Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1548 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1548 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1548 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1007
4 stars
387
3 stars
60
2 stars
31
1 stars
63
1-20 of 1420 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1420 total reviews
1-20 of 1420 reviews
Frigidaire 50-Pint Dehumidifier,
12/22/2012

Customer review by Ems101

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Ems101
by Ems101

I review these on consumers report and the Frigidaire was rated very well. I needed one to go in my newly encapsulated (sealed) crawl space. It needed to work well and last. This was ordered site to store and was there before the site said it would be. I tried it out in my garage for a week 1st and was real impressed by the water it took out of the air. I placed it in my crawl space and it drains to a condensation pump then out on to the outside. It has been 3 weeks now under there and humidity is set at 45% and has stayed at 43% by my hydrometer wireless readings. Temp has stayed at 58 degrees and only went to 60 once. So far its doing the job and it is very quiet under there. I also got the 3 year warranty with this. Hope it holds out at least to the 5 year warranty that it comes with.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ems101
Max Meadows Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat it for the price!
8/8/2011

Customer review by ozzwing

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by ozzwing
by ozzwing

Most 50 pint dehumidifiers were $200+ that I looked at so I thought that this was an exceptional deal. Free shipping just sweetened the deal that much more! I'm not using the feature to connect a hose to it & use a drain so I can't comment on that. But to empty the bucket is simple & now that my basement is at a perfect temp, I only have to empty it once every few days which is not a big deal at all. My basement is approx 1000 sq ft. I love the automatic shut off feature when the bucket is full & there is also a "bucket full" beep that sounds when it is full. (it is NOT a constant beep so you know...just 2-3 beeps one time only) There is also a red indicator light when the bucket is full too so you can tell just by walking past it whether or not it needs to be emptied. This dehumidifier glides so easily with the wheels & really doesn't look like some ugly contraption in the corner. It's nice looking & I don't feel like it needs to be hidden when company comes over. I'm very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ozzwing
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great humidifier - energy star - quiet operation -
10/2/2012

Customer review by RayMitt

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by RayMitt
by RayMitt

This is my second Frigidaire humidifier. The first one lasted 2years. I know, you are probably thinking, "Why did you buy another one? Are you nuts?". No I am not nuts. When I contacted Frigidaire about it, they told me they had none in the warehouse, none in stores, and since it was the compressor that failed, and it had a 5-year warranty, they refunded my purchase price. Who wouldn't trust a product with a warranty like that? So, I bought the newest model, and it is quieter, more efficient, and is easier to connect a hose to carry the water to a floor drain or sump hole. And it only cost me $8 more than the first one. Am I nuts? No way! I'm smart to buy this, and I'm so glad I did it. It is quality from top to bottom. The blower pulls air in on the front and blows it out on the top. Very efficient. There are others out there, but few have a 5-year warranty. Why buy them? Buy these.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayMitt
Fort Madison, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so great!
1/21/2013

Customer review by FLLH

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by FLLH
by FLLH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've only been using this for a couple weeks, but it's doing a great job! It's pretty quiet, and really draws the moisture out of the air. The instructions are clear, and the unit is easy to use. The full indicator, and the bucket-full auto shut off with it are a nice feature. The bucket is easy to remove for emptying. My daughter is using it in a small apartment (about 900 sq. feet) in south Florida that doesn't have central heat or AC, so it can be a very moist environment. She was having a lot of problems with mildew. When we first started the dehumidifier it read the humidity level at nearly 80%. We set the humidity level to 40% and after about 8 hours it had achieved that. There is a VERY noticeable difference in the humidity level in the apartment. And no new signs of mildew! The only "complaint" we might have is that it gives off some heat while operating. Very minor, though. We hope this unit lasts a long, long time because we are very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLLH
south Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a good job.........BUT
7/14/2011

Customer review by bstnh1

4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by bstnh1
by bstnh1
Top 1000 contributor

This unit sucks a lot of water out of the air and does it fast. But it's not without it's problems. As mentioned on other websites, the Frigidaire dehumidifiers have a serious design defect when it comes to the the direct drain for a hose. It is extremely difficult to get it to drain into the hose and not the bucket. I had to plug the drain hole leading into the bucket in order to get the water to flow out the hose for direct draining. If you turn it off, be prepared to wait an hour or so before you can turn it back on. It simply will not turn on for about an hour if you turn it off. Also, it gets the humidity in a 70 degree basement down to 52 percent but that seems to be its limit. It will continue to run, but the humidity drops no lower. I gave it a decent rating only because it removes a lot of water and does it fast. As far as ease of use and other features, there are better options out there.

Was this review helpful? (179) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bstnh1
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Does not function correctly
9/9/2012

Customer review by EugeneK

1.0 stars 9/9/2012 by EugeneK
by EugeneK

The humidity setting do not work properly. I use a separate ACU-RITE unit that measures humidity & temperature. It will show 24% humidity in our basement. When I set this unit on 50% humidity, the unit runs and dehumidified, because I have to empty the water. The fan running all the time or the unit heats the basement up from mid-70s to 80 to 81%. It gets so hot I have to either use a person fan, or turn the unit off. I was told the fun runs all the time even when the dehumidifying unit is off. Well tonight, the fan turned off, then 5 minutes later turned back on, and then off again. I tried to manually turn the unit off, re-set the humidity level, change the fan speed - nothing worked. 10 minutes later it came on again and 15 minutes later it went off again. I have dealt with Frigidare Customer Service multiple times. They insist the unit is working properly! I plan to return the unit to Wal-mart and get something better. The Whirlpool dehumidifier we had, ran for 5 years no problems.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EugeneK
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works perfectly, great buy
7/21/2011

Customer review by wallyconvert1

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by wallyconvert1
by wallyconvert1

This product works very well in my basement which had become quite damp and stored items had developed a musty smell. Within 48 hours of receiving this unit all is well. I literally removed it from the box and plugged it in! I did not have a drain hose connected initially, and the bucket filled up within the first 18 hours. The hose was very easy to attach and works perfectly....no need to empty the bucket. Filter is very easy to remove and clean as well. Since it is in the basement I can't comment on the noise level, however, I can say that I don't notice any additional noise in the house, and I would say it is fairly quiet. I read many reviews, and this product was consistently rated well. Walmart had the best price online by far.

Was this review helpful? (264) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyconvert1
west michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An extremely well designed dehumidifier!
8/21/2012

Customer review by XYXYXYZ

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by XYXYXYZ
by XYXYXYZ

I continue to find design details in this dehumidifier that I was unaware of when I ordered it. A top panel keeps water from sloshing out when carrying a full pail. The vertical window near the bottom of the front panel has a red ball that floats, indicating how full the pail is. A handle lifts up from the top of the dehumidifier to facilitate repositioning the unit, but I find this unnecessary since a light push anywhere moves it easily. I don't know if the handle can be used to lift the unit. During humid summer days, I find dumping the pail twice a day keeps it running. I can generally hear the "pail full" signal anywhere on the first floor from the unit in the basement, but regular emptying avoids a full pail. The one thing that I can't speak to is the longevity of the unit, since I have had it only a few months. But it seems to be well made and thoughtfully designed. So far I am delighted with it! If it lasts for a number of years, I will continue to love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XYXYXYZ
New Boston, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dehumidifier does the job
7/26/2011

Customer review by Pug19055

4.0 stars 7/26/2011 by Pug19055
by Pug19055

This dehumidifier was purchased for a damp basement. It went to work right away pulling the moisture from the air. I set it on "continuous" in the beginning, and the bucket would fill up in less than 24 hours. I am disappointed that the drain system is not working. On the back of the unit is a little screw cap that comes off so that you can attach a garden hose for continuous draining into a sink or drain. I put the dehumidifier up on a table, and I attached a short piece of garden hose that led down into the sink. Instead of emptying the collected water continuously through the hose to drain into the sink, the water collects in the bucket. That is not what should happen. However, the basement is noticeably less damp. I just wish I didn't have to empty the bucket daily.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pug19055
Levittown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Defective model
6/4/2013

Customer review by bikewhenyoucan

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by bikewhenyoucan
by bikewhenyoucan

I purchased this model in August of 2011. It worked fine for two months then was stored until summer of 2012 at which time it seemed to work fine, removed the moisture down to an acceptable level etc. The readout (humidity level) never seemed to work properly, but it did remove the humidity. I have two thermometers (with humidity level indicator also) and the readout on the dehumidifier never did match the level(s) indicated on my thermometer/humidity devices. When I plugged the unit in this season (June-2013) it only ran for about an hour and then "froze-up". I tried several times, adjusting this/that but the unit just would not operate the way it's supposed to. Wrote a letter to customer service and they agreed to buy back the unit for the purchase price. So....great customer service but unfortunately a BAD dehumidifier. I regret that I must report that I would NOT recommend anyone purchase this model.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikewhenyoucan
IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works great!
8/20/2012

Customer review by MemeX12

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by MemeX12
by MemeX12

Funny thing is that I checked out all the dehumidifiers on the market and picked out this one for my basement.....then realized that I already had the EXACT same model in my living room! That one has worked perfectly for 2 years, so I believe this will do the same. I gave it a 5 rating, but it does blow out some warm air. I can deal with that, by using it during the cooler parts of the days. In the basement it doesn't reallly matter. What I really LOVE about it is that it does NOT have any fowl "burnt barbeque" odors, that I had experienced with a model my husband had picked up...........and had to return pronto! If you research dehumidifiers, you will find that mentioned about another model. This one "passes the smell test!" That's important for those of us with scent/fragrance sensitivities! There are a lot of good features on this model, including the see-through view of the water level, and that it beeps when the bucket is full. Good, good, good all around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MemeX12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
6/22/2011

Customer review by BRRRAAAAAPP

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by BRRRAAAAAPP
by BRRRAAAAAPP

Thought it was a tad pricey but that can be expected for one of these appliances. Been running for almost a month now and no signs of problems. Love the drain feature on the back for the reason of not having to constantly empty it. High setting fan isn't real quiet but not too loud either. Nothing a person can't get used to. After just one day in my 980 sq ft basement there was a HUGE difference. If it continues to work this way for a long time is say I'll be very happy with the purchase. Filter is also easy to remove and clean.

Was this review helpful? (425) (80)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BRRRAAAAAPP
Granville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good . . . .
8/30/2011

Customer review by Mudcat44

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Mudcat44
by Mudcat44

Seems to be doing the job so far in a smallish (~1000 sq. ft.) basement area. Pulled most of the moisture out of the air in just a couple of days. Good value for the price at Walmart. Lots of negative posts about the continuous drain function. It seems to be very sensitive to any back pressure or blockage in the drain hose. I had the same issues at first and most of the recommended fixes did not help (like tilting the unit). I made sure the hose was not blocked (blew through it), then made sure it was completely uncoiled and laying flat, after which the continuous drain worked just fine. There's not a lot of water flow to push it through like a garden hose.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mudcat44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
excellent if
10/3/2011

Customer review by tony111

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by tony111
by tony111

It is an excellent product, BUT it could be a perfect product if the manufacturer includes in the package, the special attachment for continuous drainage instead of letting the customer storm his or her brain to figure out a solution to the significant problem of dripping into the bucket (therefore shutting off the process when the bucket is full making it not a CONTINUOUS mode). The solution (a ventilated elbow) is quite smart and efficient, but again it SHOULD be offered in the package (even if the customer does not want a continuous dranage) saving the buyer from aggravation to find a solution. It is a minfor cost (consider it a courtesy bonus to the person who is willing to pay a top and somewhat fair price for this excellent product).

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tony111
Bloomfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Works well, but makes room too hot
5/10/2013

Customer review by LovesReviews

4.0 stars 5/10/2013 by LovesReviews
by LovesReviews

This dehumidifier replaced my old one that did not have a washable filter. I love the washable filter in this dehumidifier. This works well for removing excessive moisture in my finished basement and is not very loud (it does make noise, but it's in my basement so I don't have to listen to it all the time). The only thing I don't like about this product is that is produces a lot of heat (not hot to the touch, but it produces warm air and heats up a room very quickly). We usually need to run this dehumidifier in the warmer months because of the humidity and it heats up our basement in just a few minutes and makes it a little uncomfortable if we need to spend any time down there. I would recommend this product to anyone that needs to use this in a unfinished space but not in their living area. My old humidifier did not produce any heat, but it also didn't have a washable filter.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovesReviews
Windy midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/16/2011

Customer review by ShoppingJunkie

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by ShoppingJunkie
by ShoppingJunkie

I have this unit for a week and so far it has met all of my expectations and then some. I have chosen to empty the bucket when it is full instead of connecting it to a hose which is somewhat not practical for me since it is in a finished and carpeted downstairs area. This unit has replaced a 25 year old Sears Kenmore that finally stopped working and I'm sorry I didn't replace it sooner with this one. The Frigidaire is nice looking, has a handle on the water container so it's much easier to carry it outside to dump the water out. I like the digital humidity setting so it's easier to control the humidity - plus it's energy efficient. This unit was affordable and perfect for my needs. I only need to run it during the summer when it's hot & humid outside.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingJunkie
Vernon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
7/27/2011

Customer review by Cogent

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Cogent
by Cogent

This is our third dehumidifier and is probably the best so far. Weve been using it for about a month. It makes as much noise as a large fan, and the controls are easy to use and the unit takes lots of moisture out of the air. With the built-in humidistat indicating a humidity of about 75%, the water reservoir gets full every 24 hrs or so. We have not used the hose drain feature, as the unit is in our basement with no gravity drain available. We purchased the extended warranty because our expeience with dehumidifiers has taught us that these appliances have a short life expectancy. If we needed another dehumidifier we would get another one of these based upon our experience with this one to date.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cogent
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent dehumidifier, very quiet
9/28/2011

Customer review by Eliot

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Eliot
by Eliot

This is a great dehumidifier -- I just bought another one for my studio. It's very quiet and powerful, and if you connect a hose to the back it will work continuously with no problem -- I have mine draining into the sump pump in my basement. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eliot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does a great job!
7/23/2011

Customer review by KClovinit

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by KClovinit
by KClovinit

Ordered online and it came really quick. Had it 2 weeks and it is taking several gallons of water out of the air everyday. Did not realize there was that much moisture in the air. Could not get it to drain right away, but I called the Fridgidaire people and they sent out a drain kit, free of charge and it drains great now. Very pleased with this product

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KClovinit
Kansas city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good product. Recommend.
5/30/2013

Customer review by Emeral

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Emeral
by Emeral
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Before I bought this dehumidifier, I bought a GE 50 pint dehumidifier. I did not like it because it was very noisy and the fan never stopped even when the humidity was below the set value. I returned the GE dehumidifier and boutht this one, and it works very quietly compared to the GE unit and the fan completely stops when the humidity in the room drops below the set value. I strongly recommend this dehumidifier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emeral
Short Hills, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1420 total reviews
1-20 of 1420 reviews