Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1401 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1401 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1401 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
914
4 stars
356
3 stars
51
2 stars
25
1 stars
55
1-20 of 1273 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1273 total reviews
1-20 of 1273 reviews
6/22/2011

Customer review by BRRRAAAAAPP

4.0 stars 6/22/2011 by BRRRAAAAAPP
by BRRRAAAAAPP

Thought it was a tad pricey but that can be expected for one of these appliances. Been running for almost a month now and no signs of problems. Love the drain feature on the back for the reason of not having to constantly empty it. High setting fan isn't real quiet but not too loud either. Nothing a person can't get used to. After just one day in my 980 sq ft basement there was a HUGE difference. If it continues to work this way for a long time is say I'll be very happy with the purchase. Filter is also easy to remove and clean.

Was this review helpful? (383) (75)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRRRAAAAAPP
Granville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works perfectly, great buy
7/21/2011

Customer review by wallyconvert1

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by wallyconvert1
by wallyconvert1

This product works very well in my basement which had become quite damp and stored items had developed a musty smell. Within 48 hours of receiving this unit all is well. I literally removed it from the box and plugged it in! I did not have a drain hose connected initially, and the bucket filled up within the first 18 hours. The hose was very easy to attach and works perfectly....no need to empty the bucket. Filter is very easy to remove and clean as well. Since it is in the basement I can't comment on the noise level, however, I can say that I don't notice any additional noise in the house, and I would say it is fairly quiet. I read many reviews, and this product was consistently rated well. Walmart had the best price online by far.

Was this review helpful? (242) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyconvert1
west michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this dehumidifer
7/12/2011

Customer review by dmmoody

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by dmmoody
by dmmoody

I did not hook up a hose to this at first , but it takes so much water out of the house I couldn't keep up with emptying it. GOOD product, does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (151) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmmoody
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works even better than we'd hoped!
9/25/2013

Customer review by CurleeLee

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by CurleeLee
by CurleeLee

This unit is small enough not to get in the way, as attractive as dehumidifiers get, extremely effective and easy to use. It's hard to roll on the rollers without it tipping over (at least for me, and granted, I'm not very coordinated and was rolling it on thick carpet) so I'd recommend rolling it empty. It took the first basement room I put it in from 69% humidity to 49% in a day --- according to the indoor/outdoor thermometer thing we have set up down there. It's controlling the humidity in a fairly large space filled with furniture and totes very well, from day 1. An added benefit is that it wasn't included in that massive recall that was announced a few days after we got it! I researched dehumidifiers thoroughly before purchasing, considering all the aspects. The reviews did say that it was noisy, but there are 2 speeds and if you need to be in the area, running it on Low greatly reduces that problem. And, it's white noise, not like it's clanking or whistling!

Was this review helpful? (75) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurleeLee
Zanesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Product
9/10/2013

Customer review by Tiponproduct

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Tiponproduct
by Tiponproduct

I purchased a 30-pint LG for around $300 at Home Depot. It was cheap, thin plastic handle, and noisy. Took it back within a few days. Then bought a Kenmore. This was worse. The display functions did not work properly, would not shut off when you removed the pan. This went back within the hour. Next I got online and read these reviews and had Walmart send this one to me. I received it within a few days. The price was fair and it works extremely well. Quiet, pulls out the water, has a strong plastic heavy duty bottom tray which is easy to remove. Have had it a few months and ran it continuously in the beginning. My electric went up abut $20. Currently, I've cut back on how much I run it, but plan on trying the hose to see how this works. I would recommend this to anyone. I am very pleased. I use it in my newly completed basement and the air feels nice and smells clean.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiponproduct
Forest Hill, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does a good job.........BUT
7/14/2011

Customer review by bstnh1

4.0 stars 7/14/2011 by bstnh1
by bstnh1

This unit sucks a lot of water out of the air and does it fast. But it's not without it's problems. As mentioned on other websites, the Frigidaire dehumidifiers have a serious design defect when it comes to the the direct drain for a hose. It is extremely difficult to get it to drain into the hose and not the bucket. I had to plug the drain hole leading into the bucket in order to get the water to flow out the hose for direct draining. If you turn it off, be prepared to wait an hour or so before you can turn it back on. It simply will not turn on for about an hour if you turn it off. Also, it gets the humidity in a 70 degree basement down to 52 percent but that seems to be its limit. It will continue to run, but the humidity drops no lower. I gave it a decent rating only because it removes a lot of water and does it fast. As far as ease of use and other features, there are better options out there.

Was this review helpful? (176) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bstnh1
Southern New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Be Aware of Repackaged Units
6/28/2013

Customer review by GrandviewResident

1.0 stars 6/28/2013 by GrandviewResident
by GrandviewResident

In the past week I have ordered 2 of these units to my local Columbus Fedex. On the first delivery, I noticed that the external cardboard box and the product box had been opened and resealed so I returned it directly to Walmart and then ordered another one online. A few days later it arrived at my Fedex. It too had been opened and resealed. Since I had bought Walmart's 3-year extended warranty on this I thought I would at least open the product box. I found the banding straps had been replaced that hold the unit while in shipment since the impressions from the first set of banding straps on the polystyrene were present. Further I found the remains of an earlier bag that contained the manual. Clearly this unit had been repackaged. Was it a return? Was it refurbished? Was it new? I plugged it in and it was DOA!!! The power would momentarily be on and then would go off. The ON/OFF button was inoperative. What is going on here? I would advise you to immediately return any box that has indications of being opened and resealed.

Was this review helpful? (89) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandviewResident
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great!
5/28/2014

Customer review by Jim275

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Jim275
by Jim275

I've had it for over a month and am completely satisfied. I bought this dehumidifier from Walmart to replace a 6-yr old 25-pint Frigidaire that ran but quit dehumidifying. I searched the various review sites on the internet, and it appeared that Frigidaire was one of the most reliable. This new 50-pint is only a little heavier than my old 25-pint one. The new one is much quieter than the old one. I set the fan speed for Low, which just creates a gentle breeze in the basement and is very quiet for a running fan. It's hard to tell whether the compressor is running or not because it hardly adds any noise. I run mine in automatic mode at a humidity setting of 45%. The fan does run continuously and does not turn off when the humidity reaches 45%. (That's the same way my window air conditioners work.) Site-to-store worked great. Even though I could get free shipping to my home, I didn't want it getting tossed around by a package delivery service.

Was this review helpful? (64) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jim275
Winchester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good
4/20/2014

Customer review by Tjale

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Tjale
by Tjale

I bought this model after reading several hundred reviews of this one and many others. It seems like most of the dehumidifiers out there are junk and barely lasted several weeks, let alone years like they should. Thank you to the people who took the time to review and post. When you spend around $200, that item shouldn't die shortly after the purchase. At least this one had better reviews than most others and it carried a brand name, not that that means too much these days. The standard warranty was also an issue and since it's easy to return stuff to Wal-mart, I chose to buy from them instead of Amazon. I read of people having issues returning items like this after the first 30 days. I picked the free shipping option and received it a day and a half after I ordered it, instead of the advertised 7-10 days. I plugged it in and let it run in the basement constantly for 3 days as stated in the instructions. Then I set 45% humidity on the gauge and it's been working ever since. We ran our old one year round for over 20 years so I anticipate doing the same with this one. I hooked up the hose and ran it directly to the sump pit so I don't have to worry about emptying the bucket. So far, so good. It's been working as advertised for 3 weeks or so. If that changes, I will mention it. They should send out a 1 year reminder on these reviews so we can update how things are going 1 year later and beyond. I expect this item to last at least 10 years when properly taken care of.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tjale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Glad I read reviews and picked this one
7/10/2014

Customer review by YooperSitetoStoreLover

5.0 stars 7/10/2014 by YooperSitetoStoreLover
by YooperSitetoStoreLover

I recently purchased a house and was trying to paint the basement floor and it wouldn't dry, so I was going to run to Walmart and pick up a dehumidifier. I decided to look online and read some reviews before I just grab one from the store, I'm glad I did. So many of the reviews had people talking about how they had bought other units not to work properly and how they loved this one. So, I decided to be patient and wait the time it took for this one to ship "Site to Store". Walmart gave me a 9 day delivery date and it got to my store in 4 days, which right off the bat made me a happy camper. I got the unit home, got it working and couldn't believe the difference. It works great but my main concern was the noise because my son has his bedroom in the basement. My son said the noise actually helped him fall asleep faster and it really isn't that loud anyway. So my paint is dry, my carpet is no longer clammy, and cat's food stays crunchy. What more could I ask for?

Was this review helpful? (49) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YooperSitetoStoreLover
Negaunee, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very satisfied with purchase
7/28/2011

Customer review by Lexboy

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Lexboy
by Lexboy

This unit works as described. A recommendation for future buyers: The automatic shut-off triggers when the bucket is filled to the brim. It's virtually impossible to empty the bucket without spilling water on your floor. What you should do is keep the rectangular foam piece lodged in the bucket area. This will trigger the automatic shut-off when the water level is lower.

Was this review helpful? (88) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lexboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value, Highest Rated Energy Star Dehumidifier
10/1/2013

Customer review by foxinthesnow

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by foxinthesnow
by foxinthesnow

I did quite a bit of research before settling on this particular unit. The Frigidaire ENERGY STAR 50-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD504DWD had the best reviews overall in the $200 - $250 price range. My basement is not very big, but I wanted a unit that wouldn't fill up too fast, was easy to use, didn't create a huge electric bill and would eliminate any dampness/odor in the basement. I ordered this unit on a Thursday and received it via FedEx on Saturday. Under promise and over deliver. Excellent - very prompt. I have opted not to use the hose attachment, so I am not sure how well that works. We empty the unit 1x per day. It isn't too loud, it's not too heavy and the bucket is pretty easy to remove and empty and put back in place. It beeps if something isn't right and it also has an auto shutoff. Easy to use! - - This says a lot coming from me! I could not find this unit in store anywhere and when looking online, this was the best price. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (98) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foxinthesnow
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great humidifier - energy star - quiet operation -
10/2/2012

Customer review by RayMitt

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by RayMitt
by RayMitt

This is my second Frigidaire humidifier. The first one lasted 2years. I know, you are probably thinking, "Why did you buy another one? Are you nuts?". No I am not nuts. When I contacted Frigidaire about it, they told me they had none in the warehouse, none in stores, and since it was the compressor that failed, and it had a 5-year warranty, they refunded my purchase price. Who wouldn't trust a product with a warranty like that? So, I bought the newest model, and it is quieter, more efficient, and is easier to connect a hose to carry the water to a floor drain or sump hole. And it only cost me $8 more than the first one. Am I nuts? No way! I'm smart to buy this, and I'm so glad I did it. It is quality from top to bottom. The blower pulls air in on the front and blows it out on the top. Very efficient. There are others out there, but few have a 5-year warranty. Why buy them? Buy these.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayMitt
Fort Madison, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/19/2013

Customer review by Choco41yum

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Choco41yum
by Choco41yum

Bought this product two weeks ago and it made a huge difference in the air quality immediately! My daughter moved into an above ground basement apartment which didn't seem damp to us. The next day after setting the unit up, we realized just how damp the apartment really was. It made a HUGE difference. It was also recommended by an exterminator that we invest in a dehumidifier to drastically reduce the amount of bugs she was seeing. The unit worked for that as well. It is also quiet, has great features like the auto shut off when it's full, and since it has an "Energy Star" rating, I can't wait to see if there is a big difference in the utility bill. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. BTW, this is not a review secretly done by the manufacturer or Walmart. I am a very real person who is 100% pleased (so far -- only two weeks) with the performance of this unit.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Choco41yum
Randallstown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product.
5/31/2014

Customer review by MJBuck

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by MJBuck
by MJBuck

This is the third dehumidifier we've purchased within the past 9 years. The first 2 were GE products--the first of which was defective and the second was recalled, although we had no problems with it. So we took our refund check and after doing our on-line research, we decided to purchase the Frigidaire, and have been very pleased. We spend a lot of our time in our basement "family room" and found that this dehumidifier eliminates the extra moisture very quickly and does not make any distracting noise. We appreciate the larger capacity tank as we don't have to empty it as often as the smaller GE dehumidifier. It's easy to program--didn't have to consult our "techy" grandchildren to figure it out. We've only been using it for the past 2 weeks, but so far we're very satisfied with the performance and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good value for their money.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJBuck
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value to be humidity-free
7/5/2014

Customer review by FinickyNana

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by FinickyNana
by FinickyNana

I've had 2 dehumidifiers before I purchased this one which came up 1st on Walmart search. It had a good price and performs beyond expectations. It does not emit a lot of heat (which my old ones always did), and it's relatively quiet (can listen to TV in same room). I don't know what the hit will be to my electric bill but it's supposed to be energy efficient. (My old ones made the bill jump quite a bit in summer). Still, it does the job of keeping my walk-out basement humidity-free, which protects my investments in that space, and it keeps it very comfortable to spend time down there even on very humid days. Only downside: this unit, if I understand it correctly, maintains the set humidity level by constantly running (either @ hi or lo, as set) . It has a timer which will turn on and off, which I prefer not to use. I would like to be able to set the level and see it turn on and off to manage that setting rather than running all the time. Happy overall.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FinickyNana
Westminster, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not in season, but I needed this now.
10/31/2013

Customer review by CMSE

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by CMSE
by CMSE

I bought this dehumidifier because my previous one, which was a Frigidaire 45 pint, died. I looked around and there were very few dehumidifiers in any store (home improvement or Walmart) at this time of year (October) because everyone is switching over to heating and selling humidifiers. Since I use one in my basement year round, Walmart.com came through with a nice selection and reasonable prices. This one seemed to have a lot of good reviews. It arrived in about 5 days after I ordered it. I hooked it up and it runs like a champ! I cut a piece off an old hose to use the continuous drain. No leaks, no problems. I was without a humidifier for about 2 weeks and now that my new one is running the basement has gotten drier again. This model is also Energy Star rated, so this was a plus.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMSE
Waynesboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a perfect job
7/4/2014

Customer review by Dsgorelick

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Dsgorelick
by Dsgorelick

Replaced a very old, probably energy inefficient unit. This one turns off when the proper humidity level is reached, which is what I needed. Very good capacity to remove moisture, fills the basin rather quickly. I have a hose going right outside via a pipe connector I put at the base of the house leading to an outside drain. I like the fact that the connection is above the catch basin and is already capped, you can detach the hose any time and cap to let it fill the basin if you prefer. My old unit needed a hole drilled into the hose attachment at the bottom of the basin which I never liked, needed to raise the old one up to get adequate drainage, not as necessary with the new one. Noise level is fine, two fan speeds. Timer is helpful, my son is sleeping downstairs, he can turn it off at night and set it to resume in the morning automatically. Only had it a couple of weeks, so far it is a champ. I can add an additional comment if it does not maintain its top performance.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dsgorelick
Newport, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good . . . .
8/30/2011

Customer review by Mudcat44

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Mudcat44
by Mudcat44

Seems to be doing the job so far in a smallish (~1000 sq. ft.) basement area. Pulled most of the moisture out of the air in just a couple of days. Good value for the price at Walmart. Lots of negative posts about the continuous drain function. It seems to be very sensitive to any back pressure or blockage in the drain hose. I had the same issues at first and most of the recommended fixes did not help (like tilting the unit). I made sure the hose was not blocked (blew through it), then made sure it was completely uncoiled and laying flat, after which the continuous drain worked just fine. There's not a lot of water flow to push it through like a garden hose.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mudcat44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
8/13/2012

Customer review by sinbad61

1.0 stars 8/13/2012 by sinbad61
by sinbad61

I thought I did my homework before buying this product,but I was wrong.Had it for two days and starting getting error reading AS in window on machine,book says call number,what a joke,called and told me to send email.Did all this and waited for a week for response,nothing, mad enough to stay on phone all day if I need to,got a hold of company rep told her the problem and said somebody would call me back,been 3 weeks and still have a broken machine.///////////////////

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sinbad61
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1273 total reviews
1-20 of 1273 reviews