Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

56 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 51 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great shave
12/13/2010

Customer review by FamilyGuy

4.0 stars 12/13/2010 by FamilyGuy
by FamilyGuy

I have owned MANY Panasonic wet/dry shavers. They offer the best shave in the industry. The Arc4 is no exception. It is the best of the best. My wife tells me I no longer have 5 o'clock shadows. The only negative besides the price is the LCD display. After only a few months the display went completely blank so I cannot tell when the battery is low. This is the second Panasonic that had a faulty display. I really only need the display for the battery indicator. Instead, this unit's shows you everything from the amount of time your last shave took and other completely irrelevant statistics. Just show me the amount of battery available thank you. I did not return it for replacement because I did not want to go a couple weeks without this product. The shave is that good. Now I plug it in for charging once a week every Sunday. So I don't really miss the display. But it sure would be nice to have.

FamilyGuy
OHio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything except the blue light
8/7/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is the best shaver I have used. It replaces a top of the line Braun that was great with the original head but stinks with the replacement. To be honest, if Braun hadn't started building their shaver heads in China of dubious quality, I would not have switched. Now that I have tried the Panasonic, I will not switch back. The only qualm I have with the Panasonic is the irritating flashing blue light when the shaver has reached full charge. I leave the shaver in the cleaning station when I am through shaving - a habit I picked up by using the Braun for many years. I cannot do this with the Panasonic as the flashing blue light is so bright that I feel like I am at a cheap hotel with the vacancy light flashing in the window at night. The first time I left it in the charger, I woke to find that my wife had thrown a towel over it so she could sleep. I was chewed out that morning for the obnoxious shaver, I now have to take the shaver out of the station immediately after charging, it's kinda of a pain that shouldn't be necessary. Please fix the "charged" flashing blue light and it will be perfect.

An anonymous customer
Baytown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but not as close as Fusion.
1/25/2011

Customer review by jps6882

4.0 stars 1/25/2011 by jps6882
by jps6882

The razor does a very good job getting my skin soft, however, with that said, it does not seem to keep it that way as long as my old Gilette Fusion ProGlide. The shave is baby's butt smooth until about 2pm (I shave at 5am), and then it starts getting noticeable. Working in the industrial/firefighter environment I do, I have to keep a clean shave for my 12 hour shift. Towards the end of the day, it is probably getting close. I have never had a 5 o'clock shadow before, but now I get one. It isn't that it's long, the hair just seems thicker, which in my case is not necessarily a bad thing. The base unit works the best of any brand I have had, and this is my 4th attempt to replace my one from 12 years ago, since discontinued. It actually gets the razor clean AND dry, something the Norelco and Braun couldn't accomplish. Overall, I am happy with the shave. I get less razor burn (once I learned just how hard to push--be careful at first), and it is really smooth for as long as it needs to be. Is it good? Yes. Is it $400 good? Not for me, but I picked it up for less than half price, and it is well worth what I paid.

jps6882
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Been Using for Years - Great Decision
8/23/2015

Customer review by H Porter

5.0 stars 8/23/2015 by H Porter
by H Porter

Moved to the ES-LA93 from a Sunbeam razor several (6-7?) years ago and it has been great. Granted, I have had beards on and off since I got it (but have always used it on my neck, etc), it has been very reliable - the wet dry feature is GREAT!!! Not a big fan of the trimmer - it gets difficult to open and close after a while - but I had to get a cordless Wahl beard trimmer a few years back for my beard so that works...I do recommend ALWAYS rinsing the razor with liquid hand soap after each use - it lubes and cleans great. I rarely use the cleaning system and the razor looks and works like new...except for the blades which I FINALLY have to replace - which is why I'm on this site writing this review :) Battery charges quickly and holds a charge well after all these years - I just don't charge it until it gets to 30% or so...

H Porter
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic product
5/3/2016

Customer review by Guardsman

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Guardsman
by Guardsman

As a member of the military, I am required to shave nearly every day. For years I have been dealing with terrible razor burn across my neck. I have tried just about every razor that claims to reduce irritation with no luck....until now. After using this razor for about a month, I have yet to develop any sort of irritation, bumps, or burning. Extremely easy to use and maintain, holds a good charge for when I am in the field away from accessible power, and very durable for travel. Although the process takes a little longer for a complete shave, I'd much rather lose a couple extra minutes for the resulting comfort. Absolutely thrilled with this product and would recommend it to anyone with who has suffered through the discomfort of razor burn.

Guardsman
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Shave, easy on the skin
1/13/2016

Customer review by TC Guy

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by TC Guy
by TC Guy

This is the best razor I have ever owned. Easy to use. Shaves close without having to go over the same areas over and over. So the skin doesn't become irritated. The charging/cleaning base makes it easy to keep it charged and cleans/disinfects after each use. Can be used wet or dry. For a super close shave, use it with shaving cream. I can't say enough good about this razor. The only two negative points are perhaps the price and availability of accessories. The price is substantial, however you will not need to replace this razor again for many years. So its well worth the investment. The accessories are not widely available in retail stores. They are however widely available online. So plan ahead and order online rather than picking them up while shopping.

TC Guy
Richland, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Closest and Most Comfortable Shave Ever!
9/14/2011

Customer review by Andy

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by Andy
by Andy

I began using electric shavers in my late teens (yep, it's been awhile) with a Norelco rotary, and later switched to several Braun shavers. I received the ES-LA93-K yesterday, and shaved with it this morning for the first time. I tried to be as skeptical as possible, having had more than my share of less-than-stellar shaves from both Braun and Norelco (with several of their models) over the years. I was absolutely astonished by the shave with this particular Panasonic. Hands down, it was the most comfortable shave ever (I never had to "press" the unit against my skin as with a Norelco or Braun), as well as the quickest and closest. I could have totally skipped the post-shave lotion I've been having to use for years with my previous electric shavers. The drying only feature on the cleaning unit is marvelous when you only want to rinse the shaver under the faucet for a second (for light shaves) and will extend the life of the cleaning cartridges tremendously, all without having to lay the shaver out to dry. The only complaint (and it's really more an observation) is that the blinking light on the unit (when the shaver has charged) is very bright. Panasonic - fantastic job with this shaver! You've made a convert out of me - goodbye Braun and Norelco!!!

Andy
Laurinburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Electric Shaver
11/25/2014

Customer review by Pops

5.0 stars 11/25/2014 by Pops
by Pops

As a young boy, I remember always having Panasonic products at home ie TVs and radios. I also noticed that they always far outlasted other typical product brands. Today having a family of my own I always make it a point to buy Panasonic before considering any other product brand. The Arc4 4-Blade Electric Shaver which comes with the Automatic Cleaning and Charging Station follows the same trend of High quality, meticulous attention to detail in its design evident in its fit and finish. The Arc 4 Shaver performs equally as impressive. I found this unit to shave faster and closer than any of the many other shavers I've used. The cleaning station does a through job of cleaning the shaver which precludes skin irritation.

Pops
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ES-LA93
10/1/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/1/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great razor - but very expensive - though it has lasted - had it for years now. One of the best razors I have owned. The cleaning unit is rubbish. The cleaning cartridges also cost a fortune and the cleaning is only as good as "HOT SOAPY WATER" - after all - if you use it in the shower it gets wet! The flashing blue charging light is over bright - would be good if it switched off 20 minutes after full charge. The case/cover is cheap and flimsy - does not protect much at all - needs to be upgraded for the overall price we pay. Overall - great razor - good shave - bad cleaner - bad case. But like choosing a politician! - you can only pick from what's available.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Vibrates the right way
12/13/2015

Customer review by osakapi

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by osakapi
by osakapi

This has a better foil than my last one and it vibrates up and down, which pulls hair better before cutting. Overall this is an improvement over my last one which was very good already. It cleans easy, can be used dry or wet. Most importantly it shaves well, close and fast. I tried other makes but ended up with Panasonic years ago. This is my 3d high speed Panasonic electric razor. It wins over others for good shave, long battery life, easy clean and no failures on any of them over 10 years of use. Only drawback is expensive spare parts (foil and blade). Always look for sales on those!

osakapi
Rochester, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great but a few niggling issues
2/24/2011

Customer review by rekkie

4.0 stars 2/24/2011 by rekkie
by rekkie

This is the first electric shaver Ive bought. The shave is outstanding but I have got issues with the unit itself. Like another reviewer after 2 months my LCD display started to die. After 4 months it has now gone completely blank. Not impressed seeing it was quite an expensive unit to begin with. The other issue is with the cleaning/charging station. It stopped cleaning after about 3 months and will now only dry. Again frustrating. All that said you do get a terrific shave from this shaver. Cannot complain about that at all. Panasonic should lift their game though when expecting people to pay a premium price for a product it should last a little longer.

rekkie
Sydney Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keep it clean!
12/28/2014

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 12/28/2014 by Bill
by Bill

Best shaver ever! I have used most other brands over the years but this actually does the job. Just a tip for cleaning. Take off the head and brush the cutters and clean out the whiskers every time after use, first with the brush and then with running water. Do the same to the foils as well. Reassemble and again run under running water with the razor turned on. Dry the out side and then place in cleaning station.This will extend the life of the cartridge in the cleaning station beyond your expectations. Remember to maintain the water level in the reservoir. Best shave for me with dry face.

Bill
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Shaver!
7/27/2010

Customer review by Sneaky

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by Sneaky
by Sneaky

I have just recieved this shaver today. I have had another panasonic shaver now for over 7 years that still works, but I just thought it is time to replace that one. I'm glad I did, I thought I was getting a close shave before, but with this new one, it's a whole new ball game. I contemplated on getting a less expensive unit, and I'm glad I didn't. Even though it is expensive, I think this unit is worth it. I know I have only had this one day, but over the many years that I have owned panasonic products; I have come to trust them in quality, reliability, and cutting edge technology.

Sneaky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great shaver - Trouble with water
2/17/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/17/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I used this shaver for almost two years, and it worked great, until the screen went blank. Shortly after that, the shaver stopped completely. Luckily, I was still inside the two year warranty period and Panasonic replaced the shaver with a new one. I used shaving cream and water with every shave, and I believe that is what caused the issue.

An anonymous customer
Peoria, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/1/2010

Customer review by Sensitive Skin

5.0 stars 4/1/2010 by Sensitive Skin
by Sensitive Skin

I have been using this shaver for some time now. I used a straight razor before this and had tried the jump to electric razors before with no success. With the money back guarantee from Panasonic, I decided to give this a try and it's now the only shaver I use. The closeness is makes for a very soft feeling face, and doesn't irritate my skin, which was my previous complaint for electric razors. It's easy to maintain. The cleaning cartridge does a great job, and the razor tells you when its time to get it cleaned -which is my favorite feature. The charger easily adapts for travel. The shaver also came with a molded leather travel case. This is great since I travel a lot. There is even a setting to have the razor self clean with regular liquid soap, for when you are traveling and cannot bring the charging station with you. The trimmer works fine, although it's a little bit hard to be precise when it's so hard to see. Something easily fixed by using a second mirror at an angle. The chrome on the center button peeled a little bit for me but not enough to worry about, as it doesn't effect the shaver's performance. It takes a little bit longer to shave with this electric shaver, and sometimes you have to turn it while shaving to shave the closest, but thats the cost of an ultra protective outer foil with no sharp edges. This means individual hairs don't catch, so you don't get the feeling of having them ripped out, unlike some other brands of electric shavers.

Sensitive Skin
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply put....the Best!
9/10/2011

Customer review by Mark the Shaver Guy

4.0 stars 9/10/2011 by Mark the Shaver Guy
by Mark the Shaver Guy

I have tried all them all, and by far this is the closest shave you will find in an electric shaver. It is on par, if not better than a blade without the headaches of blade shaving. Yes, it's expensive-but it shaves like a dream. I have had mine over a year. I havent run into any of the problems with the LCD or the cleaning system. Mine works as well as it did when I took it out of the box for the first time. I have very sensitive skin, and this razor shaves very close with no irritation. Highly recommended.

Mark the Shaver Guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best electrical shaver I have owned
11/19/2015

Customer review by dejan

5.0 stars 11/19/2015 by dejan
by dejan

I've owned several with my previous one being a Braun shaver (the most advanced 4 years ago) however this Panasonic delivers a much closer shave in 2-2:30 minutes while the Braun required 3+ minutes and it was still not OK. For even better shave you can use it with gel or cream but this makes it longer so I rarely do it. Supplies are not cheap but similar to other shavers of the same price range.

dejan
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a GREAT upgrade from the Braun 8500 series
9/25/2011

Customer review by Keyser Soze

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by Keyser Soze
by Keyser Soze

I've been using Braun shavers for years. Recently I found the only way I could get a new one was online. And reviews I read suggested if I was going to order anything online I should consider the ES-LA93-K. Best leap of faith I've ever made. This shaver shaves at LEAST as well as the Braun if not better.. The shaver comes out CLEANER than the Braun after the cleaning cycle AND there's no alcohol to wear out the plastics. My only grievance is that I can't buy these in my local stores!

Keyser Soze
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best shaver! Worth the money!
8/25/2011

Customer review by skubbydue

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by skubbydue
by skubbydue

I used a straight edge for 45 years, occaisionally trying a Norelco or Remington product. In the last 2 years, because of serious nicks, I tried a Braun first. It was ok, better than any rotary,. My son gave me a Pansonic ES-LA93-K for father's day. This shaver is fantastic. I have compared this shaver to a $20 barber shop shave. The Panasonic shave was best. No stubs left behind. Trim feature does a great job on the mustache. I can now get rid of a drawer full of trimmers.

skubbydue
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well
8/3/2015

Customer review by Doctor Peloncito

5.0 stars 8/3/2015 by Doctor Peloncito
by Doctor Peloncito

I shave my head and before would do it in the shower with a traditional blade. California's drought made me rethink this activity. I had always heard that an electric shave was inferior, but haven't tried it myself for 20 years. I was pleasantly surprised to feel the effects of this shaver. It gives a much closer shave without the wasted water nor the skin irritation. Also, it is super easy to clean.

Doctor Peloncito
Salinas, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews