Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-11 of 11 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Leady Poncho - OK value, good price.
7/28/2011

Customer review by Fortun81

4.0 stars 7/28/2011 by Fortun81
by Fortun81

It's OK. It's not as leafy as the picture looks, and it's only leafy material, no ghillie looking rags on it at all. It was hard to tell from the picture, so I took a chance on it thinking it couldn't be too bad. Well it's not too bad. It's OK. Ameristep isn't one of my favorite brands anyway, but with a few mods, it will hide me from the coyotes pretty good I think. there is a lot of good mesh material to work with, so you can add your own rags, or twine string, or burlap or whatever you want to add to it, which is what I am going to do. The biggest drawback for me is the hood. Inside the hood is a plastic type rain coat material that is really noisy (especially in your ear). I plan to carefully remove all of it. I believe it is supposed to keep your head dry when it rains, but since it's only in the head area, it seems pretty useless, as the rest of you would be wet anyway. at first it was all pretty stiff and smelled, so I ran it through the washer a couple times with my trusty scent away laundry soap, on cold water, and hung it up to dry. Then it softened up pretty good, and got a lot more quiet (everything except the plastic lined hood). I do like the bungee cords for your arms, those work good. All in all, I think it's an OK purchase, decent value. It's much better than $150 or more for a real Ghillie suite. It's customizable, comfortable, quiet (except the hood area), and seems to be made well enough to last several years. I would recommend this product to my friends with the understanding that it will need to be modified somewhat (take out that loud plastic liner in the head cover area).

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fortun81
Southern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
ho ho ho ..good stuff
5/2/2011

Customer review by MarkfromMidMichigan

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by MarkfromMidMichigan
by MarkfromMidMichigan

Used this for the 2011 turkey season. Was very easy to blend in unseen. Yes, I got my turkey. Also had squirrels come within 3-4 ft of me and not see me... A water proof option would be nice. this is a mesh product to wear over your normal gear.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkfromMidMichigan
Mid-Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/30/2011

Customer review by dagncamo1

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by dagncamo1
by dagncamo1

This is going to be Great for Hunting Deer during Crossbow season and hunting Coyote this year. I'm going to buy another for my Son. Best Price any where and Super Fast Shipping. Thanks WalMart

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dagncamo1
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
11/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this has been great it has broken up my outline , and all ready I have killed 1=453 lb hog , 2= 135lb hogs and have shot 2-deer it is great, you need too get one . one of the deer I walked up on. have fun hunting . sparky

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for the price
11/21/2012

Customer review by Turkeydropper

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Turkeydropper
by Turkeydropper

This is great for blending in with the woods. Perfect for turkey hunting. It's made of very heavy duty mesh, much better than I expected. It doesn't have as much leafy camo as I thought it was going to, but if you wear something dark or camo underneath it's perfect. Lightweight enough to be comfortable. A previous review mentioned that the hood was a raingear type material, but they must have undated the product since because mine was mesh throughout. I would definately buy this again. Well worth the money and you can customize it with ease.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turkeydropper
Dudley, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Ghillie Poncho!!!
7/27/2012

Customer review by MP69

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by MP69
by MP69

For not being Military grade this is actually a good Ghillie ponho. Very light weight mesh construction. Great air movement through. No heavy duty smothering under plastic!!! For the materials & contruction the price could have been lower but still a great buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MP69
Brownsburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
3/6/2012

Customer review by robo1957

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by robo1957
by robo1957

Being part of a search and rescue team I use this to hide in the woods. So that the team can't see me as they train to try to find me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robo1957
Coventry RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good camo
3/28/2012

Customer review by BBacon

4.0 stars 3/28/2012 by BBacon
by BBacon

This is good quick camo. I plan to use it for wildlife photography and maybe hunting. It appears to be made very well made and looks durable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBacon
Central Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ameristep 3D Leafy Poncho
12/12/2012

Customer review by Customer1101

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Customer1101
by Customer1101

Great quality, comfortable, and quiet. Long enough to cover you and the ground when sitting. Fits small to medium frame people with more coverage. Make sure this matches the surroundings you will be in!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Customer1101
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
10/20/2013

Customer review by WestportRiver

4.0 stars 10/20/2013 by WestportRiver
by WestportRiver

Bought this for bowhunting. It's light and compact- I carry it in my pack and put it on when I get to my ground blind. It's more effective if you are sitting because the 3-d leaves, which are sewn in horizontal strips about 6 inches apart and somehwhat thin (as others have noted) get more broken up and appear fuller in a sitting position compared with standing. As others have said, wear it with at least a camo shirt. The arm loops can be tightened to keep the fabric away from your bow arm and release. The mesh backing is sturdy. If you wanted to beef it up the camo density you could tie on strips cut from one of those inexpensive leaf pattern ground blinds, but for now I plan on using mine as-as.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WestportRiver
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good
10/24/2013

Customer review by onedeer

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by onedeer
by onedeer

surprised it is lightweight better than picture

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onedeer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.