Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
5
1-20 of 31 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Great buy for the price
8/19/2011

Customer review by LJ68

5.0 stars 8/19/2011 by LJ68
by LJ68

I was reluctant and expecting sub-standard product, but to my surprise, this TV has a great picture and moving between channels is faster than my Sony. For some shows, it appears brighter but I like brighter pictures. Overall, I am quite pleased.

Was this review helpful? (125) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJ68
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than more expensive tv's
9/8/2011

Customer review by cyclepath

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by cyclepath
by cyclepath

I bought this tv sight unseen mainly because it was cheeper than well know brands costing much more with a smaller screen and a slower refresh rate. The tv has a very nice picture. Watching hd movies are clear and crisp. The sound is not the greatest but not the worst I've heard. A soundbar will take care of that. I'm very happy with this tv and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (80) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyclepath
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv for the money
9/29/2011

Customer review by luvmachine

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by luvmachine
by luvmachine

I was looking around for an led lcd tv. this was was in reason without breaking the bank. picture quality real good sound so so, For the money for a 40" led i think well worth buying

Was this review helpful? (65) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmachine
holbrook ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent
8/26/2011

Customer review by kar883

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by kar883
by kar883

Had the TV for a week now. It had one dead pixel in top left corner but this is not noticeable unless you are really looking for it. This is an edge lit LED TV so on dark screens you can see the back light emitting from all four corners of the screen pointing toward the center (forming an "X" of light that fades in the middle). This is really only noticeable with dark screens. Since I use this TV for a home theater system it works well. Color saturation on digital photographs sometimes feels overly saturated but some other images it appears under saturated or just right, this may just be the lighting when the photograph was taken, but I did not notice it on my regular monitor.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kar883
Lititz, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good HD tv for first timers
9/6/2011

Customer review by coldlady

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by coldlady
by coldlady

Sound quality is a little tinny, needs speakers to get good sound. A little confusing where to plug the in, never would of thought in the earphone jack. They do have a great technical assistance line.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coldlady
Wilson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the money
12/2/2011

Customer review by MichiganBear

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by MichiganBear
by MichiganBear

I am impressed woth the quality of this off brand product. Doing resreach before purhasing I found that Element is the #1 name brand in China. They really make a great product and I had it mounted on the wall and watching tv in about 15 minutes. The tv works great with the Dishnetwork remote. Overall great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MichiganBear
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2011

Customer review by CJ19

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by CJ19
by CJ19

...just a quick recommendation for this Element if you're unfamiliar with this brand. I own 3 Element TV's of different sizes. I have been very pleased with their performance. My oldest & smallest Element is my kitchen TV, and it has been turned on nearly all day every day of the year for about 5 years. It's a real workhorse & never lets me down. All 3 models I own have excellent picture, even without HDTV service; very good sound quality; very easy to use (I'm a senior). If you're in the market and you get a good sale price on an Element, I would not hesitate to buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJ19
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/1/2011

Customer review by Riley007

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Riley007
by Riley007

I just brought this TV the one thing I really like is the sleek shiny design it is cool. It was delivered in 2 days..Thank you WalMart! - I say this is a TV for someone who is starting out with LED technology I have a 42inch LG in my living room but that is LCD - I put this TV in the bedroom and at 40" it looks great...I have to mess with the settings a little bit you see a bit of a blur on the people especially if your watching a football replay in slow motion, but I'm sure that can be fixed with some adjusting of the settings. I did however watch Pirates of the Caribbean 4 last night in HD and Penelope Cruz looked awesome!!! its a great TV when it comes the HD Quality movies. So for the price you cannot beat this deal and 120hz always helps. Like i said its a starter TV to see if you like LED technology and then you can upgrade to another model if you choose too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riley007
New York City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Sound
12/5/2011

Customer review by pabstblueribbon

1.0 stars 12/5/2011 by pabstblueribbon
by pabstblueribbon

I returned this TV due to the horrible sound quality. It sounded far away on a radio. I currently have an I symphony tv which is another "no name" brand and that TV is great. I was very dissapointed and ended up returning for a Vizio. Unfortunatley, I had to sacrifice the size to get the same price TV but I am glad I made the exchange. I will never buy an Element or recommend one to another person. There are way too many good deals out there these days to get a low quality TV.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pabstblueribbon
Buffalo, Ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by Condor21

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Condor21
by Condor21

I was skeptical about buying this tv and unforunately my worst fears came true. I originally ordered this tv back in July & four weeks after having it the picture on the screen would begin to pulsate from the normal picture to an extrememely bright picture. I called customer service & was able to ship my tb back to Walmart & they shipped me a 2nd tv. After 4 weeks with the second tv the exact same thing began happening with the 2nd tv. I would NOT recommend this tv to anyone. I've purchased many wal-mart electronic devices and this has been far and away the worst purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Condor21
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sub-par quality at a reasonable price
12/12/2011

Customer review by GroovyBoiler

2.0 stars 12/12/2011 by GroovyBoiler
by GroovyBoiler

Was very excited to test out this new TV, as it appeared to have everything on paper (e.g., LED display, 1080p resolution, 120 Hz refresh rate, nice size) that I was aiming for, at a price that wasn't at all outrageous. I must say that, contrary to most reviews, I found the picture quality to be mediocre at best, even below what I was expecting. Sure, this TV seems to cost about 1/2-2/3 that of other comparable "brand" name competitors. But I felt there was too much ghosting, and the sharpness (which I would expect to be much better and crisper in an LED) just wasn't there. Further, I honestly could not tell any difference whatsoever in the different levels of refresh rate (what the listed as off, low, normal, and strong). Not at all. As others have voiced, the sound seemed tinny and hollow, not much depth there. Overall, very disappointing to say the least. Must say that Wal-Mart was very helpful with store return and full refund, even though I purchased it online. I have since gone to a local competitor and bought a refurbished Vizio LED for the same price, and the Vizio simply blows the Element away. Much crisper, cleaner, brighter, and with (somewhat) better sound....now I'm just hoping I don't get burned by purchasing a refurb. :P Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GroovyBoiler
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
what did I expect, it was 400
12/1/2011

Customer review by jmarsh0505

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by jmarsh0505
by jmarsh0505

So I was pleased when the TV came in the mail. It only took about 2 or 3 days to get shipped and I was super excited. Like a kid on christmas i opened the box and assembled my new toy. Next I hooked up the cables, connected the blu ray, ps3, cable, etc and then turn on the screen. What came next.....dead pixels, not one but 3. Already I was frustrated because it was not an instore exchange. Despite that I played around with it and while its not the best video quality, its pretty good for the money. The audio, is also not the best either but thats all for now. May be going with the phillips instead. who knows. smh

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmarsh0505
upper darby, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Sound is major downfall!
12/1/2011

Customer review by blueaussie35

2.0 stars 12/1/2011 by blueaussie35
by blueaussie35

I had such high hopes for this TV. Physically it’s nice looking, and very thin. The base is cheap and cheesy...literally just a square piece of glass. If your going to hang it on the wall like I was then it's not a problem, but if you use the base and have kids or dogs, watch out. The picture overall is very nice, sharp and clear. The major downfall of this TV that I just couldn't get over is the sound. There was nothing that I could do to make it sound better. It sounded like early mono TVs… No bass at all! I tried to hook it up to our stereo, (like our current TV is) and have surround sound, but it caused an annoying echo, there was a 2 second delay in all speech. Our current set up does not do this. So back to the store with the TV!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueaussie35
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Poor Sound
12/8/2011

Customer review by TYorker

1.0 stars 12/8/2011 by TYorker
by TYorker

We bought this as a present for ourselves. Figured it was time to go from tube to HDTV. Price for 1080p 120hz LED seemed great $399, delivered to our home. I hooked it up, which was pretty easy and then turned it on. Picture OK, but sound terrible. Like old day AM radio. Tinny with little base. Additionally, there was a problem with the sound syncing up with the video. The mouth of the newscaster did not match up with the sound. Very disturbing. We packed it back up, but need some duct tape to keep the box together and will return. I wish I would have seen all these December reviews before going to purchase. My old 32" tube TV sounds better and the picture is not that bad either. Pass on this HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TYorker
York PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/11/2011

Customer review by sissyandme

1.0 stars 12/11/2011 by sissyandme
by sissyandme

Picture failed 3rd day. Took back to Walmart with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sissyandme
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So So TV
12/11/2011

Customer review by Pizzaface64068

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Pizzaface64068
by Pizzaface64068

I just set up the TV today. The first thing I noticed, as other reviewers have noticed, is that the sound quality isn't very good. The TV sounds like you are listening to the TV over a telephone. Other reviewers have recommended Sound Bars to fix this problem. I haven't purchased a sound bar yet but I may try one if they aren't too expensive. I also noticed that the picture quality isn't great. I've tried changing the picture settings but I haven't found a combination of settings that makes the picture look good yet. People on the forums have been asking questions about the exact dimensions of the TV because the dimensions listed on the web site don't look accurate. The shipping box dimensions are: L 44 1/4" x H 29 3/4" x W 6 1/2". The panel dimensions are: L 38 1/2" x H 24 1/4" x W 1 1/2". When the panel is attached to the base the height of the panel is 26 1/2". The dimensions of the base are: L 20" x W 10". At this point I'm not sure I would recommend this TV. If my opinion changes then I will modify my review.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pizzaface64068
Liberty, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Audio Questionable
11/28/2011

Customer review by huskerhound

3.0 stars 11/28/2011 by huskerhound
by huskerhound

We bought this as a starter LED HDTV and picture and color seem amazing. We purchased an iLive 2.1 soundbar. We cannot get it to connect properly and therefore we may not be able to use a soundbar. If we can get the soundbar to connect then this will be 5 stars... until then ick!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huskerhound
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
um...
12/1/2011

Customer review by Leneesmail

2.0 stars 12/1/2011 by Leneesmail
by Leneesmail

Super fast shipping! nice picture and features, but sound quality is terrible. I'll be returning this, unfortunately. I really liked it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leneesmail
Meriden, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good picture, but dead pixel
12/15/2011

Customer review by Hallie12409

2.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Hallie12409
by Hallie12409

My husband and I got this TV on Black Friday because our old TV had conveniently died 2 days before Thanksgiving. This one met all of our qualifications, and it was really affordable. It took about a week to ship to us, and when we hooked it up the picture looked great. Except for one tiny laser red dot off to the lower left hand side. It was a defect called a dead pixel. You can have it fixed, but generally the issue is recurring. Instead of going through the hassle of finding out where to have it repaired, we just returned it. I don't know how common of an occurence this is for this TV, but I would definitely think twice before purchasing this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hallie12409
Would recommend to a friend? No
Faulty
12/14/2011

Customer review by googlesee

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by googlesee
by googlesee

Ordered this tv twice with low expectations, and yet I was still disappointed twice. The first time the tv came with 3 scratches carved in the middle of the screen, it was very noticable so I returned it with no problem and they sent another. This one had a crack in the glass stand, and even worse, it TURNED OFF BY ITSELF every 10 minutes or so. If the tv wouldn't come with so many problems, I would give it good ratings. The picture quality seems good. Anyways, definitely not worth it unless your a gambler.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
googlesee
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews