Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

59 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

59 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

22%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
43
1-20 of 58 total reviews
22%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Unfairly Reviewed Product
9/9/2015

Customer review by luckypez

5.0 stars 9/9/2015 by luckypez
by luckypez

From the previous reviews I feel this product has been grossly misjudged overall. It is definitely not a traditional conditioner, but it is a great conditioner. It does not feel or spread on like other conditioners so I used more the first time and it also doesn't rinse out like other conditioners, so I didn't get all that extra out the first time and ended up with dirty weighed down hair. The next time I used it I used less and rinsed a little longer and it turned out great. After a couple months I am on my second bottle and love it. My hair now has natural body and volume, it is shiny, manageable when wet, previous damage to my hair is diminished, and my hair doesn't get dirty as fast (I have long, very straight, fine, and relatively thin hair so it looks dirty fast and has to be washed daily... but with this conditioner my hair doesn't look dirty as fast, I can get away with washing it every 1.5 days instead of every 1 day).

luckypez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Terrible
1/10/2016

Customer review by meghan

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by meghan
by meghan

I would leave this conditioner in for about 5 minutes as I showered. It made no difference to the state of my hair, and if anything made it worse. My hair was in a terrible, frizzy state for the week I used this conditioner and I will definitely not use it again.

meghan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Greasy and I can smell fish-oil in it.
4/18/2014

Customer review by Olivia87

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by Olivia87
by Olivia87

This is the first time I've ever written a review on any hair products. By far, this condition (and only the conditioner) has given me my worst hair-conditioner experience ever. First off, weighed down my hair very much and it felt very greasy. I have to blow-dry my hair and straighten it every time I wash my hair and I wanted to throw up because my hair smelled like fish-oil. As if I just pore some omega-3 oil into my hair. It stunk so bad and I had to get back in the shower and re-shampoo my hair 3 times to finally get the smell out and also to take out the oily-residue feeling. It took so long that I ended being late to work. Yesterday, I gave the conditioner a second chance and only used a few small amount on the ends of my hair. The only reason why I remembered to do this rating is because I just put my hair up in a bun and I can smell the fish oil on my hands. It's pretty disgusting. If only I had my receipt, I would try to return it to the store I purchased it from. Instead, I'm just planning to dump it in the trash. The shampoo on the other hand was fine.

Olivia87
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I never write reviews
10/4/2015

Customer review by SamP

1.0 stars 10/4/2015 by SamP
by SamP

I feel badly for writing a negative review. I never take the time to write reviews but I'm seriously disappointed by this product. Does not leave hair feeling soft. Actually feels like bar soap. Would not recommend.

SamP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Hair Product I've ever used
8/11/2015

Customer review by Puredirty

1.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Puredirty
by Puredirty

This is the absolute worst conditioner that I have ever put in my hair. Pure clean is anything but. I have long, straight, soft, shiny hair...well I did until I put Pure Clean in my hair. Not only does it feel dirty my hair is still wet from the morning. It's 3:20 in the afternoon. It made my hair thick and clumpy. I have to keep it up so I don't get sent home from work for improper hygene. At least it doesn't smell. I'm so embarrased about the way my hair looks and feels right now. I'm very turned off by Garnier products after using Pure Clean...out with the old in with something new!

Puredirty
Would recommend to a friend? No
One of the Best Conditioners for Natural Kinky/Curly Hair ❤
8/31/2015

Customer review by MsThickHair

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by MsThickHair
by MsThickHair

I've sworn by this conditioner for over three years and I have made it known in some of my YouTube videos that this is the conditioner for me. I use this to co-wash (conditioner wash) my kinky/curly, Natural Hair. I have super thick, waist length hair with a mixture of types 4C, 4B, and 3C. In other words, I pretty much have pen spring sized curls/coils. The nature of my hair is dryness and it is prone to breakage. Garnier Fructis Pure Clean Shampoo and Conditioner are a great combo. The conditioner is thick and heavy to lock in the moisture (water); perfect for people of African descent with naturally dry kinky/curly textures. It makes detangling a breeze with my Tangle Teezer comb and then I can just jump in the shower to co-wash my hair. Every so often, I clarify with the Pure Clean Shampoo and follow up with the Pure Clean Conditioner. Either way, my hair is always left feeling smooth, protected, clean, and smelling good. The only downside is that occasionally, it makes me sneeze if I'm going heavy handed on the product while detangling, but that's nothing really. I have a lot of hair, so I need a lot of product all at once. I see lots of people giving this conditioner a low rating, but that is because those people have thinner and straighter hair and this is a thick and heavy conditioner, so of course it's going to weigh it down. That's a no brainer. I think this conditioner is best for kinky/curly hair, hands down. I sincerely recommend this product to anyone. Thank you Garnier for creating this awesome product! ❤

MsThickHair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pure Clean.. what an ironic name.
12/19/2012

Customer review by MacMac

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by MacMac
by MacMac

Normally, I buy and use the Body Boost shampoo and conditioner. I've been using that combination for at least 4 or 5 years now and I've never had a problem. A few weeks ago, however, the store was out of Body Boost conditioner, so I decided to buy the Pure Clean, assuming it wouldn't make much of a difference. Boy was I wrong. I noticed right away in the shower that it didn't untangle my hair as well as my usual conditioner does, so I used a bit more than usual and put up with it. That day I noticed that my hair smelled weird, but I blamed it on the new conditioner and thought I would get used to it (I have, but the worst is to come). I also started noticing that my bangs would look really greasy not too long after I had showered. This is not normal. This conditioner leaves a weird greasy/waxy residue on my hair and makes it look and feel disgusting. I wasn't going to write a review about it until just moments ago when I itched the back of my head (where I hadn't fully blow-dried it this morning) and felt the grimiest patch of supposedly "clean" hair I had ever felt. Why would you label a product "Pure Clean" when it makes my hair feel purely disgusting and dirty? I definitely want my money back on this one. I bought the shampoo too, but have no intention of trying it.

MacMac
Minnesota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Please make this better!
4/19/2015

Customer review by MsMe

1.0 stars 4/19/2015 by MsMe
by MsMe

I tried this because all of my local stores have stopped selling the shampoo and conditioner for normal hair. They just sell the Pure Clean instead. I'm sorry to say that it is horrible! It leaves a thick, soap-like film on my hair, which weighs down my hair and takes a couple of days to wash out. So, here I am on the website buying the shampoo and conditioner for normal hair (not the Pure Clean stuff) because I can't get it from any local stores.

MsMe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work with my hair type.
5/3/2012

Customer review by EnglishGrad

1.0 stars 5/3/2012 by EnglishGrad
by EnglishGrad

I always get excited when I discover new eco-friendly hair and body products. However, I have found that many biodegradable hair products do not seem to fortify as well. This product was no exception. It is lightweight, which is wonderful. However, this meant that I had to use much more product in attempts to detangle my hair, which is long, thin, and blonde. Perhaps this product would work better on someone with thicker hair, but it made my hair Excessively oily. Basically, it looked like I hadn't showered in a few weeks. From my experience, I would not reccomend this product to people with hairtypes like mine (scandinavian). If you have shorter, thicker, or curly hair that embraces the oil, you may have better luck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnglishGrad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Leaves hair feeling oily and waxy
12/31/2012

Customer review by Northcentral

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Northcentral
by Northcentral

My daughter and I love Garnier Fructis products. We use many of them. So, when I was looking for more shampoo and conditioner, I bought the Pure Clean Fortifying conditioner and shampoo. We like the shampoo but not the conditioner. The first time I used it I thought maybe I had not rinsed it out completely, but my daughter had the same complaints. We both rewashed our hair with a different brand of products. Then, today, I thought I would give it another chance; same issues. It makes my hair feel like I didn't wash out the conditioner at all. It left a heavy, oily, waxy feeling. I again, rewashed my hair with another product and will not be using this conditioner again.

Northcentral
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible!
10/26/2014

Customer review by Jackieo137

1.0 stars 10/26/2014 by Jackieo137
by Jackieo137

This is by far the worst conditioner I have ever used. It felt weird while both using it and rinsing it out of my hair. Then when I brushed my hair it was tangled and was hard to brush through. I have straight hair there is no reason that a conditioner should leave my hair more tangled than if I hadn't used it at all. After struggling with blowing it dry, my hair felt so different than it normally does. So I decided that I had no choice but to re-wash my hair and use a different conditioner. I have used garnier products in the past and always had a good experience, this was a huge disappointment!

Jackieo137
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
gross
5/19/2015

Customer review by lety1012

1.0 stars 5/19/2015 by lety1012
by lety1012

Leaves hair oily and tangled my hair never felt so gross

lety1012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not as good as the original
12/29/2011

Customer review by Liana

1.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Liana
by Liana

I usually use shampoo and conditioner from Garnier's non biodegradable line and have liked every one so I figured I'd give this one a shot. (I've used the voulmizing, length and strength and moisturizing ones) I was really surprised how different this one is from the other formulas. It's very thick which I didn't have too much of a problem with. My real problem was how unconditioned my hair felt. Even the next day my hair felt dry and knotted very easily. Even using a bit on the ends of my hair after the shower made no difference. It didn't even feel like I put conditioner in my hair. I've used dollar conditioners that worked better.

Liana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Slippery, gunky feeling
2/24/2012

Customer review by marqgirl

1.0 stars 2/24/2012 by marqgirl
by marqgirl

I'm a university student, and I'm usually pretty crunched for time in the mornings so I skip on using conditioner most days. Today, since I had a little extra time, I decided to use this conditioner in conjunction with my Pure Clean shampoo. BAD IDEA. Even though I rinsed thoroughly, the back of my head felt extremely gunky and it felt like my hair was stuck to my head. I couldn't comb it, brush it, or even put it up in a proper ponytail. After class, I had to get back in the shower and spend almost an hour trying to scrub off all the residue that was on my scalp. Definitely not using this again.

marqgirl
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Amazing!
9/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This stuff is worth it's weight in gold. I don't know why anyone wouldn't love it! I use it as a masque and as a leave-in. Nothing makes my hair as manageable as this stuff. After I shampoo, I can hardly get my fingers through my hair... and I have virgin hair that is naturally curly. So when I use this conditioner, it's like a dream come true! And unlike most other conditioners, when I rinse, my hair still feels great and I can run my fingers through it! Every time I use this product I'm amazed that it isnt a $20-30 professional formula masque treatment. I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!

An anonymous customer
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not for "Normal" hair
3/23/2013

Customer review by Britturt

1.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Britturt
by Britturt

This product shouldn't be labeled for normal hair and certainly isn't good for fine hair. It left my hair heavy, coated, and dull. My hair felt cleaner before I used it. I gave it two tries and hated the results! I can't remember ever using a product and getting the opposite results than what was promised. I've used all the other Garnier shampoos and conditioners and have been very satisfied but you missed the mark on this one. I suspect it might work well on taming curly, frizzy, and/or coarse types of hair and should be marketed that way.

Britturt
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Is it suppose to leave your hair soft? Not mine
1/14/2012

Customer review by a1nettie

1.0 stars 1/14/2012 by a1nettie
by a1nettie

This was very unsatisfying. Of course it too wasn't enough product for my long hair, but I can tell I would have to use a cup full to feel any results of conditioning. (am I being harsh) I actually didn't even rinse it out cause I couldn't even feel it in my hair when I applied it. So I treated it like a leave in. I think it does not condition at all. I do not see how this could have any use on anyone with any length to their hair. Maybe if you had a pixi cut it would work. The only positive thing is the scent.

a1nettie
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Wouldn't use again even if it was free!
1/22/2015

Customer review by lovemyhair

1.0 stars 1/22/2015 by lovemyhair
by lovemyhair

This is one of the worst conditioners I had ever used! Actually it has to be mislabeled, this junk didn't do anything positive for my hair, let alone condition. I love the leave in conditioner but this, such a waste! This full bottle is for the trash!

lovemyhair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
My hair is gross!
9/19/2012

Customer review by smithj626

1.0 stars 9/19/2012 by smithj626
by smithj626

I saw the pure clean shampoo and conditioner on my local store shelf and thought that it was a good idea. I used it the first time and thought it was okay. I have been using the pure clean stuff for a week now and I HATE it. My hair is thick and curly and with these products it is even thicker and weighed down, I can barely get a brush through my hair. It seems like my hair doesn't dry out either... I am heading to the store and buying a different brand ASAP. I can't wait to have my normal hair back.

smithj626
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
conditioned like glue
2/15/2012

Customer review by samesince83

1.0 stars 2/15/2012 by samesince83
by samesince83

i generally love garnier's shampoos and conditioners and couldn't wait to try this when it came out. i mainly purchased it due to it's eco-friendly ways. the first day i used it, i thought i was just having a bad hair day, only to find out later in the week it was because of my new hair products. it left my hair feeling greasy and ratty within less than 12hrs. when conditioning my hair, it felt as if i was using glue. i was disappointed to say the least.

samesince83
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews