Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

79 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

79 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 73 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
Looks and fits great in my home office
2/25/2012

Customer review by Kennelmaster

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Kennelmaster
by Kennelmaster

I bought this for my home office to display books and hide "junk" in the bottom. It looks great, but is slightly darker than in the picture. Once assembled it's very solid, took me about an hour and a half, could've done it quicker without my dogs help! If you can turn a screw driver and read instructions it's easy. Just pay attention to the details.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kennelmaster
Ballston Spa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this bookcase!
4/24/2012

Customer review by BigRayD12345678910

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by BigRayD12345678910
by BigRayD12345678910

This bookcase may not be real wood, like those that cost hundreds of dollars more in fancy furniture stores, but it looks pretty darn good! It looks really nice in my office, and if it is anything like my other Sauder bookcase I bought many years ago, should last real well too. There is plenty of room for my books and 2 shelves with doors to put away some other written materials that are kind of messy. My son put it together with not much trouble and said it took him 2 - 2 1/2 hrs. I am very happy with my purchase of this bookcase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigRayD12345678910
Pawtucket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Build
6/20/2016

Customer review by ItWorks

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by ItWorks
by ItWorks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 of these to put right next to each other in a wide hallway. They look fantastic. The first one took 2 people about an hour and a half to put together, but the second went together in 45 minutes, so if you know what youre doing you could get it built pretty quickly. The pieces seem really sturdy and have great finishes. They are nice and heavy, and feel like they'll last a long time. I was worried by a few of the reviews saying that it was held square by the flimsy backing, but that's definitely not true, there are almost a dozen brackets holding it square The finish is a bit darker than pictured, but I like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItWorks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bookcase and easy to put together.
5/4/2012

Customer review by No1too

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by No1too
by No1too

This Sauder bookcase was a gift for a friend. He had to put it together after it arrived. Had his teenage grandsons put it together and it went very well and did not take long at all. It looks very, very nice. It is not cheap looking and I would recommend it for any room.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
No1too
Looks great.
2/10/2013

Customer review by Basketpals

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Basketpals
by Basketpals
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bookcase looks great. Looks much richer than its cost. I put 2 library bookcases and one open shelf bookcase in my den. Easy to assemble - took about 1.5 hours for each. Doors are a bit tricky to adjust so they would be evenly spaced, but otherwise no issues. If you are putting 2 bookcases side by side, you might want to watch the side moulding when attaching so that it is exactly flush on the sides that will be together so that there is no gap between the bookcases. Mine were a bit off when I stood them side by side, but I just loosened the cams and retightened and they are now flush. The included top clip helps with closing the gap. I would like to see the Sauder company come up with a better solution for the back panel, rather than cardboard. The quality of the back panel is the only feature that would detract from overall appearance unless your shelves are very stocked so that the back panel does not show.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Basketpals
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Bookcase
1/17/2014

Customer review by Starrstylist

4.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Starrstylist
by Starrstylist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First let me say I have bought Sauder many times over the years, for an inexpensive item, it is well built and sturdy. With that being said. First I bought the desk that matches this item and when that arrived, the main decorative piece was busted in half, but because of what it was, I was still able to use it, and nobody noticed. But when this item arrived, I was taking all the pieces out of the box and laying them out. BOTH of the MAIN side panels were busted right in half. No way I could or would use them. So I went right to the Sauder number on the paperwork, in the box. Called them, told them what was wrong and immediately, she went into asking what pieces (lettered) and she would have them out today and how sorry she was etc.. Never went through, well I need a receipt, where you bought it etc etc. WONDERFUL people to work with. Yes I had to wait for them to come in, but she made it worth it. THANK YOU SAUDER Employees for being so pleasant and helpful! She made it worth the wait, with no hassle or anything, and they were here in 5 day's. As for the piece of furniture, I would highly recommend any Sauder furniture. It is well built and looks great. Yes the colors are a bit darker than what they show on the picture, but I honestly like them better. And because I was buying this piece MONTHS AFTER I bought the desk, I was praying the colors matched. THEY DID! This item was very easy to put together, I believe it took me about 2 hours. You won't be sorry with any of their stuff. Good luck..

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starrstylist
Macon, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Orchard Bookcase
7/18/2016

Customer review by Kitten

4.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Kitten
by Kitten
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were very pleased with the bookcases,we ordered a pair, but we're surprised by one small detail. The trim on front of the two shelves did not cover the front edges from one end to the other. This makes the shelves look incomplete. That's the only thing we didn't like about them. The assembly directions were spot on by the way. Awesome! Our 11 year old granddaughter actually assembled the second one with Papaw's guidance! Cool!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/2/2012

Customer review by DomesticGoddessAndMomOf2

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by DomesticGoddessAndMomOf2
by DomesticGoddessAndMomOf2

I have kids, so I wanted something that looked decent and was inexpensive. I would have preferred solid oak, but I can live with this until my kids are older. It was not quick and easy for me to put together. The instructions were great, but this would have been easier for my husband to put together since he is stronger than me. My main disappointment was the back panel wasn't even, so I did the best I could with it and ended up chipping the bookcase in an inconspicuous spot. A little wood glue and no one will notice...

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DomesticGoddessAndMomOf2
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy
7/3/2016

Customer review by Nick

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Nick
by Nick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was a great buy, easy assembly, on time delivery, in fact a day earlier then promised. Absolutely a fine looking piece of furniture. Would highly recommend.!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality bookcase for economical price.
1/18/2013

Customer review by tlp42

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by tlp42
by tlp42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading the reviews I wasn't really sure what to expect. Some reviews really liked it and there were a few that didn't. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the bookcase, real wood, not particleboard. It took a while to put together but I did it by myself. I am very happy and satisfied with the quality of the bookcase for a economical price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlp42
Mustang, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New Bookcase
11/19/2015

Customer review by John

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by John
by John

I ordered two bookcases (w/lower doors) to finish my office. They match my desk, file cabinet and corner TV stand. They were relatively easy to put together, following the directions, as I did with my prior orders. The Carolina Oak finish is a wee bit darker than what was pictured, but I can live with it. Be careful when screwing the handles onto a drawer or door. Too tight and it will break. Luckily, Sauder was willing to work with me and sent a free replacement part (this was for the file cabinet, but the handles are the same on all the items). I am very happy with my order. Now, if I could just find a distributor that will offer certificate plaques that match the Carolina Oak finish.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great storage and display
6/5/2016

Customer review by Heid

2.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Heid
by Heid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This book shelf is perfect with rest of furniture in room

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful bookcase
8/31/2012

Customer review by msbc

4.0 stars 8/31/2012 by msbc
by msbc

Very nice bookcase. I am using it in my kitchen and looks really good with the new cabnets I had installed. I must say that when the bookcase arrived and we unpacked it both long sides were broke in half. I called the company and they sent replacements within days. They were really nice about it, no hassle whatsoever!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msbc
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The bookcase is sturdy and well designed.
6/16/2014

Customer review by annfe

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by annfe
by annfe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bookcase arrived quickly and in good condition. As my husband assembled the unit he commented on quality of workmanship and the attention to detail. The unit went together well and looks great. It is very sturdy. We are very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
annfe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice bookshelf
4/2/2014

Customer review by AshleyP83

5.0 stars 4/2/2014 by AshleyP83
by AshleyP83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this bookshelf! It is very nice and the price is good. It was pretty easy putting up with my husband. It only took about an hour and a half. Only minor adjustments were made at the end to fix the side mouldings (our fault). I definitely would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AshleyP83
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice for the price
3/11/2014

Customer review by Agapebjl

5.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Agapebjl
by Agapebjl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for an easy to put together - nice looking bookcase. I got both with this. I put it together myself in a little over an hour. It looks really nice. It's nice having the doors on the bottom to hide what I want to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agapebjl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
6/26/2014

Customer review by Knola

4.0 stars 6/26/2014 by Knola
by Knola
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product was delivered in a timely manner. It was fairly easy to assemble. When you use the clips to connect 2 together they are very sturdy. All the parts were there and the holes lined up perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder furniture is the easiest to put together.
7/22/2014

Customer review by Thasu

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by Thasu
by Thasu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This book case is beautiful, nice detail in edges and easier to put together than a lot of other brands. The deeper oak finish is lovely and adds warmth to our home.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thasu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Darker than pictured
3/18/2016

Customer review by Molly

2.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Molly
by Molly

The color was way darker than in the picture. I bought two and had the box opened before seeing the darker color, now I am stuck, absolutely no way to re-box and send it back. Price was lowered two days after my purchase. Cabinet has so much trim it limits shelving space on bookcase from displays.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Molly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what we wanted!
11/25/2013

Customer review by Canada41

4.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Canada41
by Canada41
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have purchased Sauder products in the past and were happy with them. We are snowbirds from Canada and only use our condo 4 or 5 months of the year so we didn't want to spend a lot of money on a piece of furniture. Directions were very clear but it took a little longer to put together than some reviewers indicated. Being a senior may have had something to do with it! The only thing we didn't like was the design of the shelves which left spaces between the ends on the sides of the book case. Otherwise we are very pleased. It looks very nice in our living room and having free shipping was a bonus. Thank you Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canada41
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews