Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 41 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Smokin' good product !
3/5/2012

Customer review by Backwoodsboy62

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Backwoodsboy62
by Backwoodsboy62

First I want to say that I bought this smoker off Walmarts web site and had it shipped to my local store. Everything went great with that and it arrived in a matter of a few days. Quicker than what I was told, so that was great !! Now for the smoker. This was my first smoker purchase. After reading lots of reviews on several smokers,I went with this Masterbuilt. It's a good qaulity product.Seems to be a good solid piece of equipment. Assembly was very, very simple. Will take you longer to unpack everything than it will to assemble it. Plugged it in and went thru the breakin/seasoning cycle...very simple procedure. Couple days later we tried it out and WOW !! We smoked a pork lion for our first test. Smoker heated up and kept the inside temp. really well. It was about 40 outside or so. Really like the digital settings on top the thing. Makes it very easy to set the time and temp and as you smoke, it will flash back and forth between the smoker temp., and the time left on your timer. Also REALLY liked the meat probe temp. device. Makes it easy to keep up with what the temp of your meat is.You also can get that from the digital settings on the top of the smoker. Makes it real nice that you don't have to open it up to check it. Very simple to add the wood chips also with the side loader. The window in the door is nice and the light inside. Yeah, the window does get a little messed up as your smoking, but I was still able to see thru it ok the whole time I smoked. Cleanup was pretty easy considering your cleaning up a product that does get greasy and smoked filled. Takes a little elbow grease, but I imagine any smoker does if you want to take care of them. Overall, we are very satisfied with our smoker and glad we went with this model ! I think you'll be pleased !

Was this review helpful? (167) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Backwoodsboy62
Martinsville,IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use, my son loves it
6/3/2011

Customer review by mybuddyqbutt

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by mybuddyqbutt
by mybuddyqbutt

I bought this for my son. He uses it all the time and especially loves the remote control. He loves trying new recipes and getting to know his smoker. This is his first one so he is learning about smoking techniques. He says that he really likes it. The wheels make it easy to move from his house to ours or front to back.

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mybuddyqbutt
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Glass Leaked Grease and is a Poor Insulator
6/13/2013

Customer review by joe98547

3.0 stars 6/13/2013 by joe98547
by joe98547

I would not recommend this smoker because the window is pointless it clouds up the first 5 min of smoking and after you smoke two times the smoke on the window is so heavy you can't wipe it clean. If you plan to smoke in the winter it will be harder to maintain the temperature because the glass releases a lot of heat. Also the window that I had just leaked grease even after smoking multiple times the grease puddle was about 2 feet big. I bought this smoker on 6/2/13 when i unpacked the smoker it was missing the screws and two pans. I called up Masterbuilt and they said I was missing the hardware kit so they sent me the kit which I received on 6/7/13. When I assembled the smoker I noticed there was a bracket missing screws so I called up again and sent them photos. This time they waited till the 13th and said just exchange it where you bought it. I would of hoped they would just mail me a new smoker and pickup the bad smoker since I had to wait so long for their responses and I don't have a truck to hull back and forth. If you look at the picture you can see how dark the window is and this is after I scrubbed it for 20 min you can also see all of the grease the window leaked out this did not leak from the bottom at all.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joe98547
South Bend
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
OMG!!!
6/16/2012

Customer review by FatEddy

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by FatEddy
by FatEddy

I've been smoking ribs in a traditional smoker for over 20 years. I thought I had a handle on the process until I did the first rack in this rig. It's the best rack of ribs I have ever done, period. After the seasoning process I went to work. As usual I marinated them in milk for about 30 minutes, then poured the milk off and rubbed them down with Texas Pete hot sauce followed by a dry rib rub. Let the sit for 30 minutes while the smoker was pre-heating (225 deg). Cut the rack in half and put half a rack on it's own shelf. Filled the water pan about half way, closed the door, added wood chips, and set the timer for 6 hours. Replenished the chips about every 45 minutes for the first 3 hours or so. When the 6 hours were up; let it cool down a bit, opened the door and took out the ribs. Moist and tender as could be. Perfect. Clean up was a piece of cake, almost all the grease dripped into the water pan. So it was clean the shelves and the water pan. About 5 minutes and done. Should of bought this thing years ago.

Was this review helpful? (70) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatEddy
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/22/2012

Customer review by shoparound4

4.0 stars 4/22/2012 by shoparound4
by shoparound4

i have cooked baby back ribs in the smoker which turned out very good. next I smoked pork chops and they were very good also. no problem setting the smoker up. now if it will last a few years. then it will be worth 5 STARS.

Was this review helpful? (38) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoparound4
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's a smoker!!!
7/2/2013

Customer review by Fan001

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Fan001
by Fan001

It was easy to assemble (less than 15 minutes). I pre-seasoned as instructed and then smoked my first tri-tip. It was awesome. The smoker is calibrated to be between 5 degrees plus or minus (it does state that in the manual), so be aware of that. I used cherry chips and found that it burnt through in about 30 minutes. I switched to hickory pellets and that created the most smoke to give it a real smoky taste. Even though the manual doesn't say anything about using flavored pellets, I found that it gives the most flavor. You can alternate between both while you are smoking. Also, open the vent about 1/4 to 1/2 to increase smoking and to control the temperature. Lastly, it's easier to clean up while the smoke is warm NOT COLD.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fan001
Redondo Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Smoker
4/25/2012

Customer review by Rons8080

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Rons8080
by Rons8080

Appearence is very good. Fire Box and Tray are quite flimsy and poorly construced and is going to be real fun when I have to replace the heating element. Wood chip feeder is a great advantage. Temp. controller is quite accurate and the Remote Control is a great feature. The Smoker is quite secure with no smoke loss, however the moisture that accumulates on the glass door does run down and out the front so a towel is necessary when using the water pan. In the short time I've had it, I've smoked everything except whole Turkey. As I write this, I have Deer Jerky going.

Was this review helpful? (37) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rons8080
Texas Hill Country
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great smoker for the weekend BBQ'er!
7/17/2012

Customer review by Zugg

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Zugg
by Zugg

I like the remote control. It makes it easy to maintain temps for both meat and smoker.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zugg
Southern, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Smoking for Dummies
8/2/2012

Customer review by Woodfish

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Woodfish
by Woodfish

Makes smoking a simple operation. Anyone can make fantastic smoked foods. Temperature probe removes guessing of time to finish. Fit and finish of unit was fine. Free ship to store a simple operation.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woodfish
Holiday,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great second smoker
6/10/2014

Customer review by SmokingBrockville

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by SmokingBrockville
by SmokingBrockville

The smoker works well and is easy to operate. It is a little hard to move around on uneven surfaces as you can't use the handle to pick it up. The manufacturer does not recommend leaving the unit outside due to moisture concerns so moving it inside is a must. I thought the glass door would be a great addition but unfortunately the moisture builds up at lower temps so you can't really see inside anyways. Overall a good product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokingBrockville
Brockville, ON Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!!!
12/11/2012

Customer review by Koechner723

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Koechner723
by Koechner723

This smoker is great. I Smoked 3 racks of ribs and a pork butt and i still had has room for something else. I had so many compliments on the meat i smoked. The probe is awesome because you can see the internal temp of the meat from anywhere in the house.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Koechner723
Laurel, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
2/8/2013

Customer review by knight288

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by knight288
by knight288

Received the smoker and it was just as described. Cured it according to the instructions that afternoon. It was a cold and windy day but, the smoker made it up to the 275 degree curing temp with no problems and held the temp --- the swing temp was about 7 - 8 degrees which was very acceptable considering the conditions. Cooked my first ribs the next day along with a beef brisket --- performed excellent as expected. Came up to temp and 8 hours later had a wonderful meal -- still working on the left overs. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an electric smoker.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knight288
Grayson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoking made easy
10/16/2012

Customer review by SmokingFL

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by SmokingFL
by SmokingFL

I just starting to BBQ and wanted a smoker that would make it easy. I like having the remote, but my only complaint so far is that if you want to use the remote you must set the temp and time with the remote from the beginning. If you start from the base and go to use the remote it will turn off.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokingFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Let the smoking begin!
12/7/2012

Customer review by DADJR

5.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DADJR
by DADJR

This is an excellent product. It has replaced my first smoker that I just wore out. The meat probe is a great upgrade. Much better than running one down through the smoke holes and into the meat as I did on my first one. The results are exceptional. I get rave reviews on smoked chicken thighs which I debone before smoking then cut after smoking for sliders. At Thanksgiving I smoked a 2.5 lb salmon fillet. It survived one morning and there were calls for more. This smoker is easy to use and a perfect product for all experience levels.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DADJR
Ellicott City, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My husband loves his smoker and has exceeded our e
5/21/2012

Customer review by robbiern

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by robbiern
by robbiern

exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robbiern
clinton,ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Christmas early for my husband he loves it!
12/1/2012

Customer review by Madmomof7

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Madmomof7
by Madmomof7

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and when it came he was so excited. He started with smoking his deer jerky, sausage, and then a pork loin. He really does enjoy the window and remote control. The food tasted great. I would recommend this Masterbuilt 30" with the remote to all our friends. Glad I bought the one with the window instead of the one without.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Madmomof7
Worms Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and ribs were delicious and fell off t
9/29/2012

Customer review by Sunbonnetsue

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Sunbonnetsue
by Sunbonnetsue

Easy to use and ribs were delicious and fell off the bone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunbonnetsue
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/3/2012

Customer review by Wayne444

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Wayne444
by Wayne444

So far everything tastes good but the clean up is time consuming. Hopefully it will get easier.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wayne444
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good smoker
5/16/2014

Customer review by Beaver38

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Beaver38
by Beaver38

So far I have smoked ribs and a brisket with good results. You don't quite get the same flavor as with a charcoal smoker but using this one is basically "Set it and forget it." About the only thing you have to do is add more wood chips from time to time. The temperature probe lets you check the internal temperature (do wish it sounded an alarm when desired temperature was reached) without opening the door. I do wish the unit had legs to make it taller but it does have wheels which is handy for moving the unit. All in all, I am happy with the unit. By the way, the brisket was the best I have ever smoked.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beaver38
Cleveland, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/19/2013

Customer review by Rocco27

1.0 stars 6/19/2013 by Rocco27
by Rocco27

Handle to open door bubbled and melted during first use. I had to return item. Did not expect problems due to price being so high.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rocco27
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews