Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 52 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
3/7/2012

Customer review by morgan8

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by morgan8
by morgan8

The desk is very solid, nicely finished and cost less than half of what we would have paid at an office supply store. Be prepared when you pick it up - the box is HEAVY. But it was easy to put together (took about 4 hours) and the instructions are well written. You can tell it was "Made in America"!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
morgan8
massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful addition to my sewing room!
3/8/2012

Customer review by debjett6009

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by debjett6009
by debjett6009

I bought this desk to use as a sewing machine table. I need something big enough to hold an embroidery machine and a regular sewing machine. We assembled the desk without the keyboard shelf. It works wonderfully! Take a look......

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debjett6009
Fair Play, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very pleased
10/26/2012

Customer review by kidfrompa

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by kidfrompa
by kidfrompa

Desk is prettier than the picture and I like that the return, keyboard tray and cabinets can be installed on either side to customize to your space. Plenty of space for my 2 huge monitors and printer. Instructions were very clear but still took my dad and brother about 4 hours to put together and the box is very very heavy so you will need a couple people to pick it up. I work at home and my office is in my living room so it was important that my desk area looks nice.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kidfrompa
Port Angeles, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Harbor View desk and hutch
10/31/2012

Customer review by Blitherngidiot

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Blitherngidiot
by Blitherngidiot

At 5 1/2' x 5 1/2' a large piece---make sure you have the room and assemble where you want it; it will not be easy to move. Took us about 3 hrs to put it together, but not difficult, just bulky plus had to get it upstairs (which we did before assembling). Look is great. Lots of storage. Disappointments: one section of the desk surface is slightly cracked but not in my way so made no attempt to get it replaced. Also would like to have seen shelving options in the CPU cabinet for those of us who use All-in-Ones and no longer have to deal with a CPU; will have to rig something there. Overall, excellent buy for a large desk---price (thru WalMart) is fabulous. Saw the identical thing on 3-4 other sites for anywhere from $250-$500 more $$$.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blitherngidiot
Sanford, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
9/8/2013

Customer review by 1shopper4lots

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by 1shopper4lots
by 1shopper4lots

I love an antique white desk from Pottery Barn, but at $1250 it's too ridiculously high for me. So I went looking for a knock-off with a similar look. I'm so glad I looked at Walmart for this desk. Other sites have it for $100 plus more! Fortunately, my son was visiting and he commented on how playing with legos as a kid helped him put this together. He's pretty good with an electric screwdriver and it still took him 3 hours to put it together. But it is a nice desk, roomy and clean looking. I love the chocolate color of the desktop...it isn't the old 'golden oak' as it appears in the picture. We aren't tough on furniture so I'm guessing this will last for years and years. I only wish it had deeper drawers and a smaller hutch to put the monitor on. Great desk for a really good price!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1shopper4lots
Crestline, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid desk
1/13/2014

Customer review by Asummersheart

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Asummersheart
by Asummersheart

This is a beautiful desk, but it is not white at all! It would be better if it also had shelves in the cabinets. I am happy that it purchased it and I wasn't too overwhelmed by the set up. Make sure you have at least two other people to help assemble!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Asummersheart
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Desk is NOT white.
11/19/2013

Customer review by DLHH

3.0 stars 11/19/2013 by DLHH
by DLHH

This is a great desk for my daughter. However, it's not as white as it appears in the pictures. Its more of a cream color with brown distress marks all over it. I knew it probably wouldn't be a true white, as it is called "antique white", but its way more cream than I expected. It's not a bad color- just not what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLHH
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Desk for home or small business
1/5/2014

Customer review by 1rescuemom

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by 1rescuemom
by 1rescuemom

I purchased this for my daughter and son-in-laws small family business. It looks even better in person and is made very sturdy. My husband assembled it with a little help due to the weight of the desk. The drop down hole for computer wires is pretty far from the cabinet for the tower and required that he drill another hole, but other than that the desk is very functional.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1rescuemom
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Honestly, have a drink.
11/10/2014

Customer review by LadyDarya

3.0 stars 11/10/2014 by LadyDarya
by LadyDarya

Ok, I'm single and I needed a desk. My OCD wants an "L" shaped desk so I give in so I don't have to listen to it's constant whining. I get the desk and with the help of myself, my brother-in-law, my sister, my 13 year old nephew and my 9 year old nephew we get it into my house and into the living room. I opt the "easy" route and state I'll take it out of the box there and move it to the den bit by bit (ok, full disclosure, I'm still in the process of moving in so the den is a hot mess that I'm not sure a rat could squeeze into right now but I'm forever hopeful that this desk will hep with that). So I start to open the box which is sealed like it should be going to fort knox not some modular home in the middle of nowhere. I finally get it opened and start pulling the pieces out. So far so good. I start to follow the directions and get this thing going. Feeling pretty good. Got it. Now it's time to start moving the assembled pieces to the den for the final parts - I got this - I get the stuff to where I want it and off we go - wait?? I forgot to mention that not all the drawer holes line up but I drill it - and there we go right? I wish - now you got to drill to get the "modesty" panel in - I did this (kind of) and accept that if the desk falls on my foot it's my own darn fault. I finally get the desk together and get the drawers in - they don't fit right - I've got them in, out, in, out, cussed a few times - where is the drink I need? Finally I think I have it - is the desk 100% symmetrical? No. Am I ever going to move this desk? NOPE! That means I'm not painting this room but I don't care. The desk is standing and it's not moving. I really do like the looks of the desk, the directions were fairly easy to follow but really pay close attention to the pictures and don't assume that the drawer holders can go in any old way or you'll have to take them down and do it all over again. It's an okay desk, it's not the greatest but I'm not complaining (much). Maybe after I'm recovered I'll feel better about it but it's together. I strongly recommend that either you have a partner in crime to help you out or make sure there is a drink nearby to ease the stress.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyDarya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice, sturdy piece of furniture for the money.
10/24/2012

Customer review by AMOM2BOYZ

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by AMOM2BOYZ
by AMOM2BOYZ

Went together without a hitch. Looks nice. Very sturdy. Only wish that the back panel for the drawers section was not perforated. I can understand the one for the cpu cabinet. But for those, like me, wishing to arrange the desk with one side exposed, it creates a bit of a conundrum. I am thinking that I will have my husband fashion a back for me out of the 'modesty panels' that I chose not to use. I also did not use the keyboard tray, as I am using the desk for a 'craft desk'. Other than that, I'm in love with it :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AMOM2BOYZ
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
10/3/2013

Customer review by Libas

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Libas
by Libas

The depth is 22". Great the way you can arrange the desk, draws, cabinet and keyboard anyway you want it. Takes awhile, 3 to 4 hours, to assemble but the instructions are clear and precise. Everything fit the first time with no adjustments, other than the door hinges, which are made to adjust. Delivered on time. Well packaged and protected. No damage or broken pieces. No missing pieces of hardware. Looks great and meets all my needs and expectations.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Libas
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful desk
9/22/2014

Customer review by SPR1964

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by SPR1964
by SPR1964

Bought this desk along with matching bookcases and lateral file cabinet. All are beautiful additions for our home office. Not difficult to put together, easy instructions, but keep in mind the pieces are heavy and 2 people working together to assemble helps a lot! Assemble in room where the desk goes since moving later is next to impossible. Desk will come apart easily into two pieces if you need to move it later on. Finished product is sturdy. Finished moldings make it look like a high end piece. Finish is antique white with distressed areas of bare wood appearance. Really love the look and quality of this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPR1964
Northwestern, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for Price
9/17/2013

Customer review by BostonChowdahead

4.0 stars 9/17/2013 by BostonChowdahead
by BostonChowdahead

The Sauder Harbor View Corner Desk is a good value for price. It is comprised of MDF panels and plastic laminate (no hardwood here), but the appearance is fine for all but the pickiest of decorators (who wouldn't be buying this anyway). Perfectly fine for a kid's room study space, which is our use. Note that the color is "washed" off white, so it does not match white walls. The instructions were OK; it is worth watching all the videos and reading all the instructions BEFORE you start banging stuff together. I made one mistake (pushed some cams all the way in instead of halfway) and had to replace those connections with some simple L-brackets purchased at the local hardware store. I am not the handiest person, so some screw up like that was to be expected. Otherwise, it has gone together pretty easily. I would recommend both power drill/screwdriver (to get the pieces 90% of the way in) and manual screwdriver (to make final adjustments, and to avoid stripping the screws with a power tool). It's best to lay the pieces out on the carpeted floor and/or a bed. It will take you 2-3 hours if you know what you are doing (it has taken me longer); you can construct it alone without much difficulty, using pieces constructed to prop up other pieces you are working on. Overall, a good value. I would have paid more for a hardwood desk kit with metal construction hardware (the hardware on this is a mix of metal and plastic fasteners), but I didn't see any around so this fits the bill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BostonChowdahead
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Flimsy, not as represented.
12/17/2012

Customer review by Janet222

2.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Janet222
by Janet222

If I hadn't spent hours assembling this desk (this is not the problem), I would immediately return it. The product description specifically states that the file drawer accommodates either legal or letter size folders. It is physically impossible to insert or access legal size files without completely crushing them. Also, the amount of file storage is minimal and much less than you would expect, based on the dimensions, because the file drawer does not extend fully. I purchased the desk with the matching hutch and though they look fairly nice, they are not sturdy and would never survive in a household with kids. The backing is paper thin. All in all, I'm extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Janet222
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pretty and solid
8/30/2014

Customer review by Luvthisdesk

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by Luvthisdesk
by Luvthisdesk

This desk is beautiful and sturdy! Had a lot of pieces but worth it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvthisdesk
Casper Wy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great desk for the price
12/5/2014

Customer review by lkn1

5.0 stars 12/5/2014 by lkn1
by lkn1

This desk was very easy to assemble, has a large durable top, and is very sturdy. Be aware the box is very heavy, over 150#. Everything fits perfectly and I recommend this desk to anyone looking for a large corner desk.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lkn1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very clean looking desk with natural wood grain.
4/15/2014

Customer review by riceart

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by riceart
by riceart

It is a great product. the only time consuming problem is with numbering of the drawer slides and the cabinet rails. It would be simpler to show all the hardware for each drawer with a clear digital photo on white and no shadows.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riceart
Smyrna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love the desk!
9/17/2013

Customer review by Deeburs

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by Deeburs
by Deeburs

First of all it took 3 adults, with the hutch 7 hours to put together. It was not hard to do just a lot to do. We opened the box and carried it in a little at a time, that way no one hurt their back. We put the hutch together first. Most of the parts were labeled and we got it figured out ok. We put the hutch on with 4 of their holes on one side then had to make our own holes for the other side. Now that it is done I love the desk. They have holes for wires, wire holders clips, the drawers work great. The only thing I would like is a self in the hutch cabinets, they are big and I want to use all the space, so I will make one. I shopped online for weeks looking for the best deal and quality. The top is what sold it for me, it is suppose to stand up to a lot of things and it is nice looking, too. I also need all the space, this is an office desk at home for my husband and me and we need lots of storage and room to spread out with papers and files. I know this desk is not made of real wood, but who has thousands of dollars to spend on that, this is fine, I had a desk made out of the same material for over 15 years and it was fine, just take care of it properly and it will last you a long time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deeburs
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great size!
3/14/2014

Customer review by Corinnasgrandma

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Corinnasgrandma
by Corinnasgrandma

Well built and lots of surface area. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corinnasgrandma
Ravenna, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for the price
9/7/2014

Customer review by firsttimebuyer9z9

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by firsttimebuyer9z9
by firsttimebuyer9z9

Great quality for the money. Instructions are a little tricky. Could be better. Long assembly time but finished product looks good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firsttimebuyer9z9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews