Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 33 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Great Desk
3/6/2013

Customer review by JnLala

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by JnLala
by JnLala
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all, the wood on top is darker than in the photo, which I think is good, it looks a lot better than the photo. It took my husband about 4 hours to put together by himself, with a good drill, apparently this is the new record. It looks great, the wood seems really nice. So far it is sturdy, although I have only had it for a week. I do wish the cabinet had a shelf in it, since I have a Mac and don't need the space for a PCU. But we'll probably just end up building one in there. Overall, it's just what I wanted, not too huge, but big enough for me to spread out my work. It looks great in my house and I love "going" to work everyday!

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JnLala
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Desk
9/11/2012

Customer review by xotrar

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by xotrar
by xotrar

This is a great desk. Very sturdy and constructed very well. I purchased the hutch with this and it looks fantastic in my room. I love the antiqued look about it too. Takes some time to put together but well worth it. It can be assembled to fit in any corner of the room you like and the drawers can go on either side. The keyboard tray can also be mounted on either side or in the middle. If your looking for something with a lot of work space this is the desk for you.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xotrar
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Quality product for a manufactured wood piece.
10/29/2012

Customer review by emptynest5402

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by emptynest5402
by emptynest5402
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As with all large pieces of furniture I have assembled, this one takes more time than originally anticipated. But, the results are worth it! All pieces fit together as intended -- it just took a bit of time to review the directions. Although you are able to swap the drawer end with the cabinet end, the directions were only given for one installation and it took some thought to flip things. Not all large pieces are labeled, but the pictures are relatively explanatory. There was almost no extra hardware provided so do not lose anything! This piece is very nice looking when assembled and it is both roomy and solidly built. I do have a couple of thoughts on things that could be done better, however. The drawers are a bit small. The top two drawers are only about 12"x12" (inside) and the bottom file drawer is about 12"x14.5". None of the drawers fully extend so it makes it a bit tight getting things out of the back or accessing files. I do not use the cabinet for my computer CPU, so it would be nice to have the option to place shelves inside for additional storage. After assembling my desk, we considered buying one for my husband. Unfortunately it is no longer available at Walmart.com. Apparently the manufacturer is now only selling it as a package, bundled with the hutch. Hopefully this will change in the future & Walmart will again carry this product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emptynest5402
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great L Shaped Desk !!!
10/9/2014

Customer review by Rickster72

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Rickster72
by Rickster72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The unit came well packaged but please make sure you have it laying flat on floor when opening it instead of leaning on the wall; pieces well fall out. The desk was fairly easy to put together reading the instructions but beware when you get to the part where you have choices to make about what side you want the drwaer and computer cuuby. When you get there make sure to just keep following directions to put it together instead trying to start the decision process by donig the diagram. You will figure itout when you go to put the drawer on the left or right side. The laminate on the sides, corners and bottom are kind of weak as it just barely scraped something and it peeld off and taking someboard with it. Over all I am quite happy with the desk, once together it is stable and even the wiring clips underneath come in handy. I would recommend it and but it again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rickster72
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Product for the $, with only two "buts"
11/9/2013

Customer review by ZACMAN

4.0 stars 11/9/2013 by ZACMAN
by ZACMAN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Harbor View Corner desk appears to be a quality product for the relatively low cost. The engineering of their products is amazing. Everything fit precisely and every hole was drilled exact, making assembly very easy. When looking at the measurements, this desk seems gigantic,,, in reality I wish it were a bit larger. (that was not one of my two "buts"). If you are looking for an attractive functional corner desk at a very reasonable price, and you have the ability to use such complicated tools as a screw-driver, I recommend this product. Though using a power driver will make it much less painful. Now for the "BUTS". But # 1 - I am rather amazed that Sauder would have a product of such high quality and engineering and would supply such low quality instructions. The illustrations and wording leave a lot to be desired. This is the reason for 4 stars on "ease of set up". It seems Sauder went to great lengths in the engineering of their products and really skimped on the instruction booklet. But # 2 - If purchasing the optional hutch, be ware of this. The way Sauder wants you to attach the hutch (after building it and the desk) is rather insane. After completing the desk, they want you to remove the top surface (s) an attach the hutch to the desk tops and then re-install. You may need two men and a boy to do this! With all the fantastic engineering they put into this product, they certainly fall short on this one. Sauder,,, a simple bracket system that attaches to the desk during the build process should be supplied. Sauder's current way seems to be nothing but an after-thought. Keep in mind that if this desk is going in a carpeted room, once it is built and in place, it is very difficult to move. My initial thought was to put some brackets on the back of the desk and attach (with screws) the desk to the hutch. Problem being that once it is in place (on carpet) you can't move it without the risk of damaging it. I painted two "L" brackets flat black and used them to attach desk top to hutch. Seems to work for me. So, all in all, this is a really nice product. I am not upset (as some are) that the back panels of these products are made cardboard. That is common in all break-down products in this price range. I am not disappointed that the product is engineered particle board,, agian,, you can not get solid furniture grade wood for this price. Over all, I do recommend this product, so long as your expectations are realistic. PS... For your average person,, don't think you are going to get this box out of your car and carry it into your house by yoursel! Consider opening the box in the car (or truck) and taking it in - a piece at at time.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZACMAN
Sunny Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Perfect Desk
8/17/2015

Customer review by SqueekyCat

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by SqueekyCat
by SqueekyCat

I spent all night making this desk while watching old movies and taking my time. The worst part was drilling holes from the inside and back of the cabinets. I messed up each time; I'm not a carpenter and can not drill holes straight deep inside a dark box. Not sure what they were thinking there... But the instructions were really great-even a bit humorous. They said there was videos, but I didn't watch them. I installed the keyboard kitty corner, which is awesome! They have pre-drilled holes for keyboard installation on the left, right, or center. Also, you can install the drawers on the left OR right. The box came into the site to store department at Walmart, and the clerk hurt his wrist picking this box up- so be careful! It was around 180lbs I believe- absolutely a two or three person lifting job. Once we slid this into the house, I brought it piece by piece into the living room for set up. The top surface of the desk looks like wood but has a very nice and durable feeling plastic coating. It's not going to scratch like the cheap desk I bought from Walmart last year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SqueekyCat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice computer desk.
3/20/2013

Customer review by JenWen1

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by JenWen1
by JenWen1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are looking for an affordable corner computer desk, compact enough for an apartment, this is great. It is constructed of particle board and veneer (as you would expect at this price), but is very sturdy and looks good. The drawers are on metal rollers, so they operate smoothly, and the cabinet is spacious. The support in the corner doesn't protrude into the space under the desk, so we were able to add more storage. Construction was pretty straightforward. If you are attaching the hutch, you will want to read both sets of directions before getting started. We didn't, and had to undo some of the work on the desk to attach the hutch. The backing for the cabinet and drawers is thick paperboard that has wood grain print on one side and is matte black on the back. Both pieces are perforated, allowing you to remove a large center rectangle for ventilation for the computer cabinet (even though you would never remove the center for the drawers). This is only visible if you choose not to put the desk into a corner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenWen1
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellence Desk
12/11/2015

Customer review by ThatGuy

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by ThatGuy
by ThatGuy

Really easy to put together, just take a bit of times the desk is really sturdy and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great desk for price.
9/19/2012

Customer review by Cussler

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Cussler
by Cussler

Desk is very sturdy and wasn't even too hard to build. Good desk if you want to hide all of your wires. Wish it had a couple of cord holes in the computer compartment leading under the desk top (had to drill those myself). Not a big deal for me. Also, the backs of the drawer area and computer area are made of cardboard. Would have been nice if they were wood. Note: 1. keyboard shelf installs on either side as well as center and is 28" wide.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cussler
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/2/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/2/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this desk from Walmart because it was the cheapest price among other stores. The site to store pick up was fine. My only complaint is some of the parts were missing. It wasn't Walmart's fault, but its a bummer to have a half finished desk while we wait for the parts to be sent from the manufacturer. The keyboard drawer can only go on one side- I wish there was an option for both sides. It's a nice big desk and it feels really sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged in transit, poor packaging
9/8/2014

Customer review by User0226

4.0 stars 9/8/2014 by User0226
by User0226
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This items was damaged on several pieces due to poor packaging. I know shipping handlers are not great, but packaging should have better protected....I will need to contact Sauder to see if they will ship replacement pieces. Assembly was a little long, but precision fit....no issues. Really good features on this unit, good price, looks great, my son is really enjoying. A bit of a pain now to replace some of the damaged panels....my only big issue.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
User0226
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the best Sauder kit
6/24/2013

Customer review by drpavoni

3.0 stars 6/24/2013 by drpavoni
by drpavoni

Unfortunately I have to give this product a bad rating. Walmart isn't at fault here, This is one of the worst Sauder kits that I have put together. The first major thing is the longer modesty panel was 1/4" too long. The holes did not match up. It was either cut thr panel or drill holes so it could be attached to the other components. The other thing is that the two tops don't come together for a tight fit. There is about 1/8" gap. Just enogth to collect dust and dirt. The problem here is that the longer top has a rounded edge. The shorter has a straight edge. You don't have to be an engineer to figure that one out. The drawers don't open very far. Hard to get stuff in & out. Finally, the instruction sheet could have been written better. drpavoni

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drpavoni
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
12/16/2013

Customer review by MrPlannedSpontaneity

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by MrPlannedSpontaneity
by MrPlannedSpontaneity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I couldn't be more pleased with this desk after putting it together. The best part is the desk top. It is a melamine surface much like countertop material but not as durable but more stain, water, and cut resistant than real wood. The top grain is very good to for a laminate also. I would've liked to see more wood grain than black show through on the rest but I guess that is my taste. Desk seem sturdy enough to lean on but not stand on though but what do you expect for $250? I would've expected to pay $350 for a corner desk that is 66" long each side so I gave it a five star for value, expectations, and features. I gave it only 4 stars because there is more black than wood grain. I gave it 4 stars for durability cause it scratched easily while putting together but that was my fault but still scratched when joining the two sides. Ease of set-up is only 4 stars because of the heaviness of the items requiring 2 people optimally however I put together the two ends by myself with some ingenuity on my back with hands and feet guiding them together. A word of caution if you buy the hutch. It says put hutch together first and join desktop to hutch then assemble desk part. That required 2 people to lift without damaging so I just put on the desk and used 4 brass L brackets (2"x2") and brass screws to attach it to the desk. I feel safer that way also. Desk has so much more free space with the hutch also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrPlannedSpontaneity
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice looking desk.
8/28/2014

Customer review by Abby15

3.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Abby15
by Abby15
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The desk is nice but it did come with a few scratches on the desktop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abby15
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Desk once finished
8/30/2015

Customer review by ShellyHB

4.0 stars 8/30/2015 by ShellyHB
by ShellyHB

This desk is nice looking and seems sturdy enough. A few challenges with the directions. I was at least warned from other reviews. It was fairly easy to follow with a couple of confusing steps. Looks great now that it is finished.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShellyHB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value for the money
8/25/2015

Customer review by Arthur

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Arthur
by Arthur

Bought this for the office. Excellent value for the money. I am very experienced with tools and carpentry in general. This took me about 6 and 1/2 hours to assemble. Many, many pieces. All parts where there and everything fit perfectly. Strongly suggest one goes step by step.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arthur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great desk
4/17/2013

Customer review by AntWend

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by AntWend
by AntWend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this desk! It is the perfect size for my office space at home. The top is plenty big enough for all my stuff on top. I dont use the tower storage because my cords arent long enough. It was reasonably easy to put together. I did it my self. Over all this is a great desk

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AntWend
Cold Brook NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Desk
8/18/2014

Customer review by o2222

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by o2222
by o2222

Looks great. Very well made. Best deal all the way around for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
o2222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
9/23/2013

Customer review by greta1973

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by greta1973
by greta1973
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This desk had great reviews and I can see why. It looks like an expensive desk. Very nice and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greta1973
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor packaging/shipping - damaged
9/29/2014

Customer review by atlshowdiva

3.0 stars 9/29/2014 by atlshowdiva
by atlshowdiva

One of the top pieces had a fairly large chip on the side, the result of a large gash in the box from shipping. Otherwise, this is a pretty nice desk and I'm satisfied with the purchase overall, especially for the price. This is for my home office and gives me plenty of space for a desktop and laptop (stacked), printer, books, supply caddy, notepad, phone, keyboard, mouse, speakers and 27" monitor. Assembly took quite a while (even with a power drill) and many of the pieces were not marked. It's also very heavy so make sure you have someone to help move it or fasten the two sides together where you want the desk to sit. I'd also suggest a couple of changes to the directions as well ... I would not place the backs on the drawer and cabinet sections until after they're attached to the top section because the sides don't necessarily line up perfectly and the backs will warp and tear off. Also, I discovered it was easier to attach the hinges to the main cabinet unit and then attach the door. The bottoms of the drawers are quite flimsy; just thin cardboard. I didn't want to use the keyboard drawer so I cut it into 3 pieces and fastened those to the underside of the drawers to provide extra support. Lastly, the drawer fronts didn't fit snugly so I'll have to see if some gorilla glue will do the trick on those. If not, I'll have to find some long, thin screws to keep them attached.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atlshowdiva
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews