/2012

Customer review by kwi2o4394k

4.0 stars 5/16/2012 by kwi2o4394k
by kwi2o4394k

I read a lot of reviews of all similar hand vacs, and wonder if the engineers at B&D and competing companies are ignorant of these. This unit, due to design flaws, doesn't make use of all that power it packs, performing equal to the 12 volt one I first bought and returned, and little better than lower watt ones. Why? This gets kinda technical, but these units need to "breath", they need to use the same design technology of larger vacs, which is, have notches around the suck tube to create air flow. And, with the addition of the extension, this reduces the aperture of the opening, making this model incomparable, in a sense, to other nearly identical B&D models without the built-in extension. Before offering my engineering tips, let me sing its praises now. It is powerful and has a great filter for such a small unit. It is two-stage and fully washable. The option to just quickly empty it or more fully open it up for cleaning is like a larger pricier vac. The charge lasts quite long also. The extension gets wherever one typically needs to reach, though the angle I find overly steep, meaning you must vacuum with the unit nearly horizontal to get a seal, thus reducing suction going into deep crevices in my car interior where I must keep the unit vertical. I actually made some modifications to mine that has improved it functionality. I filed some grooves into the plastic and I found an other brush end I saved from a long dead unit that I can insert into the tube, creating a far more functional brush than the nearly useless one that B&D (seemingly) cleverly attached externally to this unit. Looks cool, but when engaged, is too far from "the action" to be very useful. In conclusion, given the competition, this is about as good as it gets. I'd probably give a try for the cheaper no frills unit if I did it over again, and go about making adaptations. The lower power ones won't make you deaf with their operating noise (this one is intense) and won't break the budget as this one does. For a few bucks more you can get (sold by two competing brands) those light weight vacs that are essentially hand vacs with long handle extensions, which allow detaching the hand vac part. The trick is finding one with useful attachments...

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kwi2o4394k
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good, but...
11/22/2011

Customer review by mdosh

2.0 stars 11/22/2011 by mdosh
by mdosh

I would really like this hand vac, the problem is that it only holds a charge for a very short period of time. I've seen another review that said theirs held for a long time, and maybe it's just mine, but after charging it for 5 hours, it will only run for maybe 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdosh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
3/23/2012

Customer review by Iusedit

1.0 stars 3/23/2012 by Iusedit
by Iusedit

Good Nice looking, handles well, picks up crumbs etc from hardwood/ carpeted floors, not too noisy. Bad Run-time after full 24 hr charge, about 6 minutes, dead after about 8 minutes. Built-in extension tube, won't stay out, keeps retracting. Mustache-like attached brush on vaccum a joke. Cleaning the vac is dirty and messy. Need a second vac to clean this vac. No charge cradle. Want to use this vac for DUSTING. Suction too weak, brush useless, you would be scratching up your furniture. Recommend: No way. Returned 2 days later

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iusedit
Ventura, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job well!
7/3/2014

Customer review by HandyManT

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by HandyManT
by HandyManT

I purchased this unit to clean out my car since the crevices are too small to handle the commercial car vacs they have at gas stations. Let me tell you this beast gets into almost every nook and cranny and gets the job done. Yes the nozzle is small and makes for more time spent on large areas such as the floor and seats but the power lasts a good 20 minutes. Just be sure to charge the unit 24+ hours before using and let it totally die out after first use, as per the manual so you can get this long run time. It is very loud but thats due to the power. Have used it around the house for small messes as well. The brush is nice to clean HVAC grilles and keyboards. I also ran it over the curtains and couches until it dies. It picked up alot of fine dust. Totally recommended. I just wish it had a wide mouth attachment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HandyManT
Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Powerful handheld vacuum
8/4/2014

Customer review by TexasAggie

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by TexasAggie
by TexasAggie

I have always liked Black & Decker Dustbusters. The ones I have used in the past were with a wider mouth allowing more room to suction messes with one or two swipes. This one is only two inches across at the mouth so I was concerned when I first purchased it, but the powerful suction it has compensates for this in my opinion. Takes a bit more time to clean up a pile of dirt, but it is the only con I have found. It is a great product for light housekeeping and is easy to open and empty dirt into the trash as well as clean. It does not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasAggie
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Has good suction
3/16/2014

Customer review by Verky

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Verky
by Verky

Although I've used this hand vac only a few times, it seems to have very good suction. I like several of the "extras"--the fact that both "attachments" are permanently "attached to the vac--so easy to use them. Like that a light is on when the battery is charging but wish there was a way to know when the battery is fully charged. I've wanted to order several fabric filters to have on hand before they are actually needed. But finding out what the correct part number has been almost impossible. Why can't the filter part numbers be printed in the instruction booklet. Most everyone needs to order them so why not just make a note of the numbers. It's nice to have the phone number for customer service but if the filter part numbers were printed in the booklet--or easier to find on the website, customers could buy the filters through the website without a call to customer service. So I will have to call CS. But overall, I think this was a smart purchase. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Verky
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power!
11/12/2013

Customer review by MikieL

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by MikieL
by MikieL

Finally a cordless that will suck up my huge roaches! In between cleanings I get these guys, usually dead thankfully, but I hate seeing them just the same. I've been looking for something with an extra long wand too, to save my back and reach into tight places. This vac is longer than all others I've found, plus has loads of power, so I really like that part. Maybe I will duct-tape some type of extension just to complete my dream machine. Also at the end is a larger mouth opening too for the bigger size of roaches.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikieL
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love This Product
9/14/2013

Customer review by HappyInTallyTown

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by HappyInTallyTown
by HappyInTallyTown

This dust buster is lightweight, but packs a punch for areas where it is awkward to use a full size vacuum cleaner! I would recommend this product for everyone! It is cordless, and charges easily using the wall adapter. It can work on carpet, hardwood floors and upholstery. This tool is perfect for cleaning baseboards. I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyInTallyTown
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cordless Vac didn't hold a charge.
8/7/2012

Customer review by Freespirit0202

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Freespirit0202
by Freespirit0202

Not happy with the Black and Decker Cordless Hand Vac. Only worked for 10 minutes and then cut off. It was fully charged, but wouldn't work. Had to return it. Very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freespirit0202
Germantown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Strong suction
9/8/2014

Customer review by rzerbak

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by rzerbak
by rzerbak

Like many people, this is about the fourth cordless vac that I have had. Usually they are Black and Decker. So this replaces the one I had. I like the extension on the end. It "locks" in place. The little brush is fine, and I actually like the way it is handy to flip up and down. You don't expect the brush to be expensively made at this price. I followed the directions!!! I let it charge for 24 hours and then let it run all the way down (more than 15 minutes use and then left it on) before recharging. So the battery seems to be quite good. The only thing I don't understand is why the wall bracket is now made so that you have to manually plug the charging end into the unit. The previous ones were built so all you had to do was slide them back onto the wall mount and they charged. This one has to be plugged in. It is not a hugely difficult thing to do. I just don't understand why the design was changed to require this extra step. Overall, I like it. Just wish I didn't have to manually plug it in to charge.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rzerbak
Sweet Home Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
7/26/2013

Customer review by buddyamber

1.0 stars 7/26/2013 by buddyamber
by buddyamber

Disappointed. I am not at all impressed with it. I do not feel it is any more powerful than any of the various hand vacs I have had over the past 20 years. The attachments do not seem to do anything more special to it either. The crevice tool is no thinner nor smaller than the opening to vacuum through, and does not help get into narrow or smaller areas. So far the brush also does not seem to add any extra help or abilities to the hand vac. I wish I would have purchased a different hand vac. I think I just wasted money on this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buddyamber
Canton IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Strong Power
3/13/2014

Customer review by BigHLover

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by BigHLover
by BigHLover

For a little thing, it has strong suction power. Love all the accessories; the brush is nice, the longer extended rod is awesome and the fact I can turn it different ways comes in handy. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigHLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews