Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

32 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 29 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Very Nice Desk
9/11/2012

Customer review by xotrar

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by xotrar
by xotrar

This is a great desk. Very sturdy and constructed very well. I purchased the hutch with this and it looks fantastic in my room. I love the antiqued look about it too. Takes some time to put together but well worth it. It can be assembled to fit in any corner of the room you like and the drawers can go on either side. The keyboard tray can also be mounted on either side or in the middle. If your looking for something with a lot of work space this is the desk for you.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xotrar
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Product for the $, with only two "buts"
11/9/2013

Customer review by ZACMAN

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by ZACMAN
by ZACMAN

The Harbor View Corner desk appears to be a quality product for the relatively low cost. The engineering of their products is amazing. Everything fit precisely and every hole was drilled exact, making assembly very easy. When looking at the measurements, this desk seems gigantic,,, in reality I wish it were a bit larger. (that was not one of my two "buts"). If you are looking for an attractive functional corner desk at a very reasonable price, and you have the ability to use such complicated tools as a screw-driver, I recommend this product. Though using a power driver will make it much less painful. Now for the "BUTS". But # 1 - I am rather amazed that Sauder would have a product of such high quality and engineering and would supply such low quality instructions. The illustrations and wording leave a lot to be desired. This is the reason for 4 stars on "ease of set up". It seems Sauder went to great lengths in the engineering of their products and really skimped on the instruction booklet. But # 2 - If purchasing the optional hutch, be ware of this. The way Sauder wants you to attach the hutch (after building it and the desk) is rather insane. After completing the desk, they want you to remove the top surface (s) an attach the hutch to the desk tops and then re-install. You may need two men and a boy to do this! With all the fantastic engineering they put into this product, they certainly fall short on this one. Sauder,,, a simple bracket system that attaches to the desk during the build process should be supplied. Sauder's current way seems to be nothing but an after-thought. Keep in mind that if this desk is going in a carpeted room, once it is built and in place, it is very difficult to move. My initial thought was to put some brackets on the back of the desk and attach (with screws) the desk to the hutch. Problem being that once it is in place (on carpet) you can't move it without the risk of damaging it. I painted two "L" brackets flat black and used them to attach desk top to hutch. Seems to work for me. So, all in all, this is a really nice product. I am not upset (as some are) that the back panels of these products are made cardboard. That is common in all break-down products in this price range. I am not disappointed that the product is engineered particle board,, agian,, you can not get solid furniture grade wood for this price. Over all, I do recommend this product, so long as your expectations are realistic. PS... For your average person,, don't think you are going to get this box out of your car and carry it into your house by yoursel! Consider opening the box in the car (or truck) and taking it in - a piece at at time.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZACMAN
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality product for a manufactured wood piece.
10/29/2012

Customer review by emptynest5402

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by emptynest5402
by emptynest5402

As with all large pieces of furniture I have assembled, this one takes more time than originally anticipated. But, the results are worth it! All pieces fit together as intended -- it just took a bit of time to review the directions. Although you are able to swap the drawer end with the cabinet end, the directions were only given for one installation and it took some thought to flip things. Not all large pieces are labeled, but the pictures are relatively explanatory. There was almost no extra hardware provided so do not lose anything! This piece is very nice looking when assembled and it is both roomy and solidly built. I do have a couple of thoughts on things that could be done better, however. The drawers are a bit small. The top two drawers are only about 12"x12" (inside) and the bottom file drawer is about 12"x14.5". None of the drawers fully extend so it makes it a bit tight getting things out of the back or accessing files. I do not use the cabinet for my computer CPU, so it would be nice to have the option to place shelves inside for additional storage. After assembling my desk, we considered buying one for my husband. Unfortunately it is no longer available at Walmart.com. Apparently the manufacturer is now only selling it as a package, bundled with the hutch. Hopefully this will change in the future & Walmart will again carry this product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emptynest5402
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Desk
3/6/2013

Customer review by JnLala

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by JnLala
by JnLala

First of all, the wood on top is darker than in the photo, which I think is good, it looks a lot better than the photo. It took my husband about 4 hours to put together by himself, with a good drill, apparently this is the new record. It looks great, the wood seems really nice. So far it is sturdy, although I have only had it for a week. I do wish the cabinet had a shelf in it, since I have a Mac and don't need the space for a PCU. But we'll probably just end up building one in there. Overall, it's just what I wanted, not too huge, but big enough for me to spread out my work. It looks great in my house and I love "going" to work everyday!

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JnLala
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great L Shaped Desk !!!
10/9/2014

Customer review by Rickster72

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Rickster72
by Rickster72

The unit came well packaged but please make sure you have it laying flat on floor when opening it instead of leaning on the wall; pieces well fall out. The desk was fairly easy to put together reading the instructions but beware when you get to the part where you have choices to make about what side you want the drwaer and computer cuuby. When you get there make sure to just keep following directions to put it together instead trying to start the decision process by donig the diagram. You will figure itout when you go to put the drawer on the left or right side. The laminate on the sides, corners and bottom are kind of weak as it just barely scraped something and it peeld off and taking someboard with it. Over all I am quite happy with the desk, once together it is stable and even the wiring clips underneath come in handy. I would recommend it and but it again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rickster72
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great desk for price.
9/19/2012

Customer review by Cussler

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Cussler
by Cussler

Desk is very sturdy and wasn't even too hard to build. Good desk if you want to hide all of your wires. Wish it had a couple of cord holes in the computer compartment leading under the desk top (had to drill those myself). Not a big deal for me. Also, the backs of the drawer area and computer area are made of cardboard. Would have been nice if they were wood. Note: 1. keyboard shelf installs on either side as well as center and is 28" wide.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cussler
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Damaged in transit, poor packaging
9/8/2014

Customer review by User0226

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by User0226
by User0226

This items was damaged on several pieces due to poor packaging. I know shipping handlers are not great, but packaging should have better protected....I will need to contact Sauder to see if they will ship replacement pieces. Assembly was a little long, but precision fit....no issues. Really good features on this unit, good price, looks great, my son is really enjoying. A bit of a pain now to replace some of the damaged panels....my only big issue.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
User0226
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased this desk from Walmart because it was the cheapest price among other stores. The site to store pick up was fine. My only complaint is some of the parts were missing. It wasn't Walmart's fault, but its a bummer to have a half finished desk while we wait for the parts to be sent from the manufacturer. The keyboard drawer can only go on one side- I wish there was an option for both sides. It's a nice big desk and it feels really sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value
12/16/2013

Customer review by MrPlannedSpontaneity

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by MrPlannedSpontaneity
by MrPlannedSpontaneity

I couldn't be more pleased with this desk after putting it together. The best part is the desk top. It is a melamine surface much like countertop material but not as durable but more stain, water, and cut resistant than real wood. The top grain is very good to for a laminate also. I would've liked to see more wood grain than black show through on the rest but I guess that is my taste. Desk seem sturdy enough to lean on but not stand on though but what do you expect for $250? I would've expected to pay $350 for a corner desk that is 66" long each side so I gave it a five star for value, expectations, and features. I gave it only 4 stars because there is more black than wood grain. I gave it 4 stars for durability cause it scratched easily while putting together but that was my fault but still scratched when joining the two sides. Ease of set-up is only 4 stars because of the heaviness of the items requiring 2 people optimally however I put together the two ends by myself with some ingenuity on my back with hands and feet guiding them together. A word of caution if you buy the hutch. It says put hutch together first and join desktop to hutch then assemble desk part. That required 2 people to lift without damaging so I just put on the desk and used 4 brass L brackets (2"x2") and brass screws to attach it to the desk. I feel safer that way also. Desk has so much more free space with the hutch also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrPlannedSpontaneity
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice looking desk.
8/28/2014

Customer review by Abby15

3.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Abby15
by Abby15

The desk is nice but it did come with a few scratches on the desktop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abby15
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the best Sauder kit
6/24/2013

Customer review by drpavoni

3.0 stars 6/24/2013 by drpavoni
by drpavoni

Unfortunately I have to give this product a bad rating. Walmart isn't at fault here, This is one of the worst Sauder kits that I have put together. The first major thing is the longer modesty panel was 1/4" too long. The holes did not match up. It was either cut thr panel or drill holes so it could be attached to the other components. The other thing is that the two tops don't come together for a tight fit. There is about 1/8" gap. Just enogth to collect dust and dirt. The problem here is that the longer top has a rounded edge. The shorter has a straight edge. You don't have to be an engineer to figure that one out. The drawers don't open very far. Hard to get stuff in & out. Finally, the instruction sheet could have been written better. drpavoni

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drpavoni
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great looking desk
3/19/2014

Customer review by Neonbutane

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by Neonbutane
by Neonbutane

This is my third Sauder Desk. My Son and daughter took my old ones when they left for University and are still being used after 10 years of heavy use. This desk was very simple to put together and is very sturdy. I put it together in a couple of hours, taking my time. The top is much nicer than the photo, darker and with more cherry tones. I ordered the matching book shelf and file cabinet, my home office looks very nice. No regrets about buying online. I am sure it will be as durable as my others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neonbutane
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/5/2012

Customer review by BestTeachers

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by BestTeachers
by BestTeachers

Two people put this desk together in 5 hours over the course of two days. They were going for the record in assembly and they think they made it! :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestTeachers
Lowville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great desk
4/17/2013

Customer review by AntWend

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by AntWend
by AntWend

I love this desk! It is the perfect size for my office space at home. The top is plenty big enough for all my stuff on top. I dont use the tower storage because my cords arent long enough. It was reasonably easy to put together. I did it my self. Over all this is a great desk

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AntWend
Cold Brook NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Desk
8/18/2014

Customer review by o2222

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by o2222
by o2222

Looks great. Very well made. Best deal all the way around for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
o2222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic looking Desk
8/21/2014

Customer review by Ladytuscany

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by Ladytuscany
by Ladytuscany

I absolutely love this desk, although I didn't have a hard time puttingit together I would say that a first timer might. The directions were a little hard to follow, but if you use your common sense it will be fine. Well made and heavy. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladytuscany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
solid desk that looks great at a good price
10/29/2014

Customer review by candyman68

5.0 stars 10/29/2014 by candyman68
by candyman68

Building it takes a few hours but not hard if you've ever built anything before. I like the keyboard drawer, file drawer, cpu door but it may be too far away to be able to put my tower in there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candyman68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/25/2012

Customer review by kryskeys

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by kryskeys
by kryskeys

I love how it gives you options!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kryskeys
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bery good
10/2/2014

Customer review by Ismaris

5.0 stars 10/2/2014 by Ismaris
by Ismaris

The for me is the best

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ismaris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
9/23/2013

Customer review by greta1973

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by greta1973
by greta1973

This desk had great reviews and I can see why. It looks like an expensive desk. Very nice and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greta1973
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews