Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1823 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1823 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1823 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1277
4 stars
357
3 stars
49
2 stars
45
1 stars
95
1-20 of 1714 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1714 total reviews
1-20 of 1714 reviews
Good unit except Auto Shut-off is a problem
7/1/2011

Customer review by Leigh1515

2.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Leigh1515
by Leigh1515

This unit is quiet, has a slim profile, and works extremely well (that is the good news). I live in a humid environment so the unit extracts a full bucket of water each day. This unit would rate five stars if the auto-shut off was designed correctly. If you wait until the light comes on indicating the bucket is full, it is impossible to remove without spilling a significant amount of water on the floor. Since I have to remove it daily, this is a problem. My carpet and hardwood is taking a beating even though I wipe the spill up promptly. When I called the manufacturer, I was told that this is the way the product is designed. I have resorted to finding a fix on my own and have added Styrofoam to the bottom of the water indicator lever. This causes the indicator to rise faster than before, tripping the cut-off switch early enough to prevent the overfilling problem. You shouldn't have to re-engineer a brand new product.

Was this review helpful? (240) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leigh1515
Northern Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Built To Last
9/8/2013

Customer review by Betterlistentome

1.0 stars 9/8/2013 by Betterlistentome
by Betterlistentome

After seeing all the good reviews I felt comfortable buying this unit, but those reviews were obviously made prematurely before the users had a chance to use the unit for a while to see how it would hold up. I am glad I waited until after a year of usage before rating this. The 1st few months of usage in my basement was awesome. It removed 5 to 8 gallons of water a day during humid months and barely ran in the winter. Its almost as loud as a box fan but that didn't bother me as long as it was doing the job. I was very pleased with it in the beginning. Then about 8 months later it started leaking. There were small leaks at 1st, then almost all of the water leaked out towards the end. Luckily it was in my basement on concrete floors rather than on hardwood floors. The manufacturer honored their warranty with no hassle so I am pleased with them. I was hoping to get at least 3 to 5 years or more usage out of it. It didn't last even a year. The sticker on it said "Made in China". Come back American manufacturers. We need quality products again.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Betterlistentome
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly as advertised!!
9/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Earlier this year I moved into a bsmt. apt. By the time I realized what was happening I needed to get rid of a few items that were covered in mildew. This caused me to do some research so I’m currently something of a moldologist lol... This unit was said to be the most quiet, it sounds comparable to an ac unit, after a while you wouldn't notice it. It is very efficient at it's primary function the humidity lvl in my bedroom was above 85% before, within hours it was at 45%. I didn't attach the hose although I might. The container needs to be emptied twice daily. No more smell from the closet, so the air filter seems to be working as well. I didn't really notice the dampness before but now the room actually feels dryer. Although it does put out a bit of heat, If it continues to function at the current level than, I’m quite satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brooklyn NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
4/12/2012

Customer review by GalvestonDad

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by GalvestonDad
by GalvestonDad

I did A LOT of research before buying this dehumidifier because I have never needed one before. We live in humid Galveston, and are across the street from the ocean, so to say that we have a lot of moisture in the air is an understatement. We bought this dehumidifier to help us fight of the Spring mold that is so abundant here. And in the month or so that we've had this, our mold has disappeared. What's even more amazing about this product is that it worked so well, that our round Morton Salt container (which had gotten moist and caused all of our salt to form into one big ball inside) has completely dried out and the salt turned back into pourable granules. We live in a huge, two-story concrete home, and one of these dehumidifiers handles the entire downstairs. Even on low, this unit will easily pull 70 pints of moisture per day. We used the convenient drain hose, so we never have to empty a bucket.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GalvestonDad
Galveston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well in 1200 sq ft daylight basement
6/16/2011

Customer review by wasbilly

4.0 stars 6/16/2011 by wasbilly
by wasbilly

I owned an earlier model and it worked for 18 months before the sealed unit went out. The seal unit does have a 5 year warrantee but I found that it would still cost me up to $100 just get the seal unit checked out. I purchased the earlier model with my AMEX card which doubled the year warrantee to 2 years and AMEX credited my account for the full purchase price. THIS time I purchased the extended warrantee for $38 so I’m good for 5 years – mfg 1 year – extended 3 additional years – AMEX 1 additional year on the extended. The new unit is quieter. I use continuous drain to a condensate pump and have found that you have to have an air break in the tube or the back pressure will divert the water to the internal tank – easy to correct with some duct tape. This is important to me because the unit is at a second home and I need it to run unattended.

Was this review helpful? (148) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wasbilly
Snellville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SO DRY!!! :)
9/29/2011

Customer review by AVFN

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by AVFN
by AVFN

I had the unfortunate event of going into my new basement and finding MOLD... I saw no leaks anywhere and couldn't figure out where all the humidity was coming from... well I apparently live in a former wetland area and my basement used to have a stream running through it and with a concrete basement... you have WATER. my basement SMELLED moldy even when I turned the heat on the air smelled MOLDY. well after just 2 days of running this with the constant drain option and my basement was DRY>>>> SO DRY IT NO LONGER SMELLED MOLDY!! the floors were always damp but NO MORE! the walls used to drip but NOTHING! We just had major flooding in this area of the state and NO HUMIDITY IN MY BASEMENT!!! I LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AVFN
manchester, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Dehumidifier
6/11/2012

Customer review by FGMAN

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by FGMAN
by FGMAN

I purchased this unit to replace an older unit. The 70-pint Frigidare unit runs relatively quiet and does a great job of moisture removal. At first I was slightly hesitant to purchase this unit because I read a few reviews that complained that the bypass hose connection drain did not work & that the water reservoir would fill up and the unit would shut off. I'm thrilled I decided to purchase this unit because the drain hose connection works perfectly. If the end of the drain hose is elevated too high, the hose drain will not work properly and the reservoir "will" fill up and shut the unit off, BUT as long as the end of the drain hose is lower that the entire unit it works perfectly. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FGMAN
Pittston, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quiet, Efficient, Great Price
6/4/2012

Customer review by KDubya31

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by KDubya31
by KDubya31

The 65-pint LG dehumidifier in my basement died and I had to get a replacement immediately. I wasn't surprised since it had terrible reviews but it came with the house when we bought it. I don't have several hundred dollars lying around to get the rolls-royce of dehumidifiers. I wanted a quality product that would do the job for a long time at the lowest price possible. I researched online and this Frigidaire unit from Walmart had the best combination of price and positive reviews to keep my basement dry. It arrived at my home in rural CT just 2 days after ordering it. I plugged it in, connected the garden hose that drains to my sump pump, turned it on, and set my humidity setting. Out of the box and working in my basement in 5 minutes. So far it runs like a dream. It's extremely quiet -- about as loud as a small air purifier. It's removing more water than my old dehumidifier so it's working great. I've only had it for a few days but my basement is much drier and I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDubya31
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
5/14/2011

Customer review by oldandintheway420

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by oldandintheway420
by oldandintheway420

As with my 30pt dehuminifier I bought this just in time for 14days in a row of rain , 20 plus ins. This one I keep in my front room right next to one of my floor speakers. Not only is this machine effecient but also VERY QUIET. It is within 4 ft. of my chair and I still have to mute my sound system in able to hear it running. During the rainy days it would fill up 2 times each day set at 45%. running on low and handling a 12 X 30 ft area. The heat factor is minimal. Plus it's Energy Star rated.

Was this review helpful? (217) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldandintheway420
cherokee village, arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really Works!
10/17/2011

Customer review by bluebirdsandallegators

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by bluebirdsandallegators
by bluebirdsandallegators

I have never used a dehumidifier before. But, my husband and I were having trouble with our sinuses and his sister recommended a dehumidifier and she uses Frigidaire. So, I ordered this unit. It really works to lower the humidity fast. It does add a little heat to the room, but the lower humidity is really worth it. Our sinus problems are greatly improved and we are sleeping a lot better, too. I have only had this dehumidifier for several weeks, but haven't had any problems with it so far. I haven't tried attaching a drain hose to it, but I already ordered the little kit from Frigidaire. It's free and they send it right out to you. One of the problems I noticed in the customer reviews was that when the tank is full, it is very difficult to empty without spilling over. I have not had this problem and I will tell you why. When you get your new dehumidifier and get it out of the box, you will probably have to get the little float mechanism out of the bottom of the collection tank and attach it at the top of the collection tank yourself. The little square part of this will/should have a piece of styrofoam stuffed inside it. Do not remove this little block of styrofoam. It will activate the automatic cut-off before the tank can get too full. But do remove any tape. That's it. I am very happy with this product so far.

Was this review helpful? (71) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluebirdsandallegators
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great except for flawed humidity control
10/29/2011

Customer review by CliffL

4.0 stars 10/29/2011 by CliffL
by CliffL
Top 1000 contributor

Many people use a dehumidifier in a basement, but I use it to prevent mildew in a Florida home. The humidity is nearly always high here, and mildew can form indoors in the winter when the A/C is not on. A dehumidifier this size does a pretty good job for the whole house if the central A/C fan is turned on to circulate air. NOISE: I have read various opinions about the noise level. It is quite a bit louder with high fan speed than with low. The capacity and efficiency (see below) are about the same with either speed, so low speed is a good choice for occupied rooms. My impression is that I definitely notice the noise, even on low fan speed, but it is not loud enough to disrupt conversation. The noise is mostly just from the flow of air, which is less annoying that the buzzing or rattling noises some dehumidifiers make. CONTINUOUS DRAIN: Some people have reported problems with using a garden hose for continuous draining. I think the problem is that the narrow fittings in some hoses create a “dam” that makes the water back up and spill over into the bucket. I put a garden hose “Y” adapter on the back of the dehumidifier and connected the hose to the side pointing downward. It drains perfectly into the hose with this arrangement. I did not need the manufacturer’s drain modification kit. The drain hose should have a continuous downward or horizontal slope. Otherwise bubbles can form in the hose and block the flow. AUTO-RESTART: This model will restart automatically after a power failure, so it is suitable for use in an unoccupied home. EFFICIENCY: Dehumidifiers use a lot of electricity. This model uses about 700 watts while it is running. In the continuous run mode, it will use 500 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of electricity per month, which typically costs around $55.00. Electricity use will be less in the normal mode with the unit cycling on and off as needed. The Energy Star “Energy factor” rating for this model (from energystar.gov) is 1.8 liters per kWh. That means it will remove 1.8 liters of water from the air for each kilowatt-hour of electricity used. Higher numbers mean lower electricity costs. 1.8 is the lowest energy factor that will qualify for Energy Star approval and is fairly typical. As an engineer, I have the necessary equipment to test the energy factor myself. I was able to confirm the published Energy factor. At 80 degrees F and 60% relative humidity, I measured these energy factors: Low fan speed: Energy factor = 1.81 High fan speed: Energy factor = 1.88 CAPACITY: Capacity is a measure of how much moisture the dehumidifier can remove from the air per day. My measurements came close to the manufacturer’s rating. This model has about the same capacity on either low or high speed. At 80 degrees F and 60% relative humidity, I measured: Low fan speed: Capacity = 65 pints per day High fan speed: Capacity = 68 pints per day HUMIDITY CONTROL: I think this is the weakest feature and the reason I did not give this model 5 stars. You can set the unit to maintain a relative humidity anywhere between 35% and 85%. 60% is usually adequate to prevent mildew. Setting it lower will just use more electricity. Unfortunately, this model’s humidity sensor is apparently inside the case where it is affected by the wet cooling coils. This causes it to cycle on and off about every 10 minutes, even when the humidity in the room is lower than the point you set. After the fan shuts off, the dampness inside the case causes the unit to start again after 1 or 2 minutes. It then runs a few minutes, shuts off, and the cycle repeats. The constant on-off cycling wastes electricity and probably shortens the life of the dehumidifier, although these effects are hard to quantify. My solution is to set the dehumidifier in the continuous run mode and use an external dehumidistat (Honeywell H46C from Home Depot) to turn its AC power on or off as required. This prevents the constant on-off cycling and allows the dehumidifier to run only when it is actually needed. HEAT: Dehumidifiers put out a lot of heat. I definitely notice that it warms up the room.

Was this review helpful? (656) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CliffL
Coral Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great Machine
8/29/2011

Customer review by manofglass

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by manofglass
by manofglass

The dehumidifier was purchased as a replacement unit. The basement of our home has been very warm and humid this summer. Since installation, we have dropped humidity levels in basement from in excess of 60% to area of 50%. We have been removing approximately 6.5 gallons of water a day. The unit also runs much cooler then the previous unit, so it quite comfortable walking into the basement.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manofglass
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ONE YEAR
5/15/2012

Customer review by TooMuchStuff

1.0 stars 5/15/2012 by TooMuchStuff
by TooMuchStuff

This is my FOURTH year purchasing a dehumidifier. My third purchasing a Frigidaire (different models). These units ONLY work ONE year and then they quit working. So basically I'm spending over $200 to have a dry basement for one year. Not so sure that's worth it. To me it seems that if I never unplug these, they will continue to function properly, but as soon as you unplug them (for the winter) they will not work come summer. VERY dissappointing.

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TooMuchStuff
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just what I needed!
8/8/2011

Customer review by mj1955

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by mj1955
by mj1955

This unit works well in my 1000 sq/ft lake front cottage...maintains humidity level at about 40%; large reservoir needs to be emptied twice a day..before work in the morning and at bedtime. Easily moves with wheels, doesn't scratch the floor, quiet operation.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mj1955
Antioch, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent duhumidifier
9/6/2012

Customer review by Steverbuddy

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Steverbuddy
by Steverbuddy

First off let me say that this dehumidifier is the best of humidifier of any I've owned. It has useful features like the ability to run a low temps (my basement gets very cold, 50 degrees or so, in the winter), easily cleanable filter, easy to hook up hose to connect directly to a drain, etc. It also seems to be very well designed and engineered. Also, this is my second Fridigaire dehumidifier. The first one lasted four years, and just stopped removing water from the basement - everything else seemed to work well. When I called the manufacturer and told them the symptoms over the phone, they said it sounded like the sealed system wasn't working correctly. Without hesitation, the representative said that they do not repair this item, so they would be happy to offer me a refund of my original purchase price or another dehumidifier as the sealed system is guaranteed for five years. So... even though I might hope to buy one of these things and be done with that for the rest of my days, yeah right, this one seems to be the next best option. Way to go Frigidaire (Electrolux Corp.) and Walmart (for the great price and fast shipping - the unit arrived the day after I ordered it)!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steverbuddy
Cheshire, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is THE BEST dehumidifier on the market today
9/14/2011

Customer review by sylvestermcmonkey

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by sylvestermcmonkey
by sylvestermcmonkey

Long story short: I bought and returned no less than THREE different dehumidifiers from various sources. They all had problems of one sort or another - one was INCREDIBLY loud, another didn't automatically restart after a power outage (important if it's to be left unattended). Finally I found this one. It's effective, automatically restarts following a power interruption, and it's surprisingly QUIET. Your search is over!

Was this review helpful? (76) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sylvestermcmonkey
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT!
4/25/2012

Customer review by mccallsmom

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by mccallsmom
by mccallsmom

The Fridgidaire FAD704DUD was bought to replace a ten year old, 45-pint Gold Star. This Fridgidaire dehumidifier does its job! It's located in a finished basement, and I am emptying twice a day. (Both times unit has shut off because it is full.) I have yet to hook to a water hose, but I did order the free drain unit. It is quieter than my previous unit, and the heat factor just goes with a dehumdifier. I love the handle and the wheels. It is very easy to move. Also, I had it up and running in twenty minutes, this included taking it out of the box. The only minor drawback is that the bucket fills to the very top resulting in spillage when you empty. This is a great product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mccallsmom
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fan never shuts off.
11/12/2012

Customer review by cjwjb

3.0 stars 11/12/2012 by cjwjb
by cjwjb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this dehumidifier because I wanted one that would automatically turn back on after a power failure. Some other units, like my old one have to be manually reset after a power outage. The unit appears to work well in the basement location but after reaching the humidity setting the compressor stops but the fan continues to run indefinitly. This is good for circulating the air but I'm concerned about the energy usage/cost. There was no information to indicate this feature. I may have to use a timer or return it for another manufacturer's unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cjwjb
Canandaigua, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well and Very Quiet
6/30/2011

Customer review by PopsMcGee

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by PopsMcGee
by PopsMcGee

The 70 pint Fridgidaire dehumidifier has worked well from the start. It is quiet and easy to operate. The only problem is the continuous drain feature. The unit must be tipped back slightly for the water to drain out of the hose and not into the internal bucket. Other than this small inconvenience, I highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (74) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PopsMcGee
Eldersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/9/2012

Customer review by Shadoobie

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Shadoobie
by Shadoobie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The dehumidifier came in one day which was really great since I needed it so badly. I had a different one for many years and never had a problem with it so when it stopped working I didn't know where to start looking for another one. I have floods in the basement and have a lot of moisture and I need to have a dehumidifier on at all times. When it came, I just took it out of the box, took all the packing out (don't forget to take out the basket and take out the packing from there also) plugged it in and was ready to go. Make sure you read the instructions first. It's the same capacity as my last one but much smaller looking. They all make some noise, but this one seems quieter than the last. I have it in the basement so noise isn't an issue. Since there are so many to choose from, and good and bad reviews about all of them, this seemed like the best choice. I only have it for a few weeks so I can't say much about the future of it, but for now, and hopefully for a long time, it seems to be just what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadoobie
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1714 total reviews
1-20 of 1714 reviews