Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 45 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Modestly priced good looking corner desk
10/21/2013

Customer review by wtcc

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by wtcc
by wtcc

I've bought and put together Sauder products in the past and while manufacturers of other products seem to have cut corners both in quality and quantity for the same price Sauder seems to have gone the other way. The finished product would be difficult to distinguish between it and a product purchased at a furniture when put together properly. The instructions are written in real English not a poor translation and are very complete. I had one problem putting the drawer sides on but only because I didn't follow the directions (one needs to "tilt" the sides when putting them in the slots because they "hook" into the drawer bottom). It took my wife and I a little over two hours to assemble (3 beers). I ordered it "site to store" to save shipping charges and the box fit easily into the trunk of a Corolla with the seats folded down. It is a very sturdy desk (160+ lbs) and has a beautiful finish.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wtcc
Sarasota Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/27/2012

Customer review by whatzoever

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by whatzoever
by whatzoever

It arrived promptly, and the directions provided were excellent. The assembly was straightforward, and all of the pieces were there and in good condition. The final product looked very good for economy-grade "out of the box" furniture.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whatzoever
State College, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what I wanted
12/31/2013

Customer review by TheRoostertail

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by TheRoostertail
by TheRoostertail

In the description this desk is two equal lengths of about 66 inches but it actually is about 60 inches .

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRoostertail
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer desk - a HIT!
5/9/2012

Customer review by mikeld

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by mikeld
by mikeld

The desk arrived in perfect condition with no damages at all. Having unloaded all the pieces and reviewed the 36 pg installation guide, I was a bit intimidated. However after following each WELL-documented step, the desk came together perfectly, with precision. There's a LOT of subtle details in building the desk that were not overlooked, making it a professional 'kit' with a professional finished look. The only down-side is the very crisp edge that is on the desktop; the edge is just 'sharp' enough to let your arms know it's there. it would have been better to have rounded the top edge to match the rounded/beveled trim that is attached to the top piece. Otherwise this is a GREAT buy for the money and dresses up how the room looks with it in full use. I would highly recommend this desk.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeld
Roswell, GA
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Review for Sauder Orchard Hills Corner Desk
9/4/2012

Customer review by bmetz101088

4.0 stars 9/4/2012 by bmetz101088
by bmetz101088

I am giving this desk a 4 out of 5 rating. The desk is nice however it takes a while to assemble. I ran the site to store option to save on shipping cost. This wasn't the best idea only because it was delayed in shipping twice and took a full month after the purchase date to have it shipped to the store for pickup. The desk itself took 6 1/2 half hours to assemble by myself. Even though it did take a while the instructions were very thorough. Some of the parts were not labeled but it wasn't very hard to figure out what went where. The pegs that are used for holding the drawers together really don't do a very good job so a few extra screws wouldn't hurt. The desk a good size. ( I have a 22" Vizio tv, printer, xbox 360, midsize gaming tower, gaming mouse / mousepad and a keyboard all on the top.) I would recommend placing some kind of padding on edges where your arms will go since the desk is a bit sharp. The desk does what it is supposed to do and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmetz101088
Tyrone, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great desk, wish it had more drawers.
11/22/2013

Customer review by KAM19

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by KAM19
by KAM19

I think now that people have moved away from desktop machines it would be helpful to have more drawers rather than the CPU cabinet especially since the drawers are a bit small. I also did not install the slide out keyboard drawer although it would be nice to have a large drawer under the desk. I was also disappointed that my unit came with a 6 inch gauze on the desk since the packaging was ripped. Otherwise, I love it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KAM19
Billeirca, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nightmare to assemble
4/15/2014

Customer review by 3asurvivor

2.0 stars 4/15/2014 by 3asurvivor
by 3asurvivor

I consider myself to be a seasoned veteran of assembling cheap fake wood veneer, particle board furniture like this desk, but I have to say that this one was a far greater challenge than just about anything I've ever undertaken. The directions are very unclear, leaving you prone to assemble the parts in reverse order or to have to redo steps. particle board isn't very forgiving of this treatment, so you risk damaging the joints and fasteners having to do them over. Also, unless you magically manage to fasten everything precisely into place, the final joining of the two major pieces turns into a major headache. There is no place to put your computer, and the keyboard drawer is placed so that one or the other of your arms is jammed up against the desk while you're typing. Unfortunately, your only other option in this market is a more expensive version of the same nightmare.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3asurvivor
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great desk for the price
9/5/2012

Customer review by aa1720

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by aa1720
by aa1720

This a great desk. It is very well made and easy to assemble. I was able to assemble it myself in about 1.5 hrs. (You will need two people to move it after fully assembled, it is very heavy). The only small issue I have with it is the desk is actually darker than what it appears in the picture, but for the price I paid and the quality of the desk, I can live with it being a little darker than I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aa1720
Northeastern, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value for the money
1/13/2013

Customer review by FergieA

4.0 stars 1/13/2013 by FergieA
by FergieA

This corner desk looks surprisingly nice once assembled. The Carolina Oak finish looks just like the photo. I had no problem assembling the desk---all parts were included & the directions were clear. It took me about 6 hours to complete, working alone at a leisurely pace---my elderly husband helped me when it was time to put the two parts of the desk together, but otherwise it was a one person job. The CPU cabinet and the file drawers can be assembled either left or right, which is nice. Of course, it's one of those pressboard pieces you have to assemble where you will use it and you cannot expect it to hold up to being moved much, but it meets our needs and was a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FergieA
Madison, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great desk to set up office.
11/22/2013

Customer review by Csimbi

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Csimbi
by Csimbi

It's great looking and has enough drawers and shelves for the computer and any work related papers and supplies to store. Very comfortable to sit at. Not the sturdiest desk but then the price was right for me. It does the job and as a side benefit, it looks good in the room set up as office. Putting it together was an adventure so give yourselves plenty of time to assemble it. Overall it's a great desk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Csimbi
Ansonia, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good Desk
6/23/2012

Customer review by Tooti30

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by Tooti30
by Tooti30

Desk was easy to put together after you figure out what part is part. Parts were not marked very good and sometimes a little hoping and praying you were putting the right part in the right place.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tooti30
Cleveland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great desk
2/17/2014

Customer review by Caringcarol

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Caringcarol
by Caringcarol

Great desk! I love how it turned out!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Caringcarol
Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Instructions would be helpful!
2/13/2014

Customer review by CincyGin

4.0 stars 2/13/2014 by CincyGin
by CincyGin

Some of my review is somewhat inaccurate. This is due to the fact that the instructions were not included with the desk on how to put it together. I am sure once I get the instructions, I will be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CincyGin
Cincinnati, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly the desk we wanted.
1/2/2014

Customer review by SharMart

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by SharMart
by SharMart

Love the desk, hated the time it took to arrive (lost in transit for 20 days), didn't really like the time it took to put it together, (two days) but the finished product is exactly what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SharMart
Dewey, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a total disaster
5/26/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The desk is horrible. The purchase was a total disaster. The color is misleading, not like what appears on the website. The assembling was impossible, though I regularly assembled furniture. I spend a half day and still went nowhere. Return? There are so many pieces and I don't know how to put them back to the box! Don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/28/2012

Customer review by amajohn

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by amajohn
by amajohn

This desk is beautiful and very sturdy. It is very easy to assemble. My 13 year old daughter helped me put it together.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amajohn
Longview, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a 73 year old lady.
4/6/2014

Customer review by Bonzi

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by Bonzi
by Bonzi

In the process of getting it put together. The person I have doing it say it is very easy. In the future I plan to get the Hutch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bonzi
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Orchard Hills Desk, Carolina Oak Finish
2/14/2013

Customer review by MelvaGeek

4.0 stars 2/14/2013 by MelvaGeek
by MelvaGeek

Walmart had the best deal if you pickup the product at the store. The desk was shipped in a well protected package box. The instructions to assemble the desk was good, and all of the hardware to assemble the desk was provided with the desk. It took me about 4 - 5 hours in couple of days. For the price, the desk looks nice, but the finish scratches easily - so be careful. The product is mainly particle board. One part I put on slightly off, and cracked the board. However, I was able to fix that using glue and clamp.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelvaGeek
Dayton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Look nice for the price
1/19/2013

Customer review by ledecorateur

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by ledecorateur
by ledecorateur

Just bought my desk a few days ago. I love it, it has ample storage and it fits real good in a corner of my office. It's big, but at the same time I seem to have a lot more room now to move around now. The only problem was that some of the parts were not labeled, I had to figure out what part it is. Also I had a hard time adjusting the doors. Now I am a happy camper with my new desk

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ledecorateur
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with the outcome but can't recommend.
7/9/2012

Customer review by gigi2860

4.0 stars 7/9/2012 by gigi2860
by gigi2860

The desk is solid and very sturdy. It's a nice piece of furniture. However, it took me too many hours to put it together. Also, it weighs 165 pounds so be prepared to have help getting it home.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gigi2860
Westchester, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews