Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

223 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

223 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
64
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
31
1-20 of 172 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews
8/16/2011

Customer review by jolo99

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by jolo99
by jolo99

I didn't realize there were so many FTA HD channels availabe. I no longer feel the need for cable or dish.

Was this review helpful? (108) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jolo99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice product
8/15/2011

Customer review by Realrantandrave

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Realrantandrave
by Realrantandrave

Nice product for those of us unable to obtain Cable TV. Works well, nice features and overall qaulity is great. Would buy again from this company.

Was this review helpful? (164) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Realrantandrave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/4/2011

Customer review by frols66

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by frols66
by frols66

Simple, ease of use, and powerful.

Was this review helpful? (49) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frols66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/4/2011

Customer review by gicar6791

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by gicar6791
by gicar6791

Easy to use and the reception is great.

Was this review helpful? (51) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gicar6791
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Box Died In Less Than A Month
10/17/2011

Customer review by Eveniipihabeta

1.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Eveniipihabeta
by Eveniipihabeta

I can't give this product a good rating because it became inoperable in less than a month of ownership. The on/off button no longer shuts off the device, and it no longer displays any channels. Its display now consists of a line of lit dashes. It does not accept any input from the remote control device, and other than the on/off switch, there are no other control buttons on the box itself. When it was working, it was a nice converter box. It is small, so it doesn't take up much space. The remote control that comes with it is a universal remote which also gives you TV/DVD/AUX controls. The instruction booklet that comes with the device gives you the codes for various manufacturers. The electronic program guide allows you to see a channel's listing of shows; there is a simple guide and a more detailed one. I found that you had to point the remote directly in front of the device for it to work; it didn't really work well if you were at a right angle to the device. A complaint about converter boxes that I've read is that they run hot, but I didn't find that to be true about the Viore, though the electrical plug was always a bit warm. Initial channel reception was good, and the auto-scan process worked well and quickly. You need an external antenna capable of receiving the digital broadcasts for the device to work properly. I used a Mohu Leaf antenna, and depending on the time of day, I would pull in from 19 to 25 channels in the NY metro area with that antenna; when I tried it with a rabbit-ears antenna, I received much fewer stations. On channels where the signal was strong enough, I'd receive a clear image. On the weaker signal channels, there would be pixelation, which is the annoying thing about digital broadcasts. I think that this is one of those devices that if you get one that works, you're going to be satisfied with your purchase. From what I've since been reading about converter boxes, it doesn't seem as though many of them, no matter what the brand, last for more than a year.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eveniipihabeta
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
8/16/2011

Customer review by barlar01

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by barlar01
by barlar01

This tiny box not only fixed my reception problems, it als came with a smart universal remote which can adapt to my tv and dvd player.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barlar01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Box Is Best
10/6/2011

Customer review by lilirish

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by lilirish
by lilirish

I've gone through the government-supplied "free" boxes (Apex was just horrendous), then to RCA (kept dropping signal). I have a very good antennae in my attic (Wineguard) with a pre-amp. I found this brand online and thought for this price, okay, why not. Setup was incredibly easy. I am so pleased with the signal transmission with this little unit; I have no pixilation, no dropped signals, no probs! The remote has very nice features, including PIP, and I programmed my TV for use with the remote. I highly recommend this converter box - if you can find it! I got Site-to-Store, and even though they estimated shipment on 10/17, I picked it up today (10/6). Hooray

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilirish
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hot box
9/14/2011

Customer review by twinx2

4.0 stars 9/14/2011 by twinx2
by twinx2

This little box has some great features with the guide, the previous channel, and pip capabilities. But this box gets really hot. I have stood it up on its side so the bottom of the box can get some air through it to try to cool it down.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twinx2
Belleville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice little box - does what I need it to do.
10/2/2011

Customer review by MarkInRI

4.0 stars 10/2/2011 by MarkInRI
by MarkInRI

I wanted this for a couple of very serviceable (but analog) TVs that I would like to use in odd situations, such as power outages, etc. I found this unit to be easily configurable and it locked in a surprising number of stations with just a set of rabbit ears on a small Sony 13" color TV. As I recall (my memory is fuzzy on this), there were a couple of minor quirks during configuration, but overall, they were insignificant. I'm quite satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkInRI
Portsmouth, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but didn't boost the signal
9/7/2011

Customer review by CSCFX

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by CSCFX
by CSCFX

It works fine. We haven't really had any problem with it. We get a few less channels but it is from locations in another state. The display (on tv, details of programs) is very small compared to previous converter box. And the remote has buttons in odd places. The display button is on the bottom among a bunch of other buttoms, that we don't use. So I have to look at the remote to find it. Another concern is that the box doesn't have channel buttons only on/off. So if the remote goes bad we won't be able to use the box.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSCFX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap product = cheap results
10/2/2011

Customer review by ElectronicMaven

2.0 stars 10/2/2011 by ElectronicMaven
by ElectronicMaven

I made the big switch from cable to over the air broadcast TV. I have several TV's with digital tuners built in, but a few older ones that don't so I purchased 2 of these tuners. The build quality on the remote is horrible. The edges are so rough and sharp you feel like you should handle it with gloves on. The worse part though is the quality of the signal. I aligned my antenna and get great reception on my TV's with built-in digital tuners. However at least one main channel (ABC) will not come in on the Viore. The user manual is a mish-mash of poorly translated english sprinkled with typos. I'm taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicMaven
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great box, good price
11/2/2011

Customer review by LightCC

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by LightCC
by LightCC

When my wife picked this up, the lady at the counter said we'd bring it back, they just don't work. While it's true I had to find and start the channel search function before anything showed up, and had to attach at least a small, passive VHF/UHF antenna we had from the analog TV days before any channels would show up, after that, this little box works fine. It's got all the little features I thought it wouldn't too - onscreen signal strength meter, TV guide for a long ways into the future, etc. Now, it's true the guide is only available on the channel you are currently tuning, but I also got a top-rated box from ebay, which is supposed to have the best guide out there, and it's the same. For the price, and the features, I'd recommend this to anyone. My only concern is whether it will stand the test of time - so many electronics die after a year or two due to poor engineering and/or quality controls on manufacturing. But there aren't many choices for converter boxes these days, and this one is a good value for the money, from my experience so far.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LightCC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TV Converter Box at a great price
10/21/2011

Customer review by oneeyedkatt

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by oneeyedkatt
by oneeyedkatt

I'm very happy with my purchase of the Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box. It was easy to set up and easy to use. The low price caught my attention and I read the reviews on Walmart site. I decided to give it a chance. I'm glad I did! It comes with everything you need. The digital TV converter box I had before was a RCA STB7766G1 and it didn't do much of anything (and cost me more money). I haven't had cable for almost a year and the Voire is my second converter box and I'm glad I bought it. It is worth it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oneeyedkatt
Lincoln NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As a Video maker, I love this product.
10/3/2011

Customer review by Microdac

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Microdac
by Microdac

I make videos under the name of Microdac and as such I am always traveling all over the united States in my conversion van. Many times I do work in my van editing my videos and writing my script for the next shoot and I like to have the television in the background as I work. This Viore ATB 150V Digital-Analog Converter box works as advertised. It is excellent. I have used this unit in states from Virginia to Kentucky and I am always pleased at the reception and the clarity of the stations. Thanks to this unit, I can watch the news, Football games, the golf channel and any and all stations that are available. I would absolutely recommend this unit to anyone and everyone who wants to watch the channels available in your area, and, the best of all you may watch FREE TELEVISION analog or digital HD. -microdac-

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Microdac
All over the United States of America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/16/2011

Customer review by pauma57

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by pauma57
by pauma57

Easy to install and quick to enjoy the results.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pauma57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/10/2011

Customer review by chbr97

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by chbr97
by chbr97

Not only I get HD channels, I now can control what my young kids watch.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chbr97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK box, and the cheapest option I found
10/14/2011

Customer review by marguerite10

3.0 stars 10/14/2011 by marguerite10
by marguerite10

This unit gets quite warm (I'm not sure I would quite call it hot, but it gets there) compared to others. It comes with the 3-cord audio/video cable, not a coaxial like most converter boxes do. I found that with the supplied cord, there was a good deal of static in the sound, while it wasn't very noticeable when using my own coax connection. This may not be a universal issue. There is a TV guide programmed in which is definitely better than the one on the RCA box which is the only one that my local Wal-Mart stocks, but it's not super. It will show you the next 3 programs, or 3 hours (not sure which) on your current channel but doesn't give you a view of 5 channels over the next 4 hours or so like another box I have does. There is also a startup delay that I haven't seen in other boxes but I don't feel it's much of an issue. That said, this was the cheapest box I found online and it does the job.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marguerite10
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Viore ATB150V Digital-Analog TV Converter Box
8/16/2011

Customer review by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

Nice unit but complicated with the remote. Buttons could definitely be bigger along with the text. Has a lot of features and this makes it confusing for my wife to use. I like the features but I do agree with it being complicated on some of the basic ones.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
Emmett, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
happy with it
10/22/2011

Customer review by Mouse1969Chevelle

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Mouse1969Chevelle
by Mouse1969Chevelle

The remote has a volume control that turns down the volume leaving the box , it can also be set up to control your tv like a universal remote . I'm getting 16 different channels with the outdoor antenna ( Channel Master 2016 DIGITAL ADVANTAGE (HDTV / VHF / UHF) Outdoor Antenna ) I mounted in the attic this was a big supprise . I used the on screen signal bar to tune it in for over all good signal .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mouse1969Chevelle
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
will do the job w decent antenna
10/22/2011

Customer review by sethrogan

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by sethrogan
by sethrogan

We got 2 of the other base model boxes from WM (no longer offered) and they were ok but still froze on occasion w decent roof antenna. Got this box for my downstairs area, repositioned roof satellite and no more problems, so unsure if needed to get new box but problem solved. Decent "guide" info option, for some reason "auto" daylight savings time option is showing incorrect time (not compensating for change 1-2 yrs ago in length)-Ill wait 2 weeks and that problem will solve itself. Remote is kind of clunky w odd positioning, at any rate 2 weeks into it does the job for the price. I dont have time to sit all day and watch tv and am trying to give it to the cable monster as much as they gave it to me by dcing all their services one at a time...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sethrogan
Indy, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1-20 of 172 reviews