Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 46 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
8/23/2012

Customer review by JoJoCr

3.0 stars 8/23/2012 by JoJoCr
by JoJoCr

This extendable hedge trimmer was supposed to extend to 12' according to Walmart's website. That is wrong. Earthwise claims that is unit can extend to 10'. That is wrong. The fully extended unit is only 6' 8.5" in length. I emailed a complaint to Earthwise and was told the unit can go out to 10' if you hold your arms straight out while holding the unit. This will never happen since the amount of pressure exerted on your hands will be huge. Very few people could possible hold this unit horizontally and then attempt to cut plants. Vertically with extended arm exerts less pressure on your hands, but it is very difficult to control. As a hedge trimmer, it cuts well. I like the extension design of unit, but that extension isn't long enough to reach 10 feet. If you 6' 8.5" long hedge trimmer, then this unit is for you.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoJoCr
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Easier on your back and safer too
9/30/2011

Customer review by LatencyMachine

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by LatencyMachine
by LatencyMachine

This trimmer is a good value at less than $100. The plastic seems robust and there is no slop in the joints or in the pole extension union. I was impressed by how solid the tool felt. As many other reviewers have stated, the trimmer can be quite heavy, especially if you extend the pole it's full length and angle the pole away from your body. For me though, it was not a problem (Male, 5'8", 170#, workout regularly). Most men in decent shape should be able to wield this fine. After a few hours of trimming I felt like I had done a good upper body workout. What's nice though, is that you do not have to bend your body nearly as much as with a regular trimmer. I'd rather put the strain on my arms rather than my back. Also, it didn't take long for me to realize the safety benefits of this trimmer. I did not have to use a ladder for areas that normally required me to do so as well as precariously 'reach out' with one hand to trim some of those tougher spots. I was able to do everything with both feet firmly planted on the ground and both hands on the trimmer. My shrubs came out with more precise 'lines' as a result, and I didn't have to tromp all around in the beds. I almost bought a gas powered string trimmer with a hedge trimmer attachment. I'm very glad I came across this unit and bought it instead. Saved a bundle and I think it does the job better. Cons: - The pole is not 12', nor was I expecting it to be based on other reviews. I do believe this is misleading however. It's more like 4' from the articulating joint to the handle. - The cutting action is OK. Better than my 18V hedgehog, but not quite as smooth and precise as my much cheaper 'TaskForce' trimmer. Perhaps its the strokes-per-minute or the blade sharpness. I really don't know what would make one trimmer cut easier/smoother/cleaner than another.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LatencyMachine
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
10/2/2011

Customer review by Chuckiebabe

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by Chuckiebabe
by Chuckiebabe

I have used the hedge clipper only three times, so far, extended and non extended with the change over exceptionally easy. Cuts well up to expetations and the adjustments beat the Remington hands down. I am hoping the machine holds up for long time because it is functioning well.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuckiebabe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the money
4/1/2014

Customer review by TCBPEREZ

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by TCBPEREZ
by TCBPEREZ

This unit is the best that I've researched. I prefer using a corded tool because you don't have to worry about a battery unit draining and stopping your progress. I used this trimmer to top a tree and it cut through it like butter. The pivoting head was also very useful. The downside is that it is very top heavy which will be the case in all units because of the motor location for operation. Also the safety switch is a little odd to use but that is a small thing when it comes to the overall performance of the unit. The transition from the extended to the hand held is very easy to use. The overall value of this unit is better than the price. I would expect to pay over $100 for a unit that performs this well.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TCBPEREZ
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tool for the price.
5/16/2012

Customer review by OldandNew

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by OldandNew
by OldandNew

I really like this trimmer. The one down side is the weight of the tool is at the end, but is manageable. Another good design feature is the extension pole is oval shaped so the trimmer will not spin on you. I have a pole chain saw that rotates when extended. So your hand grip with trigger is at awkward position. The only thing is I wished they carried it the local stores, instead of waiting to get it delivered to the store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldandNew
Glendale, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very heavy cantilevered weight at full extension
7/30/2014

Customer review by stillkickin84

4.0 stars 7/30/2014 by stillkickin84
by stillkickin84

I could handle it better if 20 years younger. All physical aspects are as expected and it functions well. Extreme care must be taken when on a ladder. Stability and safety of user are mandatory. A second person present is recommended. I am 84 and things don"t work like they used to. Good product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stillkickin84
Tamassee, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Extendable Hedge and tree trimmer
8/4/2014

Customer review by GodsSlave

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by GodsSlave
by GodsSlave

This nice well built trimmer will even trim small tree branches up to 3/4". As an engineer I don't recommend constantly switching back and forth with the adjustable extension that can be inserted between the handle/trigger unit and the main cutter with the motor. The reason is that the electrical connectors don't seem rugged enough to handle significant plugging and unplugging but this is just a common sense guess. I keep the extension attached and use another trimmer when the extension is not needed. It cuts well and is quite powerful. Keep in mind that any time there is weight at the end of a pole, one should use caution and consider extended use of this as a great form of isometric exercise. Remember to oil the cutter blades (as with any cutter with moving parts) which will extend the life considerably.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GodsSlave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice trimmer for a very strong person
11/19/2011

Customer review by kaseydog

3.0 stars 11/19/2011 by kaseydog
by kaseydog

The trimmer is quite nice, but also very heavy. I would not recomend it to the anyone who isn't a world class body builder.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaseydog
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Reaches the hard to get to areas
7/3/2013

Customer review by Cldaddy

4.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Cldaddy
by Cldaddy

Good trimmer that gets the job done, extended or not. The pivoting head is exceptionally helpful. My only complaint is the weight of the head. This might not be a problem for a younger stronger person but I am 70 years old and don't have the arm strength I used to have. Have a hard time holding it up when extended. Other than that, its everything advertised.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cldaddy
Maggie Valley,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Trims as expected
10/2/2013

Customer review by rollerblader

4.0 stars 10/2/2013 by rollerblader
by rollerblader

I used the trimmer for the first time and it did a nice job trimming the shrubs. The only negative is the trigger. There isn't any lock to stay on and it is difficult to hold the trigger in the ON position.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rollerblader
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heaver than I expected
11/11/2013

Customer review by danrock

3.0 stars 11/11/2013 by danrock
by danrock

Hedge trimmer needs a harness to my body shoulders to hold it when extended otherwise cutting excellent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danrock
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for large jobs or the weak
9/24/2014

Customer review by IRIVY

2.0 stars 9/24/2014 by IRIVY
by IRIVY

I purchased this product for only one reason; to trim the top of a 66'L X 6'W X 7'H hedge without the use of a ladder. This was accomplished, but with great time, effort and aggravation. The weight of the trimmer on an extended pole is neither counter balanced nor supported with a neck or shoulder strap attachment for the pole, consequently you can only hold the trimmer in an extended position at an angle over the top of a high hedge for a short time before your lose of arm strength allows the pole to dip at the end and thus sink the trimmer into the hedge where it cannot be easily traversed horizontally across the top of the hedge. This necessitated continuous starts and stops and numerous rest breaks. Additionally, the trigger seemed to be overly sensitive to hand pressure and required a constant tight grip to avoid activating the automatic cutoff of power to the trimmer. This also resulted in numerous starts and stops. The trimmer is best suited for small overhead jobs or use by someone with above average arm strength.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IRIVY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Really Gets the Weeds
11/8/2014

Customer review by RoyalBuckeyeGuy

5.0 stars 11/8/2014 by RoyalBuckeyeGuy
by RoyalBuckeyeGuy

I purchased this unit to cut weeds, including thistles and small trees, that had grown high all spring and summer. The adjustable angle on the unit made it convenient to sweep low to the ground. It's great for trimming shrubs as that is what it is principally designed to do. I was really pleased with its performance. It enabled me to easily cut a lot of weeds. To the handle on the motor end, I attached a short strap (about 24 inches) with loops both ends to enable me to sweep low to the ground without bending over. It worked nicely. One can hold it by the grip and the pole shank, but it is a little awkward because the weight of the motor and blade is out at the end of the pole. An improvement would be a stiff, removable, handle extension of about 24 inches from the motor end that would allow slightly better control of the attitude of the cutting blade. That would make it ideal for cutting weeds low to the ground. Overall, it is a very convenient, versatile and useful tool. It is a pleasure to use and I am very glad I bought it. Good show, Walmart, for making available such a nice tool at a modest price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoyalBuckeyeGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT !!!!
7/26/2012

Customer review by LITTLELAWNGIRL

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by LITTLELAWNGIRL
by LITTLELAWNGIRL

THIS MAKES TRIMMING VERY EASY !! THE ANGLE ON THE CUTTING END IS GREAT... IM A SMALL GIRL AND JUST LOVE THIS, I CAN CUT BIG THINGS EASILY !!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LITTLELAWNGIRL
ORLANDO, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Best Hedge Trimmer I have ever used.
8/20/2013

Customer review by RMJ313

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by RMJ313
by RMJ313

This is by far the best electric hedge trimmer I have ever used. Black & Decker nor Sears doesn't hold a candle to how these perform. The telescoping feature is an added bonus for tall hard to reach hedges. The reason these work so well is the blades have wider gaps which allows the trimmer to glide through the hedge like it is cutting butter. The blades look like they will cut up to 3/8" sized branch. With the Black & Decker and the Sears brands, the blades are much narrower and it takes much more effort to get them to do the same job. I would recommend these to anyone that has many hedges to trim.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RMJ313
Mount Holly, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Overall meets my needs for trimming a tall tree.
5/16/2013

Customer review by 1SCPO

4.0 stars 5/16/2013 by 1SCPO
by 1SCPO

I needed a long handle trimmer. I wanted a cord connected trimmer because I only need to use this trimmer a few times a year. The tree I needed to trim is about 12 - 15 feet high. I still have to use a ladder. However, I only have to use the first step. The trimmer is heavy and one should realize that upper body strength is needed to use this trimmer. All the parts fit together well and it is easy to change from the extended pole to the regular trimmer only. It meets my needs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1SCPO
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm using a shorter ladder now. Much safer!
7/19/2014

Customer review by NotEnufTime1600

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by NotEnufTime1600
by NotEnufTime1600

I feel that it's safer and easier to trim my hedges. When reaching the extension pole into the hedge, set the angle to just above 90 degrees. The trimmer will reach in further and be fairly flat for a good top cut. It's only an 18" trimmer, so this will help. Also, I'm using a 4ft, not an 8ft, ladder making that easier too!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotEnufTime1600
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better then Home Depot
3/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Not industrial strength but better then a Home Depot Black and Decker model

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Burbank, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for light work
9/14/2014

Customer review by CJDahl

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by CJDahl
by CJDahl

I purchased this to trim some dapple willows that my landscaper charges me $400 to trim every year. Unit performed as expected though I found myself wishing the pole and blade reach was a bit longer and the unit a bit lighter . Also unit struggles with branches thicker than 1/2". For these reasons I gave a four star but you certainly get what you pay for , and at $80 bucks a lot cheaper than the alternatives! Great value and I recommend this product .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJDahl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very satisfied
5/16/2014

Customer review by jokiemorey

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by jokiemorey
by jokiemorey

Received super fast. A bit heavy as other reviewers noted. Works good. I only need this once a year to prune a couple of very large hedges and it sure beats the heck out of duct taping my other hedger to a pole. Good price, good product, fast shipping.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jokiemorey
concord, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews